New Toyota Passo Sette / Daihatsu Boon Luminas 7-seater MPV to make Christmas 2008 debut!

LATEST UPDATE: Toyota Passo Sette 7-seater MPV – full details!

Toyota and Daihatsu have called for a joint press conference in Japan on Christmas day to unveil their latest 7-seater compact MPV, strongly believed to be named the Toyota Passo Sette and the Daihatsu Boon Luminas. After the car’s public unveiling this month, it will go on sale early next year about the same time as Proton is expected to launch its MPV, which could pose a problem for Proton as potential customers in Malaysia would be able to get a preview of this new MPV that will hit Malaysian roads as a Perodua in Q3 2009, just half a year after the Proton MPV is launched.

Still, the two vehicles are not exactly in the same segment. This new Toyota/Daihatsu/Perodua MPV is smaller than the Proton MPV. However because is primarily a Daihatsu product, it inherits the Japanese K-car’s expertise in squeezing the most space into the smallest package. The engine under the hood will be the 3SZ-VE 1.5 litre that’s found in the Toyota Avanza, but installed transversely instead of longitudinally and powering the front wheels instead of the rear wheels.

Dimensions New MPV Sienta Wish Freed Myvi F/L
Length 4180mm 4100mm 4650mm 4215mm 3750mm
Width 1695mm 1695mm 1745mm 1695mm 1665mm
Height 1620mm 1670mm 1600mm 1715mm 1550mm
Wheelbase 2750mm 2700mm 2750mm 2740mm 2440mm

(dimension comparison table from my previous post)

Given how many Malaysians think long and hard between the Persona and the Myvi as if they were in the same segment when they are actually not because of similiar pricing, this new Perodua MPV could pose a real threat to the new Proton MPV for those who just must have a “Toyota”, whether with a Perodua badge or not.

An indicated price for the Japanese market car is between 1.45 million yen to 1.8 million yen, which is about RM57k to RM70k, so that should give you guys an idea how much a localised version would cost. Don’t expect things like the column shifter you see in the brochure above to make it into the Perodua version as the Passo also had that but it got switched to a traditional shifter between the seats for the Myvi.

Whether you want to call it the new Toyota Passo Sette, or the Daihatsu Boon Luminas, or the 2009 Perodua MPV, you can check out interior photos and a side profile which have been revealed in the brochure above, which does not mention the vehicle’s name yet. Or for more details, check out the related links listed below.

2009 Perodua MPV Artist’s Impression
New Toyota MPV: details of the new 3-row compact MPV that Perodua will also build
New Perodua MPV coming in September 2009

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• cyberx11 (Member) on Dec 07, 2008 at 9:32 am

first, myvi satay?

• Wisdom (Member) on Dec 07, 2008 at 10:27 am

Looks cramp.

• autojohndoe (Member) on Dec 07, 2008 at 10:43 am

1.5L… what is its kerb weight?

wonder if it enough to move the vehicle…

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Dec 07, 2008 at 10:56 am

Proton bigger size but use 1.6 CPS (not confirm) how?

If this come and price lesser than the Prton MPV, i think the no.1 spot of Perodua sure no problem… Coz in the end, the Perodua sales ppl will say this car is from TOYOTA. So ppl heard it will buy it coz of the “T” car and also better second hand value..

Anyway i have heard their (curi-curi dengar) training before and they compare the aftersales service to Proton before.. If you guys did a bit research their engine cost less maintence compare to Proton CPS. ( i think maybe of the timing chain used in their VVT-i engine + second hand parts a lot from Japan) So it is also a advantage of taking Perodua cars…

Anyway it is better that we more choice in this market, as we will also see Proton in future using Waja-Lancer and also the GEMA engine.. Yeah..

• freeze (Member) on Dec 07, 2008 at 11:32 am

Potential buyers might wait for the Perodua MPV to launch first before deciding on the two.

But what if the Proton is so great and irresistible? I’m thinking Avanza sales will be affected by Perodua’s MPV not Proton.

Anyhow, the wheelbase here is long, but not the overall length. So overhangs may be similar to Avanza. This could very well be an Avanza replacement model. But if you look at the picture, 2nd row legroom seems to be very good.

• irfandanish (Member) on Dec 07, 2008 at 12:17 pm

erm..about maintainece for cps is service per10000 km others brand 5000km but cps use timing belt lifespend around 80000km compare to t/chain no time lifespend? so which one more less costing for us? everage malaysian using their car around 4 to 5 years lebih kurang 150000km usage.
    sape2 boleh kira?

• tananiki (Member) on Dec 07, 2008 at 1:50 pm

y they keep on comparing myvi with mpv…? totally different class…

• ... (Member) on Dec 07, 2008 at 2:33 pm

It looks like the upcoming perodua MPV and also the Proton MPV will have their prices similar to each other as what we seen with the Persona-Myvi. I think malaysians still look at monthly payments as their main concern for choice, and for now, it is hard to predict which one will come out to be more successful than the other…

• ignas (Member) on Dec 07, 2008 at 2:50 pm

the side profile looks nice and i felt the overall design is like a bigger version of viva. but the seats dont seem that comfortable.

• normaluser (Member) on Dec 07, 2008 at 3:02 pm

From the brochure, it clearly shows that:

1. Space are just nice for 2 adults + 1 small child on 2nd row seats, but too cramp for teens/adults to sit on the 3rd row. Those seats are totally flat with no lateral support at all. Seating comfort only for front passengers.
    2. The speedometer gauge is not located traditionally behind the steering wheel. I can’t seem to locate it! Those who hate the Vios because of the centered-position speedometer will stay away from this MPV.
    3. The front light looks bit similiar to Vios’s, but don’t know how the grille looks like. The main grille for air intake is probably on lower front bumper.

• kingv6 (Member) on Dec 07, 2008 at 3:42 pm

hey paul,
    why dont u include Avanza & G Livina dimension as well.

• ericfoong81exe (Member) on Dec 07, 2008 at 4:15 pm

Typical fighting topic for local car fans….still wodering what is the problem for proton and perodua to have their new segment of car where as this so call proton MPV and perodua MPV is totally different class…just like comparing a bow with a plate…totally pointless, unless they are gonna sell it with the same price.

Anyway this Perodua MPV should be able to capture 4 to 5 member’s family catagory market.

• madimat (Member) on Dec 07, 2008 at 10:59 pm

waaah so clever la Peroua nowadays ya,.. every new model seems like they ‘do the Naza’ … take some other people cars and paste their badge on front. Like that me also can do lah.

No wonder they always untung untung untung every year. Dont need to spend money on RnD at all. Change front bumper a bit, side skirt a bit, color a bit , here there a bit and voila ..! We got a brand new Perodua model !

like sh!t.

• szw (Member) on Dec 07, 2008 at 11:54 pm

rubbish model

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Dec 07, 2008 at 11:55 pm

no clearer picture yet …

• not_ah_beng (Member) on Dec 08, 2008 at 3:33 pm

This car looks real good.

Hopefully, the Perodua version will be similar to the Toyota/Daihatsu version in looks and comfort – column shifter not really necessary.

Will be a dream if can c the Toyota 1.33 Dual VVTi inside. :) But of course, this not going to happen, so seeing Avanza 1.5l engine inside already consider enough leh. Plus FC also almost definitely better than the 1.6l Campro Proton going to fit inside their new MPV.

No doubt about it, this MPV gonna be the one that cement Perodua place as top Msian car manufacturer. Who wants to bet this one going to outsell some other local car MPV who is also going to launch at the same time? Hehe.

• not_ah_beng (Member) on Dec 08, 2008 at 3:37 pm

@madimat:

Spend money on R&D is good, but only when your R&D team is good enough to deliver what you want, when you want it. If not then, well, your company will be in trouble.

Good example is another local car company decide to do their own “R&D” and come out with their own engine, which cause so many problem that their company become synonymous with bad quality and face slumping sales.

End result is, not worth it. Every company’s first goal is to make profit – doesn’t matter how you do it. No use to rely on R&D if your team is not up to it, end up with poor sales, also don’t have money to pay your R&D team. Unless of course the G willing to bail you out with taxpayer money again and again lo.

• xenith (Member) on Dec 08, 2008 at 4:59 pm

Digital speedometer at the center of dashboard….

• ALPINA Burkard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Dec 08, 2008 at 8:43 pm

better than stupid proton van

• arie1968 (Member) on Dec 08, 2008 at 9:48 pm

speedometer at the center, don’t like it. Spoilt………………
    if the price is reasonable, i’ll buy it next year.

6 people for perodua MPV, 7 people for proton MPV.
    which one aaaaa………..?

• xstan (Member) on Dec 09, 2008 at 8:57 am

Aik!! ..tot it will relased only 1.3 L & of 6 Seater MPV?? Says the CEO of P2.

Anyway…havent seen any higher engine capacity vehicle produce by P2. All merely 1.3L or lower.

• autojohndoe (Member) on Dec 09, 2008 at 9:49 am

bash summore….

• arch747 (Member) on Dec 09, 2008 at 9:56 am

Dont’ worry P1, u still got my vote over the P2 which camouflaging behind the so-called 2nd national car but re-badging a clearly foreign vehicle. But P1, pls make sure the final-product is tip-top with similarly tip-top after-sales service, then your sales cant be wrong. My patrioticism is still alive & kicking..!!

• farghmee (Member) on Dec 09, 2008 at 10:37 am

this one looks ok.
    just wait what the perodua’s version will have.
    dual srs airbag, side airbag, curtain airbag?
    good power:weight?
    good handling?

last row seat seems like plywood…

• madimat (Member) on Dec 09, 2008 at 10:43 am

not_ah_beng ,

P2 is merely a big AhBeng shop – adding accessories, skirtings, spoilers, lights rear and front, stereos and rims. It is like taking your Sorento to a Abangs shop and sticking a Beemer nose.

It is not a real car manufacturer. It is a car assembler which every year giving out money to some outside manufacturer so it can continue to use their models to sell as a cheaper version and get a national status and get some more discount on tax etc.

What is a difference between a Rush and a Nautica..?? One, it is longer, Two it has a Perodua emblem on the nose. Am I against Perodua..? nope. I am going to buy a Viva for my wife soon. Later I am going to find a proper Toyota emblem and stick it BACK on the so called Perodua’s car nose.

• autojohndoe (Member) on Dec 09, 2008 at 10:53 am

the share.. 51% DMC and 49% P2… but the design is, 90% DMC 10% P2…

The engineers are mostly used by the japanese to get cheaper part…

• autojohndoe (Member) on Dec 09, 2008 at 10:54 am

ALPINA Burkard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG said,
    December 8, 2008 @ 8:43 pm

stupider than alpina… haha

• farghmee (Member) on Dec 09, 2008 at 11:31 am

come to think about it,
    engineers also have different posts according to their field;
    automotive engineers.
    production engineers.

which one is which, i think everyone could guess :)

• dzat46 (Member) on Dec 09, 2008 at 11:45 am

Hmm…if it my money, will buy ths P2 mpv over P1…more confident wt Daihatsu/Toyota….

If somebody else money, would like to risk the P1 mpv…bigger size….

Anyway, my co. car persona (auto hi li) was great & fun to drive (great cornering..etc) but got all sort of sounds from suspension..etc, worse still, milage only 2k….ayo P1, pls ler improve yr QC….stuff like this make yr think twice to purchase P1

• wheregotcar (Member) on Dec 09, 2008 at 3:34 pm

i would like to see P2 (with some help of the Govt hopefully) to engage Toyota/Daihatsu in more ‘intelligent’ manner..

instead of producing typical cars, why not assemble hybrid cars here? position something totally out of reach for P1, providing access for typical msian ppl to better automotive technology.

honestly i don’t see any benefit in having P2 making typical cars other than foreign company raking in big money where we could do the same if we have same level of technology/expertise (at least)

• ALPINA Burkard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Dec 09, 2008 at 3:36 pm

autojohndoe said,

December 9, 2008 @ 10:54 am

—————–
    stupider than you, this stupid car made for stupid people like you

• peYno (Member) on Dec 09, 2008 at 6:34 pm

haha.. from the article, they didn’t even mention about PERODUA Malaysia..
    Japanese doesnt care abot P2. thier author/journalist just mentioned joint development between Toyota dan Daihatsu..
    but i believe, later malaysian automotive authors may say this is joint dev. toyota/daihatsu and P2 la… P2 sent 100 over engineers to develop this car la.. bla bla bla.. prrrfthhh

neway.. 1st of all, P2 will think how to cut cost since japanese yen exchange rate is very high nowadays and from my observation.
    things to cut off
    1. remove the HEADREST
    2. change to conventional shifter between the seat
    3.downgrade the suspension and setup.

the only thing that P2 will up grade is DVVT emblem… usually. Toyota doesnt care about DVVT thingy they wont place the dvvt/vvti emblem at the car… malaysian does..prrrfthh

This is Mini MPV , 3rd row seat only suits for child.. similar as AHBENGZA.
    UMW must fight and it is supposed to be assembled and sell under TOYOTA UMW in Malaysia… or better we import this mpv from Indonesia under “Daihatsu” brand . But if UMW sell this MPV, then how about our so called “2nd national car”?? they can’t change the bumper maaa..prrrfthh

• peYno (Member) on Dec 09, 2008 at 6:39 pm

dzat46 said,
    December 9, 2008 @ 11:45 am

Hmm…if it my money, will buy ths P2 mpv over P1…more confident wt Daihatsu/Toyota….
    =================================
    I more confident with toyota/daithasu car assembled in Indonesia or Thailand rather than assembled in Rawang Malaysia..

they just assemble the car and no need to think about technical isssues (done by Toyota/Daihatsu in Japan).. yet we still having bad assembly quality issues.. just ask your friend who bought a VIVA.. then you will know

• ALPINA Burkard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Dec 09, 2008 at 9:06 pm

peYno said,

December 9, 2008 @ 6:39 pm

dzat46 said,
    December 9, 2008 @ 11:45 am

=================================
    I more confident with toyota/daithasu car assembled in Indonesia or Thailand rather than assembled in Rawang Malaysia..

they just assemble the car and no need to think about technical isssues (done by Toyota/Daihatsu in Japan).. yet we still having bad assembly quality issues.. just ask your friend who bought a VIVA.. then you will know
    ————————-
    eh, not rawang, proton city la. don play play. even volkswagen don have volkswagen city or bmw don have bmw city

• peYno (Member) on Dec 09, 2008 at 9:25 pm

December 9, 2008 @ 9:06 pm
    eh, not rawang, proton city la. don play play. even volkswagen don have volkswagen city or bmw don have bmw city
    =================
    opsss.. i bad.. yeah rawang city, Bodykit and Bumper manufacturer, rival to Brothers ah beng shop

prrrfthhh

• king (Member) on Dec 10, 2008 at 2:04 am

yeah…i agree…perodua has always been an accessory shop/factory. Given the chance/license…Kedai Brothers also can easily assemble and modify cars in a larger scale like p2.

• autojohndoe (Member) on Dec 10, 2008 at 7:45 am

December 9, 2008 @ 3:36 pm

autojohndoe said,

—————–
    me and this car is smarter than you which merely totally stupider than stupidest of stupider… haha

• ReactiX (Member) on Dec 10, 2008 at 11:48 am

WTF… back row seat like sh!t. only suitable to put ur dog there.. it is not meant to fit people… middle also so small. barely fit 2 adult+1 kid there. aiya, waste time looking at this car laa..

• raptorclans (Member) on Dec 10, 2008 at 11:51 am

Oh man can really laugh at Alpina’s immature comments *rolls eyes*

Anyways, it seems Toyota/Daihatsu is doing pretty much what VW did with their Golf when they made the Golf Plus. Have to wait and see how’s the final outcome =P

• ReactiX (Member) on Dec 10, 2008 at 11:52 am

and yes, p2 rebadge thingy is a stupid idea ever. trying to be a national car on the skin, but a big liar inside… T get free money every year simply by asking some people assemble their car… a royalty sh!t.. WTF…

• ALPINA Burkard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Dec 10, 2008 at 12:58 pm

autojohndoe said,

December 10, 2008 @ 7:45 am

December 9, 2008 @ 3:36 pm

autojohndoe said,

—————–
    me and this car is smarter than you which merely totally stupider than stupidest of stupider… haha
    ————————————————-
    one who claims that he himself is smart is obviously not smart

• Wisdom (Member) on Dec 13, 2008 at 6:56 pm

“better than stupid proton van”
    -Alpina german wannabe

So Alpina, this one better than proton van, you mention last time Hiace also better than proton van. This one and Hiace which one better?

• SapporoSensei on Feb 14, 2009 at 2:26 pm

Almost Malaysian have no money. So, let Japanese try the 'New MPV' first. By the time Pero2 runs mass pro of the so called copy model.. 95%?..90%?.. 100%?, all
    the 'developing stage problems' happened in Japan market would have been incorperated into the Pero2 model. Pero2 builts improved version of 'NEW' car.

Advantage to Pero2, smooth car production and less customer compalint..
    I guess. As a buyer, even for 1st lot production cars, for sure can get good quality car.

Proton.. best Quality at low Price.. could beat Pero2. GAMBARE!

• jetli on Apr 17, 2009 at 7:01 pm

waaah so clever la Perodua nowadays ya,.. every new model seems like they ‘do the Naza’ … take some other people cars and paste their badge on front. Like that me also can do lah.

No wonder they always untung untung untung every year. Dont need to spend money on RnD at all. Change front bumper a bit, side skirt a bit, color a bit , here there a bit and voila ..! We got a brand new Perodua model !

like sh!t.

i agree with Madimat said! i was drive this car ! too cramp for 7ppl.Use myvi platform.A/COND outlet only front portion compare to Proton MPV! Too hot for rear ppl….Luggage too small to accomodate for 7ppl…think abt that!!

like sh!t…

• no la..not like shit…you know shit?

this is mpv laa..vehicle…eh your kid? 6 years old..

go back to school..jetli..please take back you shit..werkk smelly laaa….

dont throw your shit here….

haa

P2 MPV….very nice, impressive….

• lando on Sep 12, 2009 at 1:24 am

asal belakang x cantek…

depan ok tp belakang foul….

enjin bpe CC ek

• asparagus on Dec 19, 2009 at 7:42 pm

new p2 mpv 1500 cc..compact..use timing chain..handbreak like imported car..suitable 4 small family and small pocket money..fuel save coz p2 use dvvt engine..good quality compare than proton..

• ammar 9w2ccp on Jan 30, 2010 at 8:24 pm

So why ppl like vvti engine? Use timing chain compare to campro. Is real that timing chain can use much2 longer sampai 5 6 tahun?

Those expert in engine will say this. After 100,000 km, ur timing chain still can use….. but it is more longer like kapcai chain. Who ever use kapcai will agree this 100%. Do u know what happen u dont change it? the valve will move like crap, fuel consumption will skyrocking…. and if u try to speed like new car, u need call towing truck in middle hiway.

Timing chain is just like timing belt. It need to be change after 150,000km. If u want to change timing belt, it means u need to overhaul the engine.

So start to calculate….. Remember, never said car manufacturer is stupid, still use timing belt. There are explaination in terms of performance and low cost maintainance

• Timing chain??.. The market speak itself. Latest news, this potential MPV beat avanza (best seller MPV) and Myvi (best seller car).

• ijan fjr on Mar 10, 2010 at 11:21 pm

now P2 with new CIPLAK product..MALUNYEEE..bila la P2 ni develope own product…

• Nat98 on Mar 14, 2010 at 5:16 am

Alza BURUK! Looks like Myvi. MPV? I say NOT! The 3rd row OMG. The rear OMG. I wanted to vomit looking at the rear