More Proton Geneva concept pix appear online!

[zenphotopress number=999 album=863]

Proton and Giugiaro has put up a website over at protonconcepts.com, showing the new Proton Concept Car along with a countdown clock (about over 5 days to go) and a simple question – would you like this to be the future of Proton?

Needless to say, right now the vote count is about 99% in favor of “Yes”. at time of publishing. But it made me wonder – the website is called Proton Concepts, and that’s plural. So there must be more than one concept right?

[zenphotopress number=999 album=864]

Autocar once again has the scoop on Proton’s Geneva concept and now we know that there are actually at least two body variants. One is the silver 5-door that we’ve previously seen, and another is this maize-ish yellow 3-door version with SUV styling.

The one with the SUV styling has no B-pillar, has a thicker C-pillar and features some kind of roof mounting device. The alloy wheel design is also different. We also get to see the rear end of the concept cars for the first time. The photos appear to be Italdesign Giugiaro press material but I can’t find it anywhere else on the internet.

According to Autocar, the SUV-styled version has increased ground clearance, and it can accomodate 5 instead of just 4 thanks to the interior space saved by the omission of a B-pillar. The image above refers to Giugiaro demonstrating that the Proton Concept has the interior space of a C/D/SUV segment vehicle, without the larger luggage space of the SUV of course, we are talking about interior space.

Look after the jump for one more photo showing seat hip point.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• accordmania (Member) on Feb 25, 2010 at 7:08 am

will it be marketed or just a waste of money?

• satkuru on Feb 25, 2010 at 7:11 am

at the time being it looks promising. but who knows what will happen in the next 5 days :) hoping for the best though :)

• Malaysia Bulleh! on Feb 25, 2010 at 7:11 am

Ugly!

• anak dato' kk on Feb 25, 2010 at 7:12 am

first! cun ma…

• jazzer on Feb 25, 2010 at 7:13 am

awesome..

• Annihilated on Feb 25, 2010 at 7:15 am

Intergrated rear light and B-pillar-less for the 3-door concept..

Even it's a concept.. i'm impressed.

• Wicked. Cool

• elite on Feb 25, 2010 at 7:20 am

looks like a stylish Tata Nano thats all…

really reflect our developed country wannabe status

• PLEASE use this to replace the awful savvy!!!

• RunnerUp on Feb 25, 2010 at 7:27 am

Adoi… some people are very pessimist!

• neokid on Feb 25, 2010 at 7:27 am

y do people always think about wasting money if proton/malaysia push for things like this??

this concept car shows proton is moving forward. just like other leading automakers on this globe. if we see bmw introduce their concept, everybody will give full appraisal. y cant proton?

think positive losers. your negativity will hold u back forever.

• Proton Geneva on Feb 25, 2010 at 7:27 am

High Tech I wonder hows inside. Hope the quality will be good in the long run. Meantime,bring on the Waja and Perdana replancement. Don't lauch this model so soon. Check in 10 times then only launch. Don't use our money just to be Proton tester. Buy complain then only ^improve^ haha. Syabas! Malaysia Bolehla!

• dzulx on Feb 25, 2010 at 7:27 am

back kinda off….

• DaveDiablos on Feb 25, 2010 at 7:32 am

Looks good to me…

but one thing that is still uncertain

will it ever going to produce and if so, will it overprice?

well, its only concept design, so give it a few years, and we might be seeing one on the road soon… cant wait to see it…lol

• Kudo1402 on Feb 25, 2010 at 7:36 am

Great concept! But why focus on small car segment? why not make a sport car concept instead?

• Jarum on Feb 25, 2010 at 7:39 am

Oh no! Not another bread toaster on wheels!

• ocipala on Feb 25, 2010 at 7:40 am

omg the back!!! front looks nice but the back spoil everything

• silver nice… o

range, awfull..over …

but at orange car, i can see something at roof..what is that? sun roof? solar panel? roof scoop?

• silver nice…

orange, awfull..over …

but at orange car, i can see something at roof..what is that? sun roof? solar panel? roof scoop?

• Littlefire on Feb 25, 2010 at 7:44 am

If felt is like derive from Smart for 4… Anyone agrees especially the rear side?

• bdllhbdw on Feb 25, 2010 at 7:44 am

the design is better when it is compared with current proton cars but not when it is compared with most car maker comcepts.

honestly,the side windows look weird for a car of that size,but i think proton will redesign it due to cost and manufacturing complexity of the shape. we'll see that!

on the rear,where's the lights? is it a film layer which emits light that they fix on the rear? that's strange but possible!

• malaysia memang bole on Feb 25, 2010 at 7:48 am

wow cool design.

proton,please produce it!

• henryee on Feb 25, 2010 at 7:48 am

the Front is Really good, and thumb up

but the back/rear is really shitty~~~LOUSY~

• henryee on Feb 25, 2010 at 7:51 am

and don't forget to put MORE and MORE SAFETY FEATURES ON THIS CAR ya~~~

don't juz put 2 shitty airbags, ABS & EBD, that kind of things ya, WE NEED MORE~~~

• Elvis on Feb 25, 2010 at 7:52 am

Doesnt sell. Those giving praises are just that, giving praises. Sure, only 1000 unit will be sold. Few years later, phase out….remember Savvy, Juara, Arena…etc…

• sometimes when designer design a graphic design really look nice.. but after produce? you know what I mean.. I hope this car looks nice when they produce it later..

• Johan Farid Khairudd on Feb 25, 2010 at 8:02 am

Nice !! Me like the concept .. If the quality can match it , it would be worth buying !!

I'd drive it .. I'd fly it too! :) thanks Paul. — JFK

• Anonymous on Feb 25, 2010 at 8:04 am

At least sleek Exterior compare to mesin basuh (Juara).

• i add 1 more..tiara..even elvis not remeber..heheeheh

• msian on Feb 25, 2010 at 8:14 am

niceeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee

• Black Dog on Feb 25, 2010 at 8:17 am

Why is it called Proton Geneva???

How about Proton K'tan, Proton Bin Ulu or Proton Balik Kampung??

For me, NO! unless huge design improvements from current 'concept'…

• Paul Tan on Feb 25, 2010 at 8:20 am

I am only calling it the Geneva concept because it's yet to be named and it's scheduled to be shown at Geneva. Thus, Geneva concept.

• tokmoh on Feb 25, 2010 at 8:21 am

Hmm… the rear looks like some citroen small car… pretty cool I guess.

A production version might be toned down, but I hope if it did come into production, it will not differ too much than this concept… Like Kia Rondo. When in concept, it looked cool, sleek and nice but the production version didn't turn out to be that cool.

• malaysia memang bole on Feb 25, 2010 at 8:27 am

i don't think that the rear design is ugly,to me it looks modern and kinda cool to me.it kinda reminds me to VW UP! concept.

• goniothalamus on Feb 25, 2010 at 8:28 am

If it going into production, i bet my money to booking it even without test drive it…

Sure it suit well for my city transport!!!

"Compact, Convenience, Cool, Cute!"

• Elvis on Feb 25, 2010 at 8:36 am

Oh, thanks lmst! Who can forget Tiara, the worthless jewel!! I remember one commentator saying how much he love Tiara. And i believe he is having field day buying Tiara or getting Tiara for free!!! Hahahahaha….

• Peter on Feb 25, 2010 at 8:37 am

Does Proton purposely leaked these informations out? I dont think will attract alot of people in it. Reliability and Quality Check problems are the main problems that most Proton Users have.

• Persatuan Anti Toyot on Feb 25, 2010 at 8:38 am

Let's not forget that Guigaro designed the original Golf Mk1

• frossonice (Member) on Feb 25, 2010 at 8:38 am

I really don't understand most Malaysian's mentality. Same article on Autocar website produced much better discussion. You are complaining about trivial things like stupid power window reliability (it's getting old), will Proton ever produce it (well, they better!), the final product will be watered down (concepts suppose to look interesting and exotic, at least), etc.

I bet most of the commenter doesn't even understand the idea behind this concept or how the engine will work. The only thing they care is how other people will react on their comments. Get a life!

• taboogen on Feb 25, 2010 at 8:49 am

I bet if the car come out from the production line and the price is slightly higher then so call imported car, malaysian ppl will always kutuking.. but when korean car design by pinin firina with a ruler people say that car is a good car…

wake up malaysian… we are far far way behind

• skiborne on Feb 25, 2010 at 9:00 am

cantik wut the design, reminds me of a small cross-overs like VW cross polo, the orange prototype one i mean… hopefully the real ones will be quite similar to this one…

• saga aeroback 1.5 on Feb 25, 2010 at 9:07 am

nice, thumbs up for p1 cool and very modern design hope with this up coming models p1 will catch more eyes in malaysia and abroad..good luck

• lu polis ka ? on Feb 25, 2010 at 9:14 am

Just wait for a couple of days to get a clearer picture

on the future direction of P1.

This car has generated lots of interest but how much is it gonna cost ?

My guess is that the figures will not be in the "affordable" range.

As a benchmark the Mi-ev is selling for AU$30K / 12500 pounds.

• Vezeroth on Feb 25, 2010 at 9:21 am

Can you imagine if there was a head on collision between the two cars, the drivers would just be inches apart :P

I dont really like the design, its good technology but the question is will the technology make production?

• Cute!!! Please Naza, talk to Proton and rebadge this beauty as a Peugeot. Just kidding! I will buy this car if it goes into production. Perhaps, Smart will rebadge this a a new Smart Car.

• LotusLover on Feb 25, 2010 at 9:24 am

One word to say. COOL!

• tamaki on Feb 25, 2010 at 9:40 am

breakthrough is encourage / innovation is necessary / design to be difference is identify. Consist of All = perfect.

• iskett on Feb 25, 2010 at 10:01 am

Design's not working for me..

It doesn't LOOK practical..

Yea, i know its a concept..

• front end on the silver looks good.

I think this concept car is suitable for mass production. If Proton wanna beat perodua on compact car class; this concept car might just do some damage to perodua sales; but mass produce the silver one… and put campro turbo under the hood

but the head rest on the seat kinda look like E.T's head :P

• aki_zz on Feb 25, 2010 at 10:55 am

i cannot help but think the front fog light is like a cat fangs, and the front looks like a cat…thundercats! LMAO

• Just merely a concept. I can't really comment anything about this until it goes into productions…

Still, the concept looked nice though. Keep it up & best of luck, Proton!

• wAzYz on Feb 25, 2010 at 12:49 pm

sure to beat viva….hehe…

• if you told me it was a moon buggy i would believe you.

don't think into the 25th century just yet proton.

• where the hell do the designers go to art school anyway. like really.

their aptness at churning out stuff like juara and savvy, amazes me.

• helmi on Feb 25, 2010 at 1:38 pm

Nice & cool exterior design. Better than the Japs or Korean marque in its class the latest and concepts. I hope the same for the built quality as well as handling, ride comfort & engine/electrical motor performance.

• ezralimm on Feb 25, 2010 at 2:23 pm

Oh my god the concepts does seem very sound.

Like the second last pic. The space comparison was good. But now what about safety???

A small turbodiesel version may be the way to go for malaysia…with power, fuel economy.. and the grunt to run air conditioning 24/7 unlike hybrids.

• ezralimm on Feb 25, 2010 at 2:29 pm

Elvis said,

February 24, 2010 @ 11:52 pm

Doesnt sell. Those giving praises are just that, giving praises. Sure, only 1000 unit will be sold. Few years later, phase out….remember Savvy, Juara, Arena…etc…

=============================

The savvy is still being sold. The juara was beaten to death by a FUGLY stick.

and the Arena really filled a niche market. I cant believe it myself but it's still on sale in Melbourne. Just saw one on the road yesterday. There simply arent any other sub2.0L ute's around. The local ones are 4.0L guzzlers.

Note that arena type cars are very popular in thailand as well. They dont fit with the malaysian market, but overseas it can be different….same with this hybrid concept. I dont think i'tll work due to aircond requirements….but pop a small TD engine in it and…

• shawal on Feb 25, 2010 at 3:20 pm

it looks like how a concept car should look like , production model will be more suited to consumer's taste, right now it still got that dat 'gaban/satria baja hitam feel to it' …

– the suv's cheeky air intake is nice , makes the silver 1 looks too serious

-if it use less petrol than my savvy, i'll definitely consider since i live in kl

– dont like that sloping front windows

– if done right , it will steal some of myvi's market, since the new one looks kinda 'meh'…..

• shawal on Feb 25, 2010 at 3:23 pm

***for production model

-change the front sloping windows to straight ones

-integrate tail lights to c- pillar and less fussy detaily on bumpers

-slap bang a sporty front ala mazda 2 ( any inspiration from mazda will do )

• freeze on Feb 25, 2010 at 3:25 pm

No B pillar…. Wouldn't that reduce the rigidity of the car? Any side impact crash can do some serious damage.

• theanswer on Feb 25, 2010 at 3:36 pm

accordmania,

it's r&d, of course going to 'waste' money. but it's for future development, why not. but if they decide to manufactured one, it wont be the same..of course a bit of improvement can be made.

• temakol on Feb 25, 2010 at 3:39 pm

Those teaser pics very teasing…eager to know whats the rest…proud to be Malaysian…Malaysian can be seen standing same level position with other giant motor company….Malay….Chinese…Melanau…Indian…Iban…Kadazan…others all back you Proton. Bring Malaysia in the eyes of the world. 1Malaysia.

• azrai on Feb 25, 2010 at 3:45 pm

Lotus has come out with versatile platform (MPX one of the example) before. Why just Proton use that instead?

• Hmm, I'm sure there's a Malaysian designer who could pen a similar design. But I guess penny pinchers in Proton will 'value engineered' the design until it morphed into the Proton cars that we have loved so well. But when Giugiaro pen something… well this is a concept, it would be interesting to see what the penny pinchers turn this into.

This is a pseudo mini-MPV hybrid right, that a niche within a niche. I wonder why Proton don't develop a concept of their bread and butter segment, the compact sedan to communicate their design language or direction. That will excite more Malaysians. I would dearly love to buy Proton again.

• kinesthe on Feb 25, 2010 at 4:08 pm

i'm certainly not pro-proton by any means, and in fact i can go on for a few nights about the failings of proton. but this is definitely a step in the right direction.

1. regardless of personal tastes of styling, proton approached a fairly well design company, who is highly acclaimed. just go google/wiki giugiaro and see what other car companies have used them.

2. more importantly, they have introduced some forward looking concepts, such as the improved spaced in a smaller footprint, etc. which are practical design innovations that would take any car company forward.

ultimately, now all that is left is for proton to fulfil its primary objective, which is to bring modern day technology to the rakyat at affordable prices. and by affordable, this means cheaper at the same or better quality than the next alternative without all of the distorting two-tiered taxes and duties intended to keep proton halfway competitive. in its more than 20 years of existence, it has not achieved this, and has instead been a blood sucking vampire, diverting our country's scarce resources for a massive ego stroke fail. sure the original proton saga is great and lasts so long. i love mine too and it's still running great. in any other country, this would be consigned to the scrap heap for so many reasons, and it's 100% mitsubishi technology anyway. lets hope proton changes course and delivers soon, for the sake of the country.

• mana moment on Feb 25, 2010 at 4:12 pm

the mud guard looks cheap.. kinda myvi-ish..

but overall, i'd very much like to see it on the road.

go p1 go!

• thunderbird on Feb 25, 2010 at 4:15 pm

Proud to be Malaysian? Be what? I am not proud at all!!! 50 mil submarine case? Stolen Jet Engine? Corruptions everywhere man

• hiruma kecil (Member) on Feb 25, 2010 at 4:17 pm

silver 5doors, orange 3 doors…

• 4G63tDSM on Feb 25, 2010 at 4:17 pm

I think it looks decent. But looks is secondary unless they can get all the mechanical/electrical bits to work well.

But then again, this is coming from someone that thinks the Tiara is a good car badly marketed and supported.

• Unknown on Feb 25, 2010 at 4:55 pm

accordmania said,

will it be marketed or just a waste of money?

—————————————-

I think is a concept wont be in production. Thus, it is a waste of money! Otherwise it will line up under Production Introduction at Geneva show 2010.

• Eyesore on Feb 25, 2010 at 4:55 pm

It's a concept car… why la you guys bashing it as if it's a production cars… at least this one possible to be produced… unlike some other ridiculous concept cars from other manufacturer… such as suzuki etc..

and btw… savvy sales gone past way over 10000 units… Juara also sold more than 1000 units… arena as well and its quite popular in Australia…. On the Tiara… it's not Proton cars tbh…Proton was forced to produced it by HICOM if i'm not mistaken…..

And Thunderbird… yes corruption is everywhere… go to any of you ideal country… be it australia, japan, USA, Britain, China or even Egypt… corruption is still there… YES Egypt too… you just can't run from it… so wake up and accept the reality…

• Unknown on Feb 25, 2010 at 4:58 pm

Just like last time Proton Gen-2 EVE Hybrid Concept shown at Geneva 2007 until today we couldn't see any of the Gen-2 Hybrid on the road.

• acerman on Feb 25, 2010 at 5:02 pm

ocipala said,

February 24, 2010 @ 11:40 pm

omg the back!!! front looks nice but the back spoil everything

————————————————————–

I kinda agree… I don't know about U, but almost all proton "butt" does accommodate with the front profile.

Ex. Proton Savvy… the front profile is sooo nice, but the rear is a little bit…err..

• pulge on Feb 25, 2010 at 5:03 pm

freeze,

If no B-pillar makes the car less safe, then how about cars with fabric roof? i.e. convertible aka cabriolet like the Boxster or M3 Cabriolet? I am sure they will engineer the car properly to ensure safety.

• Amiran on Feb 25, 2010 at 5:05 pm

Agree w u thunder! Anyway, get rid of the cat logo. IT ABSOLUTELY OLD FASHION!

I think this is proton's 2nd take on perodua's myvi and now alza for its huge success that eventually eaten protons market share badly and penetrate into its tradisional market segment intrinsically.

The 1st take with savvy fail.

Finally, competing with 'Toyota' group is not as easy as "if you can't beat them, joint them". Their marketing motto of building right car, right market, right pricing must really be churned!

My advice is, concentrate on your strength (if there is…) and FOCUS, don't loose it.

• moha3774 on Feb 25, 2010 at 5:08 pm

Structural rigidity is the answer to "B" pillar less vehicle…like Toyota ISIS (although only on passenger side)

• pomen_gtr on Feb 25, 2010 at 5:16 pm

definately better than so called tough "sawy"

• dzulx on Feb 25, 2010 at 5:18 pm

thunderbird said,

February 25, 2010 @ 8:15 am

Proud to be Malaysian? Be what? I am not proud at all!!! 50 mil submarine case? Stolen Jet Engine? Corruptions everywhere man

——————————————

So submarine should cost just 5mil?? Pretty interesting.. our def. asset should cost less than rolls royce..

• frossonice (Member) on Feb 25, 2010 at 5:21 pm

thunderbird said,

=============================================

Dude, wrong thread. And this is not a political blog.

• staff on Feb 25, 2010 at 5:21 pm

hey thunderbird…

go out of malaysia la… if you hate the govt, hate the govt, not the country… i bet you are born on the moon…

Corruption is everywhere in the world… maybe you will appreciate our country if you are a citizen of the worst corruption country…

• omanjedi on Feb 25, 2010 at 5:35 pm

Hope the investment is well worth it as paying the Italian is not cheap. It would be better to make it to production as we (middle class) Malaysian are craving for an affordable italian/Euro car design for decades now.

• perey on Feb 25, 2010 at 5:42 pm

dont be negative guys. give proton time to develop. example.. kia was founded in 1944… long time to reach what they are reaching right now. yup, I'll admit that proton has made some screw-ups.

this is a city-car… not your typical balik kampung car. i think it is hard to sell in malaysia, but it will sell well in europe. it will be the rival for smartfortwo.

• kopi-man on Feb 25, 2010 at 5:58 pm

It sure looks like a MyVi facelift! :)

• i like this.. best design after proton gen2..

other models look suck to me..

but just wondering how about the engine..

will be reliable or not?

hahaha

• aqeel iman on Feb 25, 2010 at 6:04 pm

wow….cant wait to see the real car…if the price is competetive…consider to buy one…good luck proton.

• p4k4bu on Feb 25, 2010 at 6:05 pm

I wonder how the comments would be, if Proton decided to use "Lotus Concept" instead of "Proton Concept" car ???

;) ;) ;)

• Bryant on Feb 25, 2010 at 6:08 pm

y proton always come out small car? Cant they jz come out car like camry or civic level ? Sian la…wasting $ only

• aaron on Feb 25, 2010 at 6:08 pm

I have to admit when I saw the Kia Cerato Forte, it is the first time i would consider buying Korean. In fact, i think the Japanese have moved up the value addition ladder and their cars are not cheap anymore. I see the koreans replacing the japs at the bottom of the ladder like the japs in the 80s by offering value to customers. But what struck me most about the car was of course the exciting design which was done by a european firm.

Now I am equally excited that Proton is considering taking a step in this direction. I totally agree with this idea of outsourcing the design work to a professional design firm.. and an italian one at that!

i am not criticising proton's bumiputra policy directly for their failures but rather i appreciate Proton finally takes the business seriously and try to make a sensible business decision. This is in line with Petronas decision to sponsor Mercedes instead which was a great business decision. I hope all state owned firm would take the same due consideration when they make important decisions.

In the first place, we have placed too high an expectation on Proton.. from copying cars to building totally new cars. it's a big jump and one we failed miserably at. Now, if we can have a guiding hand in the form of external expertise, i believe in due course Proton can form their own design philisophy and internal capability to execute effectively.

I dream of the day Proton can be competitive on the world market so we all can be released from the crutchs of high car prices and non-sensical import taxes and enjoy driving good cars without paying an arm and a leg and achieve an improved quality of life.

Proton's success is Malaysia's success and a straight forward business approach should have been taken without any political agenda. I don't think the rakyat should continue paying for their incompetance.. there's only so much blood (oil?) that can drained..

• good design, hope quality is good too. Will be Myvi killer if launch in malaysia

• p1basher on Feb 25, 2010 at 6:09 pm

i hope it is cheap

• molala on Feb 25, 2010 at 6:11 pm

iskett said,

February 25, 2010 @ 2:01 am

Design’s not working for me..

It doesn’t LOOK practical..

Yea, i know its a concept..

———————————————

define your understanding of PRACTICAL please.

thanks.

• Arashikage on Feb 25, 2010 at 6:13 pm

It's a city car concept!!….Not Balik Kampung Proton…..It'll be used to lug kids to and from school or drive to LRT Stations to park and ride, etc.Things fit for a city car. I bet in Europe this car would get more appreciation, because European are crazy about small cars AND most of them lives in cities.

In Malaysia? Honestly NO!! We value our balik kampung tradition too much. That's why a car with no boot cannot sell well in Malaysia.This car are not design with Malaysians in mind. BTW u don't drive fast in cities, so I expect to see only modest safety features.

Maybe this car could help Proton capture the important European city car market. If Top Gear loves the glorified golf cart called the MiEV, then they would surely loves this, a golf cart with extended range. Hahahahaha, just kidding. But when u have permanent electric motor driving the wheels, doesn't it feel like driving a golf cart?

P/s: If you think it looks like a toaster with wheels then don't buy it. I luv it. I thinks it has all the credentials to be a proper city car i.e to be used only in cities….not for balik kampung!!

• San Peng Road on Feb 25, 2010 at 6:17 pm

mcm proton mini jaguh je..

• Tiadaid on Feb 25, 2010 at 6:18 pm

thunderbird said,

————-

You really think corruption is a Malaysian problem? Come on. Everywhere in the whole damn world there's corruption. Heck, I bet even in Singapore there's corruption, although you don't see it. It's all boils down to the basic human instinct, greed.

So if you hate corruption, why not take the 1st step and not practice it yourself. The next time a policeman comes to give you a summons, either pay the fine if you're in the wrong or go to court and contest it if you're not in the wrong. If everyone thinks like that then surely corruption would not be that big a problem now would it?

• initial R on Feb 25, 2010 at 6:27 pm

If this is translation of new proton direction, can say they can achieve as same level as big marques after 7 years or maybe less…. Now we all know this is concept… but who said that the concept can't be produce… we have look before that when Volvo came out with C30 concept, after few years they produce the car & enter the market. Same goes to BMW, Merc & even VW…. Just some of the part they have to remove & replace with other part to make it manufacture… I like the idea that a segment with SUV style & it look great… However I know that not all car fans know about car design, if they really know about the concept of design we would not see the hideous ah beng modification that transform the car from normal to “Longkang Makeup”. Even some time I wonder some of commenter said that they really hate P1 but in same time they trade old P1 to New P1…. Just only to mention old legend “Power Window” story. It that stupid? Think your self nether you like P1 or not….

I have see P1 have done many progress last year. They have invest lot’s of money for R&D to make sure P1 can compete with big marques The main focus is to penetrate Europe, south east Asia & get America market…. Evora will come in Malaysia this March after few years already… not coz Malaysia not afford to buy it but I think they want to get international market first then Malaysia. We also well know that Malaysian very skeptic with Malaysian product even the import are big suck but still we praise them like a God… Pity Malaysian…

• barca on Feb 25, 2010 at 6:28 pm

design with good intentions but sadly there's no continuity/link of its past. to be fair, reader can examine peugeot's 200 series (contis) and subaru impreza (japanese).

take the impreza, regardless of whatever versions, the overall exterior remained the same and therefore, you cannot mistake an impreza for something else due to its character as a throughbred driving machine.

and now take the peugeot 200 series, from the iconic 205 and 206 up until 207, the design doesn't change as much. the character that this series represented was to be a "pocket rocket" due to its fun driving.

that's not the case with our proton. what i'm trying to say here quite possibly when gen2 was produced, proton wanted to "break away" from the problematic image brought upon by previous models and it somewhat succeeded.

in short, all i'm saying here is that the character of the car and its link to its past matters. it appears that proton just doesn't want anything to do with its past and that's really sad indeed.

• mu_77 on Feb 25, 2010 at 6:41 pm

Yes it looks quite good…. Guys dont argue in comments section la abt corruption, government, policies..etc. This website is for us to comment the rides and enjoy the pics.

• Mufasa on Feb 25, 2010 at 6:42 pm

ermmm….how if paul close this comment section? all of us can be gilaa…

• umno rasis on Feb 25, 2010 at 6:45 pm

city car with hybrid tech = success!..go on make it a reality proton!!

• Kambing Gurun on Feb 25, 2010 at 6:55 pm

Since Syed Zainal took over Proton, they've been making right decisions for Proton. Proton bashers should look beyond the scope of "power window failure", and accept that Proton is improving. Protons are better looking nowadays, and more may surpass Japanese car companies in near future in term of design, and probably better overall package. I'm being optimistic but I think Japanese car companies are having downfall given the recent serious problems plaguing their cars. At least Proton cars never had stuck accelerator pedal. My current cars are P1 and P2 (oops) and P1 would be my future car.

• Mr. Proton on Feb 25, 2010 at 7:10 pm

HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHHAHAHA!!!!

• mak engkao on Feb 25, 2010 at 7:11 pm

the price would be a factor. At what price do you expect proton to sell to general Malaysian public? If they fit it with first class interior.etc, selling it at more than 100K, any takers? So they would place it below a certain price range, hence the chepo plastics we get. Time… time.. maybe another 10 years. When Proton have a broader product range, better design, diesels, hybrids maybe, better interior fittings, DURABLE interior, then itu boleh jadi.

• Tiadaid said,

February 25, 2010 @ 10:18 am

thunderbird said,

————-

You really think corruption is a Malaysian problem? Come on. Everywhere in the whole damn world there’s corruption. Heck, I bet even in Singapore there’s corruption, although you don’t see it. It’s all boils down to the basic human instinct, greed.

So if you hate corruption, why not take the 1st step and not practice it yourself. The next time a policeman comes to give you a summons, either pay the fine if you’re in the wrong or go to court and contest it if you’re not in the wrong. If everyone thinks like that then surely corruption would not be that big a problem now would it?

—————————–

agree wit u…some accuse other corruption but they also practice corruption..very gud example bro..some dont perasan they bribing police. i hav many friend like that who wan get away with high summon by bribing the police..then talk c*ck bout corruption n blame high corruption in bolehland..wtf

• Popiahh on Feb 25, 2010 at 7:48 pm

what eva model they produced, it will stay the same in the quality issue..sighhh…

• pojie7 on Feb 25, 2010 at 7:59 pm

In recent years we can see that Proton has been taking steps towards the right direction. 1st, they begin to give our market what we want with the Persona, new Saga and Exora. Now, they are showcasing this concept. There are many reasons for manufacturers to put out concept cars like this. It is to showcase new tech, new design direction and more importantly, for potential markets to take notice of the brand. Proton might or might not produce this particular concept car as it is, but they might apply the design language and technology into future productions. And if u say Malaysians prefer 'balik kampung' cars, then how come Peroduas are selling like hot cakes?

• MADBOY on Feb 25, 2010 at 8:01 pm

Unknown said,

February 25, 2010 @ 8:58 am

Just like last time Proton Gen-2 EVE Hybrid Concept shown at Geneva 2007 until today we couldn’t see any of the Gen-2 Hybrid on the road.

———

It was not proton concept car but more on lotus hybrid system capability. This concept car is a result from that.

• scirocco meets myvi = Myyacco

• Jumbsuck on Feb 25, 2010 at 8:12 pm

Just rebadge Tana Nano (Euro version) with this Lotus hybrid engine will do the same trick for Proton.

Sign of disaster – anything resemble Savvy step window. The faulty door carrier means the glass can at least stuck at the window step.

"Needless to say, right now the vote count is about 99% in favor of “Yes”. at time of publishing."

Self-praise is no praise, thank you.

• oldwira on Feb 25, 2010 at 8:26 pm

Haha this concept cars create more losers amongst bashers…. bravo proton!

• bobdbilder on Feb 25, 2010 at 8:28 pm

Corruption is truly everywhere like a dormant virus. This world is not about Black or White. Its coloured in a myriad shade of grey. Yes we don't have a PM's wife running Khazanah do we? Across the Selat that wife was booted out, and got reinstated. And its not called corruption by Transparency International. Yet people are so quiet about it even though its managing millions more of people money than we could ever save in our lifetime.

We have a culture of doing ANYTHING to get what we want. That's the core reason. We have no respect for law be it natural or man made.

• nabill on Feb 25, 2010 at 8:32 pm

the more i see it , the more it resembles the mitsubishi i-city….in terms of the concept behind those smalll city cars….im jus worried stimes those concepts thy looks too futuristic , driving away coservative buyers…

• Mysticmind on Feb 25, 2010 at 8:39 pm

NO B PILLAR!?

That's ok! IF they used all subframe technolgy with High Tensil Steel + Injected Foam (kinda human Bone technical). It's hard and strenght already greatest far away from others make already. And.. FYI, it's already use in Exora MPV.

The remaining thing is only the electric motor and batteries.

Just produce it as soon as posible proton! Your Tanjung malim plants are under utilized! Make the Range Extender Engine Generator there mass market to the world. As I know, this Generator engine also used to be in lotus evora hybrid.

I wanna book it now! (Oh well.. even not in market yet. :P )

• good luck malaysian on Feb 25, 2010 at 9:39 pm

I think proton main problem is not their previous power window problem but it is their die hard bashers. Those bashers can link all bad things to proton and feel those bad things are free from those companies that they like so much.

come on… let's be mature, please continue to give constructive comment. Those outdated power window old story is not going to make you guys look smart.

I hate corruption and what we can do is by voting the right goverment in comming election. Make sure u and your friend and family go to vote when the time come.

Support what is right and good, condem what is wrong and bad. Proton might give us those bad quality cars previously but if they are improving, this is someting good for the country.

Long way to go Malaysian!

• ReactiX on Feb 25, 2010 at 9:43 pm

My friend Myvi gas pedal got stuck today. He go to the service center by bike to report and then got towed. Better check yours.

• namerku on Feb 25, 2010 at 9:55 pm

nice design..n more pretty then ugly MYVI and VIVA..at least a new design not juz copy n paste only..

• kassorga on Feb 25, 2010 at 10:08 pm

thunderbird said,

—————————–

I don't know why but I have this awkward instant feeling that this thunderbird guy really did some corruptions in one way or another in his life. When he said he is not proud to be malaysian because of corruptions everywhere, he's sounded so fake, so cliche. don't u all feel that?

and he should be shown the door out of this country, by all means and asap. but the fact will still remain – he will never like anything and everywhere he's been kicked-out to. poor guy.

listen thunderbird. I may dislike the current govt, but that doesn't warrant me to put this country down. u should think the same.

• very nice concept car……..congrats proton. those anti proton, wtf………

• Planner on Feb 25, 2010 at 10:20 pm

I don't mind if this car is expensive, as long as foreign customers (whom can afford to buy expensive and high quality automobiles) buy this car. The reason why I say this because it is a high time Proton to market its brand overseas and target those who wants quality over price (or quality=price).

• Tengokaje.. on Feb 25, 2010 at 10:21 pm

Nice concept from P1. Good job. Look practical for city driving.

Salam..

• ReactiX said,

February 25, 2010 @ 1:43 pm

My friend Myvi gas pedal got stuck today. He go to the service center by bike to report and then got towed. Better check yours.

…………………………………………..

Looks like the great Toyota symptom is getting on its siblings…

• toyolta on Feb 25, 2010 at 11:47 pm

ReactiX said,

February 25, 2010 @ 1:43 pm

—————————————

Berlambak lagi yang dah kena tapi malu nak ngaku.

• nigttrain on Feb 26, 2010 at 1:05 am

My funny friend here says it looks like a circus clowns car driven around the ring. I totally disagree.

• tokmoh on Feb 26, 2010 at 1:29 am

Hmm… I was just thinking… if it gets into production, maybe this car can be rebadged by Mitsubishi to penetrate Japanese n some other countries' market. In return, Proton can rebadge another Mitsubishi model. Proton Triton maybe? :)

Realistically, I think this car might be pricey (in its category of small compact car), might be an issue for Msian market which are too pessimistic, and also in other poorer/less environmentally-conscious Proton markets like Thailand and Indonesia, but definitely a boon for richer countries like Australia, Brunei, China, UK and Singapore. And a great model to enter new markets like Europe and America. Middle East? Lotus Evora sudey…

Please manufacture it, DSZ!! *fingers cross*

• magic on Feb 26, 2010 at 3:03 am

persetankan mulut2 longkang kat sini. go proton go!

• kimi_ on Feb 26, 2010 at 3:17 am

My friend's Satria Neo brake pedal got stuck today. He go to the service center by bike to report and then got towed. Better check yours.

• AMPANGBOY on Feb 26, 2010 at 3:45 am

Just like previous concept car. Concept is just a concept..When deal with the money, proton can't produce it like what we see in the picture..

• asgard on Feb 26, 2010 at 3:46 am

compact and efficent car are the fastest growing car segment in europe with model like toyota iQ,proton need to enter this market quickly and this model is suitable,

by the way the rear light remind me of sepang f1 circuit layout.

• looks like another Kembara+perodua, why is the car so high?

• acerman on Feb 26, 2010 at 4:24 am

dzulx said,

February 25, 2010 @ 9:18 am

thunderbird said,

——————————————

So submarine should cost just 5mil?? Pretty interesting.. our def. asset should cost less than rolls royce..

———————————————————-

hei thunderbird, have u been to other countries before?

Try living in other countries like our "neighbouring" countries, I'm sure U want to get to malaysia quickly only by using and seeing they roads.

*THINK BEFORE U TYPE.

• ching on Feb 26, 2010 at 5:13 am

For all the negative commenters, imagine if the badge is replaced by Toyota or Honda… I guaranteed you all will say "GOOD", "NICE", "COOL", "I LIKE IT"… wake up la… we should be proud on this concept… just a concept, why you all still can expect Proton can beat all the big rivals like T, H, BM, MERC… you all totally in the wrong mindset! Shame on you all…

• incredible on Feb 26, 2010 at 5:25 am

nice but i can see it using savvy platform la……hope they do something more aerodynamic like the new hyundai,that's is real nice…..

• oldwira on Feb 26, 2010 at 6:14 am

this concept cars make the P2 models look so uglyyy

• oldwira on Feb 26, 2010 at 6:18 am

the rear looks cool and futuristic. Is the taillight inside the cabin? mmm

• Mazda 3 MPS + ANTI P on Feb 26, 2010 at 7:18 am

i have never seen an uglier car.

• temakol on Feb 26, 2010 at 7:19 am

Yea…talking about PROUD…..try live in Thailand…Indo…Phil…even Singapore…sure no others like Malaysia. How come just because you dont like national car…corruption by certain minor individu (still have SPRM cought them)…you throw away your pride to be Malaysian?!!! Dont judge Malaysia just because you dislike some part of it. We the others PROUD to be Malaysian. Thats is your job to vote who is country leader…you yourself vote for them. Watch out your comment before you submit it. What an annoying comment.

• Infinitt on Feb 26, 2010 at 8:28 am

nice design. wish to see this car at our road soon..proton–> production please

• MoFaz on Feb 26, 2010 at 9:37 am

especially to Mazda 3 MPS + ANTI PROTON ULTRAS, and other bashers:

If you don't like something, you don't have to poison other people mind with your hatred. Maybe you drive proton before and now you could afford Mazda… well, good for you. But you don’t have the right to be so egoistic and inconsiderate with your words. Seems like you’re TOOOOO PROUD with your car and reluctant to acknowledge that Proton growing and improving. You just close your eyes and bashing blindly.

Well, your behavior is just like a heartbroken boy. Even with new and better girlfriend, you still couldn’t get over with your ex-gf just because you couldn’t get your revenge. Please, grow up man.

• malaysia memang bole on Feb 26, 2010 at 10:01 am

Mazda 3 MPS + ANTI PROTON ULTRAS said,

February 25, 2010 @ 11:18 pm

i have never seen an uglier car

——————————————–

I never seen an ugly name like this

• 1 Malaysia on Feb 26, 2010 at 11:38 am

Another gimmick from proton to attract more customers to buy their existing UNSOLD cars… Money is flowing like water for them… Use it for the benefit of the rakyat lah!!!! Cut down ur current proton car price that is killing for the so-so quality!!

• rickyll on Feb 26, 2010 at 4:36 pm

Due recognition should be given to Proton for at least trying to be on par with other auto makers in the world. It also shows that the outsourcing move is one step in the correct direction as can be seen on the external design. We ought to have positive thinking and give credit where it is due. It's love/hate situation for most Malaysian towards Proton. I had bought a Saga in 1991, a Waja in 2001 and an Iswara in 2007. Still keeping the last two for my children. I am driving a Korean marque now. Much as l like to buy another Proton but the past experiences keep me away. Anyway, I must admit that Proton's concept car looks nice and trendy.

• Prismo on Feb 26, 2010 at 7:18 pm

just ignore mazda 3 mps.. he/she (shemale hehe) just looking for attention… biarkan dia menyalak.. kalo dah letih, nanti dia diam…

• Alza Owner on Feb 26, 2010 at 7:34 pm

Wow! I like this! want to get one when it is up for sales and if the price is reasonable with good quality. Atlast Proton has something for Malaysian. Well done!

• Mazda 3 MPS + ANTI P on Feb 26, 2010 at 8:24 pm

the new proton designed by giugario chong. a big commercial failure. coming soon.

• malaysia memang bole on Feb 26, 2010 at 10:36 pm

Mr malasda 3 menopause ska Mazda 3 mps

can you please stop posting comments

and stop using those ugly name

• LordSatan on Feb 27, 2010 at 1:54 am

Another Proton 'Tiara'.

• Dark Magicians on Feb 27, 2010 at 4:27 am

Nice. A very class car from Proton.

SUPPORT!!!

• luser80 on Feb 27, 2010 at 9:41 am

a friend of mine could shoot the new proton concept car designed by italian designer giugiaro during a photosession in italy.

where can i post it?

• BudakKampung on Feb 27, 2010 at 5:37 pm

Support n proud to Proton….

• It will be veli expensive wan lah!

Better go buy Honda Civic Hybrid lah…

• Quattro (Member) on Feb 28, 2010 at 2:08 am

Dear Dato Sri SZ, please buat benda lain pulok >

Saga > kereta

Persona > kereta

Exora > MPV

Next…..

Buatkan rakyat malaysia Proud ….

Bikin 4 x 4 pulak masuk market Pick Up macm toyota Hilux, Mitsui Triton , Nissan Frontierrrr.

Skrg buat Proton Pick up >>> ARORA…….

Proton Juara dok rok cetong org teganu cakap….make it 2.5L diesel > nak import engine mitsui pun takpa > atleast ada teknology diesel…

org melayu bukan tidak pandai…………….

proton Sure dah ada R&D diesel engine……..

Go Dato……….1 team 1 spirit 1 Proton > 1 Diesel engine !!!!

• Whoeva on Mar 02, 2010 at 6:07 pm

For those who doesn't know the meaning of having a concept car,just eff off alright? U guys are just talking without thinking..AT ALL! If all P1 did is wrong to u,then shut the eff up. U guys are irritating and annoying. U guys know nothing about design and car making industry.