BMW M3 GT2 Art Car by Jeff Koons to race in Le Mans

American artist Jeff Koons has been pestering BMW since 2003 to let him create one of Munich’s famous Art Cars. Well he’s finally got his wish and his creation, the 17th BMW Art Car based on a BMW M3 GT2, will be racing in the 24 Hours of Le Mans this weekend.

Koons started the design using CAD software before applying it to the actual model. This was then transferred onto a vinyl surface that was used to cover the 500 bhp M3 GT2. Later on, a couple of layers of clear coats were used to bring out the colours. Just in case the M3 gets damaged during the race, the same process has also been applied to the spare panels of bodywork.

The psychedelic colourful design produces an effect of rapid movement. Other additions to the graphics include debris to the back and sides (represents power) as well as two rings on the rear end that “represent supersonic acceleration.”

“These race cars are like life, they are powerful and there is a lot of energy. You can participate with it, add to it and let yourself transcend with its energy. There is a lot of power under that hood and I want to let my ideas transcend with the car – it’s really to connect with that power,” the artist said.

Koons even donned a helmet and joined BMW’s American Le Mans Series race team for testing in Sebring, Florida in February. There, he was able to experience the M3 GT2 at race speed to further inspire his design. He also witnessed “the raw unfiltered performance” of the M3 GT2 from the seat of a historic BMW M1 race car and drove a BMW M3 Coupe on the circuit for inspiration.

Koons’ Art Car will race with No. 79, a tribute to the 1979 Andy Warhol BMW M1 Art Car. Warhol’s car was assigned the No. 76, a homage to the 1976 BMW 3.0 CSL by Frank Stella, both of which raced at Le Mans.

Gallery after the jump.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1170]

Jacob Alexander

Jacob Mathew Alexander has been a motoring nut for as far as he can remember and has recently turned his passion into writing. After spending some time in the same industry in the UK, Jacob's work is from a slightly different perspective.

• dickybird on Jun 07, 2010 at 12:07 pm

FIRST!
    SWEET LOOKING CAR! GO GO GO!

• Artz3 on Jun 07, 2010 at 12:09 pm

a sure win! headache inducer this one is!

• Citroen DS3 on Jun 07, 2010 at 12:15 pm

wah shiok.. this one go into le mans… artist would have an heartache watching it being trashed on the circuit!!

• dickybird on Jun 07, 2010 at 12:31 pm

but it will run RINGS round a DS3 but they both crash and burn! LOL!

• pomen_GTR (Member) on Jun 07, 2010 at 12:59 pm

i saw candy car.. :lol:

• Alpha on Jun 07, 2010 at 1:44 pm

MY EYES,MY EYES!!!!

nice~~

• Imagine watching the art at high speed…

~Blur~ but SWEEET…

• AE86 (Member) on Jun 07, 2010 at 2:18 pm

well M3 is indeed a nice car but with that kind of artwork for the body paint, i’m sure i will knock into the backside of the car if driving behind…
    cause eye blur oledi..

• Citroen DS3 on Jun 07, 2010 at 3:16 pm

dickybird-y;

since when Citroen is entering the DS3 into Le Mans?

• dickybird on Jun 07, 2010 at 4:43 pm

ok! my bad! LOL! i am just saying it will tapau a DS3 ez bah!

• Squawk on Jun 07, 2010 at 6:16 pm

Is this to make other drivers dizzy and crash out? :-D

• m4xspeed on Jun 08, 2010 at 11:15 am

Look like the car just ran into paint factory.. :D

looks nice though!!