VIDEO: Supercharged 197 hp Honda CR-Z Mugen in action

The first pics of the Honda CR-Z Mugen was released last month, and now there’s a video of RE11 FCZ in action. Tuned by Mugen’s UK performance division, the charged CR-Z’s new bits – carbon fibre bonnet, rear spoiler, bronze Mugen wheels, front LEDs, bodykit, four-pot brake calipers – are shown in the video. Inside, there are Recaro seats and a trio of Mugen gauges on the dash top.

The 1:35 clip also shows the CR-Z’s rev counter change from blue to red as the driver changes into sports mode. The Honda is then seen doing its thing on empty country roads. You can also hear the sound of the engine, and it’s quite racy.

By the way, Mugen’s CR-Z retains the regular coupe’s 1.5-litre petrol motor, but they’ve supercharged it to produce 50% more power and torque. The claimed overall figure is 197 hp and 245 Nm just for the engine. Overall figures will be higher thanks to a recalibrated version of the CR-Z’s Integrated Motor Assist (IMA) electric motor. More details will be out later this month, when the car gets its public unveiling at the Goodwood Festival of Speed.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• that’s bronze or orange?

i like the colour, when there’s light shining onto it it looks orange but under dark condition its bronze

• bring it to Malaysia please.. :'(
    i would like to buy it…

• AWESOME!

• droll on Jun 14, 2011 at 3:33 pm

wow, triangle exhaust pipe!

• Talking about supercharge…where’s neo superchage? :0

• dahlan on Jun 14, 2011 at 4:04 pm

Proton Neo Supercharge ??

Proton should be the one with this motto
      The power of Dreams!! cos its still havin wet dreams !!

• mrkthxbai on Jun 17, 2011 at 6:14 pm

aigoo.. u guys slowpoke or what?

http://paultan.org/2011/04/11/proton-satria-neo-r3-supercharged-180-hp-200-nm/

• NONICKNAME on Jun 14, 2011 at 4:05 pm

The end of the VTEC legacy…

• my cutiecheezy cake on Jun 14, 2011 at 4:05 pm

wow insteresting….

• ben yap on Jun 14, 2011 at 4:15 pm

FUYOH! really tarmac burner for a punny engine.

It’ll be great if Honda Malaysia is bringing them in here.

• I think they forgot to drift and slide the car around. Not that I say that it’s literally slow but it feels slow in the video (thus boring)…

• Gavin on Jun 14, 2011 at 4:51 pm

jesus 50% increase, the engine must be really overengineered without having to change the internals

• sexy cr-z one please, :P

• civicEK on Jun 14, 2011 at 5:48 pm

ohhh goodbye VTEC.. :(

pls bring this to malaysia and price it nicely huhu..

• VW_fans on Jun 14, 2011 at 5:53 pm

Long Live the legendary type-R, we need a real sport car where we wish to see how many horsepower & not how many MHz of CPU/ECU the car has!!! Time attack it on Sepang, wonder how it perform?

• Revolvolution X on Jun 14, 2011 at 6:24 pm

Heard fr honda salesman CRZ launching somewhere in Oct with indicative price tag od 118k…not sure how true but it’s 20k more than Insight n if u dun mind 2 doors, this is a better buy than overpriced Thai made Jazz…CBU Japan sumore..

• thats ridiculous!! the standard crz is the same price as the insight overseas…so it should be priced less than 100k in malaysia

unless honda is trying to match the greed of UMW toyota…..

• civicEK on Jun 15, 2011 at 10:42 am

yerp, its a hybrid some more.. pls don’t price it ridiculously..

• According source price RM118.00 OTR is pretty firm, probably it two door coupe, honda aim for less sale more profit….but still debut date is mystery , anyway my garage is ready for this baby come home. haha

• hondacabuk on Jun 14, 2011 at 7:00 pm

oooyeaahhhh another toy…but no vtec..

if k20ar + electric motor + supercharger? the result is osem.

• droll on Jun 14, 2011 at 7:03 pm

won’t this have better fuel consumption than say vw’s 1.4 tsi in the polo gti 6r?

• mat koboi on Jun 14, 2011 at 7:24 pm

i like this car….

• vw_fan on Jun 14, 2011 at 7:48 pm

I have no experience driving the Honda IMA. Just based on assumption, the power output should be engine + electric motor. But if you drive the car hard on the highway the chances are the battery will run flat very quickly and you get only the engine power which will be lower than the 197hp.

Nice effort from Honda!

• rulered on Jun 14, 2011 at 8:28 pm

May I know what’s the difference between supercharged and turbocharged?

• supercharged – forced induction during intake
      turbocharged – forced induction via exhaust

• Scirocco7 on Jun 16, 2011 at 12:01 am

One is belt driven while the other is exhaust driven. Both are force induction. One has minimal or no lag while the other can give a higher boost.

• Eww… The Ultimate Bengmobile

• GingerBread on Jun 15, 2011 at 8:49 am

Simply Dream Car to own one for young blood…

• amonrei on Jun 15, 2011 at 9:34 am

No more praaaaannnNNNNNNNGGGGG. Welcome forced induction.

• Speed Racer on Jun 15, 2011 at 2:03 pm

i don mind converting into hybrid-ism if all hybrids look like this

• kingjoke on Jun 15, 2011 at 3:31 pm

Wow!… bring it here pleaseeee….

• syaq0707 on Jun 21, 2011 at 3:34 pm

haiii..for a true vtec loyal fanz, quite sad..the vtec engine shud stand by itself n produce same or more power without installing the supercharged when expanding the technologies of vtec..