My Proton Makeover – Work in Progress pics of 1992 Saga

UPDATE: Saga will be handed back to Fadly next week – stay tuned for the reveal!

The ‘My Proton Makeover’ contest, which is part of the national carmaker’s 1Perayaan Proton programme, kickstarted last month with the first project car, Fadly Hisham Roplay’s 1992 Saga. Fadly’s WCP 3145 came with a nice heart warming story, which won him the makeover ala Overhaulin’.

Playing the role of the famous Foose and friends are the boys from R3, Proton’s motorsports division headed by top drifter Tengku Djan Ley. His 19-year-old Saga will be in R3’s workshop for four weeks for a complete “tip to toe rework, inside out.”

Here are some pics of the work in progress, taken from Proton’s Facebook page. It shows Fadly’s Saga being stripped to the bone, and R3 working on the old body, which must have collected some rust by now. His Megavalve also gets a new paint job and new parts. The final pic shows a nice R3 rim with a similar design to that on the R3 Satria Neo.

Fadly is a lucky guy, and as a fellow owner of the last batch 1992 Saga Megavalve, I really envy him! View the pics after the jump.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• syukuri on Sep 08, 2011 at 4:20 pm

wow..terbaekk!!!

• turbo go go go on Sep 08, 2011 at 5:15 pm

better spend time to improve the product to make millions of ppl happy,

instead of making 1 saga 1992 owner happy la.

seriously, who cares? is this a tv show? pimp my ride?

• i sense jealousy here

• Alpha on Sep 08, 2011 at 6:26 pm

Well,u for one,doesn’t care.But this is basically an event to promote Proton itself.The way u said “better spend time to improve the product” make it sounds all so easy.

I’m not a Proton fanboy,and I’ve never driven any Proton in my whole life,but I do find it interesting on how Proton keeps on improving their models(not talking about Inspira) and after sales services(from what I’ve heard) even with all the criticism of their own countrymen.The improvement might be minimal,but at least there are improvements.

Again,not a Proton fanboy.I’m a Honda fanboy actually.Whee~

• dodgeviper88 on Sep 08, 2011 at 7:53 pm

I would say it’s a good way to promote Proton, and if it helps the brand then I’m all for it/. The only problem I have is that it’s our hard earned tax payers money that’s being thrown in it.

• Celicazz on Sep 08, 2011 at 9:57 pm

just what u call what they are doing on current saga?

‘updates’ are not results of improving the car?

• Kamarul on Sep 08, 2011 at 11:23 pm

dude..don’t show your idiota here… See how master Chip Fosse grow his reputation..by restoration dude!!

Or u might be the one who didn’t know , WHO IS CHIP FOSSE…

• Rockdaboat on Sep 09, 2011 at 12:28 am

oi stupid u pakai kete apa jgn cakap banyak la dah lah muka mcm babi

• wirabiru on Sep 08, 2011 at 11:09 pm

wah, rase cam nak hantar je wira aku, tapi dah hanta kedai cat da.. huhu

• Hameed Koyakuti on Sep 09, 2011 at 12:02 pm

Cant wait to bash once the car is complete……hehehe…..

good work R3, lousy job P1……

• Badahpzai on Sep 09, 2011 at 8:05 pm

Later you see this saga breakdown at highways :)

Good job R3/P1!

• corolla_KE70 on Sep 14, 2011 at 1:31 pm

wow… patut la Malaysia tak maju-maju.. ramai lagi rupanya orang macam kau kat sini ye?

• hexagon on Sep 08, 2011 at 4:26 pm

i cant wait the end result!!! Must be nice..

• Jeffrey Chew on Sep 08, 2011 at 4:28 pm

I’m wondering how the owner feels like after saw those R3 guys converting his car back to stock grill, fender, bumper, lamps and etc… Hahahaha… His Mitsubishi Fiore mod all gone!

• Charles on Sep 08, 2011 at 4:41 pm

Then after this he re-mod them back again hahaha.

• rally_fan on Sep 08, 2011 at 4:50 pm

hmm.. from rusted body to no rust.. yeah.. i wonder what the owner feels like…

• artworkz on Sep 08, 2011 at 4:58 pm

yah yah, so funny back to saga std. at least change to iswara.

• clement on Sep 08, 2011 at 4:59 pm

I was thinking about what you think. On the other hand, it might also enable them to design a R3 grill, fender, bumper, for this car? :)

• hope the car’s windows don’t get stuck a day after coming out from the factory.

• Tak habis2 dgn power window. I wish your head got stuck instead.

• MoFaz on Sep 09, 2011 at 10:25 am

ntahnye… Honda power window lagi la teruk.. bleh short circuit dan terbakar lagi, tak komplen pun??..

• clutch basah on Sep 09, 2011 at 12:26 pm

Concur with you bro.. a friend of mine bought Jazz in 2003. Its power window got short circuited and burnt the stereo system. Those Hondas assembled in Thailand were bad breed with some lousy wiring job.

Lucky my 2011 Accord got no problem.. :)

• sub_zero on Sep 09, 2011 at 2:23 pm

huh, i didn’t knew cbu honda from thai got problem, must be some rare case

thai take their pride when it comes to car manufacturer capabilities

• sub_zero on Sep 09, 2011 at 2:26 pm

bro, that was during mahaleel tenure, shit happens of poor administration

now dsz tenure, one by one old scar are healing

now 2011, still living in 2003?

• PakAbu on Sep 09, 2011 at 4:34 pm

This is really getting old.
        Stale.
        Moldy.
        :(

• 1Malaysia on Sep 08, 2011 at 4:39 pm

But…why???

• Beemie on Sep 08, 2011 at 4:39 pm

From ala-Fiore… to Stock… Hope smthing has to be done to the Heart of the Car… Otherwise… Sigh…

• And the owner going to convert his new Proton badge into Mitsubishi again…confirm lolz

• i don’t mind they convert back to original. because i know i will get a ‘new’ car with fresh engine (the same model but it’s fully rebuilt with original parts). the refurbished black interiors, new R3 rims, those are enough if i were him. haha.

• squall_shinoda on Sep 09, 2011 at 9:09 am

Fresh engine? Do you mean replacing the owner’s old Mitsubishi 4G13P engine to S4PE Campro IAFM engine?

• squawk on Sep 09, 2011 at 7:35 pm

You can re-read his post again. :-)

• Badahpzai on Sep 09, 2011 at 8:08 pm

no is MIVEC with INVECS III

• alldisc on Sep 10, 2011 at 1:16 pm

actually, back to the standard megavalve engine with variable venturi carburettor and standard size 13 inch wheels, that is specially made by R3.

• doesnt matter. would love to get the same treatment on my neo.. please proton pleaseeeee

• William on Sep 08, 2011 at 4:53 pm

y not restore it to a original Proton Saga without all this new design door panel and dashboard ??

• Johnny on Sep 08, 2011 at 4:58 pm

why just overhaul, paint a bit, change wheels? any workshop also can do that what.. impress us proton! transform this classic into a 21st century car with campro cps, lotus ride and handling, airbag abs, 5star euroncap..

• Griffin on Sep 08, 2011 at 5:19 pm

I’ll be cheering if they put up a MIVEC engine mated to a CVT gearbox in there, some ABS and EBD. But then again, its just a makeover, not tuning up!

• ohyaya1023 on Sep 09, 2011 at 10:07 am

as well insert 6 SRS airbags, seatbelt pretensioner, ESP, TC, EPS. SAT NAV :D
        LED Mount Stop Lamp, Vacuum Door.

Tune up onlt 1 BHP only xD

• gutss on Sep 08, 2011 at 5:32 pm

‘any workshop’ can do that…. does ‘everyone’ can support the cost to do that? :D

• if proton puts expensive parts on the saga then after that the owner would suffer to maintain it (that owner seems not like a rich guy)

• Proton should change his car to the new FL for free la. No offense, but this model is an eye-sore and already unsafe for the roads.

• khokoi on Sep 08, 2011 at 6:20 pm

Have u watch pimp my ride? Their car is worse than this.

• BadBET on Sep 09, 2011 at 12:45 am

unsafe for the road? tell that to :

1. the driver of a new honda civic who overtake me at double lane.. even the incoming lorry have to give way to that bastard. ( maybe he had 9 life.. but others dont)

2. the stupid bmw driver who tailgating until hit the car in front and cause jam for this stupidity.

the list list will go on and mostly not because of car defect.. but drivers mentality.

• Yuzdi on Sep 09, 2011 at 9:01 am

Based on MIROS survey, road accident caused by: 85% human negligence, 10% the vehicle mechanical problem & 5% the road structure. Think!

• ohyaya1023 on Sep 09, 2011 at 10:10 am

What to do… their driving skills like shyt.
        Their diving license are “purchase through under the table”

This is Malaysia, yet they drive like in Germany (where there is no speed limit on the roads)

JPJ always sleeping, 24/7 CCTV always MALFUNCTION.. you think this is USA or Singapore?

Bare with it, this is MALAYSIA. Where all the roads are sepang race circuits.

• PakAbu on Sep 09, 2011 at 4:43 pm

“JPJ always sleeping, 24/7 CCTV always MALFUNCTION.. you think this is USA or Singapore?”

For people who are supposed to be highly intelligent, it is sad that we expect authorities and technologies to police out road mis-behaviour.

In the just concluded Ops Sikap, the soft soft approach didn’t seem the fix our misbehaviour. Looks like the authorities will be tougher next time.

It is really sad when it comes down the grind, we, malaysians, need somebody do keep us in line. Just like naughty school children who only behave when the discipline teacher is making a round. Can’t we just be civilised on the road like adults should?

/rant

• Chimpanzee on Sep 09, 2011 at 8:03 pm

Chimpanzees can drive better than humans!

Uhh-uhh-ahh-ahhh!! :D

• DSZ out on Sep 08, 2011 at 5:20 pm

This shows that Proton is still living in the pre historic days.
    After 25 years they are revisiting history and rebadge the Lancer.
    Don’t waste your hard earned cash and get a better car .
    At the end of the day its still a darn Saga … a loser !!

• gutss on Sep 08, 2011 at 5:35 pm

without that ‘still a darn Saga’ we dont have the ‘all proud new Saga’…if you say so… :D

• Expatriate VN on Sep 08, 2011 at 5:38 pm

What to do, they are jaguh kampong mindset!

• what is your problem, that is done for free.

• Totally agree!Wajalution…Satrialution all r garbage and fugly!rather save money to buy the new car!

• bodo la kau ne. the winner was chosen through a contest and it happened so that he is the owner of an old saga. itu pun susah mau faham ka??

• haha..bangang gila mamat tu…
        asshole…proton are rebuilding his car for free la stupid…
        coz he won a contest..so what if he only got a saga?
        not everybody as ‘RICH’ as u…

although i dont think any rich guy visit this blog cause they already got their dream car..not like us:) tengok gambar pun jadi…

• GiveUp on Sep 08, 2011 at 11:47 pm

Seriously, until now you still don’t know why you can only afford Proton and not any other car?

• drMpower on Sep 09, 2011 at 3:57 am

thats uncalled for

the fact that matter is, that guy entered a contest.
            and the winner gets his car to be re-build
            he won it

thats it. thats is it.

as for proton, this present an advertising opportunity
            which is massive
            the market for this chance to show what proton are on about
            is massive and invaluable
            yes of course cost is included but it is justified-able

i would love to see another contest or contests for other models

• mizzuddin on Sep 09, 2011 at 12:15 am

betul betul betull…. =) hehehee

took some time at least to upgrade to a better ride…

• mizzuddin on Sep 09, 2011 at 12:47 am

bringing up the rebadging issue at this time shows one with lack of infos and a dumb stubborn… automotive is a big business laa…

the rational of the rebadging has been clarified by the author… everyone should understand except for the dumb stubborn…

n it wasn’t simple rebadge… not only the cosmetic n appearance… they do retune the ride n handling… did u miss the report…? want same engine performance with Lancer..? than just buy Lancer. what’s with all the ruckus?

• mizzuddin on Sep 09, 2011 at 1:03 am

i believe… many people does not realize the difference between demanding, owning and squeezing all out of the performance of a car…

not many have the balls u know… let say… how many can drive 120km/h for all the Karak curves by utilizing strictly on single lane? including around the Kg Sungai Dua curves…?

heyy… Persona Elegance can be driven at 140 150km/h with most of the curves without wobbling whatsoever u know… that’s with stock factory setup and their stock Silverstone rubbers…

with only a couple of trick… 32fr 29rr for the tyre pressure,
      and shift weight a little bit early right before entering the curves… =)

• Naji$ Bin Tun RosMah Lazat on Sep 10, 2011 at 1:08 am

Will die early also with that speed of cornering with persona.
        Sooner or later…..

• mizzuddin on Sep 11, 2011 at 11:12 pm

i really mean strictly on single lane at that speed with Persona Elegance

i am suggesting that people sometimes just simply demand all the available jargon… we might not afford or even know what exactly the jargon are… yet, they just simply bash when it came to local made cars and efforts without really know how the car performs… for what? just feel great reading and talking about the jargon in the specsheets or we actually need and use the techs?

i think i only need the ABS, that’s all with the driving profile… the stock brakes perform well enough except the stock pads need to be changed already at 13k km…
          i did not apply any braking entering the curves anyway except when a car change to the rightmost lane all of a sudden…

• hisham on Sep 09, 2011 at 10:06 am

Comments from DSZ is the most stupidiestest comment made by any mankind..

• Naji$ Bin Tun RosMah Lazat on Sep 08, 2011 at 5:24 pm

Proton again!!!!

shut off lar…. nothing to be shout of! THis brand has really made people suffering!

boooo….

• hehehe on Sep 08, 2011 at 5:24 pm

Did the R3 guys pasang Ultra Racing fender bar for him? :D

• Expatriate VN on Sep 08, 2011 at 5:27 pm

3R now turn it from Race, Rally & Research = Rebuilt, Repair & Refurbish! What a pathetic jaguh kampong PR exercise like nothing new or improvement to do!

• dodgeviper88 on Sep 08, 2011 at 7:56 pm

I think you got it wrong. The 3R is Recall, Repair and then Recall again.

• aquaria on Sep 08, 2011 at 9:01 pm

Much better than H brand. Fool their fanboy buy using Product Update Term rather than recalling their car due to technical defect…what a jerk..

• Honda and Toyota also recall:repair: then repair : their car………also 3R

• Naji$ Bin Tun RosMah Lazat on Sep 08, 2011 at 5:27 pm

go back to the past! No progress!!

• ambientscape on Sep 08, 2011 at 5:33 pm

This sounds like a marketing gimmick to me. Proton offer free of charge in restoring a Saga with some R3 parts and in the end they will make money in selling those R3 parts for those who wanna make over their Saga. Imagine how many saga’s are there still roaming on the street today?

• rally_fan on Sep 08, 2011 at 7:45 pm

the guy was chosen from a contest he entered.. the reason he was picked is because of the story he wrote about how special this saga is for him and his family. end of the day. i can respect a man who appreciates what he has.. he may not be a super duper rich guy who can buy anything he wants.. but at least he appreciates his family and whatever that he has and is happy. you can’t take that away from him.. especially all the nay-sayers and haters here. ;)

• ambientscape on Sep 09, 2011 at 10:11 am

I’m talking about Proton’s plan and strategy my friend and I’m not interested if he loves or hate his car or his family.

• aroma on Sep 09, 2011 at 12:16 pm

In debate his technique is called ‘sway from the passage’ He has nothing to say therefore seek sympathy from others by focusing on human empathy. rally_fan is just a pathetic loooooser

• rally_fan on Sep 11, 2011 at 5:59 pm

firstly aroma, i was posting my own opinion on the facts available to me.. secondly, I was in no way engaged in a debate with anyone directly, especially you.

thirdly, if this were a debate, i have 36 thumbs ups. and you have 3 thumbs downs out of 2.

please grow up.

• Annoynimal on Sep 08, 2011 at 5:43 pm

Seriously jealous…

• Annoynimal on Sep 08, 2011 at 5:47 pm

In reply to some negative comments, some people have a sense of attachment to their car… hence the american hot rods etc. This is no different. Its like aour own malaysian hot rod… and I personally like that idea. By the way, the owner doesn’t have to pay out of his own pocket for the rework… do a bit of homework before commenting dude!

• Yuzdi on Sep 09, 2011 at 9:14 am

Keeping old things is something dat give sentimental value. Dunt critics those ppl. Some of us also keeping those things; eg. school t-shirts, vespa, honda biji nangka, old VW, Mini etc. Y we start critics tis guy? Y we say bad to Proton? At least they do something gud. Wat abt Honda, Nissan, Toyota etc. Do they do this type of refurbishment? Mau “recall” pn siap kata “upgrade” due to failure. B gentleman laa. I happened to use Proton once upon of time. Defects? Other model also got defect la bro. Rebadge? Other brand also same lah. List down sendirilah….

• Rebadgepedia on Sep 09, 2011 at 8:25 pm

Mitsubishi Lancer Fiore C10 Series = Proton Saga[1st edition]/Iswara
        Mitsubishi Lancer Sixth generation Mirage = Proton Wira/Putra/Satria
        Mitsubishi Lancer Eighth generation = Proton Waja
        Mitsubishi Lancer Ninth generation = Proton Inspira
        Peugeot Citroën = Proton Tiara
        Mitsubishi Town Box = Proton Juara
        Mitsubishi Eterna 7th Gen = Proton Perdana
        Daihatsu Sirion/Toyota Passo Gen 2 = Proton MyVi
        Daihatsu Mira L220 = Perodua Kancil
        Daihatsu Mira 4th Generation = Perodua Kancil
        Daihatsu Mira 6th/7th Generation = Perodua Viva

• meh ==’

• kerelbort on Sep 08, 2011 at 5:56 pm

just to show how much Malaysian does not appreciate the originality and always want more…

while others proud of driving latest vios, there’s still people who make lots of money but satisfied of driving a normal car like an old saga.

if people willing to fork out money to restore a mini or a beetle, why not a saga?

so next? Kancil 1st generation restoration.. :D

• loveit on Sep 08, 2011 at 5:58 pm

no additional upgrade (airbag, abs+ebd) just revert back to stock 1st gen saga aje ke…it’s more generous if just gave him new car la..

• just wait the car finish lah bongok, then you can start bashing with your stupid speculation.

• ah zam on Sep 12, 2011 at 12:46 pm

Awan,

nice use of the word bongok ..i really wanted to give u 1000 thumbs up

• nighttrain on Sep 08, 2011 at 6:00 pm

what would Foose do? Cut the roof, install a brand new mitsubishi 2.0 turbo, Foose wheels, custom interior. RM10k paintjob, sport suspension, high end ICE, brembos, custom grille, powder coating, real chromes… in other words, turn the saga into a hot rod. Total restoration is kinda lame. That’s for classic cars.

• I love my BLMW on Sep 08, 2011 at 6:39 pm

Huh… just give him a Persona.. enough…hehe..

p/s : I hope R3 Team later can mention how much its cost to convert this scrap to ‘new car’…

• The owner doesnot want new car. If wanted he already buy it. Please read again the previuos owner story.

• Hiak Hiak Hiak on Sep 08, 2011 at 11:52 pm

Kesian the owner, he spend $$$ convert his Saga into Lancer. He thought Proton R3 going to ‘makeover’ his car like MTV Pimp My Ride.

And what Proton R3 done is convert back his car into the original Saga with cheap plastic Saga standard interior plus new sport rim.

The owner going to be disappointed lol

• LittleMin on Sep 08, 2011 at 6:46 pm

http://paultan.org/image/322750_260684447288381_155519071138253_875504_412137231_o-860×575.jpg

Hmmm… I think i saw a 26999 saga behind, which kena cabut all the parts??

• wasting time and $ TO DO this work! berkhidmat untuk rakyat dan customer …

• Leseid Obrut on Sep 08, 2011 at 7:22 pm

What’s with all these negative comments? Get a life, for crying out loud! At the end of the day it all boils down to taste I suppose. But surely many of us are keen to see the outcome of this little feat, which is not uncommon in the western hemisphere but have you bashed them for it?

• Malaysia Memang Boleh on Sep 08, 2011 at 8:12 pm

It’s not even finished, those front bumper clearly of different design, I don’t think they will change it back to stock condition, how can they fit those R3 wheels into a stock looking car, ahh what can I say, the typical people who still can’t accept Proton after 26 years.
    Go forth people, forget the past, Proton are improving especially on FLX.

• maxize on Sep 08, 2011 at 8:15 pm

the car is not finish yet,but so many comment. just wait and see la baru komen..huhu.

• oleoresin on Sep 08, 2011 at 8:27 pm

Tak paham aku. Kenapa nak kutuk sedangkan tu kereta org lain, dan kos refurbish pun proton yg tanggung. Takde kena mengena langsung dengan korang.

Diorang nak restore balik to original made, or upgrade pun still bukan kereta korang.

Mengapa nak kutuk apa yg proton buat sedangkan proton punya aim nak give something valuable utk loyal customer. Bukan sebab nak jadikan kereta tu projek utk masuk F1.

Klu korang kutuk2 kereta proton, nyata korang bukan loyal customer. Sori…. program ni hanya utk loyal customer. Semua p2, T&H punya fanboys, program ni takde kena mengena ngan korang. So please quiet.

Yg kutuk2 mengapa tak transform jadi mcm kereta ah beng, itu bergantung kepada empunya poket punya decision. Duit dia, dia berhak buat apa saja. Owner keta pun dah bagi consent

• DISSAPOINTED SAGA OWNER on Sep 08, 2011 at 10:59 pm

kalau Proton nak, buat bagi semua pemilik kenderaan mereka.

• oleoresin on Sep 08, 2011 at 11:06 pm

Jgn kecewa bro….. Pemenang je yg entitle. Jgn sedih2 ye…. Klu contest ni berlanjutan, try ur luck again. Karang citer lagi best of the best….

• Kambing Gurun on Sep 08, 2011 at 11:44 pm

As if T & H do that to their so called loyal customers?

• research on Sep 14, 2011 at 2:42 pm

why should T&H do that? cars excellent already. no need lah!

• Simon Sez on Sep 08, 2011 at 8:27 pm

With all the expertise at R3, it would be nice if they fitted rear disc brakes at to match the lovely wheels.

• nabill on Sep 08, 2011 at 8:32 pm

thy should make a tv program abt this…

.no matter what it is….when thers a project to pimp it up…we ALL get excited…..its part of who we are….i think deep down we all wish to have that approtunity to pimp our cars or jus do a makeover to our old ride….

• Consumerism on Sep 08, 2011 at 8:49 pm

Bashers will always be bashers. Losers stay losers.
    Fueled with blind hatred .
    A good critic knows when to bash and when to compliment.

• Leseid Obrut on Sep 08, 2011 at 10:25 pm

I couldn’t agree more. Some people were simply born to be grumpy I guess…

• Policeman on Sep 08, 2011 at 9:08 pm

In this picture you can see that they use the LMST rear door trim.I guess they must be stripping parts off that LMST.
    http://paultan.org/image/337934_260684487288377_155519071138253_875506_449992166_o.jpg

Front bumper seems to be like the original Saga’s

• ko malu saje... on Sep 08, 2011 at 10:39 pm

Actually those parts can be bought brand new in some accessories shop, including the metal bumper :)

• Time wasters!!! even till today,they still cant build a proper car right.my uncle punya exora is having endless problems,from air conditioning, rear brakes that sounds like a lorry,non stop radiator fan and lampu interior that needs new bulbs every month and lastly the middle seat tumble mechanism that got stuck!!!!! and worst still proton its treating its customer like shit!!!!!! till today all the above cant be solved.brand of the bulllllll

• Just me on Sep 08, 2011 at 10:20 pm

Yet many people claimed proton has good quality. Went to thailand for 1 week during raya holiday saw 2 thai register proton in 1 whole week. Good job proton….kakaka

• Mienzz on Sep 09, 2011 at 12:19 am

My Uncle got this endless problem bla bla bla my Sister got that problem bla bla bla My Friend also got this problem bla bla bla my Grandmother always got that problem……..so many story makeover

• that means ur uncle is not that lucky for his exora.
      i have one but it still in good and never have any problem like you said, dumb cunt.

• steam_man on Sep 10, 2011 at 11:47 pm

good luck for you, proton for life right?
        hahahaha

proton seumur hidup!!

• LittleMin on Sep 08, 2011 at 9:40 pm

Hmm…I think I saw a proton saga 26999 behind Fadly’s saga in one of pic, which have seems like been cabut most of the parts liao..

• Sunny Jaafar on Sep 08, 2011 at 9:49 pm

waste of energy

• Maybe im expecting a bit more from R3 , but this makeover will surely extend the life of the car. Im sure the owner would be very happy. Who knows, it will probably ride better than before.

• asgard on Sep 08, 2011 at 10:16 pm

cars made pre-NCAP got very poor crash rating, no matter how beautiful it still not very safe

• what is wrong with u dude..??! they just restoring the parts and improving some areas… they never said that this program is to change the car from 0 –> 5 stars NCAP…. haiiiish.. btw.. do you know that the ncap is not only the airbag n the pre tensional seat belt, it is about the whole system/module in the car.. LSSR!

• Doctor treating midlife crisis on Sep 08, 2011 at 10:32 pm

I have post this on a Toyota Camry column and I have to repost again in this Proton column. The reason is as a doctor I am really very very worried about the mental health of some of the INSPIRA owners…………..

To all PROTON INSPIRA owners, please stop changing your Proton badge to Mitsubishi. All of us know that as long as your INSPIRA car plate starts with WS*, WT*, WU* and WV*….you are driving a Proton but not Mitshubishi. Probably you are suffering from midlife crisis, because midlife crisis patient like to change their car badge:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Midlife_crisis

refer to the ‘characteristics’ column

‘pretend acquisition of expensive items via non-authentic materials or automobile badge replacement’

• nabill on Sep 08, 2011 at 11:26 pm

ya thy are sick….its not mid life crisis…thy are jus idiots…no need to catagorise them into fancy tings…!

• La, what’s your problem with people changing their Proton badge to Mitsubishi’s bagde doc? Perhaps you should be worrying about those rich people who think that they are driving in a bullet proof car and drive like hell.
      Are you sure you are a legitimate, reliable medical doctor? You got all the time to worry about people who change their cars’ badge just for the sake of midlife crisis that you learn during your medical school? Aiyoo.. No wonder we are short of good doctors in our country. The doctors are busy with people who love to change their cars’ badge.

*for your info, i’m too from the medical field. A widely known tertiary healthcare institution. Apada doc.

• Expatriate VN on Sep 09, 2011 at 11:53 am

This bullshit fake doctor have the following characteristics: –

1) The main role of professional doctor is to diagnose patient’s sickness (including dispense medicine to cure the sickness), but this kepochi doctor pay attention on change of the badge of Inspira from Proton to Mits, and term it as “midlife crisis”!

2) Maybe this doctor is low quality local U graduate have too much free time in gov hospital, including posting comments on auto blog like PT.org. He suppose to spend his time on health related sciences blogs.

3) Are changing badge by Inspira owners are considered as “midlife crisis”? I think this doctor do a very poor job by diagnosed wrongly about Inspira owners change the badge to Mits. The right perspective if it ever to be considered as “midlife crisis” is not the Inspira owners, but the main culprit is Proton has midlife crisis by change the Mits’s “tri-diamond” badge of Lancer to thunder cat and call it Inspira! This poor doctor’s head should be put on the chopping table! And you are fired!

4) so, this statement: ‘pretend acquisition of expensive items via non-authentic materials or automobile badge replacement’ is applicable to our jaguh kampong Proton, not the Inspira owners! If he still can’t get the point, either this doctor have his own midlife crisis with poor judgement , or go to M@cc building, jump out and classified as “sudden death”!

5) Enough craps is spills, “The reason is as a doctor I am really very very worried about the mental health of some of the INSPIRA owners…………..”, another poor crap judgement, he is the one that need to worry about his own mental health, as FACTUALLY, the Inspira owner doing a right thing, by revert back the ori Mits badge to car ori known as Lancer.

Please stop your methane (CH4) farting in PT.org, it will polluted this blog with the following chemical reaction: –

CH4 (g) + 2O2 (g) = CO2 (g) + 2H2O (l).

P/S: I will copy this into my file, if similar comment paste by you, I will paste a same reply!

• Doctor treating midlife crisis on Sep 09, 2011 at 12:30 pm

Expatriate VN,

I think you are really suffering from some minor depression. You need some SSRI to treat your anger.

And I can sense that above 90% chances you are one of those INSPARA badge changing driver who really need some Prozac for midlife crisis

and for your info methane gas production formula is

C + 2H2(g) -> CH4(g)

• Chemistry Teacher on Sep 09, 2011 at 8:00 pm

All fail in chemistry no wonder SPM in chemistry subject have many fails than passes xD

• Fridzmax on Sep 09, 2011 at 2:37 pm

That equation is should be like this laa mangkok

CH4 (g) + 2O2 (g) –> CO2 (g) + 2H2O (l).

Methane combustion..nak quote reaction konon..

• Minority Proton Share holder on Sep 08, 2011 at 10:36 pm

I have faith in you, Proton, and you give me this !!!

http://biz.thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2011/9/7/business/9436984&sec=business

PLEASE HAVE A MAKEOVER OF YOUR PRODUCT RANGE. YOU HAVE TO ANSWER TO US THE SHARE HOLDERS!!!

HSBC has slashed 3000 employee in Hong Kong in order to answer to it’s share holder. Same for Bank of America. And you are doing 1992 Saga makeover

• Naji$ Bin Tun RosMah Lazat on Sep 09, 2011 at 12:18 am

Good writing man…. Salute you.
      This is what we call TAKDE HARAPAN

But those guys out there still sleeping with slogan 1 Malaysia and Malaysia Boleh…Land

Really speechless man

• Capacai on Sep 09, 2011 at 10:21 am

1 M*l*y mah… Mal*ysia Kalah…. xD

3rd world country mah… stupind mindset… what to do… thought we live like those on 1st world country meh…

wake up la… :)

• alfie60 on Sep 09, 2011 at 2:07 am

Those in the automotive industry knows that for any manufacturer to survive they must have economy of scale of at least 400,000 unit annually to be economically viable and yet Proton produces less than 400,000 shitty cars(a blessing to us)and yet still can last for more 25 years. The amount of sacrifice we made for Proton’s survival was purely thru us, the rakyat sacrifice putting up with shitty taxation on cars and shitty quality cars.

Fast forward,now we get these Protons guys telling us and the world that Proton is ready for world domination with a global car thru Lotus. DSZ and Proton boyz what are you guyz smoking?? Hope its not coke from Chacko. ;-)
      After 25+years of protectionism and an UNLEVEL PLAYINGFIELD to Proton advantages ,they have convince Dr M they are ready for the world with a few hundred millions pound funding they can make it in the open market. To add boast to their odds,they got Gordon Murray on board!! Imagine if we were only living in a dark cave for 25+,suddenly someone tells us to leave the cave in afternoon!!!
      The fact no mat saleh company wants to JV with the shitty proton is because we are unworthy for them to share the knowledge of making good cars.
      What makes Proton thinks Murray is otherwise? Chris Knight bugged Tengku Mahaleel about 45 million pounds when he was heading Lotus!!!
      Lotus was never a mass produce brand nor a profitable company mainly renown for their racing pedigree!! I can see Proton business plan. Regimes change all over the world thru our military might and put Dr M as the President of the world THEN change the taxation all over the world for all cars in the world to cost more than Proton!!!

Why doesnt the government also lie to us by telling us the next football World Cup we are going to be the champion!! If the reason behind that simple logic is if the mat salleh has 2 feet and 2 arms,we Malaysian also got 2 feet and 2 arms then kita Boleh!!
      Ya…DSZ and Chacko,lay off the spliff man!!!
      Get real dudes!!! ;-)

P.S-DZS and Chacko no amount of make over on the shitty Proton cars can exonerate you wankers for making shitty cars for the last 25+years. ;-)

• drMpower on Sep 09, 2011 at 4:12 am

what are u on about?

protectionism exist. it works with the koreans. why cant it work for us?

oh ah. the koreans BUY their products. no matter how.

but u? u dont. and to make it worse u complaint like world ends tomorrow. and worse of the worst is, u tell lies so much that people start to believe the lies altogether.

if only u buy the cars like the koreans, pretty sure now we no longer have protection for proton. at least not as much as it was.
        if only u stop telling lies and everything, and just drive whatever u want
        if only u stop complaining and buy whatever makes u want

even stevie wonder can see what lotus is all about and the people who mooted the idea buying lotus also knew what it stands for
        it was about the technologies that we are after
        the same was with mv augusta

• alamak on Sep 12, 2011 at 4:08 pm

Good!

You buy high sell low.

I’ll buy low now and sell high later!!

Majulah Proton!

• DISSAPOINTED SAGA OWNER on Sep 08, 2011 at 10:57 pm

Can I send my problematic RM27,999 Saga for this program?

I just want them to fix the faulty Electronic Sensor that fulltime turn on the reverse gear lamp, power window problem, ignition starter didn’t work 50% when i turn, poor rubber gap on all the window, 1st gear jerking, poor made cushion where the fabric already tear near the steelbone and leaking in the bonnet.

I doesn’t need any fancy sport rim or R3 bodykits or spoiler.

• this is actually the coolest proton i’ve ever seen.. i mean infact the coolest car i’ve seen.. it’s the only car i see in real live that the car logo batch lights up.. the ori saga is already doing DLR 20 years ago imagine that..

so when this car finish… it better have that bight classic batch and not the harimau head…

• drMpower on Sep 08, 2011 at 11:42 pm

now we can see, at least from 70 odd comments here, how proton is being let down by lack of patriotism which directly contributes to its failing to stand at par with others

perhaps the same people who bash proton in this comment section, question what exactly proton is doing if the Koreans now are leading car manufacturers in some parts of the world

that same people may also think that Korean brand is special, practice no nonsense, no vendors (perhaps) whatever, and those are solely the reasons of their emergence to conquer the world

but they forgot one thing. patriotism. Koreans people are wonderfully patriotic. that shows in their automotive industries. u watch winter in sonata, u see what i am on about
    u want that bread story whatever on 8tv, u know what i am talking about

if not all, 90% of them use Korean products.

i am not talking about the new sonata, or the new optima or whatever. i am talking about the yellowish headlamp models, the crazily heavy SUVs, outdated engine vehicles of the past.
    the Korean people NEVER complaint and get on with it

but here in malaysia?

gen2 design not like BMW, complaint
    waja is design much like BMW, complaint
    power window fail a bit, complaint
    new waja very much like evo10 also complaint

dont tell me Korea dont give protection to Korean brands. but here, the government got punched all over the place when they apply protectionism. at least here u got to buy whatever makes u want

in Korea of old, there was NO foreign makes.

• daniel on Sep 09, 2011 at 6:38 am

How silly!!!! korean designed and produced world class cars!!!!!! they dont skimped on quality,they have design studios in europe!!! their suppliers is world class.and proton vendors?????????? cronies????proton is diminishing in uk market now.it is meant for those with cotton heads!!!!

• turbo go go go on Sep 09, 2011 at 7:51 am

their gomen protected them from war and death.

our gomen brings us to brink of war and death.

your call.

• Littlebear on Sep 09, 2011 at 8:07 am

The Koreans might have tasted shitty Korean cars in the past but fortunately for them, Hyundai/Kia managed to improve their quality & thus directly the Koreans are enjoying good quality cars.

The Malaysians on the other hand have tasted shitty Malaysian made cars for the past 20 over years & we are still tasting them now. We have actually supported Proton right from the beginning but they just don’t want to improve themself. That is why PROTON has been labelled an ‘inferior brand’ among most fellow Malaysians.

You can’t blame Malaysians for not supporting PROTON. There’s a saying that goes “If you (PROTON) don’t help yourself, how do you expect others (Malaysians) to help you)?

• ChunDai on Sep 10, 2011 at 4:56 pm

alah, awak adeh supot kereta nasional? tgk lah kerajaan pandu BMW 3 series… Volvo… Mana Kakitangan Kerajaan pandu kereta nasional? Kerajaan Terengganu pun ckp mantain perdana mahal ko.. ish ish ish…

Proton teruk/ Perodua teruk… Semua teruk Saya Baik… Supot Aku LAH :D
        Saya tahu buat kereta beca.. itu kan “environmental friendly” tak guna minyak… tak payah air bag/abs/ebd punyeh.. kayuh saja… boleh menapung 3 org :)

Kalau semua org supot saya.. tak lama nanti kereta beca saya mungkin “world class” :D

• Voice of People on Sep 09, 2011 at 10:44 am

1St world country and 3Rd world country… have tons of differences.

Malaysia is.. pfft…. koreans always think aboard than us..

Do you think.. malaysians don’t like to improve themselves? we have corrupted government in every SECTOR!

Did you see singapore government/japan government/korean government/thai government have issues with corruption? THEY HAVE RID ALMOST 75% OF PROBLEMS AND NOW ONLY WE START TO SETTLE THOSE THINGS AFTER A PERSON HAD GONE COMMIT SUICIDE?

Do you know why those brilliant so called smart students who apply for JPA scholarships have gone to overseas and not willing going back to malaysia after graduate? Because what can we offer for them? While other countries can offer them almost everything they need.

What can we do to our country? Almost nothing, we have imbalance rights in all races (P.S I shall not continue due to sensitive issues). Lets say all of us are equal, no special rights and so on where all have chance to involve in government sector through general election.

What we left here is those so call no smart people, so this country will not move forward like those in other country. Look at our automotive industry/networking and security/Amenities/Work force. We do have city looks but filthy environment. Look at our public toilets in Bukit Jalil and KL areas. Look at Sungei Wang, it’s still filthy and smelly like 10 years ago. In work force, we have those improper workers who always spoon-fed things done under the table and yet Corruption. Parks and Bus stations always damage and never done any repairs. Rubbish throw on floor like a 3 year old kid scatter around.

About networking and security, look at the recent newspapers it all about robbery and murder those stuffs happen in Pandan Indah. TMNUT who offers slow internet services and keeps disconnection often. What does those police force do? Do we get secured often? TMNUT’s optic fibre services on delay.. What is all of this? We are left behind.

What about the automotive industry, we can done well in agriculture industry. Why our automotive industry still falling behind? Where is so called R&D? Do they really do research. Look at those basher and comments on PaulTan forums, it seems proton really done their homework properly and needs to get attention.

• Spyder on Sep 09, 2011 at 11:31 am

oh..come on..this is a car blog..leave the politics out of here please…

• RedBeanBun on Sep 09, 2011 at 12:00 am

which one the owner actually preferred?

1) Renew the Saga (like whats doing now)
    2) Gimme a new Saga FL (sounds logic to reward die-hard fans)
    3) GImme a Inspira (now thats call the upgrade and benefit for Protong fans)

• Naji$ Bin Tun RosMah Lazat on Sep 09, 2011 at 12:06 am

No need to come out with new potong model then. just rebadge like inspira. recond like the above. aiyo, just recond all saga on road, or rebuid exactly the same model la.

Good isn;t it!! u guys so proud of this piece of sh!t

• drMpower on Sep 09, 2011 at 3:50 am

do u understand economic justification?

i know and i agree rebadging the mitsu is a way backward, but do u know what is economic justification to get a new model roll out?

• Minority Proton Share holder on Sep 09, 2011 at 11:45 am

eh budak,

you really wanna talk about economic justifiiiccccasion. Go open an account and buy 10 lot of PROTON share and then you talk to me about economic justification.

• No wonder la Proton susah nak develop and improve, sebab ada minority proton shareholder like you. Baru pegang sikit share dah berlagak macam bagus sangat. Podah. Lucky Proton has you in the minority group. In fact, kalau you takde pun, Proton tak mati punye. Ape punya orang.

• aminlife on Sep 09, 2011 at 12:56 am

That why there NO such PIMP MY RIDE malaysia version in TV. People will just love to condemn rather than trying to be appreciative. Lucky to this saga owner.

• SparC on Sep 09, 2011 at 2:36 am

Wondering if I sent my year 96 satria to R3, how much does it cost for a restoration?

• maybe RM1205.

• ADiE Al-FaRuQi on Sep 09, 2011 at 8:50 am

Mine also 96 satria, but already converted the bodykit to GTi. But the paint, overlap many times with previous paint la.. not so cun..hehe..

• neutral on Sep 09, 2011 at 8:29 am

i won’t be surprise if interior work will be 100% same as current Saga :p

• ADiE Al-FaRuQi on Sep 09, 2011 at 8:48 am

Got pros n cons from what they did.. some people think its pros..some cons.. better to have more +ve thinking rather than always being -ve.. thumbs up Proton. i`d luv to send my satria to have those impressive make-over… =) can`t wait for the final result on this saga….. =)

• Peace Yoh on Sep 09, 2011 at 8:53 am

yeahh, congrats proton. maybe proton could create some program to refurbish old saga model with a reasonable price, as old saga always has sentimental value to any of their owner. actually this is a good move to give something back to the loyal customer. for those complaining, please make your own car company, heheh. the word is, “better ada dari takda langsung”.

• Cucukman on Sep 09, 2011 at 11:36 am

I love to watch Overhaulin..

Anyway..how much the cost to refurbish an old car to new look?
      Let say :
      1. Painting Works – RM 2,500.00
      2. Bodykits – RM2,500.00
      3. A strut bar, brace, tuned handling & bla..bla – RM5,000.00
      4. Interior – RM5000.00
      5. Overhaul engine, tuned – RM5,000.00
      6. R3 emblem – RM100.00
      So, total RM 15, 100.00…

from the picture i can see very nice painting works done by R3 team..thumbs up..!!

• tattoo sleeves on Sep 09, 2011 at 8:57 am

this is great! proton is really making the good news nowadays!

• Sonic Boomz on Sep 09, 2011 at 2:56 pm

Your general and current knowledge is not very good it seems. Have you check latest Proton financial results? Company stupid, supporter also stupid. LOL

• Oh no! they replace the nice original door panel with the ugly cheap looking LMST one……..

• Alan Wong on Sep 09, 2011 at 12:03 pm

Many of you guys just don’t get it… This is a publicity event. R3 is showing you guys what they can do. They only need to do it to 1 car and not all the old cars belonging to many jealous people..
    Although I am not a Proton fan… I must salute them for this publicity stunt…. I am sure the car will LOOK great… but, the question here is that… “Will it perform better or will it just look better?” I am sure, other Proton owners who have upgraded their engines to the EVO engine will perform far more better than this….

• Cant u ppl just drop the whole “hate thing and just be happy for the guy?? Just for once

Its not so much about proton but more about someone’s baby getting a makeover.

• put lmst dashboard with digital meter… please don’t use megavalve meter…

• so sad, R3 tune car still use rear drum brake

http://paultan.org/image/285799_260684513955041_155519071138253_875508_885552795_o-100×100.jpg

• Mater on Sep 09, 2011 at 10:40 pm

While vw is having a mega auto show to show what Is in the future, proton is doing this? To show what? That they can improve the product from the past?

http://paultan.org/2011/09/09/volkswagen-das-auto-show-2011-happens-this-weekend-at-the-bukit-jalil-stadium-carpark-admission-is-free/

• niceone on Sep 09, 2011 at 6:06 pm

proton should make a mini TV series (say 10 episodes) of these old proton cars makeover. old saga, satria, satria gti, iswara, wira and maybe even putra will undergo makeover job in each episode. it should be great for marketing purpose for Proton’s R3 division specifically and Proton’s sales generally.

• I HATE THIS!
    I DONT WANT THE PROGRESS PICS!!!
    I WANT THE WORK COMPLETED PICS!!
    hahahaha

perhaps, all car companies in malaysia should do this to improve their stale reputation

• Mater on Sep 09, 2011 at 10:23 pm

While VW is having a mega auto show to show what’s in the future, proton is doing this? To show what? That they can improve their product from the past?

http://paultan.org/2011/09/09/volkswagen-das-auto-show-2011-happens-this-weekend-at-the-bukit-jalil-stadium-carpark-admission-is-free/

• Mater on Sep 09, 2011 at 10:26 pm

While vw is having a mega auto show to show what’s in the future, proton is doing this? To show what? That they can improve the product from the past?

• PeroduaVivaBLB on Sep 10, 2011 at 1:15 am

they just ripped the new saga – cheap edition ..(now no more ) and fixing it into this 1992 saga .. hampeh … i tot they gonna install side skirts now makeover or front n rear bumper and wit shorten roof and a new set of chrome wheels and a 400 hp engine …

• niceone on Sep 10, 2011 at 3:07 am

no wonder some viva owners think they own a mini cooper.. probably they all have unrealistic expectations just like you. 400hp?? is that the advertised figure for myvi extreme??

there are a lot of five-letter words that i can use to describe u, but i’ll leave it for other people to judge.

• Rosmah on Sep 10, 2011 at 9:00 am

What are they trying to achieve, i mean, really?

• shirts on Sep 10, 2011 at 11:48 am

Give free makeover of old car=complain
    Give c segment car at b segment price=complain

Always same issue about car prices… If u think expensive cars are ur major problem then go relocate to europe or the states la.. Can buy cheap cars, also be ready to pay 45-55% income tax while u r enjoying ur cheap car. Most bashers here must havr benefited frm the system… Scholarship, healthcare and paying off their houses with liw blr….

So no need to politicise this thread… Just keep it within topic.

• Go US/Europe, buy car cheap but pay very expensive fuel n income tax. Better go middle east.

• campor on Sep 10, 2011 at 10:10 pm

Aku heran, susah sangat ka Proton nak letak timing chain dan VVT system dalam enjin Campro.

• Kipas_Susah_Mati_Proton on Sep 11, 2011 at 1:06 pm

timing chain = old c0ncept but with new tech…
      VVT system = already hav CPS system…concept should be same….

• izzat on Sep 14, 2011 at 9:53 am

aku nk tengok ko cipta bumper rekaan ko sendiri untuk proton guna bajet ko..senang tak? =D

• kankong mali on Sep 11, 2011 at 7:25 am

choi.. just give him a new FL lah
    thats how to really pay his loyalty lor

• ramli kareem on Sep 11, 2011 at 7:21 pm

Saga is meant to be placed in the muzeum
    and never to be seen on our roads again – ever !
    Cukuplah, time to look forward and not the past !

• bobberry on Sep 11, 2011 at 8:20 pm

where is the photo of the finished product or car? Can u publish it ? It;s seem that the write are hanging without proper ending.

• bobberry on Sep 11, 2011 at 8:22 pm

Dear Editor,
    Where are the photo of a finished product? It’s seem that the write up are hanging without a proper result to show for.

• rarebetol on Sep 12, 2011 at 12:40 am

atleast give him back those mitsubishi fiore parts back la….why convert back to standard saga le…haihz…find for him a c12 rear disc brake conversion plus mivec engine..spot weld engine..lotus tune suspension…enough to tapau any sohai new cars on the road today…what la r3..Rubish Rojak Runtuh…my foot

• The Mahalel rubbish is still around in Proton. i.e Tengku Lan ( The son ) . Remove these rubbish and Proton will move forward

• sranua on Sep 12, 2011 at 12:35 pm

So many commentator meaning many people love to see what Proton can do to this car. Good marketing gimmick by Proton. Whoever give this idea to DSZ should be promoted or just get additional bonus.

• uncle chong on Sep 12, 2011 at 12:52 pm

Woi! Proton…can you convert my iswara to Lancer Evo10? If can next week i’ll bring them together with my dog.

• proton lover on Sep 13, 2011 at 4:02 pm

dah la nak mintak org tlg buatkan.. cakap kureng ajar plak tuh.. pegi dah..

• maserati on Sep 14, 2011 at 1:20 pm

Rubbish makeover. Waste time, money, and make the owner look like a fool.

Proton cars are all rubbish. So called hv better handling lar, stablility lar but interior sucks big time. My frens persona after six month, the interior feels like its tearing apart. Only done about 30k mileage. What a lousy car.

On the other hand, my mums myvi already 4 years and still looks brand new inside out.

• no offense..
    from wat i see, the interior (dashboard n door trim) has been taken directly from the new iswara..
    if me not mistaken, the old saga dashboard is more solid n better quality compared to the new plastic-like dashboard…