Mazda 2 Coupe rendered – unlikely, but quite sightly

mazda-2-coupe-rendering-1

We brought to you the world debut of the Mazda 2 Sedan live from the 2014 Thailand International Motor Expo over the weekend; now famed rendering expert Theophilus Chin has offered his take on a coupe version of the B-segmenter.

Of course, you and I know this is not likely to come to fruition, but that doesn’t stop Theo from attempting to translate the Kodo design language – widely thought to work better on bigger cars – to a short two-door shape. Nothing like a challenge!

The swoopy swage lines provide a nice slimming effect here, as well as add a bit of visual brawn. The subtle front splitter/side skirt pairing and 17-inch eight-spokers are borrowed from the MX-5.

Round the back, Theo has imagined a much neater rump by moving the number plate recess to the bumper, and the badges below the rear lamps, so the boot spoiler no longer has to ‘cocoon’ the Mazda logo the way it does on the sedan. Nice? Or how does a Mazda 2 MPS Coupe sound?

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• tapper on Dec 01, 2014 at 11:45 am

This coupe looks better than Mazda’s own family of sedan.

• 4G63T DSM on Dec 01, 2014 at 4:43 pm

Of course it does. Kodo doesn’t look good on short and stumpy. Which is why the 6 looks so damn good.

Theo lowered the roof line quite a bit.

• Kahuna on Dec 02, 2014 at 2:18 am

the driver’s head is already touching the ceiling. Not practical….and how about getting looking pair of wheels

• Same L0rrr on Dec 01, 2014 at 11:53 am

With sushi car, you get build quality, RV and also style. Instead of syok sendiri, everyone around you will be proud of you.

• HamilTan on Dec 01, 2014 at 12:06 pm

Tail light to be smaller scale.

• Rally driver on Dec 01, 2014 at 4:07 pm

Need this now!!! Bought one and swap Rotary engine inside and call as Mazda RX-2!!!~

• 4G63T DSM on Dec 01, 2014 at 4:38 pm

Coupes are a dying breed.

Even North America, the traditional coupe market, entry level cars are now following Europe that they shall be hatchbacks due to its practicality. It is now cool to be seen in a hatchback.

The 90s was a big coupe market, where almost every manufacturer had a coupe variant in every segment. Even the least sporty of the bunch, Toyota, had coupes ranging from the oddball Echo coupe to the Camry coupe.

For the 2 Coupe,
    I think the rear overhangs can be shortened a little and be made into a notchback (hatchback with a tail) for better aesthetic balance instead of a real coupe (with a boot)…and maybe call it the MX3 Precidia