Honda NSX – production version previewed again, to be unveiled in Detroit next month!

Honda_NSX_Teaser_Image_1

Click to enlarge.
The hotly-awaited new Honda NSX will be unveiled in full production form next month. Like, finally! After years of previews – yes really, the NSX concept was first shown in January 2012 – the reborn everyday supercar will debut at the upcoming 2015 Detroit Auto Show in January.

But until then, we’ll have to stomach yet another round of teasers. These darkened pictures are apparently of the production-spec Acura NSX (badged as such in the USA) – not that there’s much to see, that is. But, it’s at least good to know that it’ll stick very closely to the well-received concept models.

Click to enlarge.
“After three years of intensive development work we are excited to reveal this next-generation supercar – the Acura NSX – to the world. We’ve developed a human-centred supercar that responds to the will of the driver and that builds upon the NSX heritage,” said Ted Klaus, chief engineer and global project leader of the new NSX.

Less than a month to go till the final reveal on January 12, 2015. We, like you, can hardly wait.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• apaapajelah on Dec 17, 2014 at 8:01 pm

Wow macam KITT Knight Rider! Audi R8 pun tak cantik macam ni. I pakai Perdana V6 pun dah hensem macam David Hasselhof so if I pakai kereta ni mesti bertambah kacak..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 0
    • botakwong on Dec 18, 2014 at 12:19 am

You kawan, just made my day. Handsome as Hasselhoff. This is gonna be my catchphrase for 2015!

• ThePolygon (Member) on Dec 18, 2014 at 9:06 am

Hi-five! Knight Rider rules! Hampir lupa nama David Hasselhof tu.

• Same L0rrrr on Dec 17, 2014 at 8:10 pm

Again sushi car rulez!

• seancorr (Member) on Dec 17, 2014 at 8:44 pm

They are gonna reveal the NSX which is already sold out….right.

• AVH (Member) on Dec 17, 2014 at 9:18 pm

I am really worried about this. The goal is that it will rival the 458 in performance and R8 in price… and its develope mostly by Americans. The NSX remains one of my dream cars, and Is highly regarded by me, so I’am hoping this will live up to it.

There is literally no point in teasing as we all pretty much know how it looks like, the question is how does it drive. The 458 is credited not by outright speed but the excitement it gives, the sound and the responds of a NA, coupled to a very capabled chassis, and this is also something Honda is famous for previously. Given that there is rumour that Honda ditch the 3.5l V6 from the RLX to a unit that heavily derived from the V6 that powers the upcoming McLaren F1 car and will stay N/A at that, I am very excited. Turbocharging will be compesated by 3 electric motors to boost the low revs.

Bare in mind that this is only a rumour, I am extremely eager to know how it goes. I only just wish they put in the mad V8 engine with the 8-4-1 exhaust from the HSV-010,

• AVH (Member) on Dec 17, 2014 at 9:21 pm

Correction

*Lack of Turbocharging will be compesated by 3 electric motors to boost the low revs.

• Jaybond on Dec 18, 2014 at 8:25 am

So far Honda just mentioned that the new NSX will have around 400hp with the hybrid. Is this enough to challenge the standard 550bhp Ferrari 458 Italia (not to mention the 458 Speciale)? And the 458’s successor is just around the corner as well. A Porsche 911 GT3 & Merc AMG GT rival sounds more believable (Unless there is a 550+ bhp version of the NSX afterwards).

• heybadigol (Member) on Dec 18, 2014 at 9:11 am

Don’t get your hopes up too high. The original NSX came from nowhere. Nobody expected it. It was a breath of fresh air, and literally re-wrote the supercar rulebook, by being user friendly, easy to drive (and fast of course – for its time). Ok, Porsche had done something similar, but not to the extent the NSX did. I would still try to buy the old NSX if I can find one in good condition and still stock.

The risk Honda is taking now is drumming up the excitement for so long, people expect it be really good. If it’s just 0.01% not to one’s expectation, it will fall flat on Honda’s face. Plus, the F1 program needs good results by the time this comes out. I do hope i’m wrong, and that Honda can make something really special, cos I love the NSX, and I’d hate to see the NSX reputation destroyed by a poor 2nd gen.

• Danny Chan on Dec 18, 2014 at 1:47 pm

u all sounded like u can afford one…”can’t wait la..” lol…honda can’t wait most u all to afford it that’s the truth..

• Betul betul onz…Come into malaysia will cost you 1 milion

• Crony on Dec 17, 2014 at 9:59 pm

1 million aje. Murah. Tahun ini sudah untung 3 Billion.

• phahmeen on Dec 18, 2014 at 6:09 am

BR1M kan ada. Cukup untuk Beli NSX plus maintenance sampai 9 tahun

• policeman on Dec 17, 2014 at 11:00 pm

Will it come in autopussy transmission only?

• heybadigol (Member) on Dec 18, 2014 at 9:28 am

No autos I think. It will most probably be a dual clutch tranny with paddle shifters. But this is from the mid mounted V6 to the rear tyres only. We still don’t know what gearbox (if any) is powering the front tyres from the hybrid system. The Accord Hybrid for example, has no “gearbox”. The electric motors themselves do the transmission duties to bring power to the wheels. Of course, we don’t know if Honda will use the same methodology for the NSX.

• heybadigol (Member) on Dec 18, 2014 at 8:38 am

Honda/Acura is really taking their time with this. So many previews, teasers, and 1 burnt NSX on the Nordschleife. Either they want to make it the best in class or they are really behind schedule.

Maybe now they can get Alonso to help in the development. Having Senna’s input was really helpful in the original NSX development. But Alonso is no Senna, no matter how much he idolises the great Brazilian. Especially considering the red turd that the Ferrari F1 car was this year.

Having said that, if I had the money, I’d still buy one. Is Honda Malaysia taking any bookings?

• cendol (Member) on Dec 18, 2014 at 10:02 am

Even if got money to buy this car,the Maintenance will kill you outright

• Sammy on Dec 18, 2014 at 10:27 am

Just take my money and give me the car NOW…

• ganni on Dec 18, 2014 at 12:06 pm

just release this bloody beast acura/honda..how many times u want to tease us??

• common sensor on Dec 18, 2014 at 2:48 pm

I hope it is not equipped with Takata airbags …

• Proton Fanboy on Dec 18, 2014 at 3:25 pm

When will Proton come up with a supercar?

• Semi-Value (Member) on Dec 18, 2014 at 10:35 pm

it seems like a trend by jap companies….lfa and gtr were both delayed for many years…..now the NSX

• Why under Acura rather than Honda?