Honda says no future collaboration plans with Proton

proton honda

Honda will not be collaborating with national carmaker Proton on further models beyond the current Proton Perdana, which is based on the eight-generation Honda Accord.

This was revealed by Noriake Abe, Honda’s COO of Regional Operations for Asia & Pacific. Speaking to Carlist on the sidelines at the 2015 Tokyo Motor Show, Abe said the automaker’s enterprise with Proton would not expand beyond the work involving the Perdana, and that it was not in talks with Proton to develop any new models.

“We have stopped other product development with Proton. Our involvement with Proton stops at the Perdana, because we could not reach an agreement with Proton on several key issues,” Abe told the publication.

Honda Noriake Abe-1

In October 2012, Proton announced that it had entered into a collaboration agreement with Honda to explore opportunities in the areas of technology enhancement, new product line up, platform and facilities’ sharing,

Following the signing of that agreement, Proton unveiled the new Perdana in December 2013. The car, based on the previous-gen Honda Accord, is only for the use of civil servants and the government – production volume was announced at just 3,000 units.

As previously reported, a civilian version is on the cards – the 2016 Proton Perdana is set to go on sale early next year. The car, which will still sit on eight-gen Accord underpinnings but feature a new exterior, was teased via a partial reveal at the Alami Proton event earlier in the month (and also rendered by Theophilus Chin as to what it could possibly look like).

It has been confirmed that the 2016 Perdana will be built at Proton’s Medium Volume Factory in Shah Alam (the current government-use version is assembled at Honda Malaysia’s plant in Melaka), and will retain Honda’s 154 hp/189 Nm R20A3 2.0 and 177 hp/222 Nm K24Z2 2.4 litre i-VTEC engines. Both engines will be paired with a five-speed automatic transmission.

The news of the halt in exploring future paths with Honda is not exactly a surprise; there has been very little development or news from that front in recent times, and it looks like the national carmaker has moved on in this regard.

In June this year, Proton and Suzuki signed an Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) and Licence Agreement that, amongst other things, gives Proton access to Suzuki’s models, platforms, powertrain and automotive technology, with the Japanese carmaker providing technical assistance for the products and scope selected.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• spongewai on Oct 30, 2015 at 12:47 pm

Proton with VW- FAILED
    Proton with Honda- NO FUTURE
    Proton with Suzuki- hmmm

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 79 Thumb down 7
    • Proton Workers VS Japanese workers on Oct 30, 2015 at 1:11 pm

See below and you will know why Honda don’t want to friend Proton.

Japanese workers :

“We must work hard. We must focus in our work. We take pride in our products and must deliver excellent quality. Only then, we can enjoy our remuneration for the hard work done. We must aim to be more hardworking than our other Japanese car plants”

Proton Malaysia workers:

“Rilak lah bang, buat apa nak keje ni. rilak lah, nanti boleh buat. Letih lah ni, mari meh tido sekejap kat bilik stor, boss takde ni. Eh tengok awek kilang cun tu, bess lah dapat kongkek dia. Syok. Jom lah, mari pegi kantin minum teh dan makan kuih lapis. Tak payah keje kuat ni, kerajaan nanti tolong. Buat apa keje kuat ni, jom tido”

Hot debate. What do you think? Thumb up 268 Thumb down 267
      • Hampeh on Oct 30, 2015 at 1:36 pm

Habis tu kau ingat honda dgn toyota buat kat jepun…benggong arr ko ni….sama jer buat kat malaysia….relaks la bro….puiiiii ko.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 90 Thumb down 50
      • threatened on Oct 30, 2015 at 2:20 pm

Just because proton made new perdana which is better looking and better in many ways and will sell cheaper than current accord??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 38
        • CARter on Oct 30, 2015 at 2:25 pm

Better handling,maybe.Better looking,u should check ur eyes bro

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 27
          • Ah Beng ProtonFan on Oct 30, 2015 at 3:34 pm

P la Honda… Proton no need the out dated technology like Honda. We Proton can make anything better then Honda Engine, cvt and handling !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 77
          • The Truth About Cerai on Oct 30, 2015 at 3:55 pm

You know why Honda want to cerai? they got fed up with the kickback system and crony system Everything also, got no tender process. given to cronies, who are usually UMNO brainless people with no experience in the automotive sector.

Japanese Honda got fed up with the crony system. Even to source products for the Perdana also must set up subsidiary company and 30% of the company must be given free to bumi.

Honda got so fed up with all this. Tak tahan. How I know? I work for Proton Sourcing. Honda did not like our crony and kickback system by the parts vendors.

Hot debate. What do you think? Thumb up 139 Thumb down 137
          • Ah Beng (Member) on Nov 01, 2015 at 1:57 am

These Japs are arrogant and selfish. They are worst than Mitsubishi. They sell the royalty to Proton but vendor need to establish their own drawing. What the fish! They dont want Proton to step ahead than them in Asean market..It’s better to stop with Honda and we see how it works with Suzuki..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 6
        • YeapyEvo on Oct 30, 2015 at 3:51 pm

Better buy 2nd hand Honda Accord 8th Generation at cheaper price and use the balance to touch up and pump free petrol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 11
          • Ah Beng (Member) on Nov 01, 2015 at 2:51 am

Yup u better buy the old Accord first which equipped with deadly Takata airbags. The sooner u die the better..

• Same L0rrrr on Oct 30, 2015 at 2:23 pm

Honda is smart enough not to let Proton jeopardize its quality control and reputation. Bravo!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 52
      • pls dont insult Malaysians,. esp if you have not worked in Proton before. my fren who worked there before commended on their staff.
        and btw not all Japanese are like what you think,. they are a perverted lot!! plus, all they think about is golf! golf! golf!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 36
        • Proton Worker (ex) on Oct 30, 2015 at 4:05 pm

I work in proton before 5 years. Culture there is all about affairs and main. Everybody is married but all having affairs with each other. You were saying?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 23
      • proffesor on Oct 30, 2015 at 6:55 pm

Stupid comment . 5000 times recycled same comment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
      • Racist and stupid comment. Not every Malaysian worker at car assembly plant are like that. There are some hardworking ones who have made it in life driving ferraris and mercedes benz models here in malaysia. Many of them in KL of course. Haha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
        • driving rari’s.. through crony system? Are these workers proud that they are making a piece of shit car that cannot compete globally, with power windows that STILL fail, even after so many guarantees?

• Ollie on Nov 02, 2015 at 2:08 pm

Racist. I condemn Proton to the maximum, anyone who supports them are national enemies and deserve to be charged with treason. But I won’t be a racist.

• cinahanjing on Oct 30, 2015 at 8:43 pm

Komunis pengkhianat suka hati bila baca berita ni. Mmang dasar pengkhianat, anjing2 sepet ni takkan berpuas hati selagi Bangsa Melayu yg menguasai Proton, cuba kalau proton ni dikuasai robert kuok, honda ni msti kaw2 kena maki, siap cita balik zaman nenek moyang diorg kena smbelih dgn jepun dlu

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 58
      • Ayam masin on Oct 30, 2015 at 10:47 pm

Betul ke? Siapa yang minat kat proton? Semua partner lari hihihihi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 8
      • I can’t believe such comments are allowed here. Absolutely unacceptable. For argument said if it happens the other around I think Proton would be world famous for the right reasons! There is no justification for corruption no matter how u put it mate!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 6
      • MelayuAnjing on Nov 23, 2015 at 4:27 pm

Diamlah Melayu babi! Bangasa tak berguna!

• Nissan on Oct 30, 2015 at 12:51 pm

Honda you had just made a wise choice!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 88 Thumb down 19
    • OMG…good move….Honda sales can beat proton soon. Dont feed them, let them die faster…hahahah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 21
      • maybe it is also because Japanese are never too sincere in sharing technology anyway,.. they always offer some ,. but nothing more than that- so that’s why the partnership stops

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 15
        • Abahaku on Oct 30, 2015 at 3:34 pm

Agreed!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 12
        • Tictac on Oct 31, 2015 at 11:45 am

Tak-kan feed them A-to-Z…
          They provide you the concept or guide…then you develop from there lah…
          ONLY your parents will hold your hand to teach you how to write A-Z… even school teacher won’t do that.
          Well, everyone born with a brain… just need to use them, instead of just open our mouth and wait for others to feed.

• Honda Guy on Oct 31, 2015 at 6:11 pm

Honda is a profitable company. If Proton wants free ride all the time from Honda of course must give something in return to Honda.

Unless Proton develop its own technology, for sure no argument with other car makers.

• nabill (Member) on Oct 30, 2015 at 12:52 pm

If i have a dollar for every collaboration proton enters….
    Those contract free signings are nothing and proton being the small party in every single case, they have to agree to so many limitations imposed by the other big guy, and proton being stubborn or jus lack of direction, it only gonna hurt n be just a fruitless money wasting cermony…

Time to get a foreigner to take the helm at proton, someone who know how to work WITHOUT EGO AND Dilution… Do sting like MAS… how they trim the company, review all contracts n just be a sustainable company…. There is a limit to how much i can sympathize with p1…im a fan, bt godness me p1,u r testing the sh*t of my patience with u..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 8
  • Nothing to surprise.
    If Honda say they enjoy working with Proton then it is a surprise.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 14
    • Are we surprise with your language? No. Ini memang standard Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 8
      • kl fella on Oct 30, 2015 at 5:11 pm

haha so this is the standard of language and mentality from our kids, result of our kebangsaan public school system.. congrats

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 11
    • kl fella on Oct 30, 2015 at 5:12 pm

sendiri cakap baik baik dulu sebelum tegur orang

• Malam Jumaat on Oct 30, 2015 at 10:18 pm

Red shirt spotted..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
  • Proton achieving 15% TIV in 2015 on Oct 30, 2015 at 1:06 pm

The “several key issues” mentioned probably sound like this during the meeting:

Proton: Hai Honda san, aku mahu create a new “subsidiary” under our joint venture. I am planning to have Mat A, Mat B and Mat C as the CEO, COO and CBO (chief besar officer) of this new subsidiary. Oh ya, finally most important, you must give me 30 percent equity in your company.

Honda: But….why need this “subsidiary”? It’s nothing but an empty shell company that does absolutely nothing! Doesn’t that a huge waste of resources? And… those Mat A, Mat B and Mat C whom you recommended has ZERO AUTOMOTIVE CREDENTIALS or EXPERIENCE, why them?

Proton: Aiya, mereka tu… kawan baik, bini and crony saya mah! They very experience nasi lemak seller you know! Must kasi chance lah sikit, if not how they are going to make money? So 30 percent equity, deal?

Honda: I finally understand why Mitsubishi sold all their shares and leave all you barbarians for good. Take my Accord and leave, you guys are nothing but a bunch of lazy, blood sucking leeches, you have no place in international business! You asked for 30%? You guys don’t even worth 1% ! Now Get Lost!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 163 Thumb down 25
  • What about the “Accordana”? Is it a legal copy from Honda?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 15
    • alldisc on Oct 30, 2015 at 2:01 pm

Pls read the article. Try to understand. Otherwise, use Google translate.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 2
  • better buy Proton Accord.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 13
  • Padan muka Proton! Ah beng …say all u want but Honda just kicked Proton’s ass. Go Go Honda!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 19
    • Ah Beng ProtonFan on Oct 30, 2015 at 3:38 pm

Honda is for cheap poor people…. look at engine, cvt , safety and handling Proton are way ahead of Honda !!! Go read local news p la balik kampung !!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 29
      • 20 tahun maseh ada power window problems. Haiz. Iriz sudah kena.
        PROTON = Potential Risk Of Tingkap Otomatic Non-functioning.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 6
  • Heathcliff it's me Cathy on Oct 30, 2015 at 1:24 pm

Proton is just a small boy trying to enter the big boys’ club but doesn’t understand why no one wants to give in to its demands. Time to give up the ghost proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 5
  • jobless on Oct 30, 2015 at 1:37 pm

Honda will make a big mistake allowing P1 to destoy the Accord brand…same wit Mutsubisi Lancer…nw Suzuki next victim

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 13
  • old dog on Oct 30, 2015 at 2:02 pm

HAHAHAHAHAHHA, now the so call Accordana will be doom, since maintenance price will sure sky rocket without such support..

Obviously the problem will be…Cronies Part Supplier from Day1. Japanese learn from Mitsubishi already. (They really thought Malaysia small market they give a damn to sacrifice their brand quality and technology)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
  • Heng Lee on Oct 30, 2015 at 2:04 pm

‘“We in Proton of course look forward to acquiring the skills and technology of Suzuki Motor and we will be able to benefit from this understanding and cooperation with Suzuki Motor,” said Mahathir.

“Proton is very keen to work with acquired tech from other manufacturers. This is one of our attempts to enhance the performance of Proton,” the former PM added.’

This is what Dr M apparently don’t understand: Big car companies won’t give Proton ‘the skills and technology’ to build own cars. They would be stupid, wouldn’t they?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
  • Justinlol on Oct 30, 2015 at 2:11 pm

i felt curious , the 2016 proton perdana doesnt seem like as same as the honda accord , the previous edition of proton perdana for government-use is the car which has the same design as honda accord 100% , but the new edition of proton perdana not even copy people’s design ………..

• this means that Proton actually designs the exterior la,. isnt that sthg good?

• Damn. Maruah tercalar. Honda, how dare you? you are not afraid of 200 people rallying in front of your head office?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 11
    • Kawamura on Oct 30, 2015 at 2:21 pm

200 of what?.. pls bring them & show us in Japan if u want or dare!

• John is Otak Batu on Oct 30, 2015 at 3:12 pm

Hait ! Kawamura san. These jaguh kampung can only shout all they want & claim & threaten all they want in kampung only.
        Don’t worry, they are useless against world players

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
    • Tokayah on Oct 31, 2015 at 5:28 pm

What are you ‘merepek’ bro? Mabuk? Please comment something intellectual. Grow up please

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
  • Silthice on Oct 30, 2015 at 2:16 pm

Till now I wonder what do Honda get from the Accordana deal beside the “money” from re-badge…

• Good money to recycle old platform. Anyway it is 8th gen Accord.

Honda already using 9th gen Accord. New platform. Smart move by Honda. Still can make money out of previous generation platform

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • dr.ma on Oct 30, 2015 at 2:31 pm

well~more money to buy for rebadge………….

XD

• xxxxxxxx on Oct 30, 2015 at 2:51 pm

Proton better works with Suzuki making motrocycle la, why wasting time building car again.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
  • The moment when Honda realised Proton can make a better Accord than they did, even with a hand-me-down 2 generations old chassis

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 29
    • olio benzina on Oct 30, 2015 at 3:06 pm

Rover did that to them twenty years ago but they owned part of Rover.

• alldisc on Oct 30, 2015 at 9:59 pm

Actually 30 years ago. Rover 200 series began life as Honda Ballade. Rover 400 series is also Honda Concerto while Rover 600 series was Honda Accord Ascot JDM not sold to outside market.

Anyway, Rover lost in its struggle and went bankrupt. What left as remains were bought by Chinese company which rebrand the car as Roewe, bcoz the Rover trademark belongs to British if not mistaken.

• Ayam masin on Oct 30, 2015 at 10:49 pm

I want what john is smoking

• rally_fan (Member) on Oct 30, 2015 at 3:02 pm

its quite obvious isnt it? proton already in bed with suzuki.

• olio benzina on Oct 30, 2015 at 3:04 pm

N. Abe. Is that his real name or is Honda angry at how Proton reacted to what McLaren told Lotus who told Proton.

• KontiKinte on Oct 30, 2015 at 4:24 pm

This is bcoz Probably Proton already got partner in crime with Suzuki.

HONDA is a big player and i guess Suzuki already knew this with their short partnership with scammer WV.

I guess no way for big and established company like Honda or WV to give extra of their know how tech to other company and eventually will gain more benefit compare to them.

No matter what Proton really need a good and smart partnership to keep relevent

• effendi on Oct 30, 2015 at 5:08 pm

Time and time again Proton goes to bed with a foreign car maker and produces off spring aka bastards.
    Why can’t the relationship work?
    Cos Proton has nothing to offer.
    Zero / zilch!!!.
    Engine want free
    Chassis want free.
    And at the same time courting Suzuki.
    What lah Proton ?
    We don’t want bastards running around !!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
  • Bravo proton on Oct 30, 2015 at 5:08 pm

Japanese will never share their tech without take advantages to malaysian….n u love their car but they just want ur money….malaysian is like native (org asli) to them..if honda dont want is okey…they also dont want honda take advantages from proton expertise..eg RnH…nowadays proton have improve thier QC n eliminate kronies..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
    • alldisc on Oct 30, 2015 at 10:05 pm

Ride and handling? Hahahahaha
      Honda has the ability to produce a lot of cars on its own. Jazz, city, civic, concerto, integra, accord family of ascot, vigor, rafaga, inspire and legend. Can make CRX and NSX. And type R series. And MPVs like airwave, stream and odyssey.
      Knowledge in making high performance engines… 4 in line and v6… VTEC and variations.

So u were saying Honda doesn’t know how to make cars with ride and handling?

U r so funny.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
      • Proton achieving 15% TIV in 2015 on Oct 31, 2015 at 3:44 am

Only stupid jaguh kampung like Bravo Proton will think Proton is superior to Honda. Come on lah, Honda make Tyre R and NSX, has Proton made any car in the same class?

Ride and handling? Honda need to learn from Proton for ride and handling? Has Proton made a FWD car that can lap Nurburgring under 8.00? Honda wanna steal Proton so call “ride and handling”? Don’t make me laugh!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
  • applegreen on Oct 30, 2015 at 5:11 pm

Hahaha how to collaborate when proton can make new cars every 7 years while honda wants to make new cars every 5 years? From here we know that any collaboration with proton does not make sense and not profiting at all

• hahaha

• No_Future on Oct 30, 2015 at 6:00 pm

Haha… knew it! No way Honda will unveils it VTEC secret to any car automakers. VTEC is Honda’s life & soul, Honda is nothing without it! As for i-VTEC, it just another simplify version of VVTi, just like it’s coming VTC for US market.

• Jobless on Oct 30, 2015 at 8:35 pm

There goes my dream of a Campro powered Honda Civic wit bunga (Lotus) handling

• Sharon on Oct 30, 2015 at 9:16 pm

Please learn from China, how they are doing business. In short time, they can either collaborate with other global companies or even buy other foreign companies such as Volvo by Geely.

Most of the time, they are very successful. If got problems, they solve it soon or else walk away.

• Smlok on Oct 30, 2015 at 9:18 pm

Good good

• Absolute Rider on Oct 30, 2015 at 9:20 pm

Japanese very serious and discipline with their work, even the garbage collector.

• Proton Sperma S on Oct 30, 2015 at 9:38 pm

Seriously, Proton is F’d up. There is no bright future for Proton unless they stop practicing cronism. Then only the quality will improve. Everything looks cheap inside a Proton car. A better spent money is wasted by filling the cronies’ pocket.

• Jivee on Oct 30, 2015 at 11:00 pm

Since when Proton use their brain to create own models? No brain at all. Even crest small nuts also cannot.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
  • I think this is not a big issue, Honda is doing the right thing also. There must be a reason why Honda cut off the tie. But whatever reason it is, i still believe this is good for Proton. Proton will work hard to build their own products, it is time to change the old habits….

• MHANIX on Oct 31, 2015 at 6:55 pm

That new Proton Perdana front bumper looks like the latest AMG kits and the rear end looks like Jaguar XF.

• Ootai on Oct 31, 2015 at 8:27 pm

Honda do not want to proceed with plot on. DrM:0; Ajibkor:1. Get it??

• Joe Whiner on Nov 01, 2015 at 2:37 pm

Companies like Honda will make decisions regarding partnerships based on potential economic viability of the venture and to them it is a no go for now. It is the small minded, spiteful and prejudiced people who will start to politicize the business decision made. These people rejoice and celebrate such news and take every opportunity to indulge in their favorite pastime that is to slur other people.

• MentalKar on Nov 02, 2015 at 9:50 pm

Sayonara Proton !!! tapi jangan cepat putus asa Proton- walaupun banyak orang yang caci-hina engko masih ramai orang yang berdiri untuk saport engko. Orang bole bagi komen-komen hina, tapi aku rasa org2 tu buat kreta pun dia tak tahu.