Perodua Bezza engines – 1.0 litre 1KR-VE VVT-i, new 1.3 litre 1NR-VE Dual VVT-i, updated 4-speed auto

Perodua_Bezza_Advance_Ext-25

We’ve taken a look at the upcoming Perodua Bezza’s pricing, specs and safety performance; now let’s have a closer look at the engines and transmissions that will be offered on the second national carmaker’s first sedan when it launches on July 21. Both mills have either been comprehensively revamped, or are completely new for Perodua.

First, we’ll start with the smaller engine. You’re probably familiar with the all-aluminium 1.0 litre 1KR-DE three-cylinder engine in the Axia, but the one in the Bezza adds VVT-i variable valve timing on the intake valves, creating the new engine designation 1KR-VE. This helps deliver improved fuel consumption, increased power and torque and reduced emissions.

This doesn’t mean that Perodua has simply tacked VVT-i onto the Axia engine and called it a day – there have been a number of specific changes designed to further improve the engine’s performance and efficiency. The compression ratio, for example, is higher than it is on the Axia, at 11.5:1 versus 11.0:1.

Perodua Bezza engines 3

Also added is a high-tumble intake port that increases intake air tumble flow through the use of a funnel-shaped intake port. This increases the velocity of the air coming in, raising the intake volume ratio and resulting in improved combustion efficiency and increased power.

There’s also a longer intake manifold to compensate for the engine’s reduced power when the VVT-i system is in its most economical setting, while a micro spray injector has been incorporated to optimise fuel spray shape and minimise fuel atomisation time, facilitating more rapid combustion. Lastly, the valve lifters have been finely finished to reduce surface roughness by as much as 90%, contributing to lower friction.

The end result is that the Bezza 1.0L makes 67 hp at 6,000 rpm and 91 Nm at 4,400 rpm, modest increases of 1 hp and 1 Nm over the Axia. Fuel consumption is rated at 22.8 km per litre for the manual model and 21.3 km per litre for the automatic, making it even more economical than the Axia (21.6 km/l for M/T, 20.1 km/l for A/T). The engine is Euro 4 compliant, just like the Axia.

Details and specifications for the 1.0 litre 1KR-VE engine. Click to enlarge

Perodua officials claimed that the changes to the engine were necessary for the Bezza to achieve its Energy Efficient Vehicle (EEV) certification – the Axia could meet standards without VVT-i, but the Bezza is larger and heavier, and hence needed a little bit of help to reach those same standards.

Bigger news is the all-new, also all-aluminium 1.3 litre 1NR-VE four-cylinder engine. Essentially Perodua’s version of Toyota’s 1NR-FE mill used in the Indonesian-market Avanza, the engine is built at the new engine plant in Sendayan and is a development of Daihatsu’s K3 engine family – including the K3-VE engine used in the Myvi 1.3L. It’s actually slightly bigger than the Myvi’s engine, measuring 1,329 cc instead of 1,298 cc.

The main addition to the engine is Dual VVT-i, meaning that it has variable valve timing on both intake and exhaust valves. The valvetrain also employs roller rocker arms instead of a direct sliding system to reduce friction and improve fuel efficiency, while the intake system has been optimised with longer ports for improved low- and mid-range torque.

Perodua Bezza engines 8

Meanwhile, the cylinder head has also been redesigned with optimised intake and exhaust ports, as well as a revised combustion chamber shape. As with the 1.0 litre mill, the compression ratio stands at 11.5:1, a significant increase from the Myvi’s 10.0:1.

Outputs are rated at 94 hp at 6,000 rpm and 121 Nm at 4,000 rpm, 5 hp and 4 Nm up on the Myvi 1.3L, and fuel consumption is rated at 21.7 km per litre for the manual and 21.0 km per litre for the automatic. The auto-only Advance model achieves 22.0 km per litre, thanks to the inclusion of Eco Idle automatic start-stop system and regenerative braking. This engine also meets Euro 4 emissions standards.

Details and specifications for the 1.0 litre 1NR-VE engine. Click to enlarge

But the changes don’t stop there – there have also been revisions made to the electronically-controlled four-speed automatic transmission (E-AT) to reduce mechanical losses, while the transmission lock-up range has been expanded in third and fourth gear during acceleration and steady-state running; lock-up has also been added to these ratios under deceleration. Perodua has also increased fuel cut time under deceleration.

In summary, the numerous small but significant changes to the Axia’s 1.0 litre engine and four-speed automatic transmission, and the new 1.3 litre engine has made the Bezza the most fuel efficient model in Perodua history, all while improving performance over past models. Want to know how it all comes together? Read our review here.

GALLERY: Perodua Bezza 1.3 Advance

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Albert on Jul 16, 2016 at 3:35 pm

Folks,the END OF P1 is a fact.
    By Christmas….P2 will be renamed PERTAMA.
    PERODUA sounds too ancient/obsolete.
    Blockbuster Myvi,Block Buster Axia, now Blockbuster Bezza.
    Well done,Perodua.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 100 Thumb down 26
    • Operation Manager on Jul 16, 2016 at 5:32 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 129
      • Kunta Kinte on Jul 16, 2016 at 5:36 pm

Proton already can close shop. Last month only sold 4000 cars. With this from Perodua, you can kiss our RM1.5 billion goodbye.

Please lah Proton, please close shop. Buat malu sahaja. You have sucked over RM20 billion the past 20 years. Those are official figures. Unofficial figures is about RM100 billion cause your No 1 fan was Tun Mahathir. And when he was PM, he used to take billion freely from Petronas with one hand and give it to Proton with the other hand

All unaccounted for and not audited. These are the invisible hands that helped Proton since 1985. No records, no audit and even signed off by the audit houses

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 23
        • Slander slander slander. Why have to badmouth proton in p2 article? Not related lor

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 35
          • Pathetic state on Jul 17, 2016 at 10:44 am

Poor poor Malaysians. ..only can afford such rickety cars. Hence making it the best seller and we are “celebrating the success” of P2 ??? how poor the nation has become during the past 15 years !

Smaller and smaller cars with smaller engines to suits the poor Malaysians…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 23
          • Teacher on Jul 17, 2016 at 12:05 pm

These are not slanders, boy. These are facts. Local school don’t teach kah?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 15
          • Things you pick from sky are not fact on Jul 17, 2016 at 3:40 pm

As above

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
          • Operation Manager on Jul 17, 2016 at 5:14 pm

P2, dont try to kencing malaysian with 7k extra profit margin compared Axia, nobody will buy your Beza harga overpriced compact space small cc engine 10yrs old design car… p3 management harap-harap duduk office tidor sell Beza extra 7k profit margin compared Axia & get extra bonus year end…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 17
          • The Fact on Jul 17, 2016 at 8:00 pm

Eh, why pathetic state ah? You have to thank P1 for that. Malaysians originally can buy better cars at lower price. Then P1 came along and screw everything up, forcing the rakyat to buy expensive cars in the name of protection. And it’s a fact

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
          • Is this a joke on Jul 17, 2016 at 10:09 pm

The Engine size looks exactly like my factory gen-set… but my gen-set at least not as messy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 12
        • Kopisusu on Jul 18, 2016 at 12:34 am

Perodua is not making car from zero based. It only takes from daihatsu and toyota. So cannot compared 100% with proton. And please, why in the first place want to drag in proton in whatever comment

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 10
      • Proton X Factor is Quality Issue on Jul 16, 2016 at 6:35 pm

You are comparing a small, economical eco engine meant for econ boxes on four wheels against a direct injected, Japanese turbo meant for a 7 seat gaint SUV/ future hot hatch in the making.

U ok bro? mau check otak tak?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 1
        • crayes on Jul 17, 2016 at 9:14 am

No need to compare with mazda, compare with proton also lost.

Price is overpriced, gearbox is not CVT, even new tomyam Vios got CVT now, and yes the torque graph is not impressive.

Better go for TGDi 1.0l

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 7
        • Small car cannot get turbo mill? There were turbo engines like K3-VET, L200, why not using such engines? Ohwai

• FORKLIFT MANAGER on Jul 17, 2016 at 10:55 am

Haha mazda engine is nothing compare to my BENTLEY engine..

Shit ..

• Nonsense operation manager on Jul 16, 2016 at 7:47 pm

Hello manager, are u comparing to local car maker?? Why not u compare to Ferrari Porsche or Tesla????

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
      • Gunalah akal on Jul 16, 2016 at 7:52 pm

Dumbass. You’re comparing a sub 50k car to a Mazda????

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
      • pass by on Jul 16, 2016 at 8:23 pm

bro, ofcourse la, how come u think like that 1,very funny la how u think, then i gonna ask u , ur car engine can compare with ferrari or lambroghini in term of performance or not?

• nexto on Jul 16, 2016 at 8:39 pm

Perodua bezza = beza harga = oeverpiced

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 12
      • George Abdul on Jul 16, 2016 at 9:10 pm

1.0 litre still better on small car, sedan with 1.3 litre seem more realistic hope the pricing will be more affordable and P2 will achieve another high record sales !!!

• Nosushi on Jul 17, 2016 at 8:05 am

For 50k you should get 1.5l engine lor, this is way overpriced!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 8
          • George Abdul on Jul 17, 2016 at 1:33 pm

True, the pricing seem not right for current Malaysia economic… Rakyat prefer cheaper car price yet the Dealers keep increasing the price tag !!!

• Topkek on Jul 17, 2016 at 3:42 pm

That’s 2008 donor car also dun have. You dun bash pulak

Topkek

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
        • Sure can achieve higher record bcos major Malaysian still AUNTY mentality

• IrizX on Jul 17, 2016 at 8:06 pm

So you’re an Aunty, right? Axxx = Aunty

Now i know what your acronym means

• Kunta Kinte on Jul 16, 2016 at 5:35 pm

OMG OMG! This is the end of Proton.You are right Albert! Already Proton is so shaky and going to die. Poor Proton only sold 4000 cars last month.

If what the CEO of Proton says is true, that they only make RM500 profit from each car sold, last month alone, Proton just made RM2 million profit. So, how to pay 12,000 workers? That means each worker will get gaji about RM150 per month.

This Perodua will kill Proton completely. Proton is still in jolly land. They have not reduced their cost. The management and directors each have jolly drivers and Audi A8L limosines. Each director still earns 6 figure salary per month.

So, with just RM2 million profit from last month 4000 units of car sales, how to even pay just the Board of Directors alone?? Forget the 12,000 workers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 29
    • Kunta Kinte on Jul 16, 2016 at 6:07 pm

P1 can close shop. Waste our billions per year to sustain the lazy 12,000 workers. Why should 30 million people suffer just because of 12,000 workers?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 22
    • MoFaz (Member) on Jul 17, 2016 at 12:03 am

Proton will be affected, but I don’t think Proton will die just yet. People said Proton will die when Axia launched and Iriz can’t compete, but i do see more and more Iriz on the road. Do a rational comparison:

1. Bezza 1.0 manual and auto are both more expensive than 1.3 Saga manual and auto.
      2. The most expensive, 1.3 @ RM50k is competing directly against 1.6 Persona
      3. Both Saga and Persona are due to be replaced soon. We’ll compare Bezza with new saga soon.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 7
      • Operation Manager on Jul 17, 2016 at 9:11 am

After suck RM1.5B from rakyat, of course can sustain lah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 14
    • Kunta tanjung rambutan on Jul 17, 2016 at 9:44 am

Aiyoh bang, tolong balik center u. Apa u cakap only u faham

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 16
  • 1.0 has torque dip after 2000RPM, 1.3 dun have flat torque curve

Better wait for P1 1.0l turbo engine

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 12
    • Can you explain it in detail..

• torquey on Jul 17, 2016 at 9:22 am

Look at the torque graph, it goes down from 2,000 – 3,000 RPM, for small 1.0l engine the power is crucial hence a big no

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
      • New Saga on Jul 17, 2016 at 8:15 pm

Yes the Iriz is definitely better than any Perodua … hoping the New Saga will just do as good if not better ! Sorry no Perodua for me … I had a Myvi and it’s handling is horrendous with terrible brakes. Notice how many Myvi are involved in front end collisions in Perodua service centres ??

• Kunta Kinte on Jul 16, 2016 at 6:10 pm

But P1 is a bankrupt company. Whatever car you buy from them, 5 yrs down the road, Proton might not even exist. How to claim warranty?

Proton is bleeding RM4 million per day. Per Day! not per week, not per month and not per year but per day!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 22
      • Even mitsu, hyundai, GM and the list goes on, have bad days before. They are still exist until today so what?

• Kunta tanjung rambutan on Jul 17, 2016 at 9:45 am

Hahahahah………balik center duduk diam diam makan ubat.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 14
      • do ur job slave

• Facebook on Jul 16, 2016 at 6:11 pm

P1 1.0l turbo? when? 2020? how’s the reliability? Keep dreaming P1…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 9
      • lineartorque on Jul 17, 2016 at 9:18 am

Got many preve suprima exora turbo moving on road. You can’t see leh?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
        • Facebook on Jul 17, 2016 at 2:16 pm

can’t see my comment? P1 1.0l turbo not 1.6 sohai turbo… n even preve, suprima, exora…how many r there on the road? many of them lying in workshop la…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
      • Farhan on Jul 17, 2016 at 12:19 pm

I wonder if u have heard of campro 1.6cfe turbo….

• leoRNAdo on Jul 17, 2016 at 1:52 pm

He’s talking bout P1 1.0 turbo deyy.. 1.6CFE semua org tau machaa

• Kunta Kinte on Jul 16, 2016 at 6:15 pm

Proton already can close shop. Last month only sold 4000 cars. With this from Perodua, you can kiss our RM1.5 billion goodbye.

Please lah Proton, please close shop. Buat malu sahaja. You have sucked over RM20 billion the past 20 years. Those are official figures. Unofficial figures is about RM100 billion cause your No 1 fan was Tun Mahathir. And when he was PM, he used to take billion freely from Petronas with one hand and give it to Proton with the other hand

All unaccounted for and not audited. These are the invisible hands that helped Proton since 1985. No records, no audit and even signed off by the audit houses

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 26
    • Proton X Factor is Quality Issue on Jul 16, 2016 at 6:33 pm

Tell me which NA engine in the world that has a flat torque curve? This is no turbo, be realistic. By the time P1 TGDi is readied, Perodua had already kao tim most of the sales already.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 6
      • shere khan on Jul 16, 2016 at 11:02 pm

Gonna be like early campro engine. Torque dip at 2k rpm. At least the campro is 1.6. Now, this 1.0…imagine climbing genting…
        Gearbox’s gonna be real buzy…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
      • Hahahaha nowadays perodua also sells engine like camporn, n/a engine performance should be more linear, take a look at 1.3l engine graph. Unlike 1.0l has torque dip at 2k rpm.

• baboo on Jul 16, 2016 at 7:30 pm

By that time, make sure u have enough bullet to buy it.

• bukapintubayartol on Jul 16, 2016 at 7:38 pm

Why P2 didn’t go down the turbo method?

• Proton is really going all out with their WAIT campaign. There is nothing your can do, proton. Even if people wait, they are not waiting for proton.

• Torque dip worst at 2400rpm. 1KR-VE. where at this torque range most of the driver require to overtake. driver require to push paddle deeper to get more torque. its will end up with higher FC.

• new saga got to better this..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 4
    • Kunta Kinte on Jul 16, 2016 at 5:57 pm

Today, Proton management and staff are all crying. They are all going to have a meeting to see how they can con the rakyat even more money ie another RM1.5 billion to feed the lay 12,000 staff another 6 months.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 32
      • overpiced on Jul 16, 2016 at 8:04 pm

This bezza is a con ady, 50k for 1.3l engine, seriously?
        We can get Iriz 1.6l engine with that money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 12
        • then how come you don’t see so much of the shitty iriz on the road then.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 22
          • remoter on Jul 17, 2016 at 10:06 am

You must be staying at remote area, feel sorry for you

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 12
          • Bcoz they are in the showroom with me

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
      • camtakpro on Jul 16, 2016 at 9:17 pm

Today, all Proton staff will book Bezza because that is the only sedan they can afford, as Saga is too costly to be maintained.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 22
        • celoop on Jul 17, 2016 at 9:55 am

Since when saga maintenance is like luxury cars?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
          • taximan on Jul 17, 2016 at 2:34 pm

It is luxury for us

• errors on Jul 18, 2016 at 9:47 am

Even you have timing chain inside, you still have to change engine oil when the time comes

• camtakpro on Jul 20, 2016 at 10:20 am

You forget to take into account of annual leave cost.

• Nope, you’re wrong. The whole day i was ‘disliking’ your comment

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 8
        • Nope u spend the whole wrongly liking Alberts comment, while i was enjoicing my afternoon. What can I do if pipu like what I said?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
          • Kunta Kinte on Jul 17, 2016 at 9:21 am

john, everyone knows you’re just a syok sendiri idiot that replies to your own dupe and self liking your own post. Which shows how stupid you are

• Troller on Jul 17, 2016 at 10:10 am

Are you sure, john? Looks like you got more dislikes now. What to do if people hates you? I’m sure you’ll spend the afternoon liking yourself, right? Happy liking yourself

• George Abdul on Jul 17, 2016 at 1:40 pm

john stop being the blind supporters, come out and read world news. P1 management just only concern profit and not good business !!!

• jolly on Jul 18, 2016 at 10:42 am

I’m surprised got idiots that like your comments, john

• John Bangau on Jul 16, 2016 at 3:53 pm

Proton oh Proton kenapa engkau kurus?
    – Macamana aku tak kurus, asyik sedih hati

Hati oh hati kenapa asyik sedih?
    – Macamana aku tak sedih, Bezza terlalu laku

Bezza oh Bezza kenapa engkau terlalu laku?
    – Macamana aku tak laku, rakyat suka Bezza

Rakyat oh rakyat kenapa suka Bezza?
    – Macamana kami tak suka, sudah bosan kat Proton

Proton oh Proton kenapa rakyat bosan?
    – :-( ………………

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 25
    • Only you

• Brexar on Jul 16, 2016 at 5:09 pm

Apa kau merepek ni john?

• Kunta Kinte on Jul 16, 2016 at 6:20 pm

Proton kurus because the staff all believe that it is their right to sleep during work hours like promoted by MAS Union boss and Perkasa. That is why Proton is doing badly. All of them tidur. 12,000 overbloated staff to run a company that is losing RM4 million per day in losses (note per day!)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 14
      • Kunta Kinte was a slave. He.can never think straight. so pity to hos mother

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 10
  • Still using dinosar engine and no DVVT

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 37
    • john otak dinosaur on Jul 16, 2016 at 5:21 pm

Still using dinosaur brain and just bashing

• Unknown on Jul 16, 2016 at 6:17 pm

Dual VVTi is an improved version of DVVT you idiot. Think before you start posting comments

• Kunta Kinte on Jul 16, 2016 at 6:25 pm

Better than Proton. Today should be the day for Proton to close down. No point 30 million people suffer just to sustain 12,000 workers. 30 million people have to suffer for 12,000 workers and each day, Proton is losing RM4 million.

The company is not making a single sen but losing RM4 million per day. it should be shut down. If Perodua can make money, why Proton cannot make money?

Adding to that, Proton got RM15 billion the past 15 years and recently another RM1.5 billion additionally.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 10
      • what wrong.with you, slave. keep repeating the.same.lie.story.. be a good slave .. work work harder so that your master will give you a better pangkat than keyboard warrior.

• naxam on Jul 18, 2016 at 9:44 am

slave retarded mental-keep on repeating-maybe 1 day he will die hit by proton car

• so the transmissions are carried-over from the axia?

to axia owners out there.. care to share your tachometer reading (RPM) at 110km/h? for manual and auto

• Siti Norhalizah on Jul 16, 2016 at 4:35 pm

Excellent Toyota engine. Unlike the lousy noisy drink fuel like water Proton iriz engine.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 29
    • Brexar on Jul 16, 2016 at 5:12 pm

It’s not toyota engine. It’s bmw engine. Can’t you read?

• Nosushi on Jul 16, 2016 at 5:46 pm

Iriz i engine is better than jepunis dino 1nzfe engine

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
    • My Gen2 1.6 has better FC than my Myvi 1.3

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 46
      • You have a gen2? Sel otak tidak besambung.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 11
      • leoRNAdo on Jul 17, 2016 at 1:50 pm

OMG!.. I owned 2006 Gen 2. Cant sell it till now. they want it below RM5k… OMG!! what a car!!!

• P2 never declare his FC base.on which evaluation std.Do they lie? Which P1 use.NDEC, world atd.

• Just wondering why does air intake put in top of engine , is just like sucking all hot air back into engine .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
  • Owner on Jul 16, 2016 at 4:48 pm

Collect car go pump v-power shell ron97, euro4 engine output + 100Nm touque. Just like turbo civic.

• nabill (Member) on Jul 16, 2016 at 5:15 pm

In the artice, u can actually replace the name Perodua with Daihatsu.. Makes more sence!
    But seriously, despite the p2 hatred, me included, this is by far the most comprehensive model by p2… Its priced aggressively as well, packaged right…

Its not the death of p1 as we kno it, bt i hope for heavens sake, they will learn their mistakes n improve the overall quality of the next saga… Bt looking at p1 management faces, not much hope…

• just another driver on Jul 16, 2016 at 5:26 pm

interested on the regenerative braking mechanism, how does it work???

• Messy Engine looks like dumster.

• matdan on Jul 16, 2016 at 7:14 pm

after the Bezza released. how much does the Axia cost ? any revised price because the standard G now almost the same price on both

• bukapintubayartol on Jul 16, 2016 at 7:36 pm

When P2 going to put this engine into the MyVi?

• Export to india on Jul 16, 2016 at 8:21 pm

Huge potential for indian market.
    I have been watching indiansmall car review in youtube. Most of them are crap. The question is can they keep the price competitive for indian market?

• mystvearn on Jul 16, 2016 at 8:40 pm

I am not sure how is proton going to compete with an all aluminium block engine

• Anonym... on Jul 16, 2016 at 9:10 pm

Rebranding perodua to daihatsu.. no more perodua.. daihatsu is better.. hope one day don’t have perodua in malaysia. Hope daihatsu can make come back here

• 0W-20 motor oil for the 1.3? Will the engine behave or perform differently if a person use, for example, a 10W-40 motor oil?

• thomas on Jul 16, 2016 at 11:06 pm

hopefully also sold in Indonesia with the name daihatsu

• overheard in proton HQ yesterday. staff: Boss! Boss! Red Alert! Perodua dah release info pasal sedan baru mereka! boss: apa ko nak kacau aku ni? tak nampak ke aku tengah mimum teh tarik ni? aku tengah borak dengan datuk ni pasal catering open house raya minggu depan… staff: boss, info kat paultan lengkap sangat pasal kereta perodua bezza ni. Siap ada gambar luaran, dalaman, spec sheet, siap dah publish harga boss! komentar semua letak komen-komen positif pasal kereta ni yang nak lawan proton saga dan persona kami boss, mereka harap kita cepat tutup kedai boss! macai yang boss upah nak kritik p2 dalam ruang komentar kena buat OT semalam boss, dia nak gi berak pun tak sempat…. boss: ada aku kisah? apa nak susah, gomen dah kasi duit RM1.5 billion kat kami, aku dah separuh siap buat memo mintak bonus 6 bulan kat CEO baru kami yang bebal tu. Aku dah janji bini nombor 3 aku nak bercuti ke londong… staff: boss! susah lah kami nanti, kami pekerja semua nak keluarkan produk yang bagus lawan bezza ni, kalau tak habislah market share kami tu jatuh sampai… boss: dah, dah, gi berambus. lepas aku abis pekena teh aku ni aku nak mengular ngan awek cun kat bahagian r&d tu, dari pagi sampai sekarang dia wechat aku gambar hangat. shiok sangat. dahlah hari ni jummat, aku nak enjoy weekend dulu, lepas tu nak enjoy raya sebulan…nanti ada masa nak bodek CEO bebal hantar aku overseas buat study trip naik business class. staff: sedihnya saya….boss…bawak saya sekali gi study trip ye…saya duduk economy seat ye? hehe…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 10
  • tamau itu macam on Jul 17, 2016 at 11:00 am

i will buy any car except Proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
  • Yippi33 on Jul 17, 2016 at 2:18 pm

How much involvemnt did perodua engineers had in developing these engines?if just receive it from towkey jepun then no bragging rights there P2.

• easyDin on Jul 17, 2016 at 2:53 pm

Toyota already introduced Dual VVTI engine in Malaysia since 2010 with new Altis…

• gaviny on Jul 17, 2016 at 3:28 pm

prepare to see these rocketing along at 180-190 km/h

• Pintaras on Jul 17, 2016 at 6:29 pm

Saya inging booking tahun 2018 Proton Saga

• SuperZoom on Jul 17, 2016 at 8:45 pm

I don’t know who took the car’s photos but I can’t find any photo with the whole car showing !There are too many closed up photos I can’t really see how the whole car looks like.

• Caring on Jul 17, 2016 at 8:46 pm

It is a big let down in the interior design of Bezza especially the air-con dials and surrounding switches. Looks inferior compared to Myvi and Axia. How come the deterioration? Each new model should look better and not the reverse. The passenger side console looks like copy from Preve piano finished design. Terrible!
    The G and X model comes without the ESC. What a letdown. Perodua should have followed Proton Iriz lead by having ESC across all the models, because it is proven beyond doubt that ESC save lives. Where is Perodua social responsibility?

The Bezza is not cheap. At about 40K, Proton Iriz already have ESC, but only above 50K Bezza offer ESC.
    And look at the Bezza back seat, it is so thin. Long distance will be very uncomfortable.

Judging from the response from many readers here, it looks like majority are praising sky high for Perodua.
    For those who wants to book Bezza, I advice you to think twice and do your homework first. Don’t just jump into it. Money is hard to come by nowadays.

Perhaps wait until Iriz Sedan and the new Proton Saga is launched. Then do a comparison and test drive all the models. At least by then you will be able to make a better and informed decision. Buy now, you may regret later.

That’s my 2 cents.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 4
    • agreed with you. bezza sacrified alot to lower down the price. now P2 knows, cheating people to earn more will kill them later

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 15
      • Consumer rights on Jul 17, 2016 at 11:32 pm

As a consumer, we should boycott any new launched car without ESC. Knowing that ESC save lives yet out of profit driven, they let go their inner conscious.
        It is like saying, those who cannot afford to buy above 50K, their lives are not worth protecting.
        When the buying stops, the killing will stop!

• Safety Supporter on Jul 18, 2016 at 10:33 am

Stop buying P1 & P2, these 2 brands are killing people. Buy Volvo, which has ESC in every model

• Yippi33 on Jul 17, 2016 at 11:43 pm

I do agree. Thats a sedan axia mind you. Hopefully proton will hv vsc as standard across the new saga range.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
    • Yippi33 on Jul 17, 2016 at 11:55 pm

Maybe blame it on most of us malaysians awareness on importance of these safety features. If in the euro or US, sure kaw2 kene kutuk even by their motoring journalists. Majority of car companies, P2 includes, offer based on market demands. Malaysians prefer bling2 than safety features. Those gearup package should be replaced with safety package where vsc options can be added. Proton, on the other hand offers vsc as standard for iriz range which should be applauded. Hopefully the sedan range will too.

• Pak Man jiran Ah Seng kawan baik Mutu on Jul 17, 2016 at 11:31 pm

Comment kat sini majoritinya nak condem antara p1 dengan p2. Kononya p1 lagi baik dan vice versa. Macam ni ke mentaliti rakyat Malaysia? KeDua dua jenama tu kan syarikat Malaysia dan keluarkan produk Malaysia. Biarpun kereta tu direbadge atau apa pun. Mengaku diri patriotik tapi sendiri tak support produk dalam Malaysia.. Boring.

• Yippi33 on Jul 17, 2016 at 11:58 pm

Kita sokong tapi bukan mempiggy buta. Klu p1 salah kita tegur.. klu p2 salah pun same..tapi kene la teguran membina..mentaliti mcm tu la baru boleh maju..

• Oi oi on Jul 18, 2016 at 12:07 am

Just passing by reading racist comments on cars… kereta sorong even better load than all cars…

• common sensor on Jul 18, 2016 at 8:27 am

Bezza .. where are all the innovations showed during the conceptual stage @ motorshow? It end up just as another car after all.

• still waiting for Preve facelift 2017..

• logiclover on Jul 18, 2016 at 9:22 am

4 Speedd Auto? hahahahahahahah that is so dinosaurrrrrrrr. Saga better. u can add Start Stop around RM300- 400

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
  • Das Auto on Jul 18, 2016 at 10:17 am

The P1 basher just bashing for the sake of it knowing the car is as small as Axia but with a big boot but still look tight with that very thin airline seats, 4-speed auto, no ESC and to make more shitty it is more expensive than Saga. My opinion its still look OK but prefer Iriz for better road handling quality and better safety features. Wish all Iriz variant have 6 airbags. But if I have extra dough don’t mind getting it as my “kereta pasar” for my orang gaji to drive with.

• Topkek on Jul 18, 2016 at 10:36 am

Tak mahu org kritic P1 tapi sendiri add P1 comment pulak. Topkek

• topkek on Jul 18, 2016 at 3:11 pm

Tak mau org kritik P2 tapi sendiri bash P1 and this article is about P2 not P1.

Topkek

• Nothing to proudlah……..this is only Toyolta – Dauhattu car through Perokdua. In other asian region they call it Toyolta Etios.

• sulaiman zainudin on Jul 18, 2016 at 12:53 pm

PERODUA & PROTON (I prepared this for my kampung folks, if you require English let me know)

Perodua adalah anak syarikat Daihatsu & Daihatsu pula adalah anak syarikat Toyota.
    Ada banyak syarikat dalam group Perodua. Perusahaan Otomobil Kedua(Perodua), Perodua Sales, Perodua Manufacturing & Perodua Global.
    Perusahaan Otomobil Kedua(Perodua) controlling share holder adalah Syarikat Malaysia, begitu juga Perodua Sales. Tetapi untuk product planning, design & engineering development, quality management, & production, semuanya dibawah pengurusan Perodua Manufacturing. Perodua Manufacturing controlling share holder ialah Daihatsu. Sebab itu dengan kerjasama anak tempatan yang sememangnya lebih cerdik dari budak2 proton, strategy strategy perniagaan dipilih dengan baik utk keberuntungan bersama (Malaysia & Jepun)
    Tapi kena ingat, orang Jepun telah begitu lama dalam pembikinan kereta. Semua engineering development Perodua digariskan dari blueprint Daihatsu ini. Oleh sebab itu quality perodua ternyata lebih baik. Juga, munkin 50% dari komponents Perodua sebenarnya adalah carry over parts dari Daihatsu Jepun & hanya di localization sahaja di Malaysia.
    Dari sudut lain, ini juga bermakna, kerja kerja pembangunan kereta di proton, adalah lebih mencabar bagi budak2 proton. Di dalam Proton sungguh disesali kerana mereka tidak faham erti perkataan product segmentation & evolution. Mereka juga suka hati mengambil fungsi kereta LHD ke dalam kereta mereka yang hamper 100% adalah RHD. Kononnya European feel dengan tidak peduli keselamatan(safety) Juga mereka tidak dapat membaca dengan tepat trend segment mana yang akan meledak dari 5 tahun yang lalu sehingga 5 tahun yang akan datang. Walaupun dulu ada Mitsubishi, apabila Proton cuba berdikari, mereka minta bantuan dari banyak syarikat(Mitsubishi, Honda, Suzuki, Renault) yang menjadikan mereka caca merba dan akhirnye hilang arah.
    Peranan Lotus dalam Proton amatlah sedikit, Lotus hanya pandai(tak berapa pandai pun) membuat kereta sport car. Itu pun dalam bilangan yang kecil, hanya beberapa ribu sahaja dalam setahun. Pelaburan Proton dalam Lotus tidak menjadi baik & kecundang, malahan Proton kena menanggung bebas cost pengurusan Lotus yang sangat tinggi.
    Saya rasa kalau Proton tidak mendapat rakan kongsi yang bagus & juga jika rakan kongsi ini tidak ada controlling share dalam Proton, proton tidak akan kemana. Syarikat kereta yg besar perlu kepada controlling share ini supaya mereka dapat melancarkan strategy business mereka lebih berjaya dalam Malaysia(utk Malaysia) & juga di luar Malaysia seperti ASEAN untuk diri mereka & juga untuk Malaysia bersama.

• Real life FC on Jul 18, 2016 at 1:35 pm

In car base review many people don’t get the claimed Axia FC and some are really far-off. e.g. 11km/L only. Dear PT, please test the car FC in real life condition to avoid people get con like Axia.

• Scorpio5 on Jul 18, 2016 at 3:08 pm

Congrats to Perodua.Its success all the way for them because of long term strategic partner Daihatsu/Toyota.Although pricing is controlled by the Goverment,our general Malaysian drivers look at fuel consumption and reliability and nothing else.My first car was Iswara and many sweet memories than wira and waja. I think these where superb models from Proton.But now I won’t buy Proton simply because of no confidence in current models.Sorry its only my personal opinion. In order for Proton to be success I think they need to focus on fuel consumption,assembly quality,relibility and a good long term partner. I don’t know why Proton is holding back.They can do they just don’t want to …

• Its all about business decision by top guns. so many red tape and govement like.management. to suatain business, decision must.be quick and business decision only.