Paul Tan's Automotive Industry News

New Perodua MPV coming in September 2009

Perodua LogoAn interview with Perodua managing director Datuk Hafiz Syed Abu Bakar in The Edge Weekly has revealed some plans about Perodua this year. For one, Perodua will be undergoing a rebranding sometime in the middle of the year, which will coincide with the launch of the new Perodua Kembara. The rebranding exercise will also give Perodua a new logo, which will be more of a restyled evolution of the current one rather than something new.

The new Perodua Kembara will come with a 1.5 liter engine (likely the 3SZ-VE) and will have four-wheel drive. It will not be assembled locally by Perodua but will be a CBU import from Japan. It will be a low volume product, and the expected price tag is likely to be more than the Toyota Rush because of its higher specs (the 4WD drivetrain) and Japan sourcing. It will be targetted at the urban, upper-middle income group. Expect the new Perodua Kembara to be based on the short wheel base Daihatsu Terios with a May 2008 launch date.

Another surprise revealed in the article is Perodua’s plans for 2009. Perodua will launch a new three row 6-seater MPV in September 2009. Datuk Hafiz likened it to a Toyota Wish, but a smaller version. I wonder what could this be based on. Can’t really think of any compact 6-seaters from Daihatsu/Toyota other than the Daihatsu Gran Max, but that’s more of a Rusa-like van.

If you read this article by Xinhua News Agency posted on the 5th of March 2008. it is revealed that Toyota and Daihatsu is developing a new MPV in Indonesia. The MPV is set to be launched in 2009. This model is could be the one that the new 2009 Perodua MPV will be based on.

Anyway whatever it is, it’s something to look forward to next year. 2009 seems to be the year of the MPVs.

51 Comments »

1. Cyberkayu said,

March 24, 2008 @ 6:15 pm

huh
    wanna compete wif proton mpv?
    go copy toyota alphard la~~
    copy cat

2. nanashisan said,

March 24, 2008 @ 7:14 pm

just as expected for new kembara to be CBU due to low volume production. if it is more than toyota price rush, it will be priced at sub rm100k. thats a lot. summore, japan spec will be full spec like auto climate control, more safety features, higher quality and JDM looks summore.

3. kakilubuk said,

March 24, 2008 @ 7:14 pm

Can’t wait to view it all. However! I’ve decided to book Mitsubishi Triton. Cheaper than Rush.

4. MyviKiller said,

March 24, 2008 @ 7:17 pm

2009 will be an excititng year, lets see the market’s reaction towards the new MPVs (Proton and Perodua). I think Proton won’t lose out to Perodua this time, especially under Syed Tahir’s control.

Eh Perodua, too afraid of Proton now ah? LOL…

5. MyviKiller said,

March 24, 2008 @ 7:22 pm

Time will tell who’s the winner. Hahahaha.

Anyway, jokes apart, Congrats to the Perodua marketing team.

6. freeze said,

March 24, 2008 @ 7:32 pm

So now Perodua is becoming a a importer??? Just like Naza?

7. MisterBenjo said,

March 24, 2008 @ 8:19 pm

It will not be assembled locally by Perodua but will be a CBU import from Japan.

—————————————————————

Toyota invading everyone…………………yeah a toyota in the name of national car.

8. torishimeyakuin said,

March 24, 2008 @ 8:39 pm

Small version Wish? I don’t think so.
    I heard that it will be based on Toyota Sienta. Not my type though…
    http://toyota.jp/sienta/index.html

9. sxe10r said,

March 24, 2008 @ 8:52 pm

what the Fxxx .. the only dream 4×4 local assemble become import from jpn … P2 tutup la ~ the sell will suck like rush ~

10. herman said,

March 24, 2008 @ 8:56 pm

Kembara priced higher than a Toyota Rush? RM90-100k? I think it will not do well especially badged as a Perodua Kembara! This is TWICE the initial selling price of the 1st gen Kembara… As for the MPV in 2009 I hope they intend to price it competitively.. lower than Avanza maybe? Or are they planning to fill in the spot that’s going to be vacated once they stop production of Avanza?

11. faizfadil said,

March 24, 2008 @ 9:09 pm

hahahaha…. what’s proton going 2 do now?????? kembara with a price higher than a toyota ruch????? wow…. should b interesting…..

12. naikmotoje said,

March 24, 2008 @ 9:45 pm

the battle continues… haha

13. bmpower said,

March 24, 2008 @ 9:58 pm

hehe.. not this time p2..

14. tokmoh said,

March 24, 2008 @ 10:19 pm

Wow, kembara to b more expensive than the ridiculously-priced and pretty-much-pointless rush? That’s gonna be rare, I’d expect more rare than the Nissan Teana.

Wow, back in 2005, I remember chatting with my ex-neighbor (she’s working with Perodua, but ironically drives a 2nd-hand Ford 0.o), congratulating Myvi’s success and asking her what’s Perodua’s future plan. She did mention they’re planning a baby wish, and now I see what she’s talking abt.

This is going to be interesting. My bet’s on Proton MPV though, wahahaha. I’m scared of riding my fren’s Viva especially when it corners (and it’s thinner-than-my-Saga’s door), can’t imagine it (the way it corners) in an MPV :S

Proton, make an MPV that’ll make ppl WANT to buy it, not bcuz ppl HAVE to buy it!! Lotus handling and (maybe) Campro CPS force-induced ftw!!

15. IsaacVky said,

March 24, 2008 @ 11:07 pm

Which sohai will go buy this 100k kembara

16. mystvearn said,

March 24, 2008 @ 11:13 pm

If 100k kembara MPV=200K European MPV all sohai will buy it.

I know how the logo is going to be. They will just remove the green and red colours and make the logo like toyota-ish.

17. freeze said,

March 24, 2008 @ 11:15 pm

Its like buying a BMW, an putting Proton Waja badging.
    I’m sure people will buy it, may end up like Alphard. Everywhere i go i see this big beast. Surely they will get the sales target, everytime we think it cant sell, they always prove us wrong.

18. MaverickNeo said,

March 24, 2008 @ 11:19 pm

Turbocharged Campro CPS?! w00t! Some imagination u got there, tokmoh. Lolz..I’m more interested in the Kembara, I drive one now. But don’t plan on changing anytime soon with the price like that..lolz.

19. engtaokia said,

March 24, 2008 @ 11:33 pm

1) what is the point perodua become national car manufacturer if themself import cars from japan? later kak pidah tell produa “mau bawak masuk new kembara kena ada AP…ehh?opps?…i forget she baru kena goreng sotong :p
    2) now, hw many ppl from urban area will brough their 4×4 kembara going offroad?climb genting kah?

20. BW said,

March 25, 2008 @ 12:05 am

wah produa and proton really wanna compete eh?

21. mitlanevo said,

March 25, 2008 @ 12:17 am

faster faster, I can’t wait any longer!!

22. king said,

March 25, 2008 @ 2:03 am

herman said,
    March 24, 2008 @ 8:56 pm

Kembara priced higher than a Toyota Rush? RM90-100k? I think it will not do well especially badged as a Perodua Kembara!

_____

now this will be a test to see whether a japan CBU with perodua badge or a indon CBU with toyota badge will do better. even though the CBU kembara will be higher spec and better quality, i bet the toyota rush will outsell the kembara at least 10 to 1…..due to the badge alone.

23. raybrig85 said,

March 25, 2008 @ 7:33 am

freeze..

ure rite…mabe they have their sales target…i think next kembara will do ok…mabe can compete with the rush….coz u gt a hi spec and better quality frm japan…ppl will think twice which they want to buy…rush or kembara eventho it is perodua…hhmmm…dats interesting…

abt the mpv…it is interesting…cant wait to c it…proton n perodua war…

24. normaluser said,

March 25, 2008 @ 8:03 am

It looks like both Proton & Perodua are using Toyota Wish as the benchmark for making an all-round good looking MPV. The Wish is already compact enough for a midi MPV, can’t imagine it being shrinked to a smaller size.

I can’t understand why Perodua should import the Rush in CBU form and price it within a range which is very unacceptable (some more its short wheelbase version). Now, it has become like Naza, importer, re-badger & profit-teer!

Some more, this is not a wise strategy, since they’re intending to venture into a different market segment (MPV) and compete head-to head with Proton. Economically speaking, it will reduce the players slice of the pie share, hence making it hard to achieve the economics of scale (except for exporting). Socially speaking, it may promote healthy competition (price wars). However, I think Perodua should maintain producing basic compact cars for the masses and focuses on the export market. Very sad to see that Toyota & Daihatsu are more eager to ramp up the production in Thailand & Indon instead.

Our small 500K per annum auto market does not accomodate 2 national cars eyeing for the same product & target market. Wake up Perodua! Focus on core competencies and the export market.

25. 4G63T DSM said,

March 25, 2008 @ 8:51 am

Well Perodua thinks the pie is still big enough….but not big enough to build the Kembara here.

Mini SUVs are pointless vehicles and the Kempara is no exception, paying this much and for a CBU is odd…to say the least.

As I mentioned last post on that Mazda/Proton MPV photochop, Perodua has something proton doesn’t. Fast time to market products. They can react to market changes very quickly. If the MPV market is as competitive here, I have a feeling that Perodua will do well if their new MPV(s) is priced well, since they have a hugh stable of cars to pick from.

My guess would put the Perodua MPV could be sized something between the Avanza and the Grand Livina….and be priced near the 60-70k level. This would put it in a sweet spot, possibly to take over from the Avanza…since it doesn’t make sense for Toyota to have 2 vehicles canabilizing each other.

This will definately steal some of Proton’s thunder. Only leaves to be seen how Proton will price their new MPV.

26. xstan said,

March 25, 2008 @ 9:09 am

HHHmmmm…initially I visited a client of mine who just secured to fabricate toolings & parts for machinery uses to assembly Perodua MPV. I corrected him is Kembara but then his contract code is MPV. So its true after all. Well thats good…

27. mukhri88 said,

March 25, 2008 @ 9:23 am

Kembara for upper middle income eh? Well folks, say goodbye to your fun and affordable off-road weekends!

28. King Samurai said,

March 25, 2008 @ 9:30 am

This is what we call ‘globalization’. By 2010 no more import tax to be imposed in this region. All auto manufacturer is gearing for that now!! Toyota & its subsidiaries (including Daihatsu & Perodua) in this region already made their moves and 2009 will be the kick start year. According to Xinxua News Agency article Daihatsu in Indon will be focusing on MPV & pickup trucks. May be Malaysia shall focus on the passenger car segment. Just look at Toyota, recently their higher end model like Camry & Altis are from Thailand…Heard that Honda also planning the same..All new small MPV below 2.0L made in Indon to be supplied to all SEA region..even to OZ & new zealand. Next year will be exciting year to see a lot of movement in our auto industry. The question is..will it benefit the rakyat??Hell NO!!…new excise tax egime will be implemented and car price shall remain the same…another round of NAP will create another turmoil in the industry.

29. mukhri88 said,

March 25, 2008 @ 1:00 pm

But with new bosses at the helm, who knows if PM let them run free n wild:) The rakyat is upset of price hikes so I guess they’ll try their best to keep prices down or even lower existing prices of goods under AFTA.

This might benefit us as rakyat.

30. tokmoh said,

March 25, 2008 @ 4:26 pm

@MaverickNeo

It’s not my imagination, it’s been told by si-fu. It’s unconfirmed, bt it’s under testing. And I oso nt sure whether it’s turbo or super charged, but it’s force-induced. Who knows, mayb last minute they decided not to n just settle wit Campro CPS n/a, we’ll hv to wait n see….

31. hyundai said,

March 25, 2008 @ 4:48 pm

Perodua is so ignorant… If it is more expensive than Rush than it will surely be beaten by the Nissan Livina and Suzuki SX4! Juz wait to die…

32. mukhri88 said,

March 25, 2008 @ 5:09 pm

Perodua’s accountants will ask marketing on product viability, can sell or not. Marketing will conduct market research, results send to bosses. Malaysians say HELL, YEAH!, can and will buy CBU Kembara at that price. So, Perodua MD make statement la to the press… That’s how it works, innit?

Did Perodua’s marketing people ask you? Guess not.. Die first before asking motorheads. ahaks..

33. topgunthang said,

March 25, 2008 @ 5:32 pm

i was hoping peroduo put out a crv competing car at 90-100k. that would be nice.

34. darkwizard said,

March 25, 2008 @ 8:05 pm

With that high price, better buy a Gray import Mid size or Full size SUV for offroad use.

35. Javanese said,

March 25, 2008 @ 10:54 pm

If he means a small MPV that look like the Wish… it could be a Toyota Ractis or an extended version of the Ractis. Either way it has to be the ractis because it’s the closest small MPV lookalike thing that toyota to have that looks like a Wish.

36. want_diy said,

March 25, 2008 @ 11:08 pm

I oso don’t understand perodua pricing n management planning…~~~…so risky…

37. tokmoh said,

mukhri88

HELL YEAH, they didn’t ask me, wakakak. Or mayb they asked vaguely like: “we wanna make Kembara replacement, it’ll be better than before cuz it’s newer, do u agree?” then if ppl ask, they’ll say “we dunno details yet (liar), bt we know it’s newer n thus improved (in terms of making profit), so do u agree?”

38. azrai said,

March 26, 2008 @ 6:52 am

CBU Kembara? Wake-up make friend. This is another NAZA in the make actually. Even NAZA is CKD. Maybe Perodua got more AP’s which Kak Fidah didn’t gave them before. Look like Proton MPV project give a wake-up call for Perodua. More competition, more choices, more to save with MPV price war after this. Syabas Malaysia.

39. sxe10r said,

March 26, 2008 @ 8:44 am

Saga already cut off Viva , Persona also kick down myvi ?? Kembara will close off P2 ???

40. razor_clawzz said,

March 26, 2008 @ 9:35 am

If the Terios will be more expensive than the Rush, it will be considered extremely expensive because the Terios is so much smaller!

41. MyviKiller said,

March 26, 2008 @ 12:42 pm

want_diy said,

I oso don’t understand perodua pricing n management planning…~~~…so risky…
    —————————————————————-

The riskier the better what…

42. BanyakMasukWorkshop said,

March 26, 2008 @ 2:00 pm

whats even more strange, is how can a “national car” import in a car from overseas in CBU form, rebadge it, and sell at “perodua” prices? how will they achieve the 30-40% local content percentage to qualify as a national car?

are they doing a naza as well?

43. tokmoh said,

March 26, 2008 @ 3:39 pm

@myvikiller

The riskier the better…….you mean as in making profit?

I suppose P2 dares to do so cuz they now hv the branding power. They confidence our market thinks of them as the Msian Toyota, which has gud reliability n gud 2nd hand value.

44. zzua said,

March 27, 2008 @ 11:20 am

malaysians are motorheads..
    don’t play2..

45. king said,

March 28, 2008 @ 12:59 am

BanyakMasukWorkshop said,
    March 26, 2008 @ 2:00 pm

whats even more strange, is how can a “national car” import in a car from overseas in CBU form, rebadge it, and sell at “perodua” prices? how will they achieve the 30-40% local content percentage to qualify as a national car?

are they doing a naza as well?

_____

since when p2 is national car? they are jap car now

46. wflo128 said,

March 28, 2008 @ 11:04 am

only sohai perodua sell the car to sohai end user only…. very SOHAI……

47. aenz81 said,

April 23, 2008 @ 1:47 pm

Now perodua also produce MPV…. if Datuk Hafiz say likened it to a Toyota Wish, but a smaller version… maybe they wanna rebadge Toyota Avanza as their new MPV… as i know, Avanza was assemble at perodua factory. And from recourse that i can trust… Avanza actually is designed and engineered by Daihatsu. That why we can see that avanza was the only mini MPV that produce by Toyota.

48. fozi said,

April 30, 2008 @ 11:23 am

if the price of d nautica @ 90K - 100K….i personally will go for kia sportage……

49. temakol said,

May 3, 2008 @ 11:11 pm

Ni bukan MPV la….kan gov dah set MPV is 7 seater vehicles. Ni nampak gaya 5 seats jer….

50. LordSatan said,

May 25, 2008 @ 11:39 pm

i bet this will be exactly look alike Avanza

51. aenz81 said,

June 5, 2008 @ 10:16 pm

LordSatan said,
    May 25, 2008 @ 11:39 pm

i bet this will be exactly look alike Avanza

———————————————————–
    If new perodua mpv rebadge Daihatsu Xenia as their new mpv…. of course it’s will look like avanza LordSatan.

————————————————————
    fozi said,
    April 30, 2008 @ 11:23 am

if the price of d nautica @ 90K - 100K….i personally will go for kia sportage……
    ————————————————————–
    Fozi… rm88k, better u get Toyota Rush insteed perodua NaughtyCar (Nautica)…. Rush wheelbase is longer than Nautica… Rush (7seaters), Nautica (5seaters)… kia sportage looks is out of dated…

previous post: AV Ventures supplier for new Proton MPV
next post: Toyota Sienta - compact JDM 7 seater MPV

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Don't have an account?

If you do not have an account on paultan.org, please click here to register. Note that first time commenters will have to be approved before your comment appears.

Please do not submit your comment twice, the system has accepted your comment, it just needs to be moderated first. Once your first comment is approved, all subsequent comments will show automatically.

What are you waiting for? Register now!