Proton Persona SE now on sale for RM59,800

Proton Persona SE

Proton launched a special edition of the Proton Persona SE today, priced at RM59,800. The Persona SE is only available in two colours – Blue Haze and Brilliant Red. Like all new units of the Persona, the new Proton Persona SE is powered by the Campro IAFM engine which offers a smoother torque curve compared to the old Campro engine. It is only available with an automatic transmission.

The following are the differences in equipment for the special edition model:

• Leather-wrapped seats, steering wheel, gear knob and trim
  • Meter panel from the GEN2 CPS
  • Different alloy wheel design (15 inch)
  • Cruise Control
  • Smoked headlamps
  • Silver matte door handles and front grille
  • A bodykit consisting of front, side and rear skirts and a subtle spoiler
  • A Proton-rebadged windscreen-mounted GPS navigation device

The GPS device loads its maps from an SD card, so it should be easy to replace the maps whenever there are updates. I noticed there were some points of interests loaded onto the map such as local restaurants so if you’re in an area you do not know and want to grab a quick bite the GPS should be quite useful in that sense.

Look after the jump for more photos of the Persona SE.

Proton Persona SE

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Aug 26, 2008 at 9:24 pm

huhuhu whole day waiting for the review.

• crasher7 (Member) on Aug 26, 2008 at 9:24 pm

First to comment…
    Cruise Control?! Sweet!!!

• TheophilusChin (Member) on Aug 26, 2008 at 9:25 pm

SE = Silly Enhancement?

• hyundai (Member) on Aug 26, 2008 at 9:25 pm

5k for so much more thing. Quite reasonable and valuable.

• volks2 (Member) on Aug 26, 2008 at 9:25 pm

lots of new features wor

• ar (Member) on Aug 26, 2008 at 9:28 pm

SE… should be standard edition from the start

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Aug 26, 2008 at 9:29 pm

Paul, where they put the GPS?

Paul Tan says: its windscreen mounted. not integrated. you can put it anywhere you want. you can take it out, or put it in another of your cars if you want.

• Hikaru (Member) on Aug 26, 2008 at 9:30 pm

Good, got rid of the horrible steering wheel for some leather bound ones.

Cruise control? Wonder how intelligent it is. E.g. the ones on Camry stays at the set speed no matter if u are climbing up hill or down hill, it will auto control the throttle to maintain the set speed. Wira’s? Only the throttle is open at a certain level, go faster on down hill, slower on up hill.

Stand alone GPS? Not smart, next time ppl will target Persona SE to smash their windows to get the GPS. I guess its near to impossible for them to integrate it in to the dash. Next time perhaps?

Anyway, good effort to mkt this 4 yr old product, just wish its given a bigger facelift with more mechanical changes, rather than fulfilling promises that was made much earlier. Proton’s way i guess

• ezralimm (Member) on Aug 26, 2008 at 9:31 pm

That’s a pretty decent level of kit for only RM60k..

• awak (Member) on Aug 26, 2008 at 9:32 pm

alloys are from waja

• mitlanevo (Member) on Aug 26, 2008 at 9:41 pm

nothing special, except the GPS…..

and the wheels are ugly and too small size…

• awak (Member) on Aug 26, 2008 at 9:49 pm

for SE its ok,

unless it a GT then the car deserve performance pack

• cyborgx (Member) on Aug 26, 2008 at 9:49 pm

I’d bite the bullet and topup to buy a city.

• WXX8XX (Member) on Aug 26, 2008 at 9:55 pm

Dammnnn.. a GPS in a Proton?? Interesting… Unfortunately it’s not integrated.. but it’s an improvement from Proton at least.. Agree with Mitlanevo.. should change the wheel to bigger rims.. It look cacat with rims that small.. Other than that it’s ok and acceptable.. Hope to have a review on the driving experience soon…

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Aug 26, 2008 at 9:57 pm

1.6 how can put bigger rim…underpowered la.

• F33lG00D (Member) on Aug 26, 2008 at 9:58 pm

Haha another plate of Fine Duluxe Rojak!
    Good job Proton!

• zaff1984 (Member) on Aug 26, 2008 at 9:58 pm

good value for RM59,800. Proton should to mix n match too much from other model, it make the special edition less special. not the true competitor for city bcoz of price gap.

• F33lG00D (Member) on Aug 26, 2008 at 9:59 pm

Y Dont upgrade the wheels?? aiyooo thambi!!

• eliew (Member) on Aug 26, 2008 at 10:05 pm

rims look familiar!…it’s from waja recycle bin!!

• goguncas71 (Member) on Aug 26, 2008 at 10:05 pm

The Persona is underrated, a few months ago TopGear Malaysia did a comparo with the Honda City and Spectra 5 and the Persona won.

• awak (Member) on Aug 26, 2008 at 10:08 pm

malaysian car or any car sold in malaysia obsessed with door visor,
    its funtional yes, during rainy day at least,

but those visor actually spoil the sleek look of the car, honestly.

• chery (Member) on Aug 26, 2008 at 10:09 pm

rims from old Waja? chew!

• austin_cipan (Member) on Aug 26, 2008 at 10:15 pm

bigger wheels = need to design new bearing set = $$$
    bigger wheels = more load on engine = reliability issue = $$$
    bigger wheels = lower profiled tyre = $$$
    hence, bigger wheels = costly = against proton rules = NO WAY!!!

• austin_cipan (Member) on Aug 26, 2008 at 10:18 pm

1 more
    bigger wheels = more load on engine = increased fuel consumption…
    anybody want to add more? please feel free to add…

• Dogster (Member) on Aug 26, 2008 at 10:40 pm

Why oh why oh whyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy , must the stupid buttons on the steering wheel be so smallllll. goshhhhhhh. really put all those new gadget really useless. if practicality isnt there. i wont mind if proton puts those big round buttons from the myvi audio system onto the steering wheel..sigh…

• johnson wong (Member) on Aug 26, 2008 at 10:41 pm

skirting like shit…..

• orangetribal (Member) on Aug 26, 2008 at 10:42 pm

i was expecting more from Proton when i first saw the ad from a newspaper,nevertheless good job for adding many “premium” features not seen in proton cars before.

and and the waja rims looks cool on the persona and most probably the best looking rims coming out from proton,really.

• Dogster (Member) on Aug 26, 2008 at 10:42 pm

if not this would be a near perfect car d, in terms of user friendliness

• dodgeviper88 (Member) on Aug 26, 2008 at 10:54 pm

I’m interested to know what brand is that GPS is? Hopefullt it’s a garmin model in which i can take the malaysian maps and copy it to put into other garmin ones. As for the car itself…..sigh….Proton, the name speaks for itself. And since when Malaysia had their version of TopGear?

Paul Tan says: it’s not a garmin, i asked the sales personnel and they mentioned some obscure name that i could not catch.

• ckk125 (Member) on Aug 26, 2008 at 10:57 pm

nice car, with the enhancements…but the price range is too close to waja…5k difference only..with cps engine, hid, projector lamps and 6 speakers..

• bobdbilder (Member) on Aug 26, 2008 at 10:57 pm

If you put big switches on the steering, you’ll change channels while taking a turn. Not very safe as it distracts you. Like my Waja. Changed HU to Pioneer. Bye-bye stock steering hello momo replica.

But I have to say this; looks like this SE is Proton Edar work. And its disappointing. They need not do this in the first place coz its a new model. Its like they had to do something for Merdeka. It just look like an afterthought. We used to have the MME edition out around this time. That didn’t do to well cos the bodykit stank. It still does. Quite obviously its a glued on skirting ainit?

Have to agree with Awak. I tore off mine after petrol went north to 2.7. Now I’ve got a mess around my windows cos the double sided tape couldn’t be totally removed.

• bobdbilder (Member) on Aug 26, 2008 at 11:01 pm

dodgeviper88

Top Gear Malaysia is in its 18 month.

Have to say this…

DUH

Just had to..

• IsaacVky (Member) on Aug 26, 2008 at 11:04 pm

Hikaru said,

August 26, 2008 @ 9:30 pm

Simply because old wira has a cable throttle while Camry use an electronic throttle which can provide feedback with a closed loop control system. No problem with this Persona SE, it’ll adapt to road conditions.

• awak (Member) on Aug 26, 2008 at 11:06 pm

i think bigger wheel is ok, proton 16 inch new design may be. yes a bit sacrifice.
    they should make this ready, at least ready for the satria neo, and other model as well,

turbine 16 inch at neo is only suits neo look, fine with it.
    but really look akward to be put on other model, like persona gen2 or waja,

maybe its a good idea to have the kind of case like AMG or CARLSSON wheel design for mercedes which suits at any mercedes model just for example.

not too bling, not too fatty outward buggy like, not too ambitious 3 piece look alike,

,,anything suits it. street performance wise, matches proton body.

• bigboytoys (Member) on Aug 26, 2008 at 11:07 pm

SE ? proton don’t even know what the meaning of SE..duhh…kill proton’s designer..

• whiteeye (Member) on Aug 26, 2008 at 11:10 pm

Nth special lol just add a bit of cosmetic, want to say special edition, either u can change the engine cc or more powerful performance instead of adding something useless, just like a turtle with empty shell, hahaha, this really is PROTON tradition except for Proton Putra, and Satria GTI and Neo, other probably just like previous Proton Wira SE remind me that the car make adjustment but too little better don’t make it SE, i saw at the internet many people had modified their own PERSONA, and is more better than this just don’t have leather only ma. Guys how decent you saw international car company have special edition, if got also there make you very impress instead just put some cosmetic, SUCKS.

• awak (Member) on Aug 26, 2008 at 11:13 pm

bobthebuilder
    remove the sticky rubbery tape bit by bit, with finger ,roll technique,
    yes painstaking, takes couple of days

• austin_cipan (Member) on Aug 26, 2008 at 11:15 pm

DIY cruise control…

1. Find a used, not so filthy clay or cement brick block
    2. Put it on your lap when u’re driving
    3. When u arrive at a clear and open road like the highway, simply replace your foot with the brick which you’d acquired just now.
    4. Adjust the brick angle accordingly
    5. There u have it… Cruise control that costs as much as a brick… Only just it is a brick after all

Thank you…

• izaman (Member) on Aug 26, 2008 at 11:23 pm

good job but…

1. i really hate the steering design. feel like want to close my eyes everytime i drive my persona. hahaha

2. the gps unit is actually rebadged and modified from the gps unit from the hi-line. the interface look the same. so i assume the supplier is also the same.

3. IMHO, the chrome door handle is more appropriate than matte one

but, good job anyway.

• dawja5215 (Member) on Aug 26, 2008 at 11:27 pm

I admit it still don’t impress all of us.But there will be a bunch of Proton fans waiting outside the showroom to buy one of these.Proton will make profit after all, and the upgrades are quite impressive.Good job Proton

• Roti Naan (Member) on Aug 26, 2008 at 11:58 pm

The rear spoiler (very cutey size…) doesn’t look matching and doesn’t flow with the rear of the car. Out of place. Almost insignificant.

Proton should have designed the rear spoiler to be “wrapped” more around the rear section of the car.

or is the manufacturer trying to save their plastic supply?

• ignas (Member) on Aug 27, 2008 at 12:06 am

finally job well done all these years. if only they have done it back then, keeping up with the ‘standard’ of the market has to offer. anyhow i do agree with the cheapo buttons on the steering wheel and the girly skirting. do hope they continue to improve. good job once again.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Aug 27, 2008 at 12:22 am

that leather sure looks like the expensive stuff…

• WXX8XX (Member) on Aug 27, 2008 at 12:22 am

Mmmm.. I wonder why Proton always tampal additional ‘bodykits’ to already made and fitted bumper. Same case with Savvy. It look like a big ‘balak’ stuck to the car. Why not design new bumper like Satria Gti’s one? Now that’s what we can call ‘S.E’… Aihh.. again.. cost efficiency issue i think…

• mytouch (Member) on Aug 27, 2008 at 12:40 am

POTONG back to its previous boring routine again…just do some “make up” to the car & do a grand launching to show how good they are…keep on playing like this,& you will repeat the dark history of POTONG again…Please show some sincerity on developing the National car…

• kahing (Member) on Aug 27, 2008 at 12:47 am

If it’s an SE, they shoulda redesigned the steering altogether to compliment the SE-ness of the whole damn thing. But with the skirting and all, it does look more solid than before, 1 point for this. Cruise control ? Another point I guess. But why the same gear type ? Shoulda upgraded it to a gate type shift ma. Then the look of an SE watever will be almost complete.

• Wisdom (Member) on Aug 27, 2008 at 12:58 am

Go ahead. Condemn summore…
    No not enough that one. Ya ya… add more.
    No lah how can be satisfied…
    Ha ha…
    Ya that too…

• TheGunner (Member) on Aug 27, 2008 at 1:32 am

It’s a fine marketing move, but I think it’s disappointing that it didn’t come with the option of manual transmission.

• topgunthang (Member) on Aug 27, 2008 at 1:40 am

wow, this is the best car in the world. car of the year 1995.

honest.

• n8cky (Member) on Aug 27, 2008 at 1:56 am

How much is a Vios J?
    Ehst if i focus on price~?
    lol

• MerdekaFever (Member) on Aug 27, 2008 at 2:00 am

Hi to all that called themselve `highly educated`…
    dont u know bigger size of rim caused high FC ?
    ayya…want to jimat,but dont know how to think….
    n just leave ur `satisfied` comment if u can`t afford to get one!!

• aMaDeO (Member) on Aug 27, 2008 at 2:19 am

woo.. saw the car today… ok lah.. nice leather seats..

• Jie (Member) on Aug 27, 2008 at 5:34 am

I always prefer the removable gps unit. The in-built satnav in merc for example, is always crappier than the standard tomtom and garmin. Not sure abt BMW.

At the end of the day, nothing beats driver’s own experience, esp if they are as good as me…he he.. Even in the UK, the satnav sometimes fail to choose the right road that avoids traffic, the bus lanes etc.

On the SE proton, at least I can say I like the color.

Need to do something abt the steering wheel – buttons need not jut out cos they look ugly, maybe need to be level, quite hard to explain. Unlike some other forummers, the bigger, neater buttons in some other cars never posed any problem for me when turning the steering wheel.

• puni_puni (Member) on Aug 27, 2008 at 6:09 am

For this facelift model…its comparable with the price…but will its stand for 5 to 10 years…a proton always a proton…please proton R&D more testing to the vehicle for out market consideration. Support Proton. A Malaysia Pride.

• azrai (Member) on Aug 27, 2008 at 7:22 am

It looks nicer. If only they can fit it with the Gen-2 CPS bumper. The Waja rim make a comeback here. Nice cost cutting strategy. the whole concept is taken from the Envy concept, eg. the silver coloured door handle and chrome lining at the front and rear. I beg the 60k price tag is attractive. Those GPS should be integrated in the fascia though. throughly the proton answer to ‘S’ Vios. Dear proton, lease replace the steering wheel with the Perdana V6 one. it look like a ‘kereta kayuh’ (just like what Afdlin Shauky’s son car in the Petronas merdeka ad). “Kalau pokok cempedak abah berdaun emas, jangankan kereta Persona SE, kereta kebal pun abah boleh belikan.” :-)

• atom (Member) on Aug 27, 2008 at 7:36 am

i think an SE should ‘be’ an SE,regardless of make or model. This model ain’t cut out 2be an SE.

• abtm (Member) on Aug 27, 2008 at 7:52 am

might be tempting, but it’s a proton, ppl are going to look down on it

• car_craze (Member) on Aug 27, 2008 at 8:05 am

Nod bad! Looks sporty and elegant. And it’s got 5 seat belts!

Bigger wheels might look nice but drinks more fuel, slower ‘pick up/acceleration and shortens the lifespan of the bearings.

Hope they would put a CPS on the Persona soon!

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Aug 27, 2008 at 8:33 am

I’m wondering if the Gen2 CPS HL might have been an even better deal given its only slightly more expensive. After all, it has a better engine.

• lone_rider (Member) on Aug 27, 2008 at 8:47 am

hahaha..so funny when so many malaysian
    soooo care about steering wheel looks rather than pracicallity…

we are so high taste ehh..
    maybe if Honda origin from malaysia they will bungkus already..

• gundaian (Member) on Aug 27, 2008 at 8:54 am

I go to the show room yesterday. The car is very good in all aspect. The seat, the body, the accessory are very good. I almost want to book one.. until I see the steering. damn.. cheap plastic.

• 3S (Member) on Aug 27, 2008 at 8:54 am

Proton made an improvement here…..
    but seem like have so many version for Proton car……..
    1st version Persona second hand value will be drop…Proton should make it right at the 1st place…….!
    GPS..Sweet…but i don’t see there are any slot in Persona interior for this GPS device…!

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Aug 27, 2008 at 9:12 am

“but seem like have so many version for Proton car……..
    1st version Persona second hand value will be drop…Proton should make it right at the 1st place…….!”
    ———————————————–

dont think this will affect 2nd hand pricing of the persona.. why should it.. its more expensive than any of the 3 currently available variants from proton, and those other 3 variants are still for sale. i suspect this SE is just for a small amount of people, who are willing to pay a little more for something slightly different. its basically giving consumers more choices. if you’re in the market for a persona, you buy the one you want, so whats wrong with that?

and for those guys who complain about proton doing an SE, the fact is, all car manufacturers do it.. so why the different treatment again for proton? you should see how many variants of the 3 series you can buy in europe, more than 10 different variants.. even i think thats crazy……

• gundaian (Member) on Aug 27, 2008 at 9:18 am

Yeah.. for the GPS sure it will be cool if they make a slot over the radio place. Also hope in the future they will consider get a mini TV for an option.

lone_rider, the steering become an issue because other part of the car are very good.

• tikus (Member) on Aug 27, 2008 at 9:20 am

Where is Campro CPS lar??? SE this, SE that, engine no SE how?

• farghmee (Member) on Aug 27, 2008 at 9:20 am

will there be a release of persona cps, gated shift & new bodykit?
    no MMC ver.? ;)

say, put the gps in the clock place, but make it removable.

designwise, gen2/persona is good at looks; it can be even better if the designers apply practical & ergonomic features :)

oh btw,
    the auto cruise in gen2 1.6 Auto HL does the job.
    during ascending the speed will reduce a bit before gaining to its set speed,
    during decendingt he speed will increase a bit before reducing to its set speed. may be due to the slow response of the speed signal.

• raverus (Member) on Aug 27, 2008 at 9:33 am

My only reaction is LAUGH

• goguncas71 (Member) on Aug 27, 2008 at 9:38 am

Aiyaa…I can’t believe so many people complain about the small buttons. Hee..he… the beloved/premium Vios doesn’t even have steering control buttons…

Personally they shouldn’t have called this the SE, maybe it should be Persona Premium.

• 3S (Member) on Aug 27, 2008 at 9:40 am

i owned a proton wira with auto cruise ( 1999 Version ) last time. The auto cruise malfunction after 2 years i bought the car.
    Hope the new version of auto cruise will be more reliable…!

• mukhri88 (Member) on Aug 27, 2008 at 9:42 am

I guess they forgot about safety(again). How much more would it cost to install 7 airbags, EBD ESP ABS traction control dual clutch and a Sony six speaker system? RM25k more? What if GM or VW help them source the parts…

Maybe next time, in the Super Grand Deluxe Premium GTR Limited Series model in 2018. Can the bashers stop the bashing by then?

• farghmee (Member) on Aug 27, 2008 at 9:50 am

i agree about that airbags, abs, ebd..but esp tcs? not really.
    if we are talking about veyron with massive hp (veyron is one example of supercars), than esp tcs will be matters the most..

• mukhri88 (Member) on Aug 27, 2008 at 9:57 am

yeah I guess I was overboard there.. but the outsourcing issue stands.

• brick&leaf (Member) on Aug 27, 2008 at 10:19 am

I’m driving a Gen2 for almost 3 years now. At every sharp turning the car will jerk with a ‘thub’ sound. Sent to Proton and was informed that this is a common problem for Gen2 and even the new Persona. It is a design problem and as of now there is nothing can be done to fix it. According to them, this problem will not endanger the safety of the passengers – well, I don’t buy the last statement.
    All d best to Proton and all d best to all Persona owners!

• ndmervin (Member) on Aug 27, 2008 at 10:24 am

Oopsie, how did I end up in one of your shots? :D Anyway, the car looks great and I am jealous of those who will be getting it – coz mine is a Base-line… :P

• Roti Naan (Member) on Aug 27, 2008 at 10:49 am

brick&leaf said,

August 27, 2008 @ 10:19 am

I’m driving a Gen2 for almost 3 years now. At every sharp turning the car will jerk with a ‘thub’ sound. Sent to Proton and was informed that this is a common problem for Gen2 and even the new Persona. It is a design problem and as of now there is nothing can be done to fix it. According to them, this problem will not endanger the safety of the passengers – well, I don’t buy the last statement.
    All d best to Proton and all d best to all Persona owners!
    ——————————————————————-

The “thub” sound comes standard with GEN2 cars, huh?

• voon99 (Member) on Aug 27, 2008 at 11:54 am

what an ugly piece of shit…
    added kits, leather seats etc etc, so this is the so-called Standard Edition/Special Enhancement/Special Edition….. SE thingies??

well ok there is a GPS, wow GPS man!! what?? GPS data read from SD card?? How “smart”!!

So these are the “improvements” Malaysia Proton can make huh~ I see…

• ReactiX (Member) on Aug 27, 2008 at 12:35 pm

Nice work since the car looks nice, but calling this SE is quite unacceptable. Name it to Special Trim (Persona ST) is better lol :D

• goguncas71 (Member) on Aug 27, 2008 at 12:42 pm

Thud sound? I don’t hear such a sound from my wife’s and brother’s Gen-2s (I drive his a lot since he often borrows my car). I suggest you go to a proper service center and don’t let up until the problem is fixed.

I see some bashers have started coming in and calling the Persona names…
    Let’s see,

a) good reviews from local mags (autocar,Topgear etc)

b) Anonymous bashers calling it names..

Which ones should i listen to? ;)

• md_helmi84 (Member) on Aug 27, 2008 at 1:02 pm

If its a mounted GPS, we can get it at pc shop nowdays…..owh proton just painted its name on it…..ok
    isn’t it the door handle suppose to be the same color as body??
    Leather seat with 6 square shape? just like a turtle shell to me

what so special about this model??

• Roti Naan (Member) on Aug 27, 2008 at 1:41 pm

I suppose that….

most proton articles written is a good recipe for bashing, as always..

• tHe CuLpRit (Member) on Aug 27, 2008 at 2:00 pm

The high-line is priced at rm4k cheaper rite? If yes i’d say the equipment given are alright.

But I would much rather they gave the cruise control + leather trimmings (minus seats) as standard with the high-line, instead of forcing people to go for the SE to get one.

• The Unicons (Member) on Aug 27, 2008 at 2:51 pm

Overall the car looks OK for me and I do like the Blue Haze colour over the Brilliant Red.

However, why the map on the GPS kinda look cheap. Cheap program by ?? company? Does the GPS includes the whole Malaysia’s map (west & east Malaysia), street names, name of places…. including those historical buildings and restaurants etc?

• gtmaniac (Member) on Aug 27, 2008 at 2:53 pm

Good effort, but I really think the Waja alloys ruins the otherwise smart exterior enhancement. Why just don’t donate this rims to the baseline persona? May be they will change it to other design once the old stock finish – just like the previous Wira SE..

• altimi (Member) on Aug 27, 2008 at 3:20 pm

The steering wheel doesn’t looks good but surprisingly good to hold…….almost M-Sport good but not as thick

• kerelbort (Member) on Aug 27, 2008 at 3:41 pm

voon99 said,
    well ok there is a GPS, wow GPS man!! what?? GPS data read from SD card?? How “smart”!!

LOL… how do other GPS read map? U used GPS before man? funny basher.. ROTF

• chap_de_x (Member) on Aug 27, 2008 at 3:59 pm

hye…log time not write any comment

first of all…annoy with the narrow mentality of the basher …wut ever p1 do is wrong…see if they still say anything if this persona come with T or H badge…common..grow up

ok back to the topic…this SE is nice looking sedan for me…topup another 5k you got lot of goodies…it ok to call it SE since its not a facelift yet..cause only 1 years old ma…nice leather trim and skirting.i dun understand people bringing up no engine upgrade to this persona…and cannot call it SE…myvi SE also dun have any engine upgrade…IAFM is enough to support the campro since its for fuel economy and family car…cps for sporty driving and both have its own market target…for me it just lack of colour choices…if its come with white or orange its gona look cool.

• trustgtr (Member) on Aug 27, 2008 at 4:43 pm

that GPS tends to be a major attraction for thieves..anyone knows whether it could be detached for safe keeping??

• trustgtr (Member) on Aug 27, 2008 at 4:46 pm

proton should make all their models using the cps engine..

• waimak (Member) on Aug 27, 2008 at 4:57 pm

I dont have any problem with the exterior of this P-SE, perhaps the rear spoiler that makes it looks rather high – it shouldnt be there for me. Interior is neat.

Like my previous comments on P1, it needs refinement and durability, as well as functionality in the long run.

Good luck!

• runpandarun (Member) on Aug 27, 2008 at 6:20 pm

HONESTLY! actually..first of all….they should change the rims..
    second..WHY THE HELL ARE THE BODYKITS SO UGLY! third..15 INCH WHEELS..OMG..THEY COULDVE DONE BETTER THEN THAT RIGHT?

im a huge fan of proton..i really am..but why cant they just try a bit harder..

• mystvearn (Member) on Aug 27, 2008 at 6:29 pm

Nice, rims a bit small. Can go bigger, or maybe that will increase the cost? The GPS looks ok, but I like built in screen rather than mounted. The exterior cues looks like taken a lot from civic. The minor enhancements.

• Proton Sagwa (Member) on Aug 27, 2008 at 6:45 pm

Not much to get excited about positively or negatively, I think. Must be that they’re calling it an SE that’s got people unhappy as it’s more of what other manufacturers might offer as an equipment package. Do agree that 15″ on an SE is pretty underwhelming, 16 wouldve been better. Those people that leap to Proton’s defense talking about FC etc…c’mon. It’s really about using existing stock to save money. Nobody buys the SE because of fuel economy. No shame in saying it was a cost based decision, but making up all these excuses for Proton is really grasping at straws.

No doubt, some of the Proton detractors do go overboard, but some of the “defenders” definitely do too. I don’t really mind this Persona SE too much, but really, attempting to compare the “versions” of the Persona to the huge range of body styles and petrol and diesel engines the 3 series offers is laughable. And whoever said 10 versions of the 3 series for sale is too much is obviously ignorant of its history and/or lacking a sense of individuality.

• normaluser (Member) on Aug 27, 2008 at 7:52 pm

The wheels on the pics look puny with wide gap along the wheel arches. Perhaps this is because the Persona SE is using thinner 55-profile tyres, while the non-SE Persona is using thicker 60-profile tyres.

The body looks like floating far above the tyres. Too much gap. It destroys the original Persona good looks, despite the bodykits.
    Why oh Why Proton…

• WXX8XX (Member) on Aug 27, 2008 at 8:05 pm

MerdekaFever said,
    August 27, 2008 @ 2:00 am

—————————————————————-

Aihh.. these kind of people. It’s just opinions.. for the car look better.. why bash people like they are the one who decide what rims to use. Yess… everybody know that sooo higheducated-complicated-and-veryinteresting info of yours. I’m not that high educated but let me tell you something that i learn somewhere in the jungle.When you use bigger rims, you can choose thinner tyre so that the diameter of the rims+tyre is more or less equal to old tyre = more or less fuel consumption/very slight-alitlletinybit of increase of fc. Most of the time, the synchronization of the tyre diameter(too big!!) and the speedometer that make the fuel cost more without you even realize as the speedometer show you different speed than the speed that you are actually travelling. This also depends on the weights of the rims. Also depends on what type of ‘metal’ you use. There are 15” rims that are heavier that 16” rims. So actually you can choose bigger rims(but not too much laa..) Aihh.. i’m sooo not educated that’s why don’t know how to explain… Sorry.. learn this in the jungle with the monkeys.. Please go to google type “tyre calculator”… easier to understand what i mean.

• awak (Member) on Aug 27, 2008 at 9:51 pm

at the very first the release of a waja, it original 15 inch wheel with center hub cab is perfectly suit it,
    and the other one is for waja is the 6 spoke design, which we only is the internet picture but not on the road ,looks matches the waja,
    i
    other than the above, it doesnt suit the waja ,including the one that being put on the persona se now, i ve seen someone use this wheel on gen 2 , look actually ok, which must be ok on persona too, ofcourse the gen2 cps alloy is the best suit for gen2 or also for persona.
    but never, never persona or gen2 put the satria neo’s wheel, it mess it all,

waja looks is very sensitive to its wheel design, wrong wheel makes wrong combination,
    new waja cps, looks like waja cps having a cheapo wheel, also the waja campro, shoes doesnt suit top and bottom,

,wheel design is very important for a whole combination when the car rolls out from the factory,

for this SE ths wheel, which actually not well suited on waja, works ok on this SE. although i like to say the gen2 cps wheel is the best choise for this persona SE,

• hazremi (Member) on Aug 27, 2008 at 10:03 pm

RM60k for all of this ?Including a GPS in a car?I gotta say this is a deal.You don’t get this in Vios or City

• kerelbort (Member) on Aug 27, 2008 at 10:11 pm

malaysian don need GPS or leather seat.. they need the T or H badge..

for me T and H badge not good enuf. I want a Shield Badge or Horse badge.

rim small? go buy and change to bigger rim la.. hehehehe.. why so fussy?

• ignas (Member) on Aug 28, 2008 at 12:00 am

for car enthusiasts, perhaps its better to buy the cheap basic model and mod everything according to own’s preferences and styles. heres my ‘at least’ lists: tail light, steering wheel, rims, ICE, add in kits, spoiler and later when have more $$, dump it into performance hehe. like many converted mitsu and lancer…….typical eh ;)

• car_craze (Member) on Aug 28, 2008 at 9:26 am

trustgtr – yeah the GPS is detachable so that you can keep it away from sight to prevent theft or break ins. You can also use it on your other car/s. Please read the whole story and comments from the rest BEFORE asking.

• bmpower (Member) on Aug 28, 2008 at 10:18 am

i like the color only..

• car_craze (Member) on Aug 28, 2008 at 11:05 am

Voon99 – obviously you don’t use/have a GPS. The SD card is for updating the maps. You can also slot in your SD card from your camera to review your photos or movies.

• BanyakMasukBengkel (Member) on Aug 28, 2008 at 12:02 pm

price too high ma…
    why tell me late.
    i bought my persona MT last week..

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Aug 28, 2008 at 1:42 pm

bloody stupid car, lousy nav system, ugly rims, ugly interior, ugly exterior, this is for the scrapyard

• car_craze (Member) on Aug 28, 2008 at 5:16 pm

ALPINA BMW – i was wondering when you will come in blind bashing! So you liked the new City eh? Obviously a Honda fan or Honda salesman?

• sky (Member) on Aug 28, 2008 at 5:40 pm

nothing to be proud of for this SE. Looks like another ah beng pesona on the road. furthermore, looks like proton is trying to clear the old stocks for the waja rim. too bad.
    come on la, proton. since you are so confident with your pesona, why can’t you do more changes on this SE so that it is really “Special”? till then, many people will say “proton is really improving”.

• geminas (Member) on Aug 28, 2008 at 7:50 pm

im in love with the interior!~

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Aug 28, 2008 at 8:05 pm

ALPINA BMW – i was wondering when you will come in blind bashing! So you liked the new City eh? Obviously a Honda fan or Honda salesman?

no, i own honda. as The Pest says, you want a tip? buy honda shares.

• awak (Member) on Aug 28, 2008 at 8:40 pm

—————————————————-
    i got a quiz,

proton’s RWD?
    —————————————————-

• topgunthang (Member) on Aug 28, 2008 at 10:29 pm

have a read guys. how much u subsidize for the world.
    http://www.caradvice.com.au/16008/2009-proton-satria-now-just-14990/

• jong84 (Member) on Aug 29, 2008 at 10:18 am

I only Love the GPS and the Leather Seat…

• Croc (Member) on Aug 29, 2008 at 7:42 pm

can u guys tell me which i suppose to choose between the campro cps and campro iafm in term to save more fuel…

• ancient (Member) on Aug 30, 2008 at 5:21 pm

hey all, can anyone tell me which is a better car if im comparing the waja and the Persona SE. i plan on buying a new car, cause my beloved 7 yr old waja got stolen a couple of days ago. and hence just doing some research… in terms of fuel consumption, drivability and others, which is a better buy?

also, i must say, while i loved my waja, the audio controls on the persona steering wheel is small howveer a better bet in the long run as ive had both my audio button controls on the waja steering just fall off while driving!

• tehcho1 (Member) on Aug 30, 2008 at 11:51 pm

for me, i really have bad experience with potong…
    my advise is to get myvi if got the same budget….
    not just the car but gov protected comp, the employee…suck…..itu macam punya…unproffessional, uncivillazation, uneducated…

potong pls wake up…

• ppseowner (Member) on Aug 31, 2008 at 1:06 am

cannot comment too much as the price jz around 60k. if really wan to hv a gd n nice car n so rice. then go to BMW.dun gv too much useless comment.

• mister-rey (Member) on Aug 31, 2008 at 12:27 pm

i think we just wait for the new Persona SE customers to comment. that would be a better one.

MERDEKA!!!

• yeecheeliang (Member) on Sep 01, 2008 at 2:53 am

I feel that is the nice car with reasonable price, pls tell me can Toyota(Vios), Honda(City), Nissan(latio) and Perodua(Myvi – only 1.3cc car selling RM5X,XXX) offer all this equipments with this price?

For those who look down and don’t like Proton car pls visit to the show room before you give any comment!

Just to update you all the GPS brand is Lokatoo A900
    and you can play Movie,Music, and view photo
    you can visit to www.lokatoo.com

• David9988 (Member) on Sep 01, 2008 at 12:25 pm

value for money, definitely.
    But i think proton can do much better then this considering the huge advantage it has over foreign brands.
    I think that gps is garmin nuvi 200w.. Retails for about rm1000.

• SY0H (Member) on Sep 02, 2008 at 12:11 pm

Salamz and Hello to fellow Forumers (and you too PaulTan),

First and foremost, “Selamat Berpuasa Ramadhan”. Maaf zahir dan batin.

Just another minor face lift from Proton. They could have done it better. I’ve seen other Persona Body Kit at Eneos, Ah Beng shops, Air Master and et-cetera which are far better than the Persona SE. But I have some doubts, if these unofficial custom body kits have been tested via the wind tunnel test for fuel efficiency, wind drag effect, acoustic sound generated by the wind and et-cetera. Maybe Proton did some testing on theirs (I hope). Proton could have copy the New Gen.2 CPS Face Lift into the Persona SE and installed the CPS Engine. Owh gosh, good marketing scheme Proton. *sigh* Anyways, nice try Proton.

A little bit off topic.
    Conversation with my usual ‘kaki-kereta’ friends for the past few days triggers my mood to write something in this forum, just wanna to share something with the the rest of you guys. Just some points to ponder.

Ever wonder why we are willing to spend a lot of money modifying cars? And it turns out we are wasting money to impress others. That’s the bottom line. Hear this, most of the time, when we are driving these beautiful cars (and some are not that beautifully modified, yucks!), we are inside the car either driving or just a mere passenger. And worst still, 95% of the car exterior is not visible from inside. The people outside may or may not enjoy the view, but one thing for sure people inside the car wouldn’t care much. We will not achieve the ultimate driving experiencing by having a very cool exterior but really terrible interior, terrible audio system, terrible engine, less functionality and et-cetera. What’s the morale of the story? Make sure when deciding to buy a car (regardless of the model and make) make sure all the criterias (inside-out) are fairly weight and thought.

Just my 2 Ringgits and 55 Cents (after subsidy revise).

• adunadun (Member) on Sep 03, 2008 at 6:50 pm

yeecheeliang said
    I feel that is the nice car with reasonable price, pls tell me can Toyota(Vios), Honda(City), Nissan(latio) and Perodua(Myvi – only 1.3cc car selling RM5X,XXX) offer all this equipments with this price?

————————————————-
    Haha,if i am holder of Toyota ,Honda franscais + no more NAP….
    i will not reduce the price.,.,why? becasue alot of malaysian are affordable to pay at that price…..cruel is it? kamon la… kompeni perform base on untung, sales? do u think honda can increase production to replace proton market?
    japan come to malaysia not only for auto, give some lose some lahh!!
    mauahahhahahhah…….ok ebli body, go to proton show room now,,queue plzz

• Wisdom (Member) on Sep 05, 2008 at 12:19 am

Can see a bunch of funny countrymen criticizing their own product. I bet theres no foreigner in here.

So the foreigner can also read & enjoy…

• bukitdamansara (Member) on Sep 05, 2008 at 4:30 am

u like..u buy..
    u hate it..dont buy lahh.. easy dude! :)

• adunadun (Member) on Sep 06, 2008 at 5:14 pm

gud , for a small car maker loh…
    But why name it SE(special edition)? so special aa?
    SE tapi bakal jual banyak gila, so later too many on road, also want to call it SE aa?
    but if i got money , definately i will buy lah.coz it match my working status,requiredmnet.Even if i buy honda,people will not look me as kaya people. it just i like to be malaysian,,,condemn local product…but use it….mauahahh

• EVO8223 (Member) on Sep 06, 2008 at 7:29 pm

feel that is the nice car with reasonable price, pls tell me can Toyota(Vios), Honda(City), Nissan(latio) offer all this equipments with this price?

HI ALL

i think that those brand can offer this equipment with amost the same price, but not in Malaysia. Honda civic 2.0 just selling USD 22000 in US. So i think this is where the root cause is. Proton is protected.

DON GET ME WRONG. I AM SUPPORTING PROTON. But i believe Proton can do better than this.Don forget, proton own lotus. So at this moment, if don satisfied don buy. But it is a good start for proton.

• God.of.War (Member) on Sep 08, 2008 at 12:28 am

—————————————————————

To anyone who wrote this, damn u are so clever. Additional weight can cause higher FC la, u buy sport rim ayam brand that is heavier than stock sure la FC higher, put some more money when u wanna buy sportrim, get the one that is 16 inch and lighter or at least same tyre and sport rim weight. NOOBS !

Sure FC gonna be fine !

• God.of.War (Member) on Sep 08, 2008 at 1:03 am

can u guys tell me which i suppose to choose between the campro cps and campro iafm in term to save more fuel…

————————————————————–

The answer is, CPS have better FC. Wanna know y? i also dono why…

• maniac_naru89 (Member) on Sep 08, 2008 at 6:49 pm

Hello!!! Waaahhhh!!!!!!!!!!!!! You can get so much for so little money? Really? Man, what a bummer for me cause i am still a student. No money to buy one,even if it is selling at a comparable price to that of a new facelifted MyVi. Never mind. Maybe by the time I have my own money,I can buy a CPS PERSONA for my family. PROTON,keep it up. Develop new products… Us,Malaysians will support you. Just give your best!!!!!

• maniac_naru89 (Member) on Sep 08, 2008 at 6:52 pm

Hey,guys. I had a ride in a 1.6 Persona last month. The ride was good. Either way,I was wandering anyone has a CPS GEN2 or WAJA here? How is the car? Any better from the old campro? I wanna know the details. Hoping to hear from you guys…

• Power Guide (Member) on Sep 28, 2008 at 2:27 am

Korang semua ni pandai komen je tapi tak beli pun. kalau beli komen lain la.. klu banyak duit sangat pegi beli kreta slain proton. itu pun klu banyak la tapi tau2 kancil jgk yg mampu hahahahahah… ade stengah tu tak mampu beli pun tapi komen mengalahkan yang mampu beli huhuhuhu

• aenz81 (Member) on Oct 13, 2008 at 12:10 pm

gundaian said,
    August 27, 2008 @ 8:54 am

I go to the show room yesterday. The car is very good in all aspect. The seat, the body, the accessory are very good. I almost want to book one.. until I see the steering. damn.. cheap plastic.

gundaian said,
    August 27, 2008 @ 9:18 am

Yeah.. for the GPS sure it will be cool if they make a slot over the radio place. Also hope in the future they will consider get a mini TV for an option.

lone_rider, the steering become an issue because other part of the car are very good.
    ———————————————————————
    *If perodua replace the steering wheel of viva with the BMW’s steering wheel, will viva slow-sales will boost and sell like a hot cakes just because “luxury-feel” steering wheel? And will u prevent to buy Persona SE eventhou it’s have a better spec just because of “cheap-feel” steering wheel?

• _Zephyre_ (Member) on Oct 26, 2008 at 6:12 pm

Does anyone have pictures of the car in Haze Blue?

• yeecheeliang (Member) on Nov 05, 2008 at 1:58 pm

Hi everyone, i just receive my Persona SE(Red color) and want to share with you the experience for my new Persona SE.
    The fuel consumption is reasonable around Rm0.18 to RM0.20 similar to my old Waja 1.6A 2003(Mitsubishi engine model).
    The IAFM Engine performance is quite tender but powerful and smooth, and the engine starter sound is difference from old campro engine, the sound is similar to Perdana V6 starter sound feel more advance.
    The sound system is very impressive, even only have 4 speaker but still can produce very strong bass(no need to fix extra Amplifier) and clear. And this Blaupunkt player is quite intelligent. When i travel from KL to Johor listen to FM101.8(MYFM KL), the player able to search and adjust the station frequency automatically, So that i no need to tune the station frequency(FYI,FM 101.8 Johor frequency is FM95.4) while i cross the state border.
    The front blind spot is improve/reduce if compare with Waja, but the Rear blind spot is worst when you reverse is quite challenge.
    The breaking system is not responsive even equipped with EBD and ABS, may be my old Waja breaking system is response fast than Persona SE.
    The Proton Air conditional is very cool! and the wind is very “strong”.
    The sound prove for Persona SE is better than my old Waja, but the engine sound is quite loud when engine in high rev.
    I already sent my Persona SE for 1st 1000km service, around RM15X(including engine lubricant). and i also check the service price list from 1000km to 100000KM is not so expensive around RM2xx(Minor) to RM5XX(Major(FYI, Campro model service is every 10 000KM, the service price can be difference depending what type of lubricant you choose)).
    The GPS Brand is Lokatoo A900, using Windows mobile 5.0 can view photo,video,MP3 Ebook and etc. The Map is very clear and detail, but the navigation is not so accurate and very hard to find your destination. But Navigation in Klang valley is quite accurate. The map update is free you can download from www.lokatoo.com

• luriaz (Member) on Nov 20, 2008 at 12:09 pm

why a there not so much persona SE on the road??
    is there any limit to the persona SE units??
    i have book 1 for myself, still waiting for my loan to approve…
    i ask my SA, he said that persona SE waiting period is around 2 or 3 months…
    why so long waiting period eh??

• i brought one persona se 5months ago.. the first se user in seremban hehehehe
    i think persona se quiet nice if this car using 17/18inch of sportrims.. still wait to buy sport rims,, not enough money… huhuhu

• brutal_driverz on Mar 04, 2009 at 11:40 pm

kerusi belakang tegak sangat laa…

• already fittings with sportrims o.z racing super ultraleggera.. garang maaa all people say nice…. fuh puas ati… next project fitting lcd screen n sscus leather seat

• Nurul Hidayah on Mar 20, 2009 at 10:15 am

persona SE adalah kereta mampu milik..auto cruise memang best, tak menyesal punya….boleh test

• paxter on Mar 26, 2009 at 11:20 am

i am getting mine tomorrow… color blue haze i figured the red kinda looks waay too striking to the door handle and the rear chrome bits… Oddly enough for some my initial car i was looking at was the new city… unfortunately when i counted back my repayment even with 20k down payment it was around 930 for 7 years and although i can afford it i wont be able to do anything else as much as i am doing nw… so i settled with the persona se… what sold me about this car was the interior, apart from the bra looking rpm meter bit the car looks nice. Also if you count back the bodykit, rims, leather seats, etc is already more than the extra 4 k you fork out between this and the high line.

• second ur opinion paxter. I too am getting blue haze… delivery probably arnd mid april… scrapping my old car… tou got ready stock, but need to wait for government's 5k voucher, before dealer can go ahead with the purchase. Lets hope electronics and mechanisms is as reliable as they say. Til we get the car, we just wont know.. hehe

• kz kuala on Apr 10, 2009 at 4:41 am

pesona gempak

• kz kuala selangor on Apr 10, 2009 at 4:42 am

pesona idaman semua. pasti puashati pemiliknya. kumpul duit beli la

• tapioca on May 12, 2009 at 4:14 am

is this forum still active.

just curious.

can i buy persona SE without the accessories package? worth RM 3000?

i don't need all those acc. some already got, some i can a better one.

only need the auto cruise and leather seat.

• dericcsy on May 16, 2009 at 1:16 am

Hi all,

I just bought Proton Persona Last Year!

What a horrible things happened….? Center Lock Got problem after few days drived, Air Cond Blower Got Sound after driving 2 weeks, Power Windows Got Sound After 2 months using…..!!! Drive 110km/h, rpm ride to 3500rpm, corner not stable….wat the "fxxk"!!! Damn regret to buy the car!!!! Now wanna sell it….second hand car price drop like hell….keep driving then will suffer for maintenance!!! Lucky still have 5 years warranty….But After 5 years….maintenance fees will very the "high" cause u dunno wat will spoil at next!!! So now….for who wanna buy this kind of car…think twice!!!! I am a very good example!! Since is installment why not by a better which even more expensive but still valueable for next few years!!! So, after this car…i will never and ever choose local car to buy!!! Not said i not support local car…i jus dun wan to suffer myself goin to do such unnessery maintenance for it!!! Hope my info can help u all!!!!

• eman89 on May 28, 2009 at 7:53 pm

Salam to all. dericcsy,does all those horrible things happen just after you bought the car? If you have time, can you explain details? Cause maybe it is just the car you bought that had problems, maybe you can report this to PROTON you know? Maybe they can do an investigation on this? But you have to address the right person in PROTON, not the mechanics in the service center of course. Lots of PERSONA on the road now, me and my friends(studying automotive) have never heard this problem from PERSONA.. All I'm saying is, there is a probability that the Q&C missed it? Or maybe you are like me perhaps(i love driving a lot, my car never rest…. My PROTON Iswara 1998 model is working hard… But I always service or check for any problems before I go on the road.. ) I dont know. Maybe you should calmly check the source of the problem k? Hope to hear from you cause I seldomly heard of problems from PERSONA before(that much I mean,never).

• sha_in on Jun 10, 2009 at 6:53 am

wanna knw whrether is there any new model of perdana v6?? i also wanna knw wherther is tht true tht perdana model has a common pblm which is the gearbox?? n does enhanced models give ths pblms too??

• knizam on Jun 17, 2009 at 9:56 pm

ok lah kot

• pesona user on Jun 18, 2009 at 12:03 am

PROBLem with connering…problem bile nk parking stereng xleh pusing abes…xpuas pusing…boring btol kalu parking terpaksa banyak kali kekadang nk adjust

• aspire on Jun 19, 2009 at 2:50 am

proton persona memang bagus…saya dah pakai 6 bulan. x ade masalah langsung. minyak jimat. masalah pun x ade. kalau siapa yang ada masalah tu..saya rasa itu bukan kereta persona..mana ada masalah. kalau ada pun..hanyalah imaginasi pengkritik sahaja. entah entah x pakai kereta pun.

• fizz6487 on Jun 24, 2009 at 1:29 am

i'm so confuse at powered by the Campro IAFM. is that the same version of engine used by persona sedan?

what i know is new persona SE has new CPS engine… not at persona sedan…

who could explain to me about the different of cps and regular engine without cps?

maybe at its performance? oil saving? or else..

• fizz6487 on Jun 24, 2009 at 1:31 am

who could explain the different between CPS engine and regular campro engine?

how about its performance? oil saving?

• dEJa_vU on Jul 08, 2009 at 5:40 pm

Well, the campro CPS engine uses a variable valve lift system and a variable length intake manifold VIM not to be confused with IAFM to boost max pwr and improve the CPS engine's torque curve over the standard DOHC campro engine. Not forgetting CPS system uses a camshaft to switch between two different cam profiles. One cam profile provides low valve lift, while the other cam profile has a high valve lift. The low valve lift cam profile is used at low to mid engine speeds to maintain idling quality and reduce emissions, while the high lift cam profile is used when the engine is spinning at mid to high engine speeds improve peak horsepower and torque

• dEJa_vU on Jul 08, 2009 at 6:18 pm

The new Persona SE – "DOES NOT" come with CPS engine. It's designed with IAFM as in stand-alone module that can be fitted with a basic DOHC Campro engine. The IAFM is operated by the engine vacuum while the VIM uses an ECU-controlled solenoid.

• syafiq on Jul 20, 2009 at 7:45 am

sepatutnya…SE ni proton kne jadikan 1st keluaran keta. bru semua puas ati, sebelum publish new model utk dijual, patot ada wat test drive besar2ran ker utk semua org ( limited time buleh consider as okay la utk ni ). dptkan segala mala feedback dr org ramai ttg model tu, kemudian ubah sana sini dlu,bru keluarkan keta tu utk dijual…

1st model for all time. tp 2 versi. versi pertama, harus dibuat utk versi murah skit seperti ltk rim biasa,xde fog lamp,xde skirt,biasa punya keta la. versi 2nd tu mcm SE punya specs. keluarkan sekaligus both versions pada hari pelancaran kereta tu…

dengan cara ni mgkin ramai yg berpuas ati ckit dlm memiliki kereta. lg pun mengurangkan trade in keta @ jual keta baru beli kat kdai keta 2nd hand utk dptkan model baru. apa2pun proton memang bertimbangrasa kpd rakyat malaysia dlm meletakkan harga utk setiap keluaran mereka. reasonable!!

i juz love proton…gud luck in future…

• I am waiting for my blue haze Persona SE. I bought and still keep my Perodua Myvi, First Model of Proton Knight, 2 Proton Wira cars, First model of Proton Saga, Perodua Kancil, First model of Perodua Kembara and Second model of Naza Citra MPV and test-drove a lot of cars before like Honda CRV, Viva, Proton Saga 1.3, Naza Bestari, Exora, Grand Livina, Merz, Jaguar and Avanza. No doubt they differ in performance , quality in production. Yet, I am impressed with Persona SE as i can get almost everything i want for this century due to…safety, cost effective, technology, comfort and luxurious interior. Am paying less than what I get. What is there with big sport rims and brand name like Honda and Toyota. Salah bawak berlanggar gak. Pernah dengar ke kereta Honda or Toyota or Mercedes yang tak pernah masuk workshop kerana tak pernah rosak atau tukar spareparts? To all Malaysians, lu pikir la sendiri. Persona SE is worth buying as it is cheaper hahaha. Kalau rosak pon, standard la sebab murah wakakakak. Oh persona, ku terpesona kerana harga dan kesederhanaan mu ahaks. PROTON, Good Job.

• nurul atikah on Jul 22, 2009 at 9:26 am

I bought one in february, still good and smoothly. auto cruse not bad as big taste person compare with. I now collecting money for my next Exora with bigger cc engine. 2.0liter?

well done Proton.

• Shawnster on Jul 24, 2009 at 8:02 pm

Seriously thinking of buying Persona SE @ around RM59800 as per Proton price list. Salesperson says no discount but ads in newspapers says ada discount..can anyone explain?

• mamak on Aug 01, 2009 at 5:28 am

nak diskaun buat kereta sendiri lah kawan…

kereta ni memang berbaloi..

• PokGuard on Aug 07, 2009 at 11:39 pm

trade in kete lame blh r dpt 5 ribu…baru leh bli poton…..die poton harge cz nk suh bli kete die n da same time lupus kete lame…

• dericcsy on Aug 10, 2009 at 7:14 pm

hi eman89, sorry for late reply on this blog!!! About my problem, i already report to Proton I-Cares. So far, no problem after changing all the "parts" for FOC! But…currently i heard from news, Proton Persona "fuel RM 90 for full tank and can drived 757 KM….? So far i fuel for full tank only can drive 470km the max? So how come?? How Come they can get those calculation? People telling me Persona are good on fuel consumption? I dun think so. Even my brother in law also using Persona, His car even worst…only drive 430 km for full tank!….His 1 is Auto Full spec Persona IAFM, and Mine 1 is Medium Line Manual IAFM….So anybody can explain?? How the calculation come from??

• to dericcsy

hey… proton said 757km means being tow by other car… you have to read the TOC carefully when you buy. LOL.

It's proton.

• dericcsy on Aug 13, 2009 at 9:40 pm

Hi every1,

Haha…kent…u are rite too!!! So about the TOC really din read on it!!! Watever, as long as petrol price not increase then still can drive it…Once petrol increase, i think i better drive back my old Nissan!!! Jimat Minyak!! Jimat money!!!

• dericcsy on Aug 17, 2009 at 7:51 pm

hi everybody!!!

things to share today!! Today just go and change the center lock of my proton persona!!! Wat the heck, not even using it for a year! So many things got to change!!! Power windows, Center locks, brake system, alarm system!!! Pls…Proton do more QC check!!! I bad luck or the Proton Persona really got problem??? Sigh!!!

• Bad luck? It sound like normal. Look like all your parts are original parts from Proton. Every cars or machine we usually ask for original part, which we assume it will last longer and with better quality. But for Proton, we usually ask for foreign parts, if possible, from Japan, German, England….. and only Proton original parts are cheaper than foreign parts.

• dericcsy on Aug 17, 2009 at 9:20 pm

Hi kent,

Luckily when goin to change for the parts if FOC and free labour charges….If asking me to pay for the fAcking Labours charges i think i wun go back to Proton to service my car for the continuos Year. Damn Shit!! Normal Service jus change the oil filter and engine oils, labour charge for RM 88! Labour Charge is expensive than my engine oils!! Jus a simple way to do the service, Need so expensive labour charge!!! Really act like "loan Shark"!!! Sigh!!!

• Hi guys…read through all the interesting pros n cons of the SE..

How come u guys that have bought this car choosing blue rather then the red one>? I think the red are attractive.

By the way, heard that replacement for waja is strongly in the making. Looking foward though.

• hi bro,

at first i wanted the red one. I changed my mind and get the blue haze instead. From my friends' point of view, they praised my choice when they saw me driving it as they said it looks sleek and exclusive ( looks like honda they said), heh..heh. I am not sure myself but after having it for two weeks now, almost everybody who saw it said the same…so i guess it lies on the eyes of the beholder. Anyway, its worth buying for those who go for local product.

Replacement of waja? cool…

• steven on Aug 22, 2009 at 6:22 am

Hi All,

I plan to buy a car within RM55K++, but not too sure to go for second hand Japan car or go for New Persona SE (features quite ok). I prefer new car smell if possible but the other way I also scare of Proton quality….Anyone of you can advise me? But i think Persona SE quite cool….

• olioli on Aug 24, 2009 at 11:13 am

Hi Steven

Another way to look at things is Malaysian cars are made for Malaysian roads, meaning lots of pot holes and prone to flooding. Japanese cars are not meant to be driven like a truck or a boat.

LOL

• MC chan on Aug 26, 2009 at 12:54 am

RM 55K. go for vios 2nd car. or 9 yrs vios J spec.

• eman89 on Sep 02, 2009 at 10:48 pm

hi all…

haha… so much infos on Persona nowadays.. Is it worth it? My family is thinking og getting a new car, and currently the Persona and Exora is appealing.. Just planning.. Hope all goes well. ANY ADVICE?? Is the quality that bad? I dont think so…

One more thing… Well, I drive the 1997 Proton Saga Iswara Aeroback 1.3 manual. So far, it only eat away at my pocket when I change all four tyres and change break pads, lithe break disc, new cambre… I finished rm800 last week…. Huwaaa…. I want to know, if I go to Proton i-Care, will it charge more? Or does Proton don't care for the old ones?

Replacement of Waja??? COOL~~~~~ Persona is cool, Exora is icing.. Wonder what new Waja will be like??? hmmmmm… reply guys…

• eman89 on Sep 02, 2009 at 10:55 pm

oops.. wrong.. I drove a 1998 Proton Saga Iswara Aeroback. Does Proton service centre,i-Care cater such models this time of the millenia?? Does i-Care costs more than normal service centre?? Anyone? haha. Just wanna know..

• dericcsy on Sep 03, 2009 at 4:59 pm

Hi eman89!, read through ur story….Actually how much budget for u to get a new car? If u have more budget, then recomment u go for Imported car!!! Good Luck and have a test drive b4 u buy it…..

• nobody on Sep 05, 2009 at 12:58 am

Oops ……MY GOD! the steering wheel very uglily la, please refer to other car brand-new car, it look like our technology still remain the same and behind over 10 years…..zzz!

• peaceonearth on Sep 11, 2009 at 6:56 am

Hi everyone…..wonder anyone of u guys know where to test drive the Persona SE….can't find one till today…not even the HQ in Shah Alam…wonder why ???

And don't u all find the back seats too straight…..???

Fuel consumption…..seems like actual driving(based on comments above of 18-20 sen/km) is more than what is advertised now …if u read carefully in the advert…..it states 757km for both highway(90km/h) and also city driving…how Proton calculates ???

• peaceonearth on Sep 11, 2009 at 7:05 am

btw….do we need to pay access fee or monthly subscription for the GPS service ????

• peaceonearth on Sep 11, 2009 at 7:15 am

BTW…do we need to pay any access fee or monthly subscription fee for the GPS service ???

• dericcsy on Sep 11, 2009 at 5:05 pm

hi peaceonearth,

about ur GPS…is FOC not need to pay monthly subscription fees.

And about the test drive…u should able to get at any proton branches.

about the petrol comsuption….hahaha…is a very good question…i did ask b4…!!! I am driving persona now, but the petrol….sigh…if u drive 60-80 km/h then u can save petrol, if u drive 110km/h at highway then ur petrol will gone faster!!! So drive kancil better!!! Good luck and think very very deeply b4 u do any decision!!! if u got more budget…go for Toyota or Honda!!!

• peaceonearth on Sep 14, 2009 at 7:53 am

Hi dericsy,

Thanks for ur info….so did u regret buying Persona?

Finally i got to see a brand new Persona SE last Friday….but got a bit dismay cuz the leather finishings look quite 'cheap'….it is kinda 'thin' leather and when press on it…..it is as hard as plastic…:(

And d new meter combi reading seems to fare poorer than d normal version…not really laser striking as advertised

Thought d SE comes with electronically retractable side mirror but none at all….:(

Well Toyota and Honda is sth that i wish for…but my budget is around 60-65k only….wonder if there is still any better option for this budget?

Thot of second hand Vios or City before but many advised not to get second hand due to hefty maintenance cost.

Really digging my head now……^~^

p/s :what is the difference between silver matte and chrome? Y use sliver matte when chrome looks more elegant? Anything special abt matte?

• rahidin E220 on Sep 24, 2009 at 5:11 am

Anak baru nak beli Pesona, Apa yang saya cakap kepada dia, sekiranya duit pun ada sedikit dan nak hutang bank sampai 9-10 tahun. Itu lah kereta yang ada…dan bagus dengan harganya. Sekiranya ada wang yang banyak selepas itu bolehlah jual kereta itu dan beli kereta lain yg lebih mahal dan bagus. Tanya poket sendiri jangan komen saja.

• dericcsy on Oct 06, 2009 at 5:11 pm

hi peaceonearth,

Regret sure regret!!! Bring so much problem to me!! Jus maintain it well, if got problem just change the parts!!! 5 years warranty!!! Sigh!

Since u have 60 to 65k budget! U can go for Vios J spec! Is Manual car! If u know how to drive Manual car then u can think about it!!!! More info u can view toyota website! about ur P/S question…is too general….i not a proffesional ppl to answer ur question…Sorry!!!

• Relax guys. there are defects everywhere. The thing is, choose the car that u love, look inti your pocket, then choose again.

I read on the paper today that in 2010 proton will launch two new models. Lets see whether they can come up with better features.

To pak cik rahidin, utk org2 yg mcm kite ni, mmg tu la kereta yg kita mampu. Saya pun sama. Dasar Automotif Negara ni… lebih kepada Dasar Aniaya Negara nmpknye dgn menyekat kite dari beli kereta yg lebih kualiti dgn harga yg lebih berpatutan tnpa cukai dan eksais yg menggunung.

• pejal exproton on Oct 28, 2009 at 8:02 pm

u all user persona..aku pkai persona jg..ada gak problem..p xbising pn..ape yg penting keta ada 5 year warrnty pe aku peduli..ada problem aku anta jer ke proton services..proton dah pkir siap2 dah psl problem keta ni..2 pasal dorg bg 5taun warrnty..so dh korang bli keta local trima jela pe2 pn musibah yg terjadi kt keta korang 2..agak2 dah xtahan tolak jer amek keta ln..aku dah bli keta ln pn skrng ni..keta persona 2 aku wat utk jln2 time ptg2 or bwk g pasar..aku ni tak la kaye..kje opis boy jer..p kne pndai2 laa..nk tmbah pendapatan..so pe2 hal pn aku ttp sokong keta local..proton ni kene bnyk belajar..n org kita jgn pandai komen n kondem jer..p apa sumbamgankorang utk proton..n negara

• ezudine on Oct 28, 2009 at 10:24 pm

sokong pejal.. so far setahun lebih sejak mula kuar kete ni aku amik.. persona se 2008.. xd masalah pun.. lari pun sedap leh main dgn civic lagi… pada yang pakai kete2 jepun tapi CKD tu tak usah bangga la oiiii.. pi tanye budak2 kilang yang pasang kete korang tu tahap mane kualiti kete korang sampai 80-90 riban tu.. hahahaha.. kengkadang aku nak gelak je member2 mane yg pakai kete CKD.. name je jepun tapi mcm cap ayam jer.. better to use proton one.. dah tentu2 murah… For all users kalo nak pakai brg jepun cr kete yang CBU la sume ori parts from japan.. baru leh berlagak dgn aku.. huhuhu

• nor azmi on Nov 08, 2009 at 8:09 am

Salam,

Saya mempunyai persona high line. Bolehkah saya menambah ciri-ciri

kepada sama seperti model SE iaitu cruise control, bodykit & skirt?

Jika boleh berapakah nilai tambahan tersebut?

• yup…betul kata ezudin. saya sudah guna persona SE hampir setahun. mungkin ada 1-2 masalah tapi ada warranty 5 tahun. jadi hantar saja ke proton servis. masalah pun minor saja. sikit bunyi bising kat belakang. dr segi performance, saya rasa ia lebih dari vios dan lebih kurang macam honda city versi sblm ini. saya juga gunakan kedua-dua kenderaan ini(kepunyaan abang2 saya). lari 170 km/h masih ok lgi. maksudnya boleh dikawal dan tidak bergegar. top speed – saya biasa bawa sampai 190 km/h. handling – paling superb saya rasa dalam kelasnya.

• 757 km mungkin tidak sampai. 600++ mgkn boleh. saya dr Shah Alam ke Alor Setar semalam. isi minyak di Seksyen 27 HICOM. rm 56.00. sampai di rumah meter minyak masih ada balance 95 km lg untuk perjalanan. boleh check di panel meternya kan. caranya sama saja macam kenderaan lain. maintain speed. kalau SE setkan 110 km/h. sure jimat…

• asgard on Jan 12, 2010 at 7:34 am

great timing,looking for new car this year,persona is one of them,hope the price is unchange and more colour choice

• bluefire on Jan 17, 2010 at 10:55 am

mr bell…performance lebih dari vios???? so funny

• ezudine on Jan 20, 2010 at 1:36 am

bluefire… its true… maybe pick up for 100meters persona kene tapau la.. but if top speed bye2 to vios lah.. wakakakakaka if want to celen 100meters go with cps lah.. hehehe..

• shawnster on Jan 23, 2010 at 3:16 am

Persona se owners,

Very very serious to buy SE also but need to know from users whether town/city use ok or not for fuel consumption…eg is it better than Waja campro or can give fight to Vios?

• dericcsy on Jan 23, 2010 at 10:43 pm

for speed…if u using manual car…sure ok for pick up…if auto..then dun day dream too much…!!!! yes proton is given 5 years warranty or up to 175,000km. After using this car for 2 years….slowly the problem will come out…IAFM problems, funny funny sound will come out, old problems like central lock, power windows, macam macam keluar….if lucky then go for warranty, but warranty doesn't mean u can get the part immediately….worse case i have facing…i order a parts….need to wait for 2 months and not gurranty for the replacement… think twice and deeply when u really wanna buy local car… good luck….

• ezudine on Jan 28, 2010 at 3:05 am

i buy a local car.. in terms on a city driving.. more jimat more ringan.. if u talk about quality all same.. thick twice if u want to get new ckd car… go for recon cbu car

• hahaha padan muka (Member) on Jan 31, 2010 at 10:22 am

betol2…beli local car laa…..kerata murah….ini kalo beli kereta luar…dah la mahal….quality konon2 nyer mcm bagus…last2 kena recall jugak…apa barang…toyota n honda pon samer jer…xleh pakai…mahal jer lebih….baik korang yg guna honda or toyota gi check keter korg tu…kang x pasal2 eksiden….huah huah huah…:-D

• faisal on May 14, 2010 at 4:52 pm

ala….ape la ckp lbh…..kete proton body zink bknnye besi….. tgk mcm toyota klu kete mereka ada masalah..trus mereka tarik blk kete mereka ssb nk jg jenama…. tp proton benda2 kecik sje pn bleh rosak…apath lg klu melibatkan enjin…..tp xmau mengaku kluaran proton xelok….

• Ting!! on Mar 31, 2010 at 6:45 am

Talk to much no use, use kancil lah!! more fuel save…to the other's that buy the 'outsider' car and talk like s#@t , don't forget where do u stand, wake up la…

• Setuju dengan Ting. Nak lebih-lebih, bayar nak murah. Beli la keta luar negeri. Bangga ngan buatan orang lain. Itu lah ini lah semua tak kena. Buat keta sendiri la.

• saya nak tnya.. kereta persona SE tue, berapa bayaran bulanan ya?

• anthony on Mar 26, 2011 at 11:41 am

mmhh… i dah test persona, satu kesilapan yang sangat amat besar sahaja yang dilakukan oleh Proton dalam design kereta persona, saya nak bagi ku org tau disini ialah persona ni jangan bawak ibu bapa awak pergi jauh sangat dengan kereta persona…hahaha mengapa? kalu nak jawapan perhatikan belakang sit dia… tak boleh adjust langsung !!! mati disitu… bile u duk kat belakang u akan rasa tegak tegak sangat …kalu org tua tua duduk kat dalam lama sangat perjalanannya …tulang belakang mesti sakit teruk… boleh pi test drive tengok bawak sama sama keluarga awak tengok ape rasanya org yang duk kat belakang persona….yang lain OK bagus pikap, power, exterior, interior look semua bagus bagus…i like it very much…just b’coz of that …i change my mind….sorry proton