Sources: Syed Zainal may leave when contract ends?

Proton LogoThe Edge Daily has a sources story regarding the future of Proton’s top management team. According to the report, it is possible that Datuk Syed Zainal Abidin Syed Mohamed Tahir may leave when his contract as the managing director and CEO of Proton expires by the end of this year.

Two potential new candidates for the Proton board were named – Tan Sri Abdul Rahman Omar and Datuk Abdul Razak Dawood, although the report did not say whether any of these two would become the new managing director if Syed Zainal left.

Tan Sri Abdul Rahman has many years of experience in the national automotive industry, having held the position of DRB-HICOM executive director from February 2006 until December 2007 and chairman of EON from February 2006 to July 2008. He was also the managing director of Perodua from May 1997 to April 2004, and a director of Proton and EON from 1991 to 1996 and 1989 to 1996 respectively.

As for Datuk Abdul Razak Dawood, he is said to be possibly the new head of Proton’s international operations, but wasn’t this recently filled in by ex-Audi man Claudius Meynert? Or is this a different kind of international operations?

Why is Syed Zainal leaving and will Proton be able to continue its slow but steady recovery plan without him? Did he get a better offer from somewhere where he is allowed to perform more effectively without having to struggle with vendors? I can bet you that he must have had a hard time at Proton, at one point even resorting to a quality control campaign that urged the public to contact him directly to report any issues. I am quite sad to hear this possibility that he may not be around to launch the new Proton MPV.

When Syed Zainal was appointed as managing director, Datuk Kamarulzaman Darus was appointed as director of manufacturing. Kamarulzaman has already left Proton to become Naza’s director of manufacturing.

Both Tan Sri Abdul Rahman and Syed Zainal has one thing in common – they both used to hold top positions in Perodua, with Syed Zainal previously holding the executive director post at Perodua. Will Tan Sri Abdul Rahman be the new man at the helm of Proton?

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• eng. (Member) on Nov 12, 2008 at 2:38 am

im very sad if he leave proton..
    proton need fresh blood..not the old one.

• eng. (Member) on Nov 12, 2008 at 2:51 am

wat kind of politic here..
    syed zainal is the right man for proton..
    anyway, he deserve my support.

• whiteeye (Member) on Nov 12, 2008 at 2:58 am

What’s going on, another agenda had born in Proton. He He He.

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Nov 12, 2008 at 3:16 am

Shit…he is a great man…What is this all about…this guy give us hope.

• eayamhj (Member) on Nov 12, 2008 at 3:55 am

No, he can’t leave proton during this time, at least finish ur job at Proton first…. DSZ still have so much to offer to Proton. Please don’t let him go away Proton!!!!

• takeo1070 (Member) on Nov 12, 2008 at 6:13 am

it was reported in NST(last saturday), that this rahman guy is to replace the current chairman not DSZ as DSZ has done his job fairly good. so i guess DSZ is still intact with with position.

• kucau (Member) on Nov 12, 2008 at 6:36 am

let him finish what he started 1st la…. tembel ape

• tricycle (Member) on Nov 12, 2008 at 7:10 am

In my opinion, he has done the best for Proton. Got to know him while was at P2 and I can say he is the man with high integrity, a good type of leader and even can be a very good Malaysian Prime Minister if he were to choose to be one. (far far better than the current candidates for the Malaysian PM).

If this decision of replacing him due to politically motivated, it is just unthinkable. Thank you DSZ for your service at Proton, P2 and for the whole nation.

• autojohndoe (Member) on Nov 12, 2008 at 7:23 am

nah…. he will stiil be in Proton… i just read Business Daily… about two days ago… pls try to find it…

• onzetool (Member) on Nov 12, 2008 at 7:31 am

Having fishing good QC guys from P2 was qood thing for Pton. But my opinion is that somebody as good also must be at the top there to look after and further develop LOCAL VENDORS especially tool maker. Now most have been neglected in the name of modular development/supply. Majority of the toolings ‘leak’ to the Korean and Japanese. This is stepping backwards. How and when are we going to fight the Koreans & Japanese when we are buying (definitely expensive) toolings and (whats more) raw materials fr them? C’mon wake up, even domestically they are eating Pton ‘pies’ very fast!

• Nakal (Member) on Nov 12, 2008 at 7:32 am

yes autojohndoe..i read it too…the one who may leave is the chairman.. not the MD… the change for the MD post is just ‘ura-ura’..

• autojohndoe (Member) on Nov 12, 2008 at 7:35 am

Having fishing good QC guys from P2 was qood thing for Pton. But my opinion is that somebody as good also must be at the top there to look after and further develop LOCAL VENDORS especially tool maker. Now most have been neglected in the name of modular development/supply. Majority of the toolings ‘leak’ to the Korean and Japanese. This is stepping backwards. How and when are we going to fight the Koreans & Japanese when we are buying (definitely expensive) toolings and (whats more) raw materials fr them? C’mon wake up, even domestically they are eating Pton ‘pies’ very fast!

i think, because malaysian vendors does not develop it… more to trading, it is easier to outsource… less risky, but promising in profit…

thats why we are very slow in becoming developed country, most of us likes to be end user rather than maker and inventor….

• si-fu (Member) on Nov 12, 2008 at 7:37 am

Hi guys, regarding this is issue, i can fairly say its untrue…because i can confirmly say that DSZ will be with us at least, for the next 5 years…unless something happens out of the blue, that will be a whole different story!

Cheers!

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Nov 12, 2008 at 7:39 am

whatever !!!!!

• Nakal (Member) on Nov 12, 2008 at 7:45 am

wah…long time no see si-fu…seems u just return back from somewhere.. oversea testing maybe…great!!

• normaluser (Member) on Nov 12, 2008 at 7:49 am

Oh you guys can still believe report from The Edge? After what they had done spicing up Proton-VW rumours years ago.

• ameen (Member) on Nov 12, 2008 at 7:59 am

he’s the man for proton.
    vote for him :)

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Nov 12, 2008 at 8:10 am

normaluser said,
    November 12, 2008 @ 7:49 am

Oh you guys can still believe report from The Edge? After what they had done spicing up Proton-VW rumours years ago.
    ———————————

another highly speculative story from the edge.

• ryan_foong80 (Member) on Nov 12, 2008 at 8:30 am

well … honestly proton need a very expert pro person….

• bmpower (Member) on Nov 12, 2008 at 8:31 am

THE EDGE is RUBISH.
    They always do rumors.

• longjaafar (Member) on Nov 12, 2008 at 8:45 am

Rahman and Syed Zainal are both good. However, having both in Proton, say Rahman as Cahirman and Syed Zainal as MD may pose problems, because there may be a clash of values and opinions. Unless, as NON executive chairman, Rahman is told that he is not to involve himself in operational matters. After all, he retired from Perodua, and should therefore take a non operating role in the organisation.

• si-fu (Member) on Nov 12, 2008 at 8:47 am

Hahahahaha…no la nakal….neva go overseas la…still n was in m’sia. Been abit busy with ‘work’…so far, things are good with ‘work’. As usual cant reveal anything abt ‘work’. Hahahaha…hav a nice day!

Cheers!

• droll (Member) on Nov 12, 2008 at 9:00 am

Be wary of reports from The Edge. They’ve been quite wrong before.

I wish Proton all the best.

• farghmee (Member) on Nov 12, 2008 at 9:10 am

fine-tuning “the work”, si-fu? ;)

what ever happen, i hope it will be a brighter future for Proton! :)

• Fridz (Member) on Nov 12, 2008 at 9:12 am

Perghh…nasib baik. i tought its real..

Go DSZ Go…

Mr si-fu, what do you mean by ‘work’?just curious.hehe

• scottloeb (Member) on Nov 12, 2008 at 9:17 am

Azman Mokhtar resigning ka? Thrifty accountant resigning, they want to put engineer there? or is it political? DSZ moving up to MITI? hahah Don’t kill Proton la.. lots of proton Taxi (Wira) here in Jakarta (but not Persona, maybe the new MPV will la)

• ... (Member) on Nov 12, 2008 at 9:23 am

The article is quoted from the Edge… ’nuff said…

I heard that DSZ contract has been extended…

• tokmoh (Member) on Nov 12, 2008 at 9:35 am

Walau, you scared me sheez, Paul!!!

Actually, I’ve heard this rumor quite some time edi. The vendors don’t seem to like DSZ cuz he’s very strict n so they can’t rly make profit as easy as they used to during TM’s days. I didn’t want to believe this cuz a) it’s a rumor b) I just want to keep myself in denial cuz he’s the best, man!! Go DSZ go!! All hail DSZ!!!

But yeah, I think he rly can become a better PM than the current candidates, hehehe. I’d vote for him ;)

Thankfully, a) this news is from The Edge. Shame on u if u fool me once, shame on me if u fool me TWICE!! b) si-fu is here to confirm it. phew. I cannot be more relieved than having an assurance from an inside man :) .

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Nov 12, 2008 at 9:39 am

That why i dont like companies that are link to the G…

if the G is starting to change head again (Pak Lah to Najib) All Pak Lah supporters will also change hands also.. If you guys dig out these few weeks after Pak lah say he will retire, his best friend a lot which work with GLC has also retire!

So if this guy is a Pak Lah supporter, i think he will accept his fate. In this country all GLC are control by the G and even they are good the stupid (UXXO) will still bash him or kick him down coz no support the head…

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Nov 12, 2008 at 9:43 am

Guys!…good news….Lotus gained profit 2 millions pound – Autocar UK.

• Wisdom (Member) on Nov 12, 2008 at 11:28 am

Syed Zainal, please finish what you have started.

• si-fu (Member) on Nov 12, 2008 at 11:57 am

yo bro…said, lama menghilang jgk nampaknya? Busy dgn ‘work’ lah tuh! Hang dept mana? Tgk tgk hang ni duk belakang aku ka, depan aku ka, tepi aku ka…hahahahahaha!

• carsut (Member) on Nov 12, 2008 at 12:21 pm

si-fu n …said proton insider?? huhu.. glad to hear that DSZ contract has been extended :D

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Nov 12, 2008 at 12:24 pm

MisterBenjo said,
    November 12, 2008 @ 9:43 am

Guys!…good news….Lotus gained profit 2 millions pound – Autocar UK.
    ————————–

i think thats good news too.

• torque (Member) on Nov 12, 2008 at 12:26 pm

EDGE?!!!

Edge sources are RUBBISH!

And IF Proton did throw DSZ out is even more RUBBISH!!

Might as well throw Proton into the shithole…

Then again, lucky for us someone here mention that it just rumours and DSZ still gonna be with Proton for another couple of years…which is GOOD!

Keep up the good work DSZ!!!

• adil2008 (Member) on Nov 12, 2008 at 12:28 pm

The GLC company wouldn’t keep the good staff like Syed Zainal, why DRB need to brought proton? for what? DRB have the technology? answer is NO.
    Why bring the old man become a CEO, too old lar, no motovation at all, Good example is the EON service centre, the stupid EON is under DRB, how the service rated? how about the quality? i think all of us already know, answer is BAD, LAZY, INEFFICIENT, NOT RESPONBILITY, EXPENSIVE & LONG WAITING TIME.
    DRB is not a candidate for PROTON. please get out, if not, both of you “DRB & PROTON” will ta bau soon.

• CFA28 (Member) on Nov 12, 2008 at 12:55 pm

sifu, the problem with Proton is that your Chairman is getting too powerful.

• Realeyes (Member) on Nov 12, 2008 at 1:21 pm

SNFU! Ok, where were we? Yeah Proton MPV..

• kingv6 (Member) on Nov 12, 2008 at 1:32 pm

We never know…. TM could make a comeback

• nizam80 (Member) on Nov 12, 2008 at 1:35 pm

Si-Fu, any small updates on the Proton MPV? C’mon lah, please share with us if you can.

• bmpower (Member) on Nov 12, 2008 at 1:40 pm

honestly.. in my so called … fantasy.. hahaha
    Tengku Mahalel + Syed Zainal should be a really good team up.
    then put Tun M as chairman again and again.
    Vision + Integrity = Sure Good.

• Wisdom (Member) on Nov 12, 2008 at 2:01 pm

Tengku Mahalel? Oh no… i dont wanna open my MPV door everytime at toll booth.

• aenz81 (Member) on Nov 12, 2008 at 2:21 pm

… said,
    November 12, 2008 @ 9:23 am

The article is quoted from the Edge… ’nuff said…

I heard that DSZ contract has been extended…

—————————————————————-

How long?? it’s would be great if it extended for coming 50 years… :)

• Apathy (Member) on Nov 12, 2008 at 3:57 pm

produa-proton-naza-drb_hicom-eon-kreta_potong_workshop-naza-produa—- infinite cycle. seems like there aren’t many fishes in the pool. pusing-pusing asyik orang yang sama sahaja. LOL if mahaleel returns back in the pool.

• tigerking (Member) on Nov 12, 2008 at 3:59 pm

million dollar question is, will the pricings and quality of the cars be improved when the new guy takes charge.
    i’m sick of bad quality protons all this while.
    i feel that we are paying just too much for a Proton when we shld not be in the first place.

• Apathy (Member) on Nov 12, 2008 at 4:01 pm

November 12, 2008 @ 2:01 pm

Tengku Mahalel? Oh no… i dont wanna open my MPV door everytime at toll booth.
    —————-

LOL LOL LOL LOL hahaha back to square 1, i guess.

• tigerking (Member) on Nov 12, 2008 at 4:05 pm

i was given an opportunity to go for a plant tour at Proton’s plant 2 months back. and guess what, I actually saw its factory/plant staffs taking naps and dozing off during working hours. This was witnessed by more than 50 of my colleagues.
    they say that they cant meet demands due to capacity restrictions. the machines weree moving very slowly in the plant.
    can anything be done abt this.
    cos, part of what we pay is also reflective of ‘labour cost’ which is meant to be ‘productive’ and not ‘non productive hours’..

• knight_templar (Member) on Nov 12, 2008 at 4:15 pm

The usual hero idolisation story. So a population of roughly 22 mil and we can’t find a replacement for Proton’s top management. Shame on us. With change comes new ideas and possibilities. Only the foolish weep for the gone. The wise look forward. Anyway Protons impending doom is inevitable. As paradoxical as it may sound the MPV that its creating is the kiss of death that will seal its faith. I’ll start tolling the bell now…

• bmpower (Member) on Nov 12, 2008 at 4:20 pm

Square? satria neo was under TM lah.. aiyaa…

• autojohndoe (Member) on Nov 12, 2008 at 4:24 pm

everybody do mistakes… it just TM maybe just obvious and too much in making it…

so, what past is past… make it a lesson for everybody…

• Imation (Member) on Nov 12, 2008 at 4:25 pm

Thank god he’s leaving…..if only u guys knew whats goin’ on inside the company, u’ll wish the same thing too!!!!! Damn too many hanky panky….even with “Haji” title cannot assure ur virtue

• yeecheeliang (Member) on Nov 12, 2008 at 4:31 pm

Proton should extend his contract! He has built the new image of Proton, low cost, good quality and good after sales service(especially the Proton I-care is really accept the complain and follow up). When people get back the confident, and feel that is value buying car mean his strategic is success and make profit to Proton and why want to change the CEO?

• Realeyes (Member) on Nov 12, 2008 at 4:32 pm

For whom the bell should be tolled, mr temple?

• rufus-x (Member) on Nov 12, 2008 at 4:33 pm

aik?

why Imation said like that…?

• autojohndoe (Member) on Nov 12, 2008 at 4:46 pm

imation.. you mean who’s good to leave?

ppl get confiused either TM or DSZ

• tayar kitar semula (Member) on Nov 12, 2008 at 4:53 pm

imation…Which “Haji”… Haji TM, Haji DSZ or Haji pakcik guard?

• Automotive_Critics (Member) on Nov 12, 2008 at 5:27 pm

to leave means DSZ..Mahalel already left…

• Automotive_Critics (Member) on Nov 12, 2008 at 5:31 pm

most probably DSZ application for pay rise was rejected..dissapointed and hinting farewell from proton.

• rufus-x (Member) on Nov 12, 2008 at 7:14 pm

err..excuse me man..
    where did u get that info from?

pls be more responsible about what we’re telling others…

i just hate rumors…huhuu…

• Automotive_Critics (Member) on Nov 12, 2008 at 7:24 pm

rufus-x said,
    November 12, 2008 @ 7:14 pm

err..excuse me man..
    where did u get that info from?

==================
    sorry just joking..anyway Syed Zainal is the right man at the right time for proton..his work just absolutely superb..his geisture, eye contact really like a man full of confident and vision..he can be voted as MD of the year..no wonder he was the fresh source of proton revival..please dont resign..i bought 2 proton already to pay your salary..

always sacrifice for better nationhood…

• rufus-x (Member) on Nov 12, 2008 at 7:34 pm

hahaha..i thot ur one of those proton bashers man… LOL

• mystvearn (Member) on Nov 12, 2008 at 7:38 pm

Remember the time when SZ and team convinced gov not to hand over Proton to VW. Khazanah was soooooo upset with that. everyone thought this would be Proton’s chance to be big. Khazanah see it as wasshing their hands clean as no need to pump money intro proton whenever they proton wants.

To insult Khazanah even more, SZ is actually doing a very good job at Proton. Better than Mahalel guy. So now Khazanah already lobby for him to be put to rest, but proton still doing well.
    Khazanah got pride higher than brain. Let SZ stay there and do his job.

• Wisdom (Member) on Nov 12, 2008 at 8:14 pm

“hahaha..i thot ur one of those proton bashers man… LOL”
    -Rufus

Now can see more people gunning down those bashing proton. Not like last time. This could be the result of DSZ. He not suppose to leave the company.

• God.of.War (Member) on Nov 12, 2008 at 9:12 pm

Paul Tan,

Can u pls call him and tell him, that i suggest he should not leave, it is better that he make improvement even slow rather than people got shitty quality.

90% from this comment suggest that he shud stay, i agree with them, for the time being i cant take the risk for new leadership, we do not know what happen, give him chance to improve, after it is establish, then wanna resign, we also don mind, as long that he can be our advisor with Proton.

Im impressed that he can take such a responsiblity, to let people call him so that he will know the problem. This is a sincere compliment, nothing else.

• aliBaPa (Member) on Nov 12, 2008 at 9:14 pm

I bet he will leave!!!
    If not, i’ll vote for BN next election.

• tigerking (Member) on Nov 12, 2008 at 9:29 pm

Any possibility of reducing the car costs for the quality that we are getting?

• transformer (Member) on Nov 12, 2008 at 10:00 pm

If TM returns, then Lotus might be sold at 1 Euro….. ?
    So hope TM won’t return!

Kinda sick with the character “TM” as my lousy internet service provider also had similar names and attributes… keep signing more new user but do they monitor and upgrade to facilitate increase traffic?

I hope TM CEO also published his mobile no….. so rakyat can sms him! all day all nite!

• steering (Member) on Nov 12, 2008 at 10:35 pm

can see high interest when proton issues posted – a lot of people still care about P1 …err anymore photos of the MPV anyone? esp interior shots

• rufus-x (Member) on Nov 12, 2008 at 10:35 pm

out of topic~

yes i agree wif u transformer..
    getting more ppl to subscribe but not doing anything about the increased traffic nor upgrading anything to cater it..
    yet the same price still remains..

do u know that somewhere in this world they gave away 2mb of broadband services for free..? – yea maybe the traffic shud be slow because many will use the free 2mb internet access..but its free..so,no complaint la…

but we on the other hand got to pay for a service that sucks….

sighs… :(

• adunadun (Member) on Nov 12, 2008 at 11:05 pm

bmpower said,
    November 12, 2008 @ 8:31 am

THE EDGE is RUBISH.
    They always do rumors.

———————
    true, i my working field too, Edge also give wrong information, wrong info, almost like writer are not tecnology smart/knowledge, and malaysian still believe edge is good businees source..poor porr poor

sayonara proton…

• eng. (Member) on Nov 13, 2008 at 2:32 am

now i now the edge is rubbish..
    thanks guy for make it clear..

• tricycle (Member) on Nov 13, 2008 at 6:44 am

out of topic;
    checked the current crude oil at bloomberg.com just now, the price is now at $56 per barrel. It is really unfair for us to pay more than RM1.92 per Liter in Malaysia now. We are really subsidizing the G this time around every time we fill our tank with petrol.

• mits27 (Member) on Nov 13, 2008 at 7:33 am

If changed the CEO, will it change the Proton bad culture back again…bad quality, bad service… I just think people deserve the quality car…I think current CEO has done the good job…

• mits27 (Member) on Nov 13, 2008 at 7:34 am

At least not super quality, but at least better than last CEO…

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Nov 13, 2008 at 8:53 am

mits27 said,
    November 13, 2008 @ 7:34 am

————————————

quality takes time.

• varman24 (Member) on Nov 13, 2008 at 8:58 am

CEO proton cabut!!!!boleh tahan ke proton nic another 12 years.2020 proton replaced by perodua

• Nakal (Member) on Nov 13, 2008 at 9:27 am

BanyakMasukWorkshop said,

November 13, 2008 @ 8:53 am

mits27 said,
    November 13, 2008 @ 7:34 am

————————————

quality takes time.

——————
    quality aso start from RND…n proton RND probably the youngest vehicle RND (p2 RND is another story-that was toyota/daihatsu)

• scottloeb (Member) on Nov 13, 2008 at 9:30 am

Regarding TM (not Tengku Mahal-lel, our telco ma..), they are currently in the middle of upgrading the core of the internet system.. maybe by mid 2009 we might be able to get what singapore is experiencing now (in the name of High Speed Broad Band – HSBB).. and you might get set top tv too (no need to torent heroes anymore, direct from US just like MIO in Singapore..)

• pekan (Member) on Nov 13, 2008 at 10:05 am

I got to know DSZ when he was the ceo of MTB, just before he was in perodua. Nobody knew him when he entered Proton.

Good guy. Sad to see him leaving Proton..

• awak (Member) on Nov 13, 2008 at 10:43 am

firstly the selling point of other car is the engine,
    so, this is the area to compete, ACTUALLY,

engine counts everything, economy power and reputation, reducing the advantage of other makes where some people dont mind to pay 10 to 15 thosand for that ‘advantage’.

so if proton could close gap or at par for this, certainly PROTON is everybody’s FIRST CHOISE,

• Automotive_Critics (Member) on Nov 13, 2008 at 10:57 am

Guys..if DSZ deserves leaving proton..then just let him go..he might have other personal interest to be settled..still a few candidates out there are having similar capability to him..but not likely from DRB man…DRB is a company that never think responsibility..just thinking Big Profit with extreme low cost and lousy quality..proton already gone through hard time under the DRB management..just to recall Tiara project..the worst fit and finish car but overpriced..even kancil had better fit and finish..

Years later after withdrawal from proton..again they sucking money through Honda in Alor Gajah..according to a friend relative, most of the employee are working inhumane there with no responsibility from management at all..quality is so-so because it is Honda..remind again..this is DRB in the actual picture..

• Cikaput (Member) on Nov 13, 2008 at 11:12 am

Imation said,

November 12, 2008 @ 4:25 pm

Thank god he’s leaving…..if only u guys knew whats goin’ on inside the company, u’ll wish the same thing too!!!!! Damn too many hanky panky….even with “Haji” title cannot assure ur virtue
    —————————————————

haha imation.. i wish they all knew it too.. but the real problems is not about DSZ, i really had no problem with him. the problem is the people he brought in.. most of them are useless.. hold a high position but dumb. expecially people from pe****a… by the way, i guess i know which haji u talking about hahaha..

• rufus-x (Member) on Nov 13, 2008 at 11:33 am

awak :
    agreed wif u..
    since our campro engine have completed (the cps version), now only i have interest in proton.. ;p
    i believe much can be done to perfect the engine even more..
    i’m waiting for the neo cps
    screw the quality issues tho..i dont drive for comfort anyways..haha

p/s: if want comfort driving, get a driver to drive for u laa..then oni u can sleep in the car..now thats comfort…

• awak (Member) on Nov 13, 2008 at 11:49 am

rufus-x:
    campro cps is good,
    but very very good if campro vvt+cps, this is as good i-vtech or vvtL-i,
    at this point, why pay 10thousand or 20thousand more for other makes since we can buy proton cheaper, with the same engine capability

• awak (Member) on Nov 13, 2008 at 11:56 am

rufus-x:
    campro cps is good,
    but very very good if campro vvt+cps, this is as good i-vtech or vvtL-i,
    at this point, why pay 10thousand or 20thousand more for other makes since we can buy proton cheaper, with the same engine capability ,long legged economy and power spritely,

• rufus-x (Member) on Nov 13, 2008 at 12:11 pm

yes yes..true..
    n i believe that proton shud be in the right direction to achieve that kind of technology soon enough..with the help of lotus and all the techs outside from all other carmakers, make a good example out of them..(i dont hear proton buying other carmakers car before this but now they got lots of mules to make an example for – shud done that 10yrs before rite) proton shud be able to produce such engine in no time.. :)

• Nakal (Member) on Nov 13, 2008 at 12:45 pm

paul…no new topic today? i believe this not about whiteeye kan?

• gie7 (Member) on Nov 13, 2008 at 12:48 pm

satu berita gembira bagi aku..hehe…sorilah kawan…rambut sama hitam, hati lain…aku memang tak suka dengan syed zainal ni…aku start tak suka kat dia bila dia mengurangkan kos r n d…ni syarikat kereta bang..camne nak hidup kalau r n d tak berapa nak jalan…penjualan mv agusta pun dia skong..baguslah tu…sape kata tengku mahaleel nak jual lotus…tuk pengetahuan, allahyarham tan sri yahya, bekas pemegang syer terbesar proton telah meminta pandangan tengku mahaleel masa nak beli lotus…dia adalah orang yang buat kita yakin dengan kita sendiri…tak sampai 5 tahun dia dalam proton, proton bukan sahaja buat kereta sendiri tapi buat enjin sendiri…fakta atau auta..cek sendiri…tengku mahaleel juga telah kuarkan mpv n kereta sport..tapi cek balik sape yang batalkan n rebadge kepada lotus…

• SY0H (Member) on Nov 13, 2008 at 2:04 pm

I’m still waiting for Persona CPS… still waiting… waiting… waiting…

Relaku menunggu mu, 1000 tahun lama lagi,
    Tapi benarkah hidup, aku akan selama ini, yeahhh,
    Biar berputar, utara selatan,
    Ku tak putus harapan, setia sedia…

• ALPINA Bukard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Nov 13, 2008 at 2:08 pm

he’s a lousy ceo

• Automotive_Critics (Member) on Nov 13, 2008 at 2:27 pm

Persona CPS most probably will not be added to proton line up if waja and Gen2 CPS still being produced..if it is so, it will eat into this 2 model market..so..you must wait untill this 2 model phased off.. Proton should not have too many sedan in its line up..like nowadays, they just making headache with marketing problem..

• rufus-x (Member) on Nov 13, 2008 at 2:51 pm

or unless…
    they have 1.8 variants of cps for waja…
    then oni got no problem i think..
    who wants sporty look can go for gen2..
    n those who wanted sedan can go for persona..
    rite?

• ob8 (Member) on Nov 13, 2008 at 2:54 pm

it would b a dissaster if proton management is returning to the cronys like the tun dr mhtir era. the position should b fill by merit not by cronys wit cabel fiber optic. i wonder if najib is the pm, wht changes will he do

• Prem3377 (Member) on Nov 13, 2008 at 4:01 pm

at first i didnt like SZA too but he is a smart guy and i do have respect for smart people..and he is capable of handling proton AND MALAYSIANS…and he keeps his words and lauches cars within the time frame he sets…and cars are improving too…TM was not bad but his vision was far ahead but implementation was not..that was his problem..

he knows how to create car which is suitable for the market and price them right…

proton actually dont need much..

yah like someone said the engine department…

proton just need three type of engines… one with the range frm 1.3 cc to 1.6 cc where it must have turbo charging or super charging capabilities..(so can challenge 1.8 engines)

then diesel engines..again starting from 1.6 to 2.0 with turbo charging…

next a 2.0 to 2.2 or 2.4 engine…all for cylinders….and tats it…

proton also dont have to waste much time or money on R&D since many of this engines are readily available from independent engine produces….

proton is already good in producing chassis and good handling…so mix and matching them to these engines are not hard and dont consume much time..so one car a year target can be achieved…

look at BMW..i mean not in term of luxury,quality or the rest..but how cost effective they are and how they mix and match engines and etc

the next step if proton to increase quality….proton actually has already come to age in assembly but the proton problem is the cut cost in important area..

the human interface parts,the parts we always touch,feel and use…

gear knobs,steering,buttons,switches,door knob and door panels plus da rest where people always touch and use..to improve this quality area it wont really cost much and people are always willing to pay rm 1000 to 2000 extra if its good..

we dont have to waste millions in R&D like Audi or renault does for its interior designs..we just have to look at them and learn..they are pioneering the technology but we dont need to for now..

and the final part of proton is safety and marketing!!!and the most important part!!

first proton atleast must have alot of these three/four letters abbreviation..abs,ebd,esp,tc,vvti,cps,vtec and things like tat..atleast give them as options so that people will be able to choose what they want to drive..a safer car or a cheaper car..

and next is marketing..proton is doing ok here…but improvement is always important…and proton marketing department is kinda creative with their promotion and all lately and its good..

bout cronies and vendor…that i dont know how to improve la

• Automotive_Critics (Member) on Nov 13, 2008 at 4:30 pm

gie7 said,
    November 13, 2008 @ 12:48 pm

[aku memang tak suka dengan syed zainal ni…aku start tak suka kat dia bila dia mengurangkan kos r n d…ni syarikat kereta bang..camne nak hidup kalau r n d tak berapa nak jalan…]
    =======================
    Don’t be misunderstood..reducing the RND cost does not mean to halt the RND operation..white i understand from various publication is the RND cost reduced thru part carry over activity especially for small part..it is not necessary to design new part as the existing part still not outdated…from this a car maker can save the investment budget hence improve and sustain their financial liquidity..

Toyota is one of the company that promoting this activity widely..if im not mistaken, the avanza door outer and inner handle is carried over from kancil..please check..

Financial matters should be think as long term basis not as short term basis..as for proton, their responsibility is not only make and selling car but its contributions to people who are direct or directly connected with them. People want every company to be as long as their can as they earn money from them..pay housing loan and live peacefully..unless youre richman.

• Imation (Member) on Nov 13, 2008 at 4:32 pm

Cikaput…..ur damn right!!! Just look at 1 of the biggest idiot he brought from P*&^@#$ into Marketing Dept (to name one). What happen to the now chaotic dept?
    He can do whatever he wants long as it benefits the company not ruining it…..it’s already ruined thanx to TM 10 yr reign..Unfortunately thats not the case…

• rufus-x (Member) on Nov 13, 2008 at 5:15 pm

gie7:

ok,maybe i dont know TM nor DSZ as much as u knew them..

but, from logical point of view, i think…

1. cut RnD budget..its already explained by Automotive_Critics n i can understand what he’s saying..kinda logical..why must RnD a thing thats already there rite? – just improve on the quality first and then if u want to build new things, go ahead..so, i dont think all the budget shud go into RnD for the time being..we really should not try to reinvent the wheels at this point..just make something more out of it..make it better..

2. TM keluarkan mpv n kereta sport..? – i seriously havent heard of this yet..
    ok, even if he does..the most logical explanation i can think is..DSZ dont want proton to waste more on new products if its still cant achieve the quality the customers demands..its simply logical..
    do u really want a proton mpv if its out yrs back with that cheap proton quality?
    do u really want a sport car made by crappy proton back then?
    i dont think so..so, wat DSZ is trying to do was improve more on all the existing models proton had first before trying on new car segments or projects..thats why we had the BLM saga..even the BLM saga quality is much much better than any of the models from TM’s era right? – ini belum lagi cerita pasal harga kereta ni..harga kereta compare dgn quality dan servis yg diberikan..

thats the least of what i can came out with la..i dunno the person..
    but he DO make the proton hero rite now..

Prem3377 :
    bro, u just read my mind..100% agreed…

• rufus-x (Member) on Nov 13, 2008 at 5:20 pm

btw, he is a ‘Datuk’..he’s the ceo..he’s the boss..he’s the mastermind…
    he’s the chosen one to lead proton..
    who are we to tell that he’s not suit for his job? hmm?
    who are u to question his decisions?

ask that to urself before criticising him.. ;)

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Nov 13, 2008 at 5:43 pm

automotive critic

Toyota is one of the company that promoting this activity widely..if im not mistaken, the avanza door outer and inner handle is carried over from kancil..please check..

————————————

you actually make very valid points dude.. but i think proton’s R&D is more on working on new models.. their problem now is, their product range is not diversified enough.. also.. its totally unfair to expect proton to be able to do what toyota does today. toyota has so many models in their range from which to share parts to reduce cost and improve economies of scale.. but proton is working on that right now.. for a start.. all engines are campro today.. no more buying from mitsu.. persona shares many parts from gen2.. likewise saga and savvy has some parts sharing as well…

i dare say proton used to try and “re-invent” the wheel under TM.. but under DSZ, they are definitely more practical now.

• Wisdom (Member) on Nov 13, 2008 at 8:42 pm

Business and Politics doesn’t really suit each other.

• ALPINA Bukard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Nov 14, 2008 at 11:07 am

proton just sell yourselves to fiat

• autojohndoe (Member) on Nov 14, 2008 at 6:03 pm

gie7 is a bit funny i think… everybody, even public saw TM made a lot of mistakes…

maybe there was something that we cant see that the others clearly notify…

about cutting RnD budget, that will teach u how to be more very detail and careful on ur work, focused on what has been planned and critical on every part purchased. thats how proton will sell the car at lower price. high RnD budget will reflect to the price also… just think more…

i may understand ur sadness of losing some advantages u got during TM reign. but, the new management gives u sumthing else rather than extra money for RnD rite? i mean, confident of the buyer, higher sales, BONUS…

• TheDuck (Member) on Nov 14, 2008 at 6:47 pm

ALPINA Bukard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG said, “proton just sell yourselves to fiat”

I disagree, Proton should just LIQUIDATE!

• Fridz (Member) on Nov 14, 2008 at 7:03 pm

Agreed with autojohndoe,high RnD cost will make the new model priced high.

imagine why proton can tag BLM with priced under 40K.its because proton didnt use their budget to RnD another new model.by changing a little to their Savvy, they can produce a new segment,different use n different target audience-A new SAGA..hence,they have 2 segment, compact hatchback n a compact sedan..i tought nissan also do as this.(with their Latio n Livina-correct me if im wrong)

at last,they can put their money to RnD other things.thats a good marketing strategy..

go Proton..

• mystvearn (Member) on Nov 14, 2008 at 7:37 pm

If only can resurrect the dead and bring back Tan Sri Yahya from that helicopter crash, but then again that time proton was so dominant that quality suffered

• ALPINA Bukard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Nov 14, 2008 at 8:54 pm

liquidate proton

• Infinitt (Member) on Nov 14, 2008 at 11:45 pm

He, DSZ should stay at Proton at least 4-5 years more. Anyway, cant believe with The Edge news. Go Proton, when the MPV name announce???

• ALPINA Bukard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Nov 15, 2008 at 3:05 pm

proton is dragging down the malaysian economy, pakatan rakyat come on, kick fucking bn out

• gie7 (Member) on Nov 17, 2008 at 1:05 pm

saya bukan seorang yang amat kenal dengan dia..tapi kenal dengan pencapaian dia n apa yang dia boleh buat…semua kita tau dia ni orang sejarah tapi dalam industri kereta, tm adalah seorang yang hebat…skarang tengah gawat, GM pun G US nak kena tolong…masa 1998 1999, zaman tm, G tak tolong…ada ornag akan kata masa tu lain, sekarang lain…tapi gawat juga kan…takpelah…saya cuma komen je…saya masih sokong kalau tm masuk balik dalam proton…dulu proton ada projek mpv yang semua pakai carbon fibre..tapi dah tak jalan semua tu…nape tm beli mv agusta yang semua kata dia gila sbb buat proton rugi…bmw beli sebahagian dari mv agusta sama sbb tm beli…kan sama kepala tm dengan kepala ceo…tm dah jadi sejarah kepada proton…tidak percaya tidak ada masalah…saya juga tak boleh trima cara dia yang sbbkan standard kereta proton 1.6 tidak ada brek disk..ramai yang marah semasa tm tak letak aksesori safety banyak2 kat kereta proton…proton 1.6 standard zaman tm ada brek disk kat belakang…dan start daripada savvy, tuk baiki kualiti kereta proton, pergi abik TUV dari jerman,,,selepas tm resign, mana pergi TUV…mungkin ada crite d sebalik crite…masih mengkagumi tm daripada syed zainal..tapi masing2 ada kelemahan dan kebaikain,,,itu aku akui….pe pun, tahniah tuk semua pencapaian dia selama ini dan yang akan datang…selamat maju jaya

• Hanafee on Jun 16, 2009 at 8:16 pm

askum to all of you…it is only my prediction….i don't think DSZ will leave proton as what he has done recently…but i also didn't think that he will remain for another 5 years….what i'm trying to say is…no matter who are going to take over the managing director position these people must have very good thinking for future and expanding to international market as these what we aim since our fourth prime minister launched in 1980s….so i as malaysian citizen are delighted to see proton being able to compete with international brand…who knows maybe proton able to developed formula 1 engine…just wish good luck and for god sake plz find a suitable people for this position…thank you….