Volkswagen Golf Singing in the Rain

small_golf_gti.jpgThe character Gene Kelly from Singing in the Rain is recreated in this advertisement for the Volkswagen Golf. The background song is Frank Sinatra’s Singing in the rain. The video has some funky robot dance moves to it. Kinda like Kollaboration. The remake of the original scene reflects on the Volkswagen Golf being advertised, “the original updated”. I like the concept.

Video is after the jump.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Ah-Ba (Member) on Mar 11, 2006 at 3:32 pm

Coooool..

• aesthari (Member) on Mar 11, 2006 at 4:38 pm

Nice, like the updated original concept!

• raptorclans (Member) on Mar 11, 2006 at 6:50 pm

hey, that's a seriously good concept man… kudos to the genius behind d ad!

• HatukNgkau (Member) on Mar 11, 2006 at 7:36 pm

LOL!!!! smart ad!

• genedavinci (Member) on Mar 11, 2006 at 7:37 pm

Very very cool. Love those moves~

• laser_ampang (Member) on Mar 11, 2006 at 7:47 pm

being creative and different isnt that hard at all..

it just needs, well. em…. M.O.N.E.Y.

hahaha… but i quite like produa's ads..

especially the one where, kelisa is boxed like

a tamiya model… that one was cute…

anyone remember?

• vex (Member) on Mar 11, 2006 at 10:17 pm

this advertisement won the best advestisement award last year. ingenious.

• v0ices (Member) on Mar 11, 2006 at 11:29 pm

Yes.. PROdua advertisments are nice. Have you seen the PEROdua ads? they are nice too

• eric (Member) on Mar 11, 2006 at 11:31 pm

most of malaysia's ads are.. kinda dumb..

a lot of foreigners and my cousins from abroad say that our ads are kinda like questioning our intelligence.. don't you think so? not all la.. there are a few exceptions like the ones where grannys in an old folks home talking about their sons achievements.. ads like those were good.. thought provoking ads..

ads like phony voice actors blatantly jsut reading fom the script.. that's what i don't like.. anyone disagree?

this ad's really good.. haha.. ain't surprised it won best ad.. :P

• ingolstadt (Member) on Mar 12, 2006 at 5:34 am

Utterly, too cool. I cant really understand why ingenuity, creativity of these people are sooooooooo breathtaking. Excellent Ad.

Malaysia's Ad? speaking of the worst Ad in M'sia, i'd compare between products, e.g. A local Kopi Ad cant really be too cool right? But how bout some Ad for cars? I would say the worst worst worst Ads are those of Hyundais…. dunno which stupid company thei appoint as agent… blatantly idiotic.

Radio Ad of Hyundai Sonata :" Look, is that a Benz? No.. Is that a Jaguar? No… Its the new Hyundai Sonata." …… "Sonata, bringing you , where you want to be."

• mystvearn (Member) on Mar 12, 2006 at 5:51 am

I like the commercial, though first look, there is nothing new like the Golf. More like there is nothing new in porche

• cbljkkj (Member) on Mar 12, 2006 at 7:04 am

This is an example of an advertisement that has a hidden subliminal message. I like the fact that they have actually put some thought into this portion of the advertisement.

• fusuke9 (Member) on Mar 12, 2006 at 9:51 am

That guy thats making those move is Mr. David Elsewhere, that dude is something la, moves like boneless, have anyone seen the kollaboration video thats been passed around the internet, Boneless?, that the same dude, his trade mark moves are the robotic movement and that moving statue move, damn that guy is good. Bravo dude, thats talents. Love the add la. Thanks Paul!!

• afhstingray (Member) on Mar 13, 2006 at 12:59 am

they were playing this ad here in the UK in cinemas. not too sure about tv though, as i rarely watch hehe

• catborg (Member) on Mar 13, 2006 at 2:23 am

if VW = BMW = whoooaa.. great2 clap2 .. clap2 ..

if bla bla bla.. oh! oso great…

anyway.. notning speacial for me.. kinda boring with dance maybe..

just look normal in my eye.. just me.. :)

• izudeen (Member) on Mar 13, 2006 at 2:44 am

i fail to see what so 'interesting' this ad is..

maybe it has subtle or subliminal message but it fail to catch my attention…

• rexis (Member) on Mar 13, 2006 at 6:16 pm

Anyone still remember the honda accord ads? This is one of the best ads i ever seen…

http://www.steelcitysfinest.com/HondaAccordAd.htm

• holy_cow (Member) on Mar 13, 2006 at 11:12 pm

Paul, just to be a pedantic schmuck once again, couple of mistakes in your post:

Gene Kelly is the actor in Singin' In The Rain, his character is Don Lockwood. Also, the music in Singin' In The Rain is not by Sinatra – it was sung by Gene Kelly himself.

Anyway, that's an effin' brilliant ad. One of my faves. Helps that it's for the Golf GTI, of course. ;-)

• chuamike (Member) on Mar 13, 2006 at 11:36 pm

Super cool :)

• tokmoh (Member) on Mar 16, 2006 at 9:31 pm

Nice one, but I’ve seen a Honda Accord ad which took like 500++ shots to do, it’s the one which all parts were “dancing” until it finally reach the end. I was silenced by the ad for awhile, I wonder if anyone have the link to that ad, it was the Europe’s Accord, I remember.