The end of the BMW E-code

When you’re at a table with a few car enthusiasts, you’d hear them flinging around words like W211, E36, GC8, E90, EK, EG, SV4, H22A and 4G93 as if it were some alien language code. Some of those are car model numbers, and some are engine models. No self-respecting car enthusiast refers to car models by their years, they use the chassis codes. BMW has been using the E-code for their cars. The timeless 5-series is the E39. The hot make-you-wet-your-undergarments 3-series before the current Bangle-fied one is the E46, while the latest Bangle-fied 3-series is the E90, with the station wagon being the E91 and the soon to be released coupe being the E92. I’ve also blogged about the timeless E30 (picture above).

The E in the E-code stands for Entwicklung, which means evolution or development in German. Motor Trend reports that BMW will be dropping the E-code and using a new F-code as the E-code is already nearing it’s limits in terms of numbers since it’s reached 90 already with the latest 3-series. The 2009 BMW 7-series will be called the F01 and the L long wheelbase version (750iL?) will be called the F02. The next 5-series will be known as the F10. Note that facelifts do not entitle a new chassis code as it is essentially the same platform with a facelift.

Some BMW cars with their model numbers after the jump…

emodel_e36.jpg
E36 BMW 3-series

emodel_e46.jpg
E46 BMW 3-series

emodel_e90.jpg
E90 BMW 3-series

emodel_e34.jpg
E34 BMW 5-series

emodel_e39.jpg
E39 BMW 5-series

emodel_e60.jpg
E60 BMW 5-series

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• raptorclans (Member) on Mar 15, 2006 at 11:54 pm

whoa… then BMWs would be using F-codes… they have a cool sound tho :P

• suanie (Member) on Mar 16, 2006 at 12:00 am

first paragraph = my social situation

• FireAngel (Member) on Mar 16, 2006 at 12:06 am

OW(#&$)(Q@#$ NUMBERS NUMBERS NUMBERS.

DONT MAKE ME SHOVE MY CALCULATOR UP YOUR ARSES.

• kimberlycun (Member) on Mar 16, 2006 at 12:07 am

a rose by any other name still smells as sweet @@

• auyongtc (Member) on Mar 16, 2006 at 12:14 am

E = Entwicklung

F = fcuk ?

• pycazu (Member) on Mar 16, 2006 at 1:32 am

These are what i'm confused with… so many E related. These are good come with photos…

• lomotus (Member) on Mar 16, 2006 at 1:33 am

Paul….

Any idea why they jump from E46 to E90?

Why not E56?

• laser_ampang (Member) on Mar 16, 2006 at 4:18 am

After all the Es…. i still think E30 has the best design..

Very distinguished…

• laser_ampang (Member) on Mar 16, 2006 at 4:20 am

E36 pun very nice jugak… ( can i vote for two cars? :p )

• neurra (Member) on Mar 16, 2006 at 4:27 am

sounds like Ferrari's car line.

• aksMs (Member) on Mar 16, 2006 at 6:04 am

Among all, I love the look of the E30. Agree with you laser_ampang. It never looks old to me. Very distinguished indeed…. But the E46 looks good too. Even if they ask me to choose one, I will take both. No matter what. Can I?

• shaif (Member) on Mar 16, 2006 at 4:08 pm

E39,007 cars is it. Still look stunning after all this year. Dunno how much in the 2nd hand market. Any idea?

• chuamike (Member) on Mar 16, 2006 at 8:13 pm

Pretty confusing for a layman like myself ;p

• vague (Member) on Mar 17, 2006 at 6:28 am

shaif… E39 is priced around the new civic 1.8..

however, there are ppl claiming it has lots of problem. dunno??

as for E30 and E36, no worries about the spare parts.. melambak. :)

• aksMs (Member) on Mar 17, 2006 at 6:50 am

E30 is quite cheap nowadays. Can get it around RM10k to RM20k+. Vague, the spare parts could be melambak. But how bout the prices? I know some people opt to convert them to a Nissan! More power and cheaper maintainence?

• Paul Tan on Mar 18, 2006 at 4:30 am

I saw RM17,000 for a 1984 E30 with bodykit, 2.7 liter big torque BMW engine.

• superman (Member) on Mar 21, 2006 at 6:06 pm

Paul TAn said

The hot make-you-wet-your-undergarments 3-series before the current Bangle-fied one is the E46, while the latest Bangle-fied 3-series is the E90, with the station wagon being the E91 and the soon to be released coupe being the E92.

Paul the E46 was introduced in "98 with some Chris Bangle influence. Not fully but he was already Design Chief then.