When you’re at a table with a few car enthusiasts, you’d hear them flinging around words like W211, E36, GC8, E90, EK, EG, SV4, H22A and 4G93 as if it were some alien language code. Some of those are car model numbers, and some are engine models. No self-respecting car enthusiast refers to car models by their years, they use the chassis codes. BMW has been using the E-code for their cars. The timeless 5-series is the E39. The hot make-you-wet-your-undergarments 3-series before the current Bangle-fied one is the E46, while the latest Bangle-fied 3-series is the E90, with the station wagon being the E91 and the soon to be released coupe being the E92. I’ve also blogged about the timeless E30 (picture above).

The E in the E-code stands for Entwicklung, which means evolution or development in German. Motor Trend reports that BMW will be dropping the E-code and using a new F-code as the E-code is already nearing it’s limits in terms of numbers since it’s reached 90 already with the latest 3-series. The 2009 BMW 7-series will be called the F01 and the L long wheelbase version (750iL?) will be called the F02. The next 5-series will be known as the F10. Note that facelifts do not entitle a new chassis code as it is essentially the same platform with a facelift.

Some BMW cars with their model numbers after the jump…

E36 BMW 3-series

E46 BMW 3-series

E90 BMW 3-series

E34 BMW 5-series

E39 BMW 5-series

E60 BMW 5-series