BMW and Jaguar Scaredy Cat Advertisement

bmw-jaguar-ad.jpg

Another bit of fun with advertising, this is one of BMW’s ads in Spain. Putting a play on the phrase “scaredy cat”, it shows the trademark Jaguar hood ornament running away in fear from a BMW in a face-off.

Cheeky Audi Advertisement
BMW and Audi Ad Tussle

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• darkwizard (Member) on Jan 01, 2007 at 3:37 am

Can do like that one kah…damaged Jaguar brand. Other place they don't allows people to damaged other product names.

Just like last time Savvy commercial…they cannot say directly against Perodua. So they use a cleanner quote " Luckily my son didn't buy the other one"

• darkwizard (Member) on Jan 01, 2007 at 3:43 am

http://static.paultan.org/trm_newspaper_ad.jpg

• cyborgx (Member) on Jan 01, 2007 at 4:04 am

ahaha.. love these ad and pls dont spoil the mood by putting Proton's link. >_

• e-nabilll (Member) on Jan 01, 2007 at 6:12 am

can subtitude the bmw to protons open jaw thundercat…and the jaguar to a escaping perdua!

• pekan (Member) on Jan 01, 2007 at 6:32 am

Guys, referring to "BMW and Audi Ad Tussle" article, apparrently Subaru and Bentley to have something to say too.

Check these out

http://i15.photobucket.com/albums/a360/4JB1T/audi… http://i15.photobucket.com/albums/a360/4JB1T/bmw…. http://i15.photobucket.com/albums/a360/4JB1T/suba… http://i15.photobucket.com/albums/a360/4JB1T/bent…

HAPPY NEW YEAR EVERYBODY..!

:-)

• pekan (Member) on Jan 01, 2007 at 6:36 am

guys, referring to "BMW and Audi Ad Tussle", apparently Subaru and Bently have something to say too.

check these out.

http://i15.photobucket.com/albums/a360/4JB1T/audi… http://i15.photobucket.com/albums/a360/4JB1T/bmw…. http://i15.photobucket.com/albums/a360/4JB1T/suba… http://i15.photobucket.com/albums/a360/4JB1T/bent…

HAPPY NEW YEAR EVERYBODY..!

• albagmane (Member) on Jan 01, 2007 at 6:43 am

run jaguar run!!! haha… but im looking forward for the next move in jaguar's ad against bmw… last time bmw oso play ad against audi ya? haha! this is fun and interesting…

• pekan (Member) on Jan 01, 2007 at 6:55 am

sorry for sending the reply so many times. i thought the message didn't get through..

sorry..

• wingz (Member) on Jan 01, 2007 at 7:02 am

happy new year!!!

• aesthari (Member) on Jan 01, 2007 at 9:38 am

LOL. hilarious, the jaguar is running away from the BMW's monstrous nostrils

• aliBaPa (Member) on Jan 01, 2007 at 3:25 pm

the bmw is look like a dragon, lion, alien or predator.

• transformer (Member) on Jan 02, 2007 at 2:46 am

SO GARANG !!!

• transformer (Member) on Jan 02, 2007 at 5:36 am

don't know how would it look likes if the '07 Subaru Impreza STI face to face with the above BMW 5… Which one looks more MEANER ???

Any photoshop expert out there ?????

Where is that "Teophylisis" man went ????? (Sorry if i spelt wrong..)

( that CGI expert creating Savvy Sedan & etc…. any news ? )

• Goniothalamus (Member) on Jan 02, 2007 at 10:10 am

Hehe.. if we look it out with another perspective, it will look alike:

1. The jaguar is ready to kick out of it dung's to the face of BMW (Besi Mahal Weiii!)

2. Crash test, which one is tougher? Can u guess?

3. It's just of pic of face(butt) to face parking..

4. Jaguar's face is like an old man while the M5 is like a man with anger.

A ironic human simulation.

5. Run!run! The big nostrils is coming! Disguisting..

p/s: Sorry BMW's fan, i'm not Jaguar's fan. i'm not driving the both cars… :-) Just to neutralize, just for fun.

• layman (Member) on Jan 02, 2007 at 9:04 pm

BMW's design is a decade ahead of the competition. But put up a ads like this is a bit not gentleman.

• honda_driver (Member) on Jan 03, 2007 at 4:51 pm

ads like these are common overseas. in the 80's and 90's, there were a ton of ads from both pepsi and coke attacking each other at the throat that are now considered as "classic advertising".

• motorhead (Member) on Jan 03, 2007 at 7:16 pm

not so funny… Jaguar, go ahead u can sue BMW….

• honda_driver (Member) on Jan 04, 2007 at 12:33 am

no they can't. if they could, they would all be suing each other left right and centre bye now. besides, its been done for decades in advertising.. just can't happen here, thats all.

• drebar (Member) on Jan 04, 2007 at 12:44 am

lol…when i saw savvy, i go like "shit…should have dump all my savings into Myvi earlier.."

• LF (Member) on Jan 04, 2007 at 6:28 pm

Hmm.. I seriously think BMW is right in showing this ad. The jaguar was trying to run away for the miserable look of new BMWs, especially the 5 series. As quoted from TopGear – "BMW 5 too ugly".

• raptorclans (Member) on Jan 07, 2007 at 8:49 pm

err… wat's wif the bentley link? ;p

• Ricc (Member) on Jan 08, 2007 at 5:42 pm

Quoted

raptorclans said,

January 7, 2007 @ 12:49 pm

err… wat’s wif the bentley link? ;p

Means, F**K TO ALL THE OTHER BRANDS… lol…

• raptorclans (Member) on Jan 08, 2007 at 5:58 pm

hahahaha… LOL!

• jazz1011 (Member) on Mar 22, 2007 at 6:19 am

Full praises for the ad agency that came up with this idea.

I simply loved it.

A simple ad though – but one which packs a lot of punch in it.

Cheers!

• Supergirl (Member) on Mar 22, 2007 at 10:52 pm

I do not think any of these so called advertisements where issued by the OEMs themselves. Please proof me wrong by posting links to legitimate pages (e.g. reference to where the ads appeared IN PRINT – magazines, newspapers etc. – and the dates the copies ran). Reference to personal web space like photobucket or something vague ''in Spain" is meaningless and alludes to urban legend. Any person with basic Photoshop skills can create the referenced ads. That does not make it 'real', just fun and entertaining.

• shawn on Aug 29, 2009 at 5:49 pm

I personaly think Jaguar has a meaner look to it the leaping cat with its mouth open ready to bite. I think Jaguar is far surperior to BMW its looks are timeless elegants!!! its a moving peice of art work like a bentley Yes BMW may have the performance but Jaguar has the style down to a t. I have driven Jaguars all my life and Bentley too and trust me the jag is the closest thing to a Bentley as you can get true craftsmanship.

Ps Bentley wins it all I love the guy fliping everyone off. Take that BMW