MINI GP versus remote controlled car

minigppic.jpg

Here’s something for those who don’t have any plans tonight and are spending time surfing the internet. Fifth Gear recently held a pretty pointless shootout between a MINI GP and a remote controlled car. That’s 218 horsepower versus 1.5 horsepower, but of course you have to consider the remote controlled car is practically weightless and it’s motor performs at peak torque all the time without being hampered by gearing.

Enjoy the video after the jump.

Video: MINI GP versus remote controlled car

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• jasonlow (Member) on Jan 01, 2007 at 8:08 am

Tat RC car really trashed tat GP Mini!!! i like the way how she went over tat cute little RC car… i hope i can get the chance to get my hands on both the cars… hehe…

• AmiR (Member) on Jan 01, 2007 at 9:05 am

Dat RCcar can even beat Aston Martin la cause its small n damn quick….. its all proven in physics….inertia….huhu….n dat RCcar in malaysia cost aroun RM1500-2000….

• aesthari (Member) on Jan 01, 2007 at 10:01 am

Awww, what a sore loser, poor RC.

• sureshn (Member) on Jan 01, 2007 at 6:09 pm

hey, i had a similar race here, my 69 moke vs rc. a few years back. but the rc went into the drain, apparently due to radio/hp interference! got great pics tho!

• keithtsy (Member) on Jan 01, 2007 at 11:08 pm

haha!!! The mini lost… But i still think it's a good car…. Hey!! she's gonna pay for the RC right??…..right??

• transformer (Member) on Jan 02, 2007 at 2:58 am

Gosh!!! better don't make her angry! beware with women!

• renyeo (Member) on Jan 02, 2007 at 3:41 am

I wanna to learn to drive like the lady in the MINI :D

• claxxion (Member) on Jan 02, 2007 at 6:13 am

Haha.. Sore loser.. I like that RC more than the mini actually..

• DonovanLTS (Member) on Jan 02, 2007 at 7:24 am

ceh! practically i WANT the mini rather than the RC! btw that's a really good lady driver!

• Goniothalamus (Member) on Jan 02, 2007 at 10:43 am

Em…

it's not about the machines..

It's about a nonsense boy and a big mouth lady.

WOMEN CAN"T ACCEPT HER WEAKNESS.

• cbljkkj (Member) on Jan 02, 2007 at 11:53 am

Fifth Gear used to be at least "watchable". Now its just degraded to useless screening of tests that show topics of no importance. The recent season was a complete disaster (don't bother watching, you would get a more pleasant experience skewering your eyes out with a pitchfork)

I pray for January 28th when Top Gear finally returns to television sets all around the world. Ahh Top Gear, total bliss.

• Deodorant (Member) on Jan 02, 2007 at 6:21 pm

Meh fifth gear is rubbish. None of the presenters are particularly good. Compared even to James May, Tom Ford is about as likeable as a blister on your backside (and we haven't even added the JC/Hamster combo into the picture).

Then there's the stunts they pull. Whereas Top Gear sets the world record for number of times they can flip a car over, Fifth Gear does the tyre-scorching, mightily impressve feat of how fast & far you can go in an MPV fully-laden with old people.

Yawn.

• azhargoth (Member) on Jan 02, 2007 at 10:31 pm

The rc car (hotbodies) was driven by Andy Moore from GB, newly crowned Ifmar 2006 ISTC world champion..

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jan 03, 2007 at 2:26 am

yup…i agree…top gear still better to watch than a fifth gear..but wut is interesting abt fifth gear is…every show they will give car like lancer evo,grande punto,ar brera etc…jz answer a simple quest to grab dat car every week…crazyla dis british…

• BobMarley (Member) on Jan 04, 2007 at 5:39 am

The RC's power to weight ratio is rediculous! The mini would need like 600hp to have the same power to weight ratio as the RC

• hameed koyakuti (Member) on Jan 04, 2007 at 4:46 pm

"…really good lady driver"…..believe me, with the screetching sound around the corners, thats the sound of wasted horsepower and torque and will make your laptime slower………furthermore, she's driving with one hand, thats explained why she lost…….

• It's me! (Member) on Jan 07, 2007 at 10:06 am

halor….,u all really don't know what's the driver is that lady.do you know how tight is the corner?Did you all see properly?I think that lady drives better than a lot of 'kononnya hebat' guys!Not to bang guys man,but respect people with skills and she got Honda S200,you all got err…Proton?You all also need to know that what Paul Tan posted is not ridiculuos.Tv Channels…just like CNN and BBC,they got their own attractions and viewers…Just my 2 cents,don't bang people before thinking,don't syok sendiri!

• topgunthang (Member) on Jan 07, 2007 at 10:35 am

fifth gear is just trying to catch up with top gear…since nowdays top gear is in at least 6th, 7th gear or maybe 8th gear in the new benz….hehehe

anyway….i think the reason why its not that good to watch is that they dont have the humour or passion like the top gear presenters. the video editing on fifth gear is also ages behind top gear. sound effects and music on top gear also compliments the scenes and cars alot better.

another reason i think is coz top gear presenters like to think themselves as lousy drivers (even though they are semi pro or professionals) while fifth gear is more like the presenters trying to show off how good thier driving skills are rather than trying to relate to us normal people the joy and feeling of driving good cars (which abilities greatly exceed our skill) is like.

in short it comes down to the presenters and thier skills in presenting rather than driving that count. fifth gear is like 3 stiggies hosting top gear. it just doesnt work.

and oh….mini versus an rc….its just boring to watch…and they couldnt save it using humour. i usually just skip to the car reviews for fifth gear and look at the cars.