BMW 635d in the works

bmw-6-450.jpg

I remember some time in the past, a group of friends and I were discussing about BMW and it’s turbodiesel technology. We were saying that while BMW has put alot of work into turbodiesels, it still would not have treated diesel technology at the same par as petrol engines until they put a turbodiesel into the Z4 and the 6-series.

Well, if insider news are to be taken seriously, then turbodiesel is now half-way there in BMW’s eyes. Together with the upcoming imminent facelift of the BMW 6-series, BMW is said to be launching a new variant to complement the existing 630i, 650i and M6 – a BMW 635d with the same award winning 3.0 litre twin turbocharged straight-six turbodiesel engine which made it’s world debut in the BMW 535d. With 272hp at 4,000rpm and 560Nm of torque from as low as 2,000rpm under the 535d’s hood, it pushes the mid-sized luxury sedan from 0-100km/h in 6.5 seconds, so expect similar performance statistics for the BMW 635d.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• jtshin (Member) on Feb 23, 2007 at 2:02 am

max torque with max hp at low rpm… twin turbo, good power, low emission, not like squids, quiet engine… good…

• protonGL (Member) on Feb 23, 2007 at 2:15 am

malaysian should wake up diesel no longer for taxi-man or lory-sayur,

out there ,there are gdi, fsi, tfsi,…lean burning diesel,

what more? 8 0r 9 sen per km, ..still want to pay almost 20sen per km with petrol, …?

• 8918 (Member) on Feb 23, 2007 at 2:22 am

Malaysia diesel is still not up to standard!Even CDI from Mercs still produce black smoke whenever they push down the pedal in a sudden.Unless you're telling me the CDI is not good rather than our diesel.

• protonGL (Member) on Feb 23, 2007 at 2:37 am

i mean the policy maker shoud look at this matter, helping to popularize diesel private use

• protonGL (Member) on Feb 23, 2007 at 4:32 am

8918 ,

well diesel at sudden rich mixture might smoke a bit, i guess, nothing wrong with cdi

interestingly, modern direct injection diesel engine couple with low sulfur diesel quality (if the gov want and we bare this little cost, or shouldnt we) is less hazardous and lesser smoke due to the particulate filter equiepted only if low sulphur diesel fuel is used,

less hazardous because burn less litre per km, more with lean burning diesel,

black smoke no longer, with paticulate filter in,

less stink with low sulphur diesel,(if there is one)

i my self opt to diesel, i belive if the gov go for low sulphur, midsize diesel is a choise rather then the small kancil,

• aesthari (Member) on Feb 23, 2007 at 8:32 am

I have no objection with diesels; been driving diesels since i got my license. Love em for all the torque and low speed goodness! I'd choose a diesel variant of any car over the petrol versions anytime.

• hameed koyakuti (Member) on Feb 23, 2007 at 5:10 pm

petrol or diesel, its still a fossil based source, ie depleting everyday. What we need is a new source, palm oil, vege, water etc. something which can reproduce in a short while.

• 8918 (Member) on Feb 23, 2007 at 6:08 pm

Well i think petrol/diesel is a monopolize industry,they decide for the consumer and not vice versa.If they improve the diesel quality,i guess many will lost their job(m'sia home grown petronas).We often came across newly developed petrol grade(primax3,shell previously blue power,techron)but not on diesel.

Just doesn't feel nice to have black smoke if you were to spend 200k-300k for a cdi…

No obligation….ProtonGL you're right.

• BrakeFader (Member) on Feb 23, 2007 at 7:56 pm

Even with these new high performing and greener/cost effective diesel engines, our diesel supply isn't up to standard. I heard that is the reason why the local distributors are not too keen to bring in the new diesel engines. In Malaysia, our diesel sulfure content is too high and not suitable for these new green diesel engines. In the long run, the local distributors are not willing to take the risk of selling something that isn't compatible to run with our high sulfure diesel.

If what was reported earlier that the government is serious in raising the quality standard at the pumps, we might have some hope to see these engines coming in.

Just keep our fingers crossed that the tax and fuel prices would not increase, rendering the possible diesel fuel savings useless.