Perodua D18D Teaser: Headlamps

[ UPDATE: The Perodua Viva has been launched! Click here for full details on specifications and pricing, as well as many clear photos of both exterior and interior! ]

Perodua Viva HeadlampThose who signed up for the Perodua D18D (Perodua Viva)’s Looking For Love web teaser should have received an email by now with a teaser image of it’s headlamps. From what I can see, although the Perodua Viva is based on the a previous generation Daihatsu Mira, Perodua has facelifted it’s styling to mirror the latest model Daihatsu Mira recently launched in Japan.

I personally got Glittering Silver as my colour, though in reality for a car like the Viva I’d prefer a more fun colour. What colour did you get?

Kancil Mira Viva headlamp comparison

Perodua Viva Photos on Forum
Perodua Viva to be unveiled mid-2007
New Daihatsu Mira launched in Japan
Kancil Replacement Model (Perodua Viva) sighted in Mines
Kancil Replacement Model (Perodua Viva) spotted!
Kancil and Kelisa Replacements in first half 2007 (Perodua Viva)
Upcoming Perodua Kelisa replacement?
Could this be a Kancil Replacement Model?
New Perodua Kancil / Kelisa coming down our alley?

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• AI-generated Summary ✨

The comments mainly discuss perceptions and opinions about the Perodua D18D teaser, focusing on its headlamp design, which many recognize as heavily influenced by Daihatsu Mira, given that the model is rebadged. There are mixed sentiments about the car's originality, design, and value, with some critics dismissing it as unoriginal or overpriced compared to competitors like Myvi and Waja. Others praise Perodua's strategic rebadging for cost efficiency and global practice but criticize the quality and safety features, citing concerns over structural strength and crash safety ratings. Additionally, some express skepticism towards the company's claim of development and design effort, viewing it as merely a facelift or rehash, while others highlight market realities such as pricing, parts availability, and consumer choice. Overall, the tone ranges from critical to humorous, emphasizing skepticism about originality, safety, and value.

• kei9 (Member) on May 04, 2007 at 10:32 pm

donno……..any colour suit my taste except solid ones…..

• DtG (Member) on May 04, 2007 at 10:38 pm

i got gliterring silver 660 but didnt get the teaser pic… anw, that means the actual car might not look exactly the same as the ones in the spyshots right?

• kei9 (Member) on May 04, 2007 at 10:43 pm

maybe……

• azrai (Member) on May 04, 2007 at 10:50 pm

The one in the spyshot surely the production model. I think they will introduced 'viva' colour like picanto used to.But what is 'love' connecting to this car anyway?The front of this car really look like mini Myvi.I think Perodua is wrong in pricing this Viva due to Saga price right now.

• kaiza (Member) on May 04, 2007 at 10:53 pm

wonder how soft the body would be? saw on NST last sunday, 3 myvi passengers died in a myvi-wira-truck collision. wira passengers omly suffers injuries but i look twice to recognize the the myvi after the accident. so much for the ABS & airbags if they only save your head & your car's tyres.

• kei9 (Member) on May 04, 2007 at 10:56 pm

ALL GOING TO BE REVEALED ON….U KNOW WHEN…..

• kei9 (Member) on May 04, 2007 at 11:08 pm

but anyway…the showroom is going to be packed with curious peoples…..

• eezarm (Member) on May 04, 2007 at 11:08 pm

also got glittering silver colour from the test.

i think most of us got the same result.

so, does it mean that this model comes with one colour only?

hehehe…

• e-nabilll (Member) on May 04, 2007 at 11:12 pm

this atomic facelift will be called " completly new model by perodua engineers' crap….!

its like looking at a car from a lame cartoon show….

• dcwhz83 (Member) on May 04, 2007 at 11:22 pm

i got red colour… put more on performance, practicality and safety and u should get the red…

but havent got any additional emails yet..

• BrakeFader (Member) on May 04, 2007 at 11:35 pm

I max out all options, I get Glittering Silver 1000. Tweak some down, I get Glittering Silver 850. Minimise everything to cheap skate level and I get Glittering Silver 660. This is silly, how can you tell a person's colour preference by features? I was expecting the site to give a specific trim and price. I also got no pics from the email.

This is nothing but Perodua's way of data mining potential customer details. Sadly I would expect that they will be getting loads of fake numbers. hehe.

• proton.com (Member) on May 04, 2007 at 11:43 pm

People in Perodua didn't know anything, just know how to change the headlamp. Admit it!

• proton GL (Member) on May 04, 2007 at 11:54 pm

the best metallic color for cars,

1.silver

2.black.

thats all

• transformer (Member) on May 05, 2007 at 12:02 am

would buy a 2nd hand Waja over this!

Waja should be more safer than this little small tin…..

more space too… though FC little bit more… no bags, no ABS

but better stability and etc.

30K+ could get you a decent 2nd hand Waja!

wait another 3 months, after the new Vios and Latio launched then sure will dropped again!

• hameed koyakuti (Member) on May 05, 2007 at 12:04 am

Soft or no soft, people in a tank also die becoz of collision………..its God will maaaa………some more the crash test is done at a speed of 30~60km/h, hmmm…….what to expect………

But congrats to P2, for their marketing marvels in making another hot seller…..( not engineering geniuses coz they only rebadge……hv to give credit also……politician maaa……..)

• MyBoy (Member) on May 05, 2007 at 12:08 am

"kaiza said,

wonder how soft the body would be? saw on NST last sunday, 3 myvi passengers died in a myvi-wira-truck collision. wira passengers omly suffers injuries but i look twice to recognize the the myvi after the accident. so much for the ABS & airbags if they only save your head & your car’s tyres."

Thats because that Myvy was in the midle. Wira at the front and truck at the back. Even Merc would wreck in that situation.

• Infinitt (Member) on May 05, 2007 at 12:35 am

Still old n boring car brought n copied by Perodua..they should drop price more..

• LittleFire85 (Member) on May 05, 2007 at 12:41 am

Err… Looks a bit between the new and old mira… But at 30k or less you can get a secondhand Waja.. ya that right.. And +10k you can change your waja into turbo GSR waja.. The dash board from the Evo 4 match.. I seen one yesterday.. Damn fast.. but still not faster then wira.. Maybe wira is more lighter then waja..

• LittleFire85 (Member) on May 05, 2007 at 12:42 am

i mean wira that are modified to GSR turbo..

• tokmoh (Member) on May 05, 2007 at 12:45 am

Wah, so many get glitterin silver……….I oso got that color. 850 oni, they tink I tortoise or wat…….even then, 1000 oso will still feel like cockroach speed oni…..

Nvr in my life will I be atracted to this car company buildin cars wit no soul n flair.

• LittleFire85 (Member) on May 05, 2007 at 12:55 am

660cc manual rm28400-28,800

850cc manual rm32500-32,900

1000cc manual standard rm36,800-37200

1000cc auto standard rm39800-40200

1000cc manual premium with abs and airbag rm40800-41200

1000cc auto premium with abs and airbag rm43800-44200.

Wah lau eh.. Expensive leh.. might consider again.. the 1000cc premium and get a 1.3 myvi leh..

• tec96248 (Member) on May 05, 2007 at 1:46 am

#

e-nabilll said,

May 4, 2007 @ 3:12 pm

this atomic facelift will be called ” completly new model by perodua engineers’ crap….!

its like looking at a car from a lame cartoon show….

–you compared this photos with a cartoon show? which cartoon? Initial D?

#

proton.com said,

May 4, 2007 @ 3:43 pm

People in Perodua didn’t know anything, just know how to change the headlamp. Admit it!

–how did u know perodua's people don't know anything? u work with them? are u sure they just know how to change headlamps? really innocent.

• NoToLowQuality (Member) on May 05, 2007 at 2:08 am

"e-nabilll said"

"this atomic facelift will be called ” completly new model by perodua engineers’ crap….!

its like looking at a car from a lame cartoon show…."

hmm… could it be transformer cartoon? LOL

• milkysusu (Member) on May 05, 2007 at 3:09 am

" kaiza said,

wonder how soft the body would be? saw on NST last sunday, 3 myvi passengers died in a myvi-wira-truck collision. wira passengers omly suffers injuries but i look twice to recognize the the myvi after the accident. so much for the ABS & airbags if they only save your head & your car’s tyres. "

Really worried about the VIVA structural strength since MYVI is so soft and yet Airbag couldn't even help if the body is so soft. Now people only realize that the strong structural strength of the SAVVY can really help in securing your precious life.

• LittleFire85 (Member) on May 05, 2007 at 3:18 am

I just saw savvy accident on the penang bridge yesterday night.. kemek also..

Doesn't seen any car is save on the road except lorries.. lol! Anywayz savvy is 3 star izzit on crash test? Correct me if wrong..

• MyBoy (Member) on May 05, 2007 at 3:26 am

"LittleFire85 said,

I just saw savvy accident on the penang bridge yesterday night.. kemek also..

Doesn’t seen any car is save on the road except lorries.. lol! Anywayz savvy is 3 star izzit on crash test? Correct me if wrong.."

3 Stars equivalent (internal test only) according to P1.

• MyBoy (Member) on May 05, 2007 at 3:28 am

"milkysusu said,

Really worried about the VIVA structural strength since MYVI is so soft and yet Airbag couldn’t even help if the body is so soft. Now people only realize that the strong structural strength of the SAVVY can really help in securing your precious life."

Strong structural strength of the SAVVY can really help in securing your precious life?

Kidding me? :) :) :)

• the man (Member) on May 05, 2007 at 4:41 am

proton.com said

People in Perodua didn’t know anything, just know how to change the headlamp. Admit it!

———————————————————————–

hehehehehe….so arogant to admit anything from reality of bussiness…at least….they can sell..that's very important..must sell, make profit..huge one..so that shareholders happy…..what about proton?….yeah they can make their own car ( with some help from some friends of course like lotus, LG korea..etc)..but how much they can sell..? I heard they make huge profit …ops losses for the past FY…maybe around 550 million…heh.

• mits27 (Member) on May 05, 2007 at 4:48 am

not fun, why only show headlight…

• peYno (Member) on May 05, 2007 at 5:15 am

no wonder la Jeremy clarkson(tip gear) Hentam perodua kaw2… no Passion

prrrfthhh

• peYno (Member) on May 05, 2007 at 5:17 am

Infinitt said,

May 4, 2007 @ 4:35 pm

Still old n boring car brought n copied by Perodua..they should drop price more..

=====================

and they will make story again.. we sent 100 over engineer to Japan to work together w japs to develope this model ..dont play2

prrrfthhh

• peYno (Member) on May 05, 2007 at 5:19 am

this model sure suits lady taste

Myvi for old ladies

Viva for young ladies

• peYno (Member) on May 05, 2007 at 5:24 am

proton.com said,

May 4, 2007 @ 3:43 pm

==========================

everything provided by japanese maa.. without japs.. they die lor.. they know how to tigthen up the screw only … this is wat they and japanese wanabe fanboy call "PASSION"

prrrrfthhhh

• kei9 (Member) on May 05, 2007 at 5:50 am

not long after the launch guys will start modding their viva.hehehe

• cbljkkj (Member) on May 05, 2007 at 6:01 am

I find it funny how people can criticize Perodua for their “unoriginal” designs. Face the fact that at least 50% of Proton’s arsenal (if it could be called that) are replicas of Mitsubishi’s blueprints in terms of engines and chassis.

The Savvy’s engine was based on a Renault and it’s chassis was made entirely by Lotus, not Proton and the transmission was also from somewhere else. I’m not saying that Perodua is any better at their designs but anyone else criticizing Perodua and glorifies a Proton inadvertently would mean rendering their very own contradictions as a farce.

• MyBoy (Member) on May 05, 2007 at 6:09 am

"peYno said

and they will make story again.. we sent 100 over engineer to Japan to work together w japs to develope this model ..dont play2

prrrfthhh"

Developed this model? Thats what they called develop?

U tell them this: "develop my a$$"

• peYno (Member) on May 05, 2007 at 6:23 am

mits27 said,
    May 5, 2007 @ 4:48 am

========================
    becoz.. only the headlight designed by perodua..

prrrfthhh

• peYno (Member) on May 05, 2007 at 6:36 am

kei9 said,

May 4, 2007 @ 9:50 pm

not long after the launch guys will start modding their viva.hehehe

=================================

again.. ladylike car wannabe "garang look"

like ah soo wannabe punk look

prrrfthhh

• peYno (Member) on May 05, 2007 at 6:40 am

azrai said,

May 4, 2007 @ 2:50 pm

.I think Perodua is wrong in pricing this Viva due to Saga price right now.

=============================

Ppl oso comparing this car with current Kancil and kelisa….really overprice

• encik98 (Member) on May 05, 2007 at 6:44 am

MyBoy said,

U tell them this: “develop my a$$”

——————————————————————-

Funnily enough, the program that the 'engineers' were sent to participate in for development of the Myvi was called, "ASE"(Advanced Simultaneous Engineering)…so maybe it should be, "devlope my a$e"? Sorry, couldn't resist.

• peYno (Member) on May 05, 2007 at 6:54 am

funny think.. i hv read Japanese paper "Yomiuri Shinbun" the article about Passo/boon developement. project.. they didn't mention neither perodua nor Malaysia name…

• nizam80 (Member) on May 05, 2007 at 7:28 am

peYno said,

May 4, 2007 @ 9:15 pm

"no wonder la Jeremy clarkson(tip gear) Hentam perodua kaw2… no Passion

prrrfthhh"

peyno, i noticed that the slogan for the MYVI is: "IT'S A PASSION".

Makes me wanna 'muntah' and 'kentut' lah. I repeat after u: "PRRRRRFTHHH"

• kilo (Member) on May 05, 2007 at 7:44 am

who said a safe car must be as hard as a steel..what matters most in terms of passenger's safety in a crash is the impact absorption of a car..this car(esp the high end model) has one of the best safety features in its class plus another first in malaysia..foldable side-mirrors..

• joe203 (Member) on May 05, 2007 at 7:59 am

a kancil will always be a kancil. nothing less, nothing more. trust me. my first car was a kancil.

for 44K might as well get a myvi

• chery (Member) on May 05, 2007 at 5:41 pm

i got Glittering Silver as well………

• tec96248 (Member) on May 05, 2007 at 6:48 pm

#

nizam80 said,

May 4, 2007 @ 11:28 pm

peYno said,

May 4, 2007 @ 9:15 pm

“no wonder la Jeremy clarkson(tip gear) Hentam perodua kaw2… no Passion

prrrfthhh”

peyno, i noticed that the slogan for the MYVI is: “IT’S A PASSION”.

Makes me wanna ‘muntah’ and ‘kentut’ lah. I repeat after u: “PRRRRRFTHHH”

==JC critized on kelisa850 only. this car is a basic requirement car. can't compare with alfa romeo, or bigger cars.

#

peYno said,

May 4, 2007 @ 9:19 pm

this model sure suits lady taste

Myvi for old ladies

Viva for young ladies

==why only mentioned only for ladies? you have problem with ladies? are you having a mindset saying small cars are for ladies?? what about the rest of the guys driving it? maybe u have problems with cars.

#

encik98 said,

May 4, 2007 @ 10:44 pm

MyBoy said,

U tell them this: “develop my a$$”

——————————————————————-

Funnily enough, the program that the ‘engineers’ were sent to participate in for development of the Myvi was called, “ASE”(Advanced Simultaneous Engineering)…so maybe it should be, “devlope my a$e”? Sorry, couldn’t resist.

==why care so much about who developed the car. daily drivers basic requirement is to have a reliable car and less quality problem. is it japanese developed cars cost cheaper??

• tec96248 (Member) on May 05, 2007 at 6:56 pm

#

peYno said,

May 5, 2007 @ 6:23 am

mits27 said,

May 5, 2007 @ 4:48 am

========================

becoz.. only the headlight designed by perodua..

prrrfthhh

==i m wondering how did u know only the headlight designed by perodua just by looking at the attached photos. i guess u didn't know how to differentiate between thems or having shallow knowledge about cars.

• tec96248 (Member) on May 05, 2007 at 7:01 pm

wondering why so many unnecessary comments overhere. and also off course. can't see any suggestion on the car but only bashing. don't know whether why they wanna comment it blindly? puzzling about it.

• peYno (Member) on May 05, 2007 at 7:09 pm

tec96248 said,

May 5, 2007 @ 10:56 am

i m wondering how did u know only the headlight designed by perodua just by looking at the attached photos. i guess u didn’t know how to differentiate between thems or having shallow knowledge about cars.

========================

Hi tec96248

As u all know this viva is rebadge car..from Daihatsu Mira

and FYI i used to drive this original Mira in Japan..

i reckon my knowledge about this car is much2 better than u ( only get info from internet and hv no experience drive the car)

• MyBoy (Member) on May 05, 2007 at 7:10 pm

"tec96248 said,

wondering why so many unnecessary comments overhere. and also off course. can’t see any suggestion on the car but only bashing. don’t know whether why they wanna comment it blindly? puzzling about it."

Suggestion on the car? Its about to be launched next week, theres no point giving suggestion this late. BTW, are they ever ask for any suggestion from us (users) in the 1st palace? At best, they will implement what that you suggest today in 5 years time.

I can see no better thing to do (at this point) other than "educated" bashing. :)

• MyBoy (Member) on May 05, 2007 at 7:14 pm

"peYno said,

i reckon my knowledge about this car is much2 better than u ( only get info from internet and hv no experience drive the car)"

Thats quite interesting. Can you share with us your 1st hand experience? Pros n Cons (objectively without bias, please!). It may in a way help readers who still contemplating whether or not to place an order for Viva.

• tec96248 (Member) on May 05, 2007 at 7:21 pm

#

peYno said,

May 5, 2007 @ 11:09 am

tec96248 said,

May 5, 2007 @ 10:56 am

i m wondering how did u know only the headlight designed by perodua just by looking at the attached photos. i guess u didn’t know how to differentiate between thems or having shallow knowledge about cars.

========================

Hi tec96248

i reckon my knowledge about this car is much2 better than u ( only get info from internet and hv no experience drive the car)

==hmm… what mira chassis model number u had driven? what engine model was it? u drove it only in japan? u owned the car? what specification and technical part was it? oh boy, just don't think u r the only one have driven a car in japan. do u? by the way, headlamps change the bumper/grille also required to change to suit the finishing line. hmm…..am i rite?

• peYno (Member) on May 05, 2007 at 7:28 pm

oh dear.. i found my ShinBun Haitatsu company car picture..miss it so much..prrrfthhh

it was 3 doors car… most of japanese use it as company car

credit to savoc.net
    http://i33.photobucket.com/albums/d92/flyingsavvy…

• tec96248 (Member) on May 05, 2007 at 7:35 pm

#

MyBoy said,

May 5, 2007 @ 11:10 am

“tec96248 said,

wondering why so many unnecessary comments overhere. and also off course. can’t see any suggestion on the car but only bashing. don’t know whether why they wanna comment it blindly? puzzling about it.”

Suggestion on the car? Its about to be launched next week, theres no point giving suggestion this late. BTW, are they ever ask for any suggestion from us (users) in the 1st palace? At best, they will implement what that you suggest today in 5 years time.

I can see no better thing to do (at this point) other than “educated” bashing. :)

==i don't deny it. but is it necessary just bashing?? what about better stuffs for the readers overhere. comment on the car and hopefully got SE type like the myvi SE. eventhough it may not suit everyone. am i rite?

• peYno (Member) on May 05, 2007 at 7:41 pm

tec96248 said,

oh boy, just don’t think u r the only one have driven a car in japan. do u? by the way, headlamps change the bumper/grille also required to change to suit the finishing line. hmm…..am i rite?

==================

u might be rite.. i am not the only one hv driven the car.. but i believe those m'sian who were staying in Japan and hv experience drive thiscar might hv different view compared to malaysian who know everything about this car from internet..

simply overrated..

beside headlamp, bumper , perodua oso relocate the plate number that the only thing perodua can do and aprroved by Japanese Bosses

prrrfthhhhh

• peYno (Member) on May 05, 2007 at 7:47 pm

Dear tec96248

i talked alot about this car here.. no need to repeat again n agin

happy reading
    http://paultan.org/archives/2007/05/01/perodua-vi…

• tec96248 (Member) on May 05, 2007 at 8:03 pm

#

peYno said,

May 5, 2007 @ 11:41 am

tec96248 said,

oh boy, just don’t think u r the only one have driven a car in japan. do u? by the way, headlamps change the bumper/grille also required to change to suit the finishing line. hmm…..am i rite?

==================

u might be rite.. i am not the only one hv driven the car.. but i believe those m’sian who were staying in Japan and hv experience drive thiscar might hv different view compared to malaysian who know everything about this car from internet..

simply overrated..

beside headlamp, bumper , perodua oso relocate the plate number that the only thing perodua can do and aprroved by Japanese Bosses

prrrfthhhhh

==hahaha…lol, why prrrfthhhhh??? i didn't drive this car before when i was in japan. it wasn't launched yet at that time. my company car was toyota corolla. is not good to tease others who have never driven this car before, coz others who have driven a ferrari would have teased u the same way. oh boyboy don't be mad. hahaha.

#

peYno said,

May 5, 2007 @ 11:47 am

Dear tec96248

i talked alot about this car here.. no need to repeat again n agin

happy reading
    http://paultan.org/archives/2007/05/01/perodua-vi…

==why don't wanna repeat again and again since u have bashed and bashing nonstop. ……….lol.

• peYno (Member) on May 05, 2007 at 8:17 pm

Bashing from person who hv experienced own the car ( eventho as company car)…

Bashing from person who hv 6 years experienced stay in Japan (perodua car's country of origin)

Bashing from person who hv alot japanese friends, can read japenese car magazine and can share knowledge about Japs car.. esp. about japanese taste

This is what we called

"EDUCATED BASHING"

prrrfthhhhh

• tec96248 (Member) on May 05, 2007 at 8:25 pm

okok, keep up ur bashing. japanese or malaysian car spec? setting? japanese or malaysian climate? japanese or malaysian road? is it affected? what about japanese car spec in australian? europe? us? africa or even asia? u can keep ur japanese spec in japan. hahaha.

• peYno (Member) on May 05, 2007 at 8:58 pm

Moral of the story

Just a lesson for Malaysian japanese wannabe..

every thing from japan does not mean good

simply overrated perodua cars just becoz its come from Japan

• e-nabilll (Member) on May 05, 2007 at 9:37 pm

badge snobs…really badge snobs…very uneducated customers…ofcourse thy wil give all sort of excuses to justify the car n its high price…bt its so obvious for all to see….

• peYno (Member) on May 05, 2007 at 10:08 pm

e-nabilll said,

May 5, 2007 @ 1:37 pm

badge snobs…really badge snobs…very uneducated customers…ofcourse thy wil give all sort of excuses to justify the car n its high price…bt its so obvious for all to see….

===================

U r rite

malysian ppl not stupid.. we all know original price of mira in Japan… we all know perodua has no RnD cost to pay ( maybe just need to pay royalty to Japan).. and dvvt is nothing for Japanese..

don't say this car is high price becoz of DVVT…

• BW (Member) on May 05, 2007 at 10:18 pm

I like the white ones…

• tec96248 (Member) on May 05, 2007 at 10:58 pm

#

peYno said,

May 5, 2007 @ 2:08 pm

e-nabilll said,

May 5, 2007 @ 1:37 pm

===================

U r rite

malysian ppl not stupid.. we all know original price of mira in Japan… we all know perodua has no RnD cost to pay ( maybe just need to pay royalty to Japan).. and dvvt is nothing for Japanese..

don’t say this car is high price becoz of DVVT…

==why so much nonsense? whether is mira or viva, first thing is it reliable or not? if it is reliable and dependable for daily usage why talk about price. at least time and money can be saved from going to workshop so often. after all face the fact that almost every country have car protection. live with it.

• MyBoy (Member) on May 06, 2007 at 12:43 am

"tec96248 said,

==why so much nonsense? whether is mira or viva, first thing is it reliable or not? if it is reliable and dependable for daily usage why talk about price. at least time and money can be saved from going to workshop so often. after all face the fact that almost every country have car protection. live with it."

People in japan can get reliable car at a cheaper price even though labor cost in their country is damn high. As for the protection, its not as bad as BOLEH land.

• LittleFire85 (Member) on May 06, 2007 at 4:43 am

cbljkkj said,

The Savvy’s engine was based on a Renault and it’s chassis was made entirely by Lotus, not Proton and the transmission was also from somewhere else. I’m not saying that Perodua is any better at their designs but anyone else criticizing Perodua and glorifies a Proton inadvertently would mean rendering their very own contradictions as a farce.

—————————————————————

Wow… This is what i call rojak car laa… but 1 thing.. P1 savvy spare parts are damn Expensive! Even the plugs are not the same! So in long run, savvy is not a reliable car.. coz its spare part will be hard to find or very expensive!.. Just like the Tiara.. totally no value! P1 cars are expensive to P2, but when P2 car want to resale, the value is higher then P1 car's look at his Kelisa and Kenari, now still selling RM22-25K for 01'-03'.. this price is high compare to Saga resale value.. i think it just left RM15-18k.. At 01-03 Saga is over RM30k.. So rethink again..

• LittleFire85 (Member) on May 06, 2007 at 4:47 am

peYno said,

May 5, 2007 @ 11:28 am

oh dear.. i found my ShinBun Haitatsu company car picture..miss it so much..prrrfthhh

it was 3 doors car… most of japanese use it as company car

credit to savoc.net
    http://i33.photobucket.com/albums/d92/flyingsavvy…

————————————————————-

I think that mira is in waiting list to scrap already.. LOL!

• peYno (Member) on May 06, 2007 at 5:04 am

LittleFire85 said,

May 5, 2007 @ 8:47 pm

I think that mira is in waiting list to scrap already.. LOL!

========================

yeah.. in Japan it will be going to scrap..

but in malaysia it will be launched soon

funny rite

prrrfthhh

• peYno (Member) on May 06, 2007 at 5:11 am

LittleFire85 said,

May 5, 2007 @ 8:43 pm

Wow… This is what i call rojak car laa… but 1 thing.. P1 savvy spare parts are damn Expensive! Even the plugs are not the same! So in long run, savvy is not a reliable car.. coz its spare part will be hard to find or very expensive!.. Just like the Tiara.. totally no value! P1 cars are expensive to P2, but when P2 car want to resale, the value is higher then P1 car’s look at his Kelisa and Kenari, now still selling RM22-25K for 01′-03′.. this price is high compare to Saga resale value.. i think it just left RM15-18k.. At 01-03 Saga is over RM30k.. So rethink again..

=============================

savvy spare very expensive… i admit its quiet expensive when savvy just launched time… but now, savvay owner can source spare parts w reasonable price.. and the price going cheaper and cheaper..

i reckon "savvy spare parts so expensive" minded just come from hearsay, story from ur friends, ur aunties and ppl who never owned savvy.

Nowadays all used car price , no matter proton/perodua drop drastically

• tokmoh (Member) on May 06, 2007 at 6:12 am

Nvr hv I seen such mixed comments abt P2. Always majority say "gud job!! P2 boleh!! P2 roxx!! P1 suxxorz!!" This time around…..

I'm gonna start passing pop corn n keropok lekor!! Anyone want? Help urself!! :D

• LittleFire85 (Member) on May 06, 2007 at 7:33 am

Yup it drops, but you should calculate which depreciation which is much more.. you see the P1 Tiara.. now just left how much? I think new Tiara is almost 33K? Last time in the 99'.. Now only left Rm3500… Compare to Kancil 660' RM28k now still left RM13k, So which 1 drop most?

Anyway i just come back from the spare part shop.. They say the plug of all cars including savvy never drop prices.. Who say the plug is cheaper n cheaper? And one more, the secondhand spare part must be cheaper.. But does Japan market have that half-cut? All the savvy spare part must be new.. And new means more $$$..

The more cheaper cheaper spare part? I think is either fake or take other manufacture product.. If you totally buy it from P1 i think it will cost ur head off.. Luckily P1 savvy still got Warranty.. If no warranty i think their head will almost chop off already.. You tot i got no friend pandu savvy? He went into P1 service center each time nearly RM300 just change oil, filter and inspection.. U say chop or not head? Went to road side mechanic, RM150 with AC Delco 5-50 fully-systetic oil… That why a lot ppl don't want go to the blood sucking P1 service center.. Inside the center, almost 80% of the workers are newbies and a few are seniors.. So? Expensive got warranty, cheap save more..he also tell me that engine problem no warranty in P1 even you service annually.. WTF? Dont believe ask all car users here.. Even some insurance company don't pay for it..

• LittleFire85 (Member) on May 06, 2007 at 7:47 am

And one thing, not me say the spare part is expansive.. Is the spare part shop, you go and Marah the Nikko spare part shop at Prai penang laa.. his name is ah hui.. He told me that the savvy spare part mainly imported from europe, went by P1 dealer hands and then reach them.. Japan spare part they can reach to the dealer in Japan and order it.. Japan Yen is more cheaper then Europe, and the transportation is cheaper compare to Europe.. So if you think wisely which one spare part cheaper? You say when things are many spare part will be cheap.. Well compare to P2 myvi.. which sell the most? Even waja,Gen.2, satria spare part are cheaper then savvy.. Coz their engine bay, gear box can use mitsubishi spare part… And Half-cut shop are a lot of these spare parts… Savvy? Renault half-cut ?!? PeYno why not you find one for me in Japan with the same engine like savvy? When the numbers are small, you cant sell cheap.. this is the law of business..

• owaief (Member) on May 06, 2007 at 8:57 am

it is always funny to read comments ppl give on topics related to proton or perodua…..still rather buy a savvy for that money

• nizam80 (Member) on May 06, 2007 at 10:23 pm

After owning a Savvy for almost 2 years, i've thought of buying another Savvy. Driving the MYVI feels like S*%T after driving the Savvy. Ya, the parts a expensive compared to other makes, but to me personally i still think its within my budget. And i also agree that some people not only want reliability. Some people want RELIABILITY, PERFORMANCE, and SAFETY all in one package, and when it comes to PERFORMANCE, Perodua vehicles DON'T DELIVER. This is my personal opinion of Perodua: RELIABILITY? YES. SAFETY? DOUBTFUL.

Aiyohh, sorry out of topic lah! Leave Savvy out of this!

• silverfish (Member) on May 07, 2007 at 2:37 am

The commenting here stinks of hidden agendas. People who need to slam something to justify their preference for another. Laughable attempts really.

• jeanloo (Member) on May 07, 2007 at 9:55 am

Was eagerly waiting for this car to be launched. But I had place my order on a saga. For 44 k, definately the Myvi is a better buy. For 28 K on a 660? I have no regrets with my booking for 27 k saga, if compare to the 660.

• jeanloo (Member) on May 07, 2007 at 9:59 am

I know that the saga is an old model, but if anyone's budget to buy a 660 for moderate everyday use, the saga is a better choice i think. Maybe the 660 for office ladies to drive only to work daily can lar. My friend told me the saga is a turnoff for the chicks, but hey, I don't think the 660 is a babes magnet also right?

• tec96248 (Member) on May 07, 2007 at 9:45 pm

#

MyBoy said,

May 5, 2007 @ 4:43 pm

People in japan can get reliable car at a cheaper price even though labor cost in their country is damn high. As for the protection, its not as bad as BOLEH land.

==i don't deny that car price is cheaper in japan. but can u tell me what about those imported models? german, french, etc car price? cheaper than overhere? what about those criteria to own a car overthere such as carpark bay or price, roadtax, insurance and etc? of course their income is higher. but what is the price and requirement to keep an old car? 5 years to be scrap? i believe a certain reasons that their local is selling cheap. am i right?

• tec96248 (Member) on May 07, 2007 at 9:58 pm

#

nizam80 said,

May 6, 2007 @ 2:23 pm

After owning a Savvy for almost 2 years, i’ve thought of buying another Savvy. Driving the MYVI feels like S*%T after driving the Savvy. Ya, the parts a expensive compared to other makes, but to me personally i still think its within my budget. And i also agree that some people not only want reliability. Some people want RELIABILITY, PERFORMANCE, and SAFETY all in one package, and when it comes to PERFORMANCE, Perodua vehicles DON’T DELIVER. This is my personal opinion of Perodua: RELIABILITY? YES. SAFETY? DOUBTFUL.

Aiyohh, sorry out of topic lah! Leave Savvy out of this!

==quite agree with u, savvy is out of topic. anyway savvy is better in performance compared to myvi but what about this perodua new model? after all myvi is not a performance car. of course, lots of consumers expect lots from a car. how can they expect a normal car to be a performance car? you can't expect much safety when driving like hooligans, even from a mercedes. get a reliable car for daily usage is the best to ask for, i believe so. doesn't care much what brand or country it's from. right?

• tec96248 (Member) on May 07, 2007 at 10:05 pm

#

jeanloo said,

May 7, 2007 @ 1:59 am

I know that the saga is an old model, but if anyone’s budget to buy a 660 for moderate everyday use, the saga is a better choice i think. Maybe the 660 for office ladies to drive only to work daily can lar. My friend told me the saga is a turnoff for the chicks, but hey, I don’t think the 660 is a babes magnet also right?

==hahaha, have confidence on yourself. not on the car, my friend. right babes doesn't matter on ur car, and is nothing to do with it. you have to believe me.

• torishimeyakuin (Member) on May 08, 2007 at 8:28 am

#

peYno said,

May 5, 2007 @ 12:17 pm

Bashing from person who hv experienced own the car ( eventho as company car)…

Bashing from person who hv 6 years experienced stay in Japan (perodua car’s country of origin)

Bashing from person who hv alot japanese friends, can read japenese car magazine and can share knowledge about Japs car.. esp. about japanese taste

This is what we called

“EDUCATED BASHING”

prrrfthhhhh

============================================

Heh this pity boy think he's the only one could rule and bang P2 Viva vehemently with the 'Japan-experienced credential' he had. Heh ahoka..iikagenseiyou omei honmani..

You might did honorable job should yourself criticize P2 positively but the way you bang and bash P2 all the way with your 'syok sendiri' style only reveal the credulous side of you and never sounds to me such as so-called “EDUCATED BASHING”.

Perhaps you may possess such a mountain-high knowledge pertaining car's design, technical aspect, headlamps, RnD and price but i am damn bloody sure that you know nothing but shite about the total automotive industry generally and its business particularly. Otherwise you won't always cry with that all same sounds.

Yup i agree that this coming Pro2 model is not that blessed in terms of design but hey boy who cares as long as it can sells and leastwise it meets with Toyota Quality Control which is globally renowned. You always bark noisily that Pro2 lineup models including this coming Viva are Daihatsu re-badged. So what ? I don't give a shite..Pro2 don't give a shite..Daihatsu don't give a shite and after all the majority of Malaysian and Japanese don't give a damn shite about that. The well-known fact is DMC owns 51% in Pro2 manufacturing arm (this of course included the RnD & styling etc) and TMC on the other hand owns 51% in DMC Japan. So please academically explain what the heck on earth should PERODUA waste the billions of bloody dime and time on developing a different model from scratch whereas they could save that billions and invest it on other significant elements like human capital development, pay the shareholder with handsome dividend, pay the employees with windfall bonuses and the government with great cash. So what do you expect ? Pro2 to produce their own engine, transmission and engine even though they might still not have sufficient technical & technology expertise on that ? Heh boy..boy..face the rationality and embrace the reality.

If you know the automotive industry really well you won't only bash Pro2 violently for doing this re-badging job. The fact that this 'thing' is already widely practiced globally among car manufacturers. How are you going to explain about Suzuki and GM, Renault and Nissan, Ssang Yong and Merc, Audi and Volkswagen, Ford and Mazda, Toyota and Daihatsu (Passo=Boon, Bb=Coo, Camry=Altis, DYna=Hijet, Rush=Beego etc). I reckon one difference is that they might be more developed and advance in terms of design and styling which on some models they change a bit but the rest 100% equivalent except the emblem.

So how are you going to say about this ? Waiting for your cockily so-called "Educated Explanation"

Welcome to the GLOBALIZATION boy..face it and admit it.

Well If you don't like Malaysian made Pro2 cars..fine. It's your right and kindly don't ever buy'em. Here in Japan, if people don't like any product, just leave it and go for another. That's it. By then, corporations or manufacturers will be kicked on their arse and conduct necessary measures. You don't have to bark and shout say nasty needless thing to the shirts or shoes you ain't buy..so that law applies here too. However in spite of great bashing from you, just want to let you know that Pro2 now is making bloody great cashflow and the one of biggest contributor to the profit and revenues of DMC Japan and UMW Holdings. That's reflect all…………..

P/s: Even Japanese and English like Pro2 design better than original Daihatsu made but when back in Malaysia, it's the bloody own people that always throw baseless and credulous says toward the nation's car manufacturers even some are acceptable and agreeable, most are rubbish and junk. How weird !

Let rationality leads your bloody mind instead of emotionality.

Wakaruka…mada rikaidekinakattara, motto benkyou seiiyaa..

Ijyoudesu.

• LittleFire85 (Member) on May 09, 2007 at 8:34 am

Wow at last someone stand beside me anywayz… My friend saw the whole car already at Perodua sales center at Prai, Penang. They arrived already, he told me the car is like this.. The body of a kancil, the rear lights are like new CRV rear lights, and the front is like jazz light but smaller.. Hmm.. funny..

• tec96248 (Member) on May 10, 2007 at 9:24 pm

torishimeyakuin said,

May 8, 2007 @ 12:28 am

Perhaps you may possess such a mountain-high knowledge pertaining car’s design, technical aspect, headlamps, RnD and price but i am damn bloody sure that you know nothing but shite about the total automotive industry generally and its business particularly. Otherwise you won’t always cry with that all same sounds.

==this boy know nothing much about automotives. he just drive and read car magazines only. u r just giving him some lectures only. u should laugh it when u read his comments. so childish..hahaha…