E70 BMW X5 3.0si, 3.0d, 4.8i launched in Malaysia

X5

The E70 BMW X5 is finally in Malaysia. It succeeds the original X5 launched in 2001, and offers such a long list of improvements that it almost warrants a model name change! Just kidding, anyway on to what’s important – how much it costs. The base model BMW X5 3.0si goes for RM548,000, and comes with a 3.0 litre normally aspirated engine putting out 272 horsepower, the highest tune level for the engine.

An oil burner model is available too for just RM10,000 more – the BMW X5 3.0d offers 218 horsepower and 500Nm of torque between 2,000 and 2,750rpm, making it sound the most desirable model IMHO in the range at RM558,000. The top of the line V8-engined BMW X5 4.8i puts out 335 horsepower and 475Nm of torque. This model has BMW AdaptiveDrive, the active anti-roll bar system that makes the world of a difference in driving feel with the X5 as I’ve reported during my test last year in Greece. However the 4.8i has a hefty premium at RM888,000!

The BMW Navigation System Professional GPS navigation system is standard equipment for all 3 BMW X5 models, and the new X5 will be the first BMW model in Malaysia to offer BMW’s new updated iDrive interface. Of course, BMW Service Inclusive And Repair also comes standard.

Please read the related posts links below for more information on the E70 BMW X5, and also read my test drive report on the BMW X5 4.8i and BMW X5 3.0d models in Greece last year. You can also look at more photos after the jump.

New 2007 BMW X5 (E70)
2007 BMW X5 4.8i and 3.0d Test Drive in Athens
Hamann tunes the E70 BMW X5
BMW Service Inclusive And Repair

X5

X5

X5

X5

X5

X5

X5

X5

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Xcars (Member) on May 31, 2007 at 1:48 am

what a cool SUV … for boss only?

• Xcars (Member) on May 31, 2007 at 1:48 am

are the pictures taken from the iconic launch of X5 this weekend?

• szw (Member) on May 31, 2007 at 2:27 am

don't you just love those BMWs ?

• mystvearn (Member) on May 31, 2007 at 3:51 am

looks cleaner and not box like before, how much they plan to sell it a year?

• shooter (Member) on May 31, 2007 at 5:13 am

i dont know guys…I think the previous one looks better.

• Illuminate (Member) on May 31, 2007 at 10:05 am

The black one is a definite stunner! – Makes the old X5's look so obsolete and not so beautiful, this is the 1st time I've been fascinated by an SUV (or SAV, as BMW dub it..)

Now if only I can afford it..

• aesthari (Member) on May 31, 2007 at 4:34 pm

This one looks a lot more pretty and gentle than it's predecessor, but the rear still looks dated.

• motherker (Member) on May 31, 2007 at 6:06 pm

how much does the top of the line 4.8 cost?

• layman (Member) on May 31, 2007 at 8:13 pm

The car look nice, but I prefer hot chick to pose with this car and not that guy.

• Paul Tan on May 31, 2007 at 9:20 pm

that guy is the bmw managing director

• Infinitt (Member) on May 31, 2007 at 9:36 pm

Wow..very smart.

• mmcwei (Member) on Jun 01, 2007 at 12:38 am

i prefer 3.0 Si and 3.0d…why the new X5 4.8i only claims 335hp 475nm? the previous model claims 360hp and 500nm! new design engine maybe….

• layman (Member) on Jun 01, 2007 at 2:13 am

Oh OK!! Now I know the reason why this guy is in the picture.

• transformer (Member) on Jun 01, 2007 at 4:21 am

that BMW X5 3.0d are Ultimate driving machine !

coz it care for mother nature too !

• floyd (Member) on Jun 01, 2007 at 6:38 am

i think the rear looks perfectly gorgeous. the front looks stunning too much much better than the previous x5.

• zanggief (Member) on Jun 02, 2007 at 7:45 am

Woo…half a million sav, i really tak sampai hati to take it for offroad drive..it looks so gorgeous and tough….

• Where is the M Sport Package ?

• BMW X5 3.0SD WITH M SPORT PACKAGE is really gorgeous !!!!!!