BMW 1-Series coupe to be positioned for purists

BMW 1 Coupe Spyshot

BMW wants to position the upcoming BMW 1-Series as the BMW for purists – mainly the group of E30, and E36 3-Series drivers (and some E46) who have been disappointed at their favourite car growing larger, fatter, too luxurious, and heavier since the new E90.

“There are people who always loved BMW but, to be honest, loved some of the older stuff more because, for them, it was smaller, more compact, more pure. The series has grown up, but some of them did not necessarily want the 3 series to grow up. For them, the older BMWs were more youthful. The new 1-Series is the purest BMW we have,” said BMW of North America LLC general manager Rich Brekus.

BMW 1-series 2-door Coupe to arrive in 2008
BMW might consider M1 to boost 1-Series image
BMW 1-Series Cabriolet Artists Impression
BMW 1-Series Coupe Spyshot
2007 BMW 1-series Cabriolet Spy Video
New BMW 1-series 3-door revealed
BMW 1-Series Kermit the Frog Advertisement
Hartge H1 5.0 tuned BMW 1-series

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• J (Member) on Jun 06, 2007 at 12:07 pm

Good strategy !

Meaning no leather seat, no Bose systems, no wood trimming ? I like pure ..:)

save these gimmicks and put into the engine !

• azrai (Member) on Jun 06, 2007 at 4:17 pm

He's right. Even the Civic getting larger and larger.

• proton GL (Member) on Jun 06, 2007 at 7:21 pm

real 3 sereis come back

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Jun 06, 2007 at 7:37 pm

i totally agree also. good strategy.

• superman (Member) on Jun 06, 2007 at 7:43 pm

haha less gizmos , more power..

return to the Ultimate Driving Machine mantra

• proton GL (Member) on Jun 06, 2007 at 8:08 pm

what means by 'pure' is that is has those classic propotion of 3 series, clear 3 box design, with a prominent shoulder line like 3 series always have, no over sized nose with almost vertical in position like any latest and ambitious model to be, recently we see bmw nose is a highly exploited element until it lost its sense of bmw-ness as its nose grows as big as mercedes grille,

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Jun 06, 2007 at 8:12 pm

Lovely!

I drove a 325i lately, and felt flaby and very disconnected unlike a BMW (the active steering was probably to blame). This would be great to brign back the BMW sporting spirit.

I can't wait for the "135" LW. that would be a hoot to whack around on the track.

• ckengyo (Member) on Jun 06, 2007 at 8:26 pm

ya, that a norm in the car industry. i guess they mind set r always target the same group of baby boomer after WWII. expect their income growth & need as they age. instead of introduce them 2 a higher category if their income improve, they make the same series more larger, luxurious. if i drove a 3 series now, but when i reach a higher level, i wont consider a 3. 5 is a potential move. i don't 1 2 stuck 2 3 series with rest of my life just stay with 3. mentally like no improve in life or status at all. to all car manufacturers: STOP MAKE THE CURRENT SERIES OF CAR ANY LARGER OR LUXURIOUS & CONTAMINATED THE ORIGINAL FEEL.

• shooter (Member) on Jun 06, 2007 at 11:12 pm

the problem is that with every new generation the need to be 'more' in almost every aspect gives rise to ever increasing size an weight and additional 'flab'. so I guess its a step in the right direction- keep it simple, lean, unadulterated and 'organic'- least possible electronic intervention and not necessarily more power… and you end up with an MX5…..

• acbc (Member) on Jun 07, 2007 at 3:37 am

If they make it affordable minus all the useless trimmings, may consider one next time. I hate those pesky 'extras'.

• szw (Member) on Jun 07, 2007 at 3:40 am

looks alot like E30 wei…

but nice…

• mystvearn (Member) on Jun 07, 2007 at 4:39 am

Can change the exterior abit, 1 series not really my liking,but I like the idea. Until the only thing free is AC, and radio, carpets, power windows ABS, EBD, DSC, are all labeled as premium stuff which will shoot the price up

• aesthari (Member) on Jun 07, 2007 at 6:44 pm

So true! Most "sport" cars nowadays have gone soft, what's wooden trimmings doing in "sport" cars anyway, dual-zone climate control, BAH, Sat-Nav?? No time, look at road signs.

In my opinion, a true sports car would be like the RX-7, compact, lightweight, dramatic looks, cramped back seats or none at all, a small but revvy n powerful engine, standard AC, maybe a basic sound system, nice sunroof, leather bucket seats maybe, and that's all.

Nothing else to distract you from the driving experience. Now that's sports car for me.