BMW 1-Series Coupe Specifications and Photos

BMW 1-Series Coupe

BMW has released press information and images on it’s latest model, the BMW 1-Series Coupe. The US market 1-Series Coupe will have different engine offerings from the European market coupe – instead of the two diesel engines it will only be available with two petrol engines as the 128i and the range-topping 135i.

The BMW 128i Coupe will use a detuned version of the 3.0 litre Valvetronic magnesium-aluminium engine in the 130i hatch, and will put out a respectable 230 horsepower and 270Nm of torque. The star is the 135i of course, with a turbocharged 3.0 litre engine with 300 horsepower and 407Nm of torque from as low as 1,400rpm that takes it from 0 to 100km/h in 5.3 seconds. The 135i also has an M Aerodynamic bodykit fitted as standard so it’s looks matches how it goes.

The new 1-Series Coupe also has it’s in-car entertainment fitted with not only an aux jack for audio input from external devices, but also a USB port for direct control of an iPod and also the new Apple iPhone! Of course, the latest generation iDrive with the 6 programmable keys function is also standard, but the satnav system is optional.

The suspension system uses an aluminium double-pivot front suspension and a five-link fully independant rear suspension using lightweight steel. DSC stability control is standard, but the driver can enable a slightly wilder DTC program and finally any form of stability control can also be disabled altogether. The DSC system also activates the rear brakes in a certain way through tight turns to simulate a differential lock.

The rear differential is also of a new design, using double-helical ball bearings and also runs at a lower operating temperature because fluid in the differential is reduced.

More images after the jump.

BMW 135i Coupe Stock Video
BMW 1-Series Coupe to use new inline-4 twin turbo diesel

BMW 1-Series Coupe

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• zai (Member) on Jul 02, 2007 at 2:27 am

It will really look good in black. Can't wait for the M version!

• J (Member) on Jul 02, 2007 at 2:52 am

Speechless…

• indothai (Member) on Jul 02, 2007 at 3:30 am

Sweet. But it's probably going to be priced just under an entry level 3 series… so hmm. why not just get a 3 series?

• nmh (Member) on Jul 02, 2007 at 4:02 am

Awkward interior….merc is better. Exterior is sweet btw

• nmh (Member) on Jul 02, 2007 at 4:12 am

Any idea how much its weight? I guess slightly more than1200kg and less than 1450kg

• w_lighter (Member) on Jul 02, 2007 at 4:25 am

Oh thank god the rear is not as ugly in all those spy shot… hahaha

• Capt Shopalot (Member) on Jul 02, 2007 at 5:11 am

Still, from side view the rear still looks,errr, don't know how to say it!

Like Chinese says, Tiger Head, Snake Rear!

• AMG (Member) on Jul 02, 2007 at 5:44 am

Just like a 3 series coupe * with cheaper price *

overall is quiet good….~

• kei9 (Member) on Jul 02, 2007 at 6:23 am

the rear light looks unpoportionate……..and the spacing between the drivers thighs and streering wheels are damn small.

• eezarm (Member) on Jul 02, 2007 at 7:58 am

dunno why…

looks similar to waja's interior esp the dashboard…

• Jay (Member) on Jul 02, 2007 at 8:06 am

good car, but looks not that good ! very crampy ! my wira is more spacious….yes it's a BMW but what's the point…..even a BMW 5 series is not spacious. My uncle owns a 530i 2006 model. I told him the car is small inside. The current e-class is way more spacious than the 5 series. So looks & name doesn't always win !

• king (Member) on Jul 02, 2007 at 9:37 am

well….space isn't everything. In fact cars are growing too fat and heavy nowadays. get a van if you need space n not a beemer.

i think saying the interior is like waja quality is way over exaggerating rite?

red doesn't look good…..

• azrai (Member) on Jul 02, 2007 at 3:10 pm

It's like back in the 70's again. Small sport sedan from BMW. Good work. The 3 series is getting bigger and bigger.

• superman (Member) on Jul 02, 2007 at 5:13 pm

Too many of you guys are missing the point.

It's BMW, it's a Coupe and from the outset engineered and designed as a driver's car.

So it has a cramped rear and boot. BIG DEAL. You want space buy a MPV.

Why the 1series coupe instead of the 3 despite (allegedly) close pricin?. Coz the 3 has grown so large that it aint's small and managable anymore, it doesn't deserve the tag "entry level" anymore.

I'd be interested to see it in Black or Interlagos Blue.

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jul 02, 2007 at 5:41 pm

hahaha…another kereta terencat frm beemer…dis car is suxx…bt..its beemer…they alwiz good in handling and tech..

• azrai (Member) on Jul 02, 2007 at 6:25 pm

If I'm not mistakern, mini Cooper is actually the Entry Level Model/Basic Level Model aka BLM for BMW group.

• silverfish (Member) on Jul 02, 2007 at 7:30 pm

Slightly better looking than the 1 series hatch (which looked like a collapsed sofa) but still not exactly a charmer.

The thing is though, why bother with this at all when there is the Z4 and its many variants (including the 2 M versions). The 1 isn't exactly more practical, with back seats only suitable for midgets and amputees. Besides the Z4 looks way better.

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jul 02, 2007 at 7:55 pm

silverfish…dun compare dis terencat with z4…defintely out of d league…z4 is in d league of tt,boxster etc…dis terencat u compare it with its brother…3 er coupe…

• tec96248 (Member) on Jul 02, 2007 at 8:07 pm

the car is nice, hopefully won't be so expensive overhere. interior space is not really important since sports car like ferrari 355 or 360 are not spacious. hopefully can look at the ferrari, american sport in that colour.

• superman (Member) on Jul 02, 2007 at 8:53 pm

Z cars are sports cars, strictly 2 seaters. the 1 series is in the saloon category of cars.albeit on the small side ;-)

The Mini maybe a BMW Group entry level car but it doesn't carry the BMW badge and neither is it rear wheel drive.

Anyway, rejoice la. At least someone is making a different car, being small FR salon/hatch car. Contrast that to the endless FF Hatches running around.

• superman (Member) on Jul 02, 2007 at 8:59 pm

Mini is FF car and badged "MINI". The 1 carries the BMW badge and is FR ..

"BLM" for BMW .. ahahaha

can't compare a Z "sports" car to the 1-saloon category cars. Different target market.

Anyway the 1, cramped as it is, should be applauded. That BMW went to make a RWD small car, to compete with the common garden FF haches and sedans

• silverfish (Member) on Jul 02, 2007 at 11:08 pm

Fellas, my point is, if you were out to buy a smallish BMW, which isn't very practical, and for around the price range of the 135, for example, you are better off getting the Z4, disregarding the class of the vehicle. Simply because it is better looking. What has the 1 got over the Z4? Back seats? Who are you planning to stuff back there? Need to take more passengers? Buy something else.

• superman (Member) on Jul 02, 2007 at 11:20 pm

I somehow prefer a small saloon than a "louder" looking sports car. The Z4 has that "look at me, I'm a sportscar" kinda image.

But that's just my personal opinion.

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jul 02, 2007 at 11:46 pm

no z4 for me…like terencat car….if i hd a choice…definitelt tt,boxster n slk..eventho z4 better than both 3…but..when u buy a car like dat…dsg is 1st ma..

• eezarm (Member) on Jul 03, 2007 at 1:26 am

i mean, the interior part (dshboard) is similar to waja but of course bmw has better quality compared to P1…

better get a bmw sedan than this 2-door car…

only suitable as a 2nd car for leisure purpose

• mystvearn (Member) on Jul 03, 2007 at 4:19 am

quite ok, hopefully the price around 150K region

• s60t (Member) on Jul 03, 2007 at 5:02 am

No one would buy this car for family use. It would be suitable for singles or newly weds w/o kids or as a second/third car. For that purpose it fits the bill. But to hope for a 150K price would be a dream come true. It will probably be closer to 200k.

• arcana (Member) on Jul 03, 2007 at 10:21 am

with 200k, u can only hope for 1 thing….a 116i coupe lol.

i think even the current 120i hatch is selling above 200k. and not to mention coupes will be more expensive than the saloon version

250k should be must more believable if its a 120i version…..as for 128i or 135i…we can dream more into the 300k range.

the 335i coupe is selling 400k+ anyway here…..if im not mistaken with those prices.

• s60t (Member) on Jul 03, 2007 at 3:50 pm

arcana,I agree with your estimates.200K will only get you entry BMW's which will be no fun to drive but nevertheless will sell better than the 128 or 135 due to the price difference and high maintenance costs.Just look at the number of 318's around versus the 330(real ones and not those where the owner just changes the label).

• silverfish (Member) on Jul 03, 2007 at 9:43 pm

Oh man, for sure, if you were to ask me to choose between the Z4, SLK and the Boxster, I'd go for the SLK followed by the Boxster followed by the Z4. But I'm talking about the 1 series (the higher spec ones), I'd think my money is better spent getter the Z4, if the choices are of the BMW stable (since this place loves their BMWs). If given choice of other marques, I'd definitely go for something else.

• razor_clawzz (Member) on Jul 04, 2007 at 6:26 pm

Seems like fun to drive. 300HP in a small car…..

• topgunthang (Member) on Jul 04, 2007 at 10:25 pm

ive seen alot of 1 series on the road so market reaction to a cheaper bmw is definitely favourable.

ive seen some young adults (i.e students) driving even 1.6 1-series. though personally i cant justify that…..i would guess it would still feel like you're still driving a bmw once your inside and cant see the exterior.

i dont mind euro marques filtering into the lower end of the market. it makes expensive cars or cheap cars improve in price/performance.

• jules (Member) on Jul 05, 2007 at 3:21 am

Can't help it when i see the side profile reminds me of Hyundai Accent….

• arissa (Member) on Apr 01, 2008 at 4:24 pm

cute & powerful car (in it categories)..cant wait 2 get one..hope the price is around 200k..tired of my rx8..high fuel consmptn.