Volkswagen Tiguan details revealed

Volkswagen Tiguan

Volkswagen’s new Tiguan SUV will make it’s public debut in September at the 2007 Frankfurt International Motor Show, but here we have some official press photos to look at before it’s public debut.

Five engine options are available – three TSI gasoline engines and two TDI turbodiesel engines. The two new TDI engines have two outputs – 140hp and 170hp with 320Nm or 350Nm of torque respectively churned out at 1,750rpm. They meet Euro 5 emission standards.

The TSI engines are of 150hp, 170hp and 200hp variants and thanks to turbocharging they all make healthy amounts of torque, with the base 150hp model putting out 240Nm of torque from a low 1,750rpm, matching diesel levels of torque achievable at low ends of the rev range. The more powerful TSI models both make 280Nm from 1,800rpm.

The Tiguan is supposed to have Audi and Porsche brothers as it would only make sense, but only the Audi Q5 has been confirmed so far, with Porsche denying any plans to make a baby Cayenne based on the Tiguan-Q5 platform.

More photos after the jump.

2008 Audi Q5 to be built in Ingolstadt
Audi Cross Coupe Quattro Concept – future Audi Q5?

Volkswagen Tiguan

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• redragon (Member) on Jul 02, 2007 at 8:25 pm

Very interesting, wonder if it will come with the DSG with syncro ? hopefully it will start from below 150k but i doubt it.

• begong (Member) on Jul 02, 2007 at 9:02 pm

yesterday i went for a dinner with my friend's brother who's a Proton engineer. he said the talks with VW is nearly completion. he also mentioned about a new engine which will be revealed next month (not the CPS engine, he said the CPS is an old version, developed long time ago). so he advised me not to buy the early production of the Gen2 sedan. wait until the new engine being launched. better beleive it, info that came from the proton engineer himself…he was quite surprised that i know a lot about their projects, like the CPS engine, Proton BLM and Gen2 sedan. well, thanks to Paul!!

• NiceCar (Member) on Jul 02, 2007 at 9:21 pm

the cover during the test drive is quite creative too.. with vertical rear lamp and X mark logo..

the interior look same with golf plus..

• droll (Member) on Jul 02, 2007 at 9:36 pm

beautiful!

• waimak (Member) on Jul 02, 2007 at 9:51 pm

I thought they were going to scrap this, thank God!

• azrai (Member) on Jul 02, 2007 at 10:11 pm

This is nice. There's some Golf DNA at rear. Pau, can you highlight the new Hyundai Elantra? I noticed it take some cues from Proton's GEN2 body styling.

• sxe10r (Member) on Jul 02, 2007 at 10:19 pm

nice suv …. but this will assembly in malaysia or not … looks really nice … but y VW haven do anything on P1 ?? will this TIGUAN have local version … hope it will have a local version … but the price won't cheep …

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Jul 02, 2007 at 11:53 pm

begong, If i mistaken the next generation of Campro engine is Direct Injection, DI engine.. It will still use CPS+VIM. If using direct injection engine, the compression of the piston can be rise; when the compression is high, the torque n hp will be more greater and more burn efficient.. This will help more FC.. Now nearly every car VW built have direct injection nowadays.. Direct injection is an old technology, used by diesel engines a long time ago.. Anyways hoping this 4×4 SUV can badge a proton on it.. The road tax save man! Only 1.4L! With Turbo some more!

• kei9 (Member) on Jul 03, 2007 at 12:47 am

paul, is the size similar to toyota rav4?

• nmh (Member) on Jul 03, 2007 at 1:00 am

Izit a real off roader or crossover? izit the 1.4tsi hey are going to use?

• nmh (Member) on Jul 03, 2007 at 1:06 am

whoa….so many aircond vent, more than the pasenger. The air can be distributed in many2 direction, one for my shader and face, one for my neck one for my stomach, one for my ****, and one for my foot and the remainder still enuf for passenger. Brilliant

• hyundai (Member) on Jul 03, 2007 at 1:41 am

the interior is same with golf plus… n i dun like its exterior look…

• szw (Member) on Jul 03, 2007 at 3:27 am

what's with the x ?

• mystvearn (Member) on Jul 03, 2007 at 4:18 am

positioned below Toureg to go against the BMW X3?

• kei9 (Member) on Jul 03, 2007 at 5:48 am

oh ya…this it the well ecuipped aircon for a car…..i mean overecuipped….