Volkswagen up! Concept – a preview of the New Small Family (NSF) car?
While Tata seems to be right on track with their expected 1 lakh (US$2500) pricing of their 1 lakh car, Volkswagen’s NSF (New Small Family) project has exceeded the originally intended 8,000 Euro (RM38,000) price and is now expected to cost about 8,950 Euro (RM42,800).
Volkswagen intends to sell 462,000 units of the NSF annually, with 100,000 badged as Volkswagens in Europe and another 200,000 badged as Seats or Skodas, with the remaining 162,000 units to be sold in emerging markets.
Volkswagen up! Concept
Volkswagen’s rear-engined MINI fighter

rear assembles myvi@passo.
typo: the rear resembles myvi’s and passo.
My quote:-
Volkswagen intends to sell 462,000 units of the NSF annually, with 100,000 badged as Volkswagens in Europe and another 200,000 badged as Seats or Skodas, with the remaining 162,000 units to be sold in emerging markets and badged as Proton Savvy Neo. Yesterday’s business news says German media is quite ‘frenzy’ about Volkswagen ‘collabaration’ with Proton. Hmmm…
Good move by VW! Let this model “trample” overprice Viva. If VW manufacture NSF in this part of the world, it shall be able to reduce the cost below Euro 8K.
Looks like VW is ready to penetrate Asean, or probably Malaysia?
They really need something significantly cheaper than the VW Fox. It’s just too expensive.
Dont sell to VW, Proton continues to bleed the country.
Sell to VW, Govt may have to provide “soft-landing” for VW for Proton’s losses (as per Bernama article) in the future after taking over, i.e. bleed our oil revenue and EPF again?
so what’s the difference to the national interest, aside from getting a VW badged car?
Average guy on the street view : Problem is this is no longer a matter of national interest. If it was, we should consolidate our national car makers first (so as to put ourselves in a better bargaining position when dealing with VW). Why was there ever a need for a more than 1 car maker. Who inflated the egos of our leaders into thinking that Malaysia’s car market is that important/big? chinese saying, when your horse is dead, get off it and walk. But don’t lah pay another person to carry you and your dead horse to continue the journey.
We have too many car policies. On 1 hand, Proton wants to move on without Mitsu to reduce royalty payments. Kudos for that idea, but why isn’t our govt fully supporting the idea. Why do they still allow Perodua to cannibalise that movement?
Perodua’s flaw is starting to rear it’s ugly head with the Kancil replacement, VIVA pricing. what happened to the dream of the motorcyclist’s upgrade from 2wheels to 4wheels? Yeah sure, it’s still RM200 per month installment, but for how many years loan? Countless people out there are suffering now after taking a >5 year loan on car purchase as the can never dream of recovering their downpayment should they decided to sell / trade-in.
Is this the legacy of our previous govt’s spending forward traits? At first our present govt seem to want to stem the forward spending traits and ask the nation to stand up and smell the shit that has hit the fence with the petrol increase. But the recent fiascos with allegations of our present govt lining their own pockets not differing much from our govt of past, it is makes me want to puke.
So why would VW want to get itself into this “Truly Asia” country? Asia is known for super-duper corruption and vice.
Question to the economists out there, should Proton be left to wilt on it’s own, will it bring on an economic recession in the country? Will there be so many jobless people? I mean no more Proton, so Perodua and the other marques whould flourish in it’s absence. Should’t that create more jobs for the lower scale assembly line workers? ahh… but politically the govt wouldnt allow it to happen (at least not during their watch/term) as that would cause so much unrest that the people may vote Wan Azizah into govt?? yucksss on that thought though.
just to share something totally unrelated…
http://www.headlessvector.com/2007/03/07/5-reasons-why-american-cars-suck-lately/
a post in PT 8 months later….
*Proton NSF sported in Tg Malim undergoing testing!*
i just dont understand what you’re saying ynnad
“Proton continues to bleed the country”. what exactly do you mean by that? care to explain?
Even VW take over Proton, the person who gonna lost the job is the higher management & the low quality cronies.. Coz they did a lot of failures in the past.. So the lower job position (which the most ppl work) like engineer, mechanic & others will not be fired.. If u study management, this will only happen if Proton bangkrap not take over!!! Even Proton rebadge VW, i bet the quality is more better then the mitsu in term of safety and technology.. If proton design so hebat, sure VW will take it! If sucks and only can sell in Malaysia, do u think VW will take it to sell world wide? Think just think! Past failure of proton already been done, now they are improving bit by bit but still not enough.. if i not mistaken proton resources are going to finish by 3 years if not earning much… So if 2 years later open market and proton sales kena hentam again, mati loo…
Anyway this VW NSF is from smart for 2, maybe they need to add some safety features inside + own new engine which made it expensive… Well, better see it’s launch first then judge the car..
vw will buy into proton coz of the protection only. if they are not guaranteed that then they wont buy into it. thats what i would do if i was a decision maker in VW.
the insurance has to come in some form or the other. which i beleive forms the main discussion in the VW proton dealings
let me see if I understand the mechanism of corporation.
Proton major shareholder = Khazanah
Khazanah major shareholder = ‘supposedly’ govt/rakyat lah
Proton loses money, share value drops, shareholder value drops also in this case govt, and rakyat lah in the means of EPF and oil revenue. aduh sakit…
Honda Jazz gezet price is around 45k-55k if im not mistaken. Almost the same with this. Plus NAP shit. Then the price will be 95k+
not nice oso
pretty good.
topgunthang, i personally dont think vw is buying proton for protectionism in the malaysian market.. whats the point?
they’re looking to use malaysia as a base for SEA. they’re not interested to sell lots of cars here, they wanna sell everywhere else nearby.
This model has nothing to do with Proton…not yet…wahh..
Is malaysia any good for entry into ASEAN?
If going by trend, Indonesia seems to be trumping malaysia (let alone the Detroit of the East).
To have any meaningful numbers in this region, any automaker would have to concentrate on reducing production cost as R&D skillsets will not be crucial when you are talking about entry level cars. hence any other country without prior automative industry experience can apply here.
The only reason VW is interested is bcoz they know our Govt is desperate. In times of desperation, they may get a killer deal. who is to say that they are merely toying with Proton so that they can extract an even better deal from Thailand?
see below:
http://www.thailandblogspot.com/thailand-foreign-directinvestment/volkswagen-confident-about-thailand-investment/
it looks great
Yeah, if VW run to Thailand.. i think pak lah will be on fire… hehe… Sure a lot of rakyat will mad…
If AFTA fully implemented, TomyamLand will trample Bodohland flat!!!!!!!!!!
good compare to nothing…
small car,2 door,..can’t say it’s good or bad,..but neat and simple, small cars are very practical nowadays..
banyakmasukworkshop
i think VW wants proton for its market protections….as well as the ability to conquer SEA markets.
good luck for VW trying to find a protected market for thier products/joint venture products in thailand. VW will lose a big advantage if they go to thailand. they will need to compete on equal footings as toyota or other car companies. with proton, they get a free cash cow.