Volkswagen Golf R32 launched in Malaysia

Golf R32

Volkswagen Malaysia has started selling the top of the range Volkswagen Golf R32 in Malaysia, featuring a 3.2 litre V6 engine and 4MOTION all-wheel drive, with a price tag of RM302,618.50 on the road without insurance.

It does the 0-100km/h sprint in 6.2 seconds – 0.7 seconds faster than the Golf GTI , thanks to it’s 250 PS at 6,300rpm and 320Nm of torque that kicks in from 2,800rpm, a relatively low engine speed for a normally aspirated engine. Power is sent to all four wheels via 4MOTION all-wheel drive and a 6-speed DSG gearbox.

Other than the 4MOTION system, the car also has ESP stability control, Traction Control, ABS, and an Electronic Differential Lock to keep things into check. Passive safety is provided by 6 SRS airbags. The car rides on 18 inch wheels of the Omanyt design.

On the interior you have nice sports bucket seats, rain sensor wiper control, dual-zone climate control, and a 10-speaker Volkswagen Sound RCD 500 system with an 8-channel 250W analog amplifier.

More photos after the jump.

Golf R32

Golf R32

Golf R32

Golf R32

Golf R32

Golf R32

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Kevin Lee (Member) on Nov 21, 2007 at 4:46 am

nice coverage paul, where is this vw r32 located in, which showroom?

• redwings (Member) on Nov 21, 2007 at 5:09 am

Finally, R32 landed in Malaysia, great news to all Golf fans..

With the pricetag over RM300k, I would think you got many choices instead of this ‘garang’ lady….

• auctioncenter2u (Member) on Nov 21, 2007 at 7:45 am

Well, Nice car but then Who wanna to BUY it, Just F**king Expensive.

• auctioncenter2u (Member) on Nov 21, 2007 at 7:46 am

Better buy LAncer EVO X lah.

• Cire (Member) on Nov 21, 2007 at 8:02 am

NIce package but hefty price for a small pocket rocket. An Audi A4 quattro is priced at 298K. Its 4 wheel drives too, and packed with similar features.
    Now, who the valet will notice first..hm..

• s60t (Member) on Nov 21, 2007 at 8:12 am

I think the GTi is already a very fast hot hatch. I wonder how many people would pay an extra 100k just for 0.7 sec advantage in the century dash and when you would get the chance to use that extra power.That price range puts it against many premium marques though admittedly slower but looks more upclass ie BM 325,Lexus IS,Merc C and Audi A4 quattro

• tHe CuLpRit (Member) on Nov 21, 2007 at 9:01 am

103k more than the GTi… that’s alot of money.

Plus as mentioned, you can afford the A4 2.0 TFSi (Quattro or otherwise), 325i SE or Sports, and even the 130i and 323i Coupe, albeit have to fork out bout 20-30k more for the last 3 cars.

So money no object, which would you go for?

• raverus (Member) on Nov 21, 2007 at 9:38 am

300K? I wanna be an AP agent too!!!! lol

• szw (Member) on Nov 21, 2007 at 10:24 am

its nice , but it doesn’t drive as well as a GTi .

• Nozzydive (Member) on Nov 21, 2007 at 10:43 am

These are some diferences between R32 & GTI

1. R18 x 225 x 40
    2. Interior Speedo meter color has changed to a better nicer sleek looking color. It is white instead of purplish speedo meters.
    3. The panel is nicer kinda carbon fiber “look” but instead of black+greyish it is silver+whitish.
    4. Very nice buckle seat but only set back is that it does not comes with electronic seats.
    5. Front bumper looks like Jetta…it only had the “R32” signage.
    6. Did not come with front fog lights.
    7. Back bumper & exhaust has changed (the sound is the BEST!)
    8. 2 port front disc or maybe 1 but i think is 2. And calipers are blue for front & back.
    9. V6 engine occupied 3/4 of the front engine compartment, battery is no longer in sight.
    10. The button for settings are functioning now similar to Passat where you can expect a bigger MFD(multi function display)
    11. The padels had the R32 version padels.

Test drive result:

The feel was interesting but did not really had the surge forward feel as the GTI. This NA engine has the power surge feeling as it reaches 2800 rpm and it was really load at the exhaust. Handling of the car is quite similar to the GTI as it shares from the same chassis and with all the electronic safety sys. Overall I would say is worthed the buy coz the R32 can eat a GTI(non mapped) easily on a straight highway but not on short run. Top speed claimed to be 250 km/h, I have tried the top speed of a GTI(non-mapped) at 240 km/h. Was told that only 10+ odd units of R32 in Malaysia.

Cheeers

• carsut (Member) on Nov 21, 2007 at 12:34 pm

crazy pricetag!!!
    i’m rather buy a WRX than tiz lady..

• hyundai (Member) on Nov 21, 2007 at 12:44 pm

300K is a NO to me…

• redragon (Member) on Nov 21, 2007 at 12:46 pm

must be imported from germany instead of south africa (gti) hence the big price difference. which explains the price difference between the german imported gti (wald) and it’s south african sibling. I’ll stick to my wald gti, eat that r32 for breakfast, lunch and dinner anytime.

• farmcow (Member) on Nov 21, 2007 at 1:09 pm

fantastic….but too expensive haha

• Amarjie (Member) on Nov 21, 2007 at 1:36 pm

Hi there..

The showroom is at UOA building @ bangsar, adjascent to Dataran Maybank & lrt bangsar… Across restoran rebung & mango tree…

• coolguru (Member) on Nov 21, 2007 at 1:43 pm

It’s a branding and can-do or have-done show than really for sale. Just like who needs a 1,000 bhp car on the road? You know which one I’m referring to :) ?

But from another article, two buyers are collecting the ride this week. I guess those bought it would treat the R32 like third fourth or fifth cars in their garage.

• JULIANLEE2 (Member) on Nov 21, 2007 at 3:08 pm

finally we can get the car here, now i can teach those sissy gti’s some lesson

• BigFish (Member) on Nov 21, 2007 at 3:46 pm

Rich man toy!

• BigFish (Member) on Nov 21, 2007 at 4:04 pm

Good car but sadly it is affordable to few privilege only.

• enol_leno (Member) on Nov 21, 2007 at 4:14 pm

luv to have one under my garage , but the price is toooooo high
    i wait for Mitsubishi lancer 2008

• I my (Member) on Nov 21, 2007 at 4:15 pm

It is a nice & fun car to hv, but in M’sia this will just kill by the APs, high import duty on big cc cars. anyway we will see what the Evo X w/ “DGS” will price.

• e-nabilll (Member) on Nov 21, 2007 at 4:35 pm

its important to remember that the 4-wheel drive will sap power…its heavier than the std GTI,and only 50hp more…a proper rechip n mods of the GTi wil easily get that xtra 50hp diference….beside its abt 100k cheaper….!

i tink this jus highlights wat a good price the GTI has compare to othr spec models

• ICER (Member) on Nov 21, 2007 at 4:45 pm

One of my favor car…!

• DrA (Member) on Nov 21, 2007 at 7:10 pm

Pointless!! Get the GTi. You can have plenty of fun with it. Plus the 3.2L engine is old.

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Nov 21, 2007 at 7:19 pm

the V6 engine is heavy also… but for more better performance i think the 2.0 GTi should be more easily to squeeze more hp out from it, since it is turbo it can be easy to just boost it up or change a bigger turbo to get more hp and torque.
    Since the 2.0L Gti is lighter i think the handling should be better, but this depends of what ppl want. Some may think they want raw power like the Americans who prefer big block N/A compare to Japanese who want turbo.

• SupaCarFan (Member) on Nov 21, 2007 at 9:38 pm

TOTALLY WASTED TO IMPORT THIS CAR!!!!!!!

******* expensive.VERY LITTLE benefits…..

:

• raybrig85 (Member) on Nov 21, 2007 at 10:53 pm

as expected…it is 3.2…dats why very expensive…i bet u…some ppl will buy it…like 147 gta…same engine…3.2…but expensive than dis…still gt ppl buy it…IMO…i will choose golf gti coz lot of fun than dis and the road tax is not high…

• nmh (Member) on Nov 21, 2007 at 11:47 pm

VW shud a more extreme version to answer renault clio v6 by moving the engine to the rear to be middle engine rwd car

• mystvearn (Member) on Nov 22, 2007 at 1:59 am

If can afford it why not. Its fast, its small

• raybrig85 (Member) on Nov 22, 2007 at 2:49 pm

renault clio v6 is a useless car…it is fast but useless…one of the failure frm renault..

• danoneism (Member) on Nov 22, 2007 at 3:28 pm

ill choose to buy 325i then dis rocket pocket with 300k pricetag…spooky..LOL

• mitlanevo (Member) on Nov 22, 2007 at 4:57 pm

car? good……

price? no goooood…….

• mitlanevo (Member) on Nov 22, 2007 at 5:02 pm

mr.raybrig85, what u know about Renault Clio V6??

fast but useless?? what r u talking about?? can explain more? or u can prove that it is useless???

RENAULT CLIO V6 IS ONE OF THE BEST CAR IN TODAY’S WORLD!!!!

• transformer (Member) on Nov 22, 2007 at 5:50 pm

too expensive…

only few malaysian would buy one with that pricing… as there are better ones out there too!

• syanas (Member) on Nov 22, 2007 at 10:01 pm

huhu, nice car but can’t afford it

• nmh (Member) on Nov 22, 2007 at 11:15 pm

Yea…clio V6 rocks fast and handles. Watch reviews in youtube ler bro raybrig85

Well the idea is to convert hatchback to be a supercar layout, drive like supercar….and cheap

• xsaraloeb (Member) on Nov 23, 2007 at 9:44 am

Why VW Malaysia did not bring in the GT model instead ? the 1.4 TSi would be more suitable for our market. Maybe they cannot compete with Persona.

• raybrig85 (Member) on Nov 23, 2007 at 3:49 pm

TO MITLANEVO AND NMH,

some of u jz see at the scope of fast and handling but not overall…i do agree dat renault clio v6 is fast and handy…dun under estimate me bcoz i already drove dis car when i was in london…it is my fren’s with blue in color…i know what im talking abt…yes…i agree it is fast and handy…but in term of practicallity…and compare to the other hot hatch available in dis current time…4 me it is not affordable and useless…it still gt a lot of car i can choose and buy rather than choose dis beauty.i can buy an affordable sport car and better than dis one with d same price….so guys…DUN TELL ME I DONT KNOW ABOUT THIS CAR AND HAVE TO REVIEW IT IN THE YOUTUBE…I ALREADY DROVE IT……it is jz my opinion….and the other are not same like me…

• raybrig85 (Member) on Nov 23, 2007 at 4:44 pm

oh nmh…i 4gt to tell u…i drove the clio v6 phase 2 2003 model….the handling is better than its predecessor which my fren said dat it is hard to handle…in the phase 2 model…they improve the handling with put more power to dis car which is frm 230hp to 255 hp…btw…the fuel is rubbish…manyak makan minyak…quite thirstyla dis car…

• charles27 (Member) on Nov 23, 2007 at 7:35 pm

price totally not attractive… likely people will choose the vw GTi instead.
    Or even the civic type r for NA… or evo x for turbo awd which is more fun to drive with the paddle swift.

• blazerSST (Member) on Nov 23, 2007 at 9:19 pm

300k almost can get the lexus is250

• nmh (Member) on Nov 24, 2007 at 1:57 am

tats why i use the word ‘supercar’…..just an extreme car, ignore practicality & comfort, WILD, strict 2 seater, rear engine, simple & etc. Yes it might priced higher than other hot hatches but still affordable for middle class like us 2 have fun. And no need modification and ready to RACE

• mitlanevo (Member) on Nov 24, 2007 at 2:19 am

nmh, cheers!!! :-)

to raybrig85:

well, if u so damn in love with your favourite car, why care about fuel consumption????

for instance, i’m a diehard fan of Lancer Evo, but few of my friends used to tell me: “hey, what a moron! i can buy a C-Class or 3-Series for RM280k!”

when u are deeply in love with a car, u will love it no matter what negative side or disadvantage of the car…..

• raybrig85 (Member) on Nov 24, 2007 at 1:03 pm

to nmh…

4 me it is still a hot hatch…and if u said so…btw…it is jz my opinion…wut is ur rite to correct me???coz i hv a family…4 me i enjoy to ride in the hot hatches wit my family…so..still gt other hot hatches 4 me to choose…dats jz my opinion…if u like it…go ahead…who am i to say no to u….

to mitlanevo..

if u gimme a choice of 3 er, c-class and evo..i’ll go for evo…4 me…it is practical…so….wuts ur prob??we are talking about clio here…not evo…all ppl noes evo is an amazing sport car…it is a moron who compare the evo wit the 3er and c class…

i dun care wut u like and plz dun under estimate other ppl’s knowledge n the way u said like other ppl dunno abt dis car…so…plz mind ur word…yes…i agree wit u…same goes to me..i like the alfa so i dun care of wut other ppl said and i luv it…same goes to u too….dat is jz my opinion abt clio v6…i already drove it and dis is jz my word…4 me it is not worth 4 me to buy…so..if u want it…go ahead…y shud i care…dats ur money…

• mild7 (Member) on Nov 25, 2007 at 8:06 pm

is really a nice car!!!!

• JMan (Member) on Dec 08, 2007 at 12:05 am

Hey guys from a Malaysian in Melbourne, Australia. I owned a MK5 Golf GTI in Melbourne, Australia before getting my current car which is the R32. Both are great cars but like everyone has mentioned, Malaysian pricing for the .:R is too much. Down under a fully optioned GTI costs nearly as much as a R32, so owners have the luxury to choose what they like. Personally I think the GTI is a great car for the city but if you like going to the track, the R32 is worth the extra money.

• Mustang on Apr 11, 2009 at 12:53 am

raybrig85,

I think you're just bullshit. you have never driven the V6 Clio before. Yeh yeh….i know it's your friend's car. i ain't believing. you just read it from some where and came here to act like a smart ass.

The V6 Clio is one of the best car in the world. And this ain't a joke. Those who think that the Clio is of no good is kidding. Seriously. If you can't afford. Shut up. you made yourself look like a fool by saying that this car is useless. Hey if you wanna save oil, drive an Proton Iswara ok.

• Ivan Tai on Nov 10, 2010 at 11:02 am

Hi, how is the price of Golf GTI and Golf R32? Thanks.

• VW MSIA not selling R32 anymore right?

Any review for R20 based MK6

• Eugene Tai on Sep 07, 2011 at 12:52 pm

This will be my first car ;) hehe.. see you on the road guys..