RHD Honda FCX Clarity introduced in Japan

Honda FCX Clarity

The Honda FCX Concept found its way onto the roads of southern California in the US as a limited production vehicle called the Honda FCX Clarity late last year, but like the concept I drove it was a left hand drive vehicle.

There is now a right hand drive Honda FCX Clarity that will be sold in Japan. A right hand drive conversion with this car should be so much more easier than a conventional car as you can be sure almost every driver control is “by wire”, receiving input electronically rather than via mechanical linkages.

Leasing for the FCX Clarity will begin in November 2008 and will be initially limited to government agencies and selected corporate customers. For more information on the FCX Clarity please refer to the previous posts on the car linked below.

Honda FCX Clarity: second generation fuel cell car
A short test drive experience with the Honda FCX Concept

Honda FCX Clarity

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• azrai (Member) on Jul 08, 2008 at 6:37 am

Nice looking ‘green’ car compare to Prius.

• abtm (Member) on Jul 08, 2008 at 7:44 am

will we ever see it in Malaysia? Oil is gonna run out sooner or later…

• Skymobile (Member) on Jul 08, 2008 at 7:54 am

awesome, it is a new era mobile and fuel replacement of using fuel cell.

When used of hydrogen is common, petrol, diesel and other make from petroleum will freely from worries. The problem of shortage of petroleum will sorted by this new energy.

But how do the government survived when petroleum has generated so MUCH taxation to Government. will the government willing to release this to public when it is available in global.

Hydrogen is cost free and no excuse for those who sell this energy to increase the price since there should have no flustrate in the fuel price.

• King Samurai (Member) on Jul 08, 2008 at 8:33 am

Skymobile,

Bro…now hydorgen is free..But when someday this kinda car being introduced world wide (including this bolehland) our beloved G sure will impose Hydrogen tax lorr.. Dont worry time will tell

• LHQ (Member) on Jul 08, 2008 at 9:45 am

Thank goodness nobody mention hydrogen bomb anymore.

• vogue (Member) on Jul 08, 2008 at 10:21 am

Who says hydrogen is free? you need energy to make/extract hydrogen and that energy still comes from fossil fuel!

• dangermouse (Member) on Jul 08, 2008 at 11:18 am

Hydrogen is not free… Yes it’s in the atmosphere but it will cost you energy to extract it, liquify it & distribute it.

Probably the easiest method to get a supply is to electrolyse water (H2O), releasing hydrogen and oxygen. But, you need to supply lots of electricity to do this, where do you get that from?? Currently, oil, gas & coal-fired power stations. Nuclear elsewhere.

In an ideal ‘green’ scenario, electricity will be generated by wind, solar, wave or tidal power (i.e. renewable source), to then extract hydrogen. Storage & distribution of electricity is difficult compared to a physical (chemical) energy such as liquified gas.
    So until there is also a push for investment in hydrogen infrastructure and renewable methods of generating power to drive that infrastructure, then fuel-cell cars are of very limited use. It will take a total replacement of our petroleum based transport networks to hydrogen-based to get the same levels of efficiency.

Anyway this car is a first step on the long road.

• mits27 (Member) on Jul 08, 2008 at 4:21 pm

Lucky for those Californian, who has this oppotunity to own this green car…

• mits27 (Member) on Jul 08, 2008 at 4:23 pm

Still the hydrogen technology is still very new to all of us, I think we should wait for at least 5 to 6 years to have the stable and cost efficient hydrogen car…

• David9988 (Member) on Jul 08, 2008 at 5:10 pm

If we ever do see it in Malaysia, be prepared to pay 2.5million………
    American dollars. (RM8,250,000)

• kimmy (Member) on Jul 08, 2008 at 5:37 pm

Question,

Does it have “by wire” steering too? Like the GM Hy-wire car.

• mystvearn (Member) on Jul 08, 2008 at 7:27 pm

Malaysia has to focus on hydrogen fuel stations first rather than focus on if we can get this car or not. Even LPG gas stations are so hard to come by, want to introduce new stuff, I don’t think so. The G will find tons of ways to make life hard, before easing stuff

• albagmane (Member) on Jul 09, 2008 at 12:06 am

RHD meaning tat we may have chance to see this here in malaysia… but only applies to those who are very very rich n environmental lover baru will buy this car… if the GTR manages to make its way here, im sure this one will be no problem as well…