MINI John Cooper Works now available in Malaysia

MINI JCW

The MINI John Cooper Works is now in Malaysia and available at Auto Bavaria and Sapura Auto showrooms for RM279,000. The MINI JCW’s 1.6 litre turbocharged engine gets boosted up to 211hp, with peak torque now at 260Nm (280Nm overboost) from as low as 1,850rpm. The MINI JCW is only available with a 6-speed manual, reflecting its more hardcore nature as compared to the Cooper S.

Other equipment that differentiates the JCW from the Cooper S is a sports suspension, JCW aerodynamic kit and a carbon fiber rear spoiler. BMW says all bodykit items serve aerodynamic functions instead of being just for aesthetics, improving handling and road-holding especially at higher speeds. THere are also exclusive 17 inch light alloys which weigh less than 10kg wrapped with 205/45R18W high speed run flat tyres.

DSC with DTC is offered as standard, an improvement over the DSC-only of the “baseline” MINIs. DTC is a less naggy version of DSC that only kicks in when you’re about to get into serious trouble, allowing you to have abit more fun with the car. When DSC (and DTC) is turned completely off, there is still Electronic Differential Lock Control.

The interior is done in Piano Black with Anthracite roof lining. The exterior comes in either Lightning Blue, Laser Blue, British Racing Green, Astro Black, Pure Silver, Dark Silver, and Sparkling Silver metallic, or Chili Red and Pepper White non-metallic.

Look at the linked related post for a hi-res photo gallery and videos.

MINI John Cooper Works Details and Hi-Res Photos

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• torque (Member) on Aug 08, 2008 at 12:49 pm

Performance and looks (and class too)…wow…great!! :-)
    Price…uhh…not so great!! :-(

• _xXx_ (Member) on Aug 08, 2008 at 1:30 pm

oh yes this is another small car for the poors who entitle RM625 rebate and yearly road tax of RM90+.

• abtm (Member) on Aug 08, 2008 at 2:00 pm

That is one expensive Mini, considering the Golf GTi is only Rm200k

• ndmervin (Member) on Aug 08, 2008 at 2:12 pm

This goes to show that despite all the economic downturn and political drama… still, there are people who WILL buy it… sigh.. we’ve got quite alot of ultra rich people around in plain clothes…

• Hikaru (Member) on Aug 08, 2008 at 2:32 pm

What a joke…RM278k for the top spec mini? For this price u can get a BM with cash to spare. I am sure in the UK u can say the same. Malaysia’s pricing system (or whatever system it has, or if u can call it a system) for cars is ridiculous.

Ppl in the UK call this a premium hatch. I think we need to call this a luxury car.

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Aug 08, 2008 at 3:35 pm

i prefer the ac schnitzer and hartge version of the mini

• csv (Member) on Aug 09, 2008 at 12:24 am

nice but how many people will actually buy it?

look at the price, can get alot of good continental cars or top japanese luxury makes already.

• dodgeviper88 (Member) on Aug 09, 2008 at 4:50 am

Woah, at that price, we can buy a S-class in most parts of the world.

• Roti Naan (Member) on Aug 09, 2008 at 12:06 pm

Malaysia car pricing is really screwed-up…

Nevertheless, I’m sure there still be rich dudes who will buy it in Malaysia

• rcopt2000 (Member) on Aug 09, 2008 at 1:42 pm

i really like mini yeah……! but no money to buy lah……..

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Aug 09, 2008 at 2:56 pm

malaysia is the only country where a gti is cheaper than a mini cooper S

• nightwalker (Member) on Nov 12, 2008 at 9:47 pm

Mini are more expensive anywhere else. Its just not as crazy in msia

• nightwalker (Member) on Nov 12, 2008 at 10:07 pm

Our car price is ridiculously expensive if compared to other country. But 1 thing that still many people can afford such prices is because we can easily get a loan from local bank as long as your name is not black listed. A person with a fixed income of RM30000 monthly can apply for a loan up to RM 5mil. Isn’t it ridiculous? Its impossible anywhere else in the world. So I think we can’t complain much.

• wat da #*!@$,,m'sia pricing is too worst..

if MC just sell about 100k,i'm really sure no more honda,toyota or other

compttr product in m'sia roads

• I love the car but I will think 1001x before buy it. Why do we need such performance where our road condition is not so great unless most of our day on the highway.

• Mr sudesh kumar (miet) on Jul 13, 2010 at 3:09 pm

If you want to know there his another faster mini cooper s work build by john cooper garage in 2003. This his 300bhp. This you can challange even the 5.litre bmw. I think the most expensive classic mini cooper s build by john cooper garage his somwhere in malaysia. I think it his at a staggering price of Malaysian ringgit around 600,000ringgit. This have been specially build from john cooper garage back in 1997. Just ask the mini boys from malacca. They even call the owner the king of mini coopers. Many Thanks.

• cheapRIM40rm on Sep 08, 2010 at 5:55 pm

what a fun car to drive but the price is just too wrong. with 300% tax on foreign vehicles, normal people would just go with kancils, kenaris and my-vis. poor-poor. if me, i would go for golf gti. where it is more reasonable to buy than a mini.