Proton UK to expand dealer internet presence

Proton LogoIf you notice, all the Mercedes-Benz Malaysia dealers here have their own dealer website such as www.ccb.mercedes-benz.com.my or www.hapseng.mercedes-benz.com.my, and Proton UK is set to follow a similiar path. They’ve tied up with a web agency and a marketing agency to develop over 80 individual websites for Proton UK dealers.

Each and every website will run on the same engine and will retain a common corporate look and feel while still being tailored to individual dealers. Proton also hopes individual local dealer sites will be able to appear in search engine listings for local searches.

The system will be tested for a few dealers at first, and a UK nationwide rollout will happen later. As for Proton Edar here in Malaysia, what’s with the slow loading and counter-intuitive excessive use of Flash on your website?

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Oct 21, 2008 at 4:53 pm

maybe they might be implementing it in the UK first, and then roll it out worldwide..?

but its really interesting to read about Proton doing something, somewhere in the world almost every week nowadays.

• msmar_453 (Member) on Oct 21, 2008 at 4:55 pm

No need (at the moment) for now, here!
    D*** streamyx!

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Oct 21, 2008 at 5:07 pm

proton so desperate for sales….still nobody in uk will buy that stupid car

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Oct 21, 2008 at 5:12 pm

ALPINA BMW said,

October 21, 2008 @ 5:07 pm

proton so desperate for sales….still nobody in uk will buy that stupid car

————————————————————

i suppose you would know, since you must have all the new car sales registered in the UK right?

• amad_a (Member) on Oct 21, 2008 at 5:34 pm

agreed with u paul, personally i dont think that proton should use flash on their web.. take google for example..fast to load, simple and elegant.
    to proton: have u heard about AJAX?

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Oct 21, 2008 at 5:45 pm

amad_a said,

October 21, 2008 @ 5:34 pm

agreed with u paul, personally i dont think that proton should use flash on their web.. take google for example..fast to load, simple and elegant.
    to proton: have u heard about AJAX?

——————————————-

the UK site is decent enough. loads quickly and is clear and simple. maybe its a model for the future? its a possibility since the UK site is quite new, and the proton edar site has been around much longer than that. also, proton uk is “proton”, and not a 3rd party distributor, so its not action taken by an independent company.

• johnsean (Member) on Oct 21, 2008 at 7:22 pm

In my opinion all car companies need an internet presence. BMW have internet TV…
    I would think that Proton can use Tengku Djan’s Motorsport Division, Lotus and educational partners to get a global footprint.
    Feel free to google: John Mansfield Lotus / Motorsport University Malaysia
    I realise a lot of people in Malaysia are either very pro, or very anti regarding Proton. They have certainly had a very bumpy road to date. I wish them all the best. The internet is a very important tool. Use it wisely.
    John Mansfield

• dcwhz83 (Member) on Oct 21, 2008 at 7:39 pm

nowadays if u realized, all govt or GLCs also tend to overspend…
    so i am not surprised the flash site for Proton Edar is to jack up the complexity of the website and therefore higher expenditure… and i guess u know who benefits…

btw, the flash site sometimes did not function very well in my PC or laptop… not to mention proton is for mass population… wonder how many mass population has broadband internet? not to mention the reliability of streamyx…

• szw (Member) on Oct 21, 2008 at 9:30 pm

i don find flash to be a prob wif loading flash wif my connection or pc.
    i think most probably alot m’sian don hav much flash prog installed to their pcs.
    if its connection prob , now theres alot of internet provider d mar…
    change lar…

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Oct 21, 2008 at 10:04 pm

TRY BMW’S uk WEBSITE, slow like hell

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Oct 21, 2008 at 11:55 pm

Great coz proton edar website is full of error that turns people away.

• aksMs (Member) on Oct 22, 2008 at 2:59 am

JULIAN LEE, is that you?

I also found no problem at all viewing the Proton Edar’s website, be it in the middle of the afternoon or later in the evening. The flash might be a bit too heavy for dial-up users. For streamyx? I don’t think so, except those downtimes. I pity those who still have problems with their Streamyx connection. I do mate. Been there.

johnsean, nice website there. Thanks mate!

• aksMs (Member) on Oct 22, 2008 at 3:01 am

MisterBenjo, what error is that? Mind sharing them with all of us?

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Oct 22, 2008 at 5:27 am

Well when you viewing the models one by one somehow there is java error popping up ” Permission Denied “. i dont know others have this problem….but i noticed it long time ago. Try to surf using IE.

• ignas (Member) on Oct 22, 2008 at 8:37 am

ya, local proton’s edar site is kinda slow, even for my streamyx. hav to wait till it loads a car full baru can see more info bout that car…zzZZzzZZzz…

• mystvearn (Member) on Oct 22, 2008 at 10:11 am

there are quite a number of fanatic proton followers in the UK. Does not suprise me since some dealers only sell limited proton range of cars

• bmpower (Member) on Oct 22, 2008 at 10:31 am

MisterBenjo said,
    October 22, 2008 @ 5:27 am
    Try to surf using IE.

wah!.. still using IE meh?
    i tot was obsolete oready. :p

Blame their webmaster. (no matter what car company was it. – Except toyota = if toyota use flash = they are a great tecnology adaption. Prtfhhhh.. )
    Why? don’t believe ah? try go to toyota website. : toyota dot com

nah? Flash some more? (gud gud.. technology wise you mofo )
    as long as it toyota, everything hell good.

BTW.. it’s step forward for whatever company go online now. Not only as information site.. oso booking online. ok what?

• tigerking (Member) on Oct 22, 2008 at 7:25 pm

Will this improve the car in any way like Safety, More Solid Chasis, Comfort Rides?