Volkswagen Scirocco TUNE IT! SAFE! Concept

Volkswagen Scirocco

The TUNE IT! SAFE! program is an initiative by the German Federal Ministry of Transport, the VDAT (Association of German Car Tuners) and Messe Essen (Essen trade fair company) and is held in conjunction with the Essen Motor Show every year, which for 2008 is coincidentally this month.

According to the organizers, German car enthusiasts spend as much as 4.4 billion Euros every year to modify their cars! There is of course safe tuning and modification with proper tested and proven accessories and there is of course inferior, inexpensive pirated copies of products. In fact, you could even call aftemarket HID kits which are not really engineered to point its beam properly as an unsafe modification.

Every year the TUNE IT! SAFE! program has prime examples of good and safe modification on display and this year there is this nice police-liveried Volkswagen Scirocco you see here.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• mengking (Member) on Nov 20, 2008 at 11:50 pm

One word to desribe this car .. SWwwwwwwWeeeet

• 2fast (Member) on Nov 20, 2008 at 11:53 pm

Hankook sponsor this?

• csv (Member) on Nov 21, 2008 at 12:29 am

our police leh? lol.

doubt it will be working well here if government also follow.

we got too many ah beng wiralution, wajalution myvi exhaust shoot fire, etc etc. practical cars modified to crappier extent serving the wrong purpose.

boom!

• whiteeye (Member) on Nov 21, 2008 at 1:24 am

csv said,
    our police leh? Waja lol

• MyviKiller (Member) on Nov 21, 2008 at 1:35 am

Yeah it comes with HAND-COCK tyres!

• ryan_foong80 (Member) on Nov 21, 2008 at 8:09 am

Volkswagen police car said dont make me angry…

• red7 (Member) on Nov 21, 2008 at 8:48 am

nice job!

• ALPINA Burkard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Nov 21, 2008 at 8:53 am

SURRENDER WHEN YOU SEE THIS CAR…whats with the hankook tyres though?

• jagermeister (Member) on Nov 21, 2008 at 8:53 am

Faster tuned cars, but safer.
    In Malaysia, faster tuned cars becomes lethal to the driver and other drivers.

• I my (Member) on Nov 21, 2008 at 8:56 am

Problem is most of the aftermarket products r v. exp??!! or we may call it over price.

• lambov12 (Member) on Nov 21, 2008 at 9:16 am

Whoever got seen the American police chase video, you will know that the U.S. police will drive a big 5.7 litres V8 corvette and crash into the crooks car .. That really make their police looks cool and proud …

On the other hand, in Malaysia, what actually police used to chase those criminals is a Perodua Kancil …. The criminals will drive something like BMW or Toyota … What a shame ..

Come on, PDRM should follow the Germans … Buy more powerful car to protect the citizen .. not a milo tin with a engine, 4 wheels and 4 seat on it … Useless ..

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Nov 21, 2008 at 9:34 am

csv said,
    November 21, 2008 @ 12:29 am

our police leh? lol.

doubt it will be working well here if government also follow.

we got too many ah beng wiralution, wajalution myvi exhaust shoot fire, etc etc. practical cars modified to crappier extent serving the wrong purpose.

boom!
    ————————-

the reason why the german govt is doing this is because they have the same problems as us, with their german version of bmwlution, or vwlution with modifications that are not done properly, and with fake parts..etc.

• Nakal (Member) on Nov 21, 2008 at 10:17 am

our police can make it one with coming soon NEO CPS.. but no need ah beng la.. Proton Prototype dept can built it..

• armandd (Member) on Nov 21, 2008 at 10:23 am

how big are those wheels? i think they are not really safe on pothole-ridden roads.

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Nov 21, 2008 at 10:47 am

MALAYSIA CAN NEVER MAKE IT !!!!! UNLESS THEY USE CONTINENTAL CARS !!!!

• isharestuff (Member) on Nov 21, 2008 at 11:20 am

No doubt a decent model in terms of house power and technology. With a little bit of tuning and enhancement on tire and chassis would rule the roads. No wonder it’s the choice of this year.

Paul, any chance to give us more shots for other model than Scirocco? Say the Smart car they tuned.

Love that metallic paint, makes cars look solid ehh. If apply on Japanese cars… drool… :P

• droll (Member) on Nov 21, 2008 at 11:56 am

nice nice nice. it looks like it could eat you up just be staring at you with those head lamps!

• albagmane (Member) on Nov 21, 2008 at 1:39 pm

lovely piece of machinery… i tot the Americans claim CONSUMER CARS are not supposed to be police cars since its not safe enough and a fully purpose built police car baru considers to be a police car…

• ALPINA Burkard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Nov 21, 2008 at 2:48 pm

there is no such thing as a high speed chase in malaysia because the fastest police cars the malaysian police ever had was the alfa romeo’s in the 1970’s or 1980’s, days when proton, perodua, hyundai , kia, geely or chery didnt exist

• mitlanevo (Member) on Nov 21, 2008 at 4:38 pm

how about the Evo X for our local mata? any further news?

• bolo (Member) on Nov 21, 2008 at 5:34 pm

” To punish and to enslave…” ha ha ha…

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Nov 22, 2008 at 9:51 am

ALPINA Burkard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG said,
    November 21, 2008 @ 2:48 pm

there is no such thing as a high speed chase in malaysia because the fastest police cars the malaysian police ever had was the alfa romeo’s in the 1970’s or 1980’s, days when proton, perodua, hyundai , kia, geely or chery didnt exist

———————————————————-

well, i think there are high speed chase in malaysia coz i heard malaysian Government bought 10 Mitsubishi Evo 11 for highway patrol recently !!!!! Did u noe bout this ?

• ALPINA Burkard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Nov 22, 2008 at 10:21 am

Xx- Ferrari -xX said,

November 22, 2008 @ 9:51 am

———————————————————-

well, i think there are high speed chase in malaysia coz i heard malaysian Government bought 10 Mitsubishi Evo 11 for highway patrol recently !!!!! Did u noe bout this ?
    ——————————-
    havent seen any yet, got also those stupid “MATA” where know how to drive

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Nov 22, 2008 at 11:14 pm

November 22, 2008 @ 10:21 am

Xx- Ferrari -xX said,

November 22, 2008 @ 9:51 am

———————————————————-

——————————-

————————————–

MATA ????? wad is that ?????

• kei9 (Member) on Nov 23, 2008 at 4:55 pm

“Xx- Ferrari -xX said,
    November 22, 2008 @ 11:14 pm

————————————–

MATA ????? wad is that ?????”

MATA a hokkien (dialects) word for police. :)

• ALPINA Burkard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Nov 26, 2008 at 6:41 pm

the stupid police of malaysia