Proton posts RM57 million profit for Q2 FY2008; renews Syed Zainal’s contract

Proton LogoProton’s board of directors announced yesterday afternoon that they have renewed the contract of Proton’s managing director, ato’ Haji Syed Zainal Abidin Syed Mohamed Tahir.

Also announced are the national automaker’s financial results for Q2 of FU2008, a profit before tax of RM57 million compared to RM59 million in Q2 2007, thanks to increase in domestic sales volume and reversal of allowance for doubtful debt, but this was offset by provisions for anticipated raw material and components price increase and higher overheads.

Revenue was up to RM3.55 billion in Q2 FY2008 compared to RM2.45 billion in Q2 FY2007, and units sold were 84,565 units versus 62,485 units for the first half of the year.

Click here to read the full financial report.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• kazai (Member) on Nov 28, 2008 at 2:55 am

1st…yeah..

very good to see dsz still in proton. he did a very good job.

• mohamad629 (Member) on Nov 28, 2008 at 7:28 am

Congrats Proton

• Nakal (Member) on Nov 28, 2008 at 7:41 am

Congrat!!
    What bout perodua? umw toyota?

• ALPINA Burkard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Nov 28, 2008 at 9:43 am

after a 570 billion investment

• bmpower (Member) on Nov 28, 2008 at 9:44 am

from the billions, proton has to reinvest a billion or two for upcoming models.
    but that was good.. no money fly to japan and europe.

wish the can give a better and better and better upcoming years.

very lucky they didn’t appoint the-son-in-law hahaha

• delos3nos (Member) on Nov 28, 2008 at 9:49 am

protong should have thanks our gorvement for their support if not their already bengkrup u know why

1. still producing a half working power window
    2. so other cars are more expensive to afford reasons malaysia boleh
    3. when the proton cannot sell they will sugguest gorverment to crush the cars which is 10 years old.
    4. thanks for your back dated 80s cps engine from lotus

• bestofamat (Member) on Nov 28, 2008 at 10:06 am

glad to here DSZ’s contract renewed but for how many years? I’m afraid that after March 2009, going to be different story………. who knows?

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Nov 28, 2008 at 10:43 am

well done proton.

• madmarzio (Member) on Nov 28, 2008 at 10:55 am

or your mind still at the 80’s delos3nos? or you want to say that vtec (i-vtec) also the 80’s originated technology but because of it is honda japanese car not the ‘bolehland’ based car, dont you?

come on la.. my brother civic also got the problem with its front passenger window which got stuck just about 2 months after he bought it.. my boss new land cruiser cygnus fully imported from japan auto down and up when hitting uneven pavement on the road..

expensive car? this time i’m kinda agree with u.. but i think i can live with it peacefully and sleep tidily..

crush old car? ok what… lets green the planet… hehe.. haha.. naza has 12 yrs repayment what.. hahahaha…

cheers..

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Nov 28, 2008 at 11:06 am

delos3nos said,
    November 28, 2008 @ 9:49 am

3. when the proton cannot sell they will sugguest gorverment to crush the cars which is 10 years old.

—————————————

technically, point 3 doesnt exist. there is no scrapping policy in this country last time i checked.

• lordragos (Member) on Nov 28, 2008 at 11:18 am

emm.. Proton make profit people complaint.. Proton not make profit people also complaint.. aiya. what la this sort of people…

• sagaKNIGHT (Member) on Nov 28, 2008 at 11:30 am

congratulation proton!
    :)

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Nov 28, 2008 at 11:54 am

If i not mistaken the scrapping policies is suggested by the dealers of Proton… They want to scrap those 15 year old cars with a MAX rebate of RM5k.

Actually i want to support this way, but becoz of many foreign car are tax high do you think the foreign car owner would like their merc or jaguar to be scrap for RM5k?

The only want to follow what Singapore & Japan doing is to finalize all the car price into a more competitive price. Like all have the same taxation and not some high and low. So the cars price and be depreciate more evently and can be scrap.

May i ask the G, how about the Kyoto Protocol?!? I tot we should be following it right? Where is the EURO 2 standart diesel or petrol?

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Nov 28, 2008 at 11:57 am

Anyway congrats to Proton.. Anyway how about Perodua? I heard they are doing well also..

• cbljkkj (Member) on Nov 28, 2008 at 12:46 pm

Paul,

You missed the “D” in Dato’ in the second line, opening para.

Cheers!

• ALPINA Burkard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Nov 28, 2008 at 12:57 pm

more bullshit from proton

• knight_templar (Member) on Nov 28, 2008 at 1:29 pm

An issue which has plagued our dear country for some time now has got me thinking. It is said that policies and practices have caused a brain drain and very few intelligent ppl are left here whilst many have gone abroad to look for greener pastures. Coupled with inept language skills (some of u probably dont even get an iota of what ive said so far) it seems our young are not competitive-simply put, downright dumb.
    This brings me neatly on to todays matter, DSZ’s appointment. We tend to play it easy when it comes to leadership. Put a person up there and hope everything will be ok for eternity. Then after fifty years complain, complain and curse yourself. But hey you screwed yourself. The same mistake thats going on here.
    A new person can build on DSZ’s work, DSZ doesnt have to stick around for long. Our country is hopefully not yet impotent with talent. But indications are not good. It seems ppl nowadays accept even porn vid starers to lead them, push them around and tell them wat to do, as was evident in the local scene.
    Some of you even had the audacity to challenge my words with your pathetic attempts which i would not even say was tantamount to a fools advocate. But hey fools are supposed to be harmless deranged individuals. So I’ll leave it at that for now but don’t ruffle anymore feathers or your screwed. Remember, you asked for it…

• kickas5car (Member) on Nov 28, 2008 at 2:21 pm

knight_templar said,
    November 28, 2008 @ 1:29 pm

An issue which has plagued our dear country for some time now has got me thinking. It is said that policies and practices have caused a brain drain and very few intelligent ppl are left here whilst many have gone abroad to look for greener pastures. Coupled with inept language skills (some of u probably dont even get an iota of what ive said so far) it seems our young are not competitive-simply put, downright dumb.
    This brings me neatly on to todays matter, DSZ’s appointment. We tend to play it easy when it comes to leadership. Put a person up there and hope everything will be ok for eternity. Then after fifty years complain, complain and curse yourself. But hey you screwed yourself. The same mistake thats going on here.
    A new person can build on DSZ’s work, DSZ doesnt have to stick around for long. Our country is hopefully not yet impotent with talent. But indications are not good. It seems ppl nowadays accept even porn vid starers to lead them, push them around and tell them wat to do, as was evident in the local scene.
    Some of you even had the audacity to challenge my words with your pathetic attempts which i would not even say was tantamount to a fools advocate. But hey fools are supposed to be harmless deranged individuals. So I’ll leave it at that for now but don’t ruffle anymore feathers or your screwed. Remember, you asked for it…

Khazanah is just renewing him for a second term, which he deserves it, unless he is needed elsewhere. Why so critical?

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Nov 28, 2008 at 3:09 pm

knight_templar said,
    November 28, 2008 @ 1:29 pm

The same mistake thats going on here.
    A new person can build on DSZ’s work, DSZ doesnt have to stick around for long.
    ————————–

sorry dude, my language skills are probably no where near as good as yours cause i dont quite get what you’re saying. do you mean that for any company, or country or whatever that needs leadership, the leader (even if he is performing well) should never stay on for too long (3 years in DSZ’s case), or do you only mean so in Proton’s case or you meant something else totally??

• car_craze (Member) on Nov 28, 2008 at 3:38 pm

Knight_templer, you talk a lot but very little substance. When you say ‘deranged individuals’, do you mean yourself?

DSZ should be given a chance to improve Proton further. 3 years is very short, and he still mangaed to turn around the company, despite having to clean up the previous CEO’s quality problems.

• alihms (Member) on Nov 28, 2008 at 4:12 pm

knight_templar

What is actually your point? I don’t quite get it.

What got to do with DSZ should stay (OR should not stay OR what the heck are you talking about?) with brain drain? And then, all those ‘pre-emptive’ strike mumblings on any would be challenger.

Gosh.. I must take English classes again…

• not_ah_beng (Member) on Nov 28, 2008 at 4:40 pm

LOL………..with all the support from the govt and the spoonfeeding – and they ONLY manage to make a mere RM57 million pre-tax profit? Pathetic. Plus they actually launch a model that is less crappy than the other **** they put out before. Guess that on a year that they don’t profit of RM57 million (pre-tax) will turn into a loss of few hundred millions RM. But don’t worry mah, got G to bail them out with our money.

Actually, I must confess, I am one of those that complain whether or not Potong earn or loss money. Why?

When they earn money, then the G feels this cancer has more reasons to stick around longer, despite producing substandard cars that won’t even sell 1 unit in a LEVEL playingfield.

When they loss money, I am actually very happy – until I realize that the G gonna use MY money to support this piece of crap company and will never let it close down forever and ever as long as BN still in power.

If only one of my good friend wasn’t driving potong during his accident. If his Iswara had even any basic safety features like airbag and a body made out of something harder than Tin Sardin he might still be around today.

Podah lah potong. Every night before I sleep I pray that you close shop faster. And I also pray for all of those involve in creation and running the company to burn in hell for killing so many innocent Msians over the yrs.

• autojohndoe (Member) on Nov 28, 2008 at 4:56 pm

I see… basher always talk about Proton past…. never try to accept todays progress… always negative, thats why malaysia is very difficult to be developed…

not_ah_beng…i am sorry for your loss, but, death is a fate, it may happen in any kind of situation… last time, i had read a news a father and his son died in a Ferrari because hit a tree…

• saki77 (Member) on Nov 28, 2008 at 5:07 pm

Ye la…m’sian ppl only died in accident bcoz driving a proton…haiya…new statistic…hari ni baru tau…

Sorry bout yr fren la…one question..did he died solely bcoz of proton factor?..or there are other factor that lead to the accident?..so now r u blaming averything that cause the accident?..
    peace… :)

• not_ah_beng (Member) on Nov 28, 2008 at 5:14 pm

autojohndoe:

What progress? Seriously, do tell me some sort of progress that actually can made someone said, “Boy I am proud to drive Potong car” this year?

Wow, they launch a BLM that is almost 15-20 yrs overdue? (Btw, Potong still selling the predecessor Iswara if you want to know). And nothing bout the BLM really outstanding, just that its real cheap (thanks to G tax policy) so ppl who can’t afford got no choice but to buy some crappy model?

Wow. they launch the “new” cps that is suppose to be launch 3-4 yrs ago? Utilizing technology Japan has 10+ yrs back? And launch it in a car with interior so plastic and cheap it has more melanin inside than a Chinese dairy?

Come back and talk to me about Potong “progress” when they can compete in level playing field and become top seller in market like Thailand, Sg, UK, etc.

Btw, I am well aware that fatal accidents does occur even for any car, but unless you are blind or a liar you sure do have to admit that Iswara is a very very dangerous car without any basic safety features and body of tin sardin. If I give 1000 random people a list to rank which is the safest car, I am pretty sure almost all will put Iswara down near, if not AT the very bottom of the list.

• madmarzio (Member) on Nov 28, 2008 at 5:20 pm

knight_templar,

if you are malaysian and born here, i must admit that i am very proud that our country, at least has one people like you. you are so smart, oh sorry, my bad, too smart and too intelligent that no other people can match your. if you are foreigner, its my honor you could spend your little time in this paul’s forum.

i wish you are somebody in your real world, or.. oh my god, is it your mansion which is sitting next to bill gates castle, isn’t you?

mmm.. did you know why the politician, i mean our politician, ok la.. malaysian politician rules the country called malaysia? because most of them is a damn good speaker.. oh.. you already knew it.. sorry.. so, what got to do with these politicians with you?.. nothing la.., just wasting my time here and try to improve my bad english..

cheers..

• autojohndoe (Member) on Nov 28, 2008 at 5:31 pm

having the ‘new cps’ and IAFM in the car is a progress rather than having old 4g15 or 4g13 or 4g16 mitsu engine to me… having good handling is a progress rather than nothing featured… having abs on the new proton car is a progress to me…having totally new design is a progress to me… getting a persona is a progress to me… and, maybe i am the only saying I likeProton… who knows…

and, for your info Saga is awarded “Car of the Year” by ASEAN Autocar for small sedan…. some ppl proud of owning it…

• autojohndoe (Member) on Nov 28, 2008 at 5:33 pm

and about playing on the level field… i cant help it… sorry… but i happy with progress…

cheers

• autojohndoe (Member) on Nov 28, 2008 at 5:36 pm

plus again… yes agree, iswara is a dangerous car without any safety features… see, i m not a liar… huhu…

• Wisdom (Member) on Nov 28, 2008 at 7:08 pm

not_ah_beng said,
    November 28, 2008 @ 5:14 pm

autojohndoe:

What progress? Seriously, do tell me some sort of progress that actually can made someone said, “Boy I am proud to drive Potong car” this year?

Wow, they launch a BLM that is almost 15-20 yrs overdue? (Btw, Potong still selling the predecessor Iswara if you want to know). And nothing bout the BLM really outstanding, just that its real cheap (thanks to G tax policy) so ppl who can’t afford got no choice but to buy some crappy model?

Wow. they launch the “new” cps that is suppose to be launch 3-4 yrs ago? Utilizing technology Japan has 10+ yrs back? And launch it in a car with interior so plastic and cheap it has more melanin inside than a Chinese dairy?

Come back and talk to me about Potong “progress” when they can compete in level playing field and become top seller in market like Thailand, Sg, UK, etc.

Btw, I am well aware that fatal accidents does occur even for any car, but unless you are blind or a liar you sure do have to admit that Iswara is a very very dangerous car without any basic safety features and body of tin sardin. If I give 1000 random people a list to rank which is the safest car, I am pretty sure almost all will put Iswara down near, if not AT the very bottom of the list.
    ———————————

If Iswara was crappy Milo tin, I wonder what a Kancil, Viva base model can be called? Aluminium foil?

My uncle passed away in an accident when my cousin’s vios overshoot a corner. Damn Toyota. This must be Toyota soul fault.

BLM 15-20 years overdue? Then it should be launch on 1988, is that what you mean?

If Proton Waja CPS for example has more melamin than chinese dairy, Vios J plastic interior could be made from 100% melamine?

From your post, i can see you’re actually an Ah_Beng

• not_ah_beng (Member) on Nov 28, 2008 at 8:29 pm

@autojohndoe:

For me, that definition of “progress” is 10 years wayyy to late. Almost like a 20 year old guy just learnt how to read and write while meanwhile most of his peers are already graduating from University.

and Autocar ASEAN Award? WOW!! /sarc. Now, no disrespect to Autocar ASEAN, but you bet I won’t go crazy over Proton winning some award from a LOCAL-BASED car mag, given our market state (high tax, fewer foreign models available and they are launched far later than in Thailand or Sg). Yes, I know the parent company is foreign, but they are still published in My.

Also Autocar Asean does not requalify its awards IIRC (no car can win twice a yr in a row) – so, more chance to win, especially in our local market with few compacts/BLMs being launched.

• adunadun (Member) on Nov 28, 2008 at 8:55 pm

yo Wisdom ,, even proton do well in future,have good sell figure in other country …..this “autojohndoe” still point out somthing bad about proton punye…
    waste your time laa…dont bother him ,,let him enjoy him self laa…

p/s even if human at other planet buy proton pun, he will never satisfied

• Prem3377 (Member) on Nov 28, 2008 at 9:40 pm

not_ah_beng,

as pointed out by a autojohndoe and Wisdom..please get your facts right before commenting here…

thats why they call people like you blind bashers…

proton has sold more than a thousand unit in thailand and a few more thousand outside malaysia..even in australia and UK..(level playing field as you said!!)

sorry about your friend…but dont simple say proton is the main cause…
    in US there is about 100000 accident death per year and guess what??they never driven a proton!!

in France..most car has atleast a Euro Ncap 3(sold after year 2000) stars with airbags and abs compulsory..but they still have about 18000 people dying involving car( cars only accident with compulsory safety features) accident yearly!!

so how can you blame a car??

we malaysians always complain that our country products like shit,good for nothing and etc but they actually fact is people like us are the one who create,sell,buy,use, and etc these products..all made in malaysia by malaysians..

its our attitude which create this situation!!its by Malaysians…we cannot blame anyone else for this mistake!!its always us!!

when we are not on level playing field how can you expect your fellow malaysian to be on level playing field??proton consist mostly of malaysians!!

when we know our G is corrupted yet they still have the majority…

when we know we are treated unfairly by paying high prices for things and earning so little..we still infront of PC and complain..

when inflation rate is high we just skip breakfast..

when prices of consumer products too high..we seek for alternative then sit at mamak shop and complain!!

when proton has bad quality we blame their management,creat rumours and bash blindly!!

end of the day its US..its ALL us..look at thailand…when they know their leadership is corrupted..just see what they are doing…

we malaysians even to vote for opposition we think so much till we just dare not change the fate of our nation!then how can be blame the PM,proton or etc when we dare not even question the leadership which we ourselves choosed to rule the country???

we put them where they are..and then we sit here and complain..haha…proton exist because of Tun dr M’s vision..and guess who made him the prime minister??we did!!so whose fault??think again!!

l

• rt (Member) on Nov 28, 2008 at 10:17 pm

dear not_ah_beng

1. Frost and Sullivan ASEAN Car of the year for Malaysia.
    — before you interject.
    a) Frost&Sullivan is not Malaysian.
    b) Proton is not the only car that are sold in Malaysia.
    c) Best does not meant cheapest and melanine-full.

2. Level Playing field.
    a) Proton do sell cars outside Malaysia.
    b) Outside, the playing field is still not level. Competitors have:
    i) More money to spend on research/marketing/etc
    ii) Better product image. People tend to believe that Japs
    car are better than Malaysian even though it is made in
    Timbuktu. (ring a bell?)

• Wisdom (Member) on Nov 28, 2008 at 10:19 pm

Plenty of airbags but not giving signal at intersection / junction = ahbeng safety standard. modern ahbeng.

• saki77 (Member) on Nov 28, 2008 at 11:03 pm

biar je la si ah beng tu….kawan dia dah meninggal tu…kesian kat die…
    korang cakap pepe pon x guna tu…org tgh frust ngan marah tu….

Let him be laa….i think he would probably bomb the Proton factory one day la….hehehe..
    Imagine if his friend drove a merc…..and then died in an accident…
    Maybe its ok la kot….mati naik kete mahal….

• hyundai (Member) on Nov 28, 2008 at 11:17 pm

Wow… Quite an impressive result…

• yippi33 (Member) on Nov 28, 2008 at 11:23 pm

i sense that not_ah_beng is white eye judging by his/her grammar and also the way he/she expresses his/her grievances about proton..or have these bashers came to an agreement to use a common language when bashing? you guys sure are weird…

Congrats DSZ..like you said..theres a lot of work to do..(dont he sound like obama??)

• szw (Member) on Nov 28, 2008 at 11:33 pm

good job proton…
    to those who still say proton sucks:
    if u really think proton sucks, den get lost…
    you’re not suppose to be here…
    your house is the garbage bin…
    you don’t have the rights to complain about proton if you don’t even know wth you talking about…

not_ah_beng,
    you know why your friend died ?
    because he’s a lousy driver…
    i bet he’s speeding…
    you gonna blame driver error in something that don’t even have a life ?
    that’s how a lot of m’sian drive…
    losing somebody is hard.
    but u can’t blame everything on a car ?
    wat happen your friend has been chosen to leave earth during that time ?
    he might die anywhere no matter wat…
    get the situation ?

• seat-belt (Member) on Nov 29, 2008 at 12:52 am

well done proton, keep it up!

• ob8 (Member) on Nov 29, 2008 at 9:21 am

the next 6 months will b most challenging. i hope proton will keep away from the red as consumer confidence is low and slow economy across the globe inc msia. most car companys seeing red already, slashing jobs, even ask for a buyout from authorises etc. looking forward on the mpv sales

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Nov 29, 2008 at 9:32 am

I’m with KT.

Sure, proton is doing better, congrats to them.

But think about it, it really doesn’t matter who is at the helm of Proton. Proton is run by its Board of Directors, many which have stakes in various portions in the supply chain. I will leave out the notion how good the qualities of parts these suppliers provide, that, we can all have our own opinions.

These same Board of Directors have immence influence on government automotive policies, which favours a more protected environment.

Unless these Directors change or were changed, whoever is at the helm of proton will be no more than a puppet.

The odds that hapening, literally NIL.

Until Proton can prove it can compete on a fair playing field, all I can offer them is a golf clap.

• autojohndoe (Member) on Nov 29, 2008 at 9:54 am

adunadun said,

November 28, 2008 @ 8:55 pm

yo Wisdom ,, even proton do well in future,have good sell figure in other country …..this “autojohndoe” still point out somthing bad about proton punye…
    waste your time laa…dont bother him ,,let him enjoy him self laa…

p/s even if human at other planet buy proton pun, he will never satisfied
    dear adunadun,

why do i get the blame?

• aenz81 (Member) on Nov 29, 2008 at 10:00 am

Dear Mr. not_ah_beng…..
    For me better late than never, and better trying than giving up without trying.. and it simple and easy as… if u like, then stay… if u don’t, just leave.. we or proton never force ppls to buy their cars, if they like, just buy the car, if not.. they still got another options out there.
    Anyway, good job proton…

• lmst (Member) on Nov 29, 2008 at 10:14 am

hope proton can set price properly…i kena already…..buy saga iswara at 34k..after 2 month, it drop to 27k…what a stupid thing..

• God.of.War (Member) on Nov 29, 2008 at 10:19 am

szw said,
    November 28, 2008 @ 11:33 pm

good job proton…
    to those who still say proton sucks:
    if u really think proton sucks, den get lost…
    you’re not suppose to be here…
    your house is the garbage bin…
    you don’t have the rights to complain about proton if you don’t even know wth you talking about…

not_ah_beng,
    you know why your friend died ?
    because he’s a lousy driver…
    i bet he’s speeding…
    you gonna blame driver error in something that don’t even have a life ?
    that’s how a lot of m’sian drive…
    losing somebody is hard.
    but u can’t blame everything on a car ?
    wat happen your friend has been chosen to leave earth during that time ?
    he might die anywhere no matter wat…
    get the situation ?

—————————————————————-

Here is the fact, more than 50% or accidents, becoz of the driver, so thk urself la…

How often accident becoz of it is really accident? Example brake problem? (Never service brake?, isnt it coz human problem?) Cant see coz rain too heavy? (Never change wiper blade?, human problem also rite?)…

If ur car are well maintained, im sure u can reduce the accident by 30%… not mentioning driving behaviour…

• autojohndoe (Member) on Nov 29, 2008 at 10:33 am

using 4M approach in problem solving… Man, Machine, Method, Material… usually, the root cause percentage is 80% biased to Man factor… usually la… i dont say always…

• shooter (Member) on Nov 29, 2008 at 10:33 am

I’m not with KT or 4G63T, bluntly speaking.

to be honest I’m quite amused to see several people here, capable of only seeing things through their clouded, myopic and distorted intelectual (if one could call it that) lenses. and since the subject of brain drain was brought up by KT, I am now very much fearful for the country’s future since all of our best and brightest have left the country. leaving him as the only intelect amongst us…

two words for you- HOT AIR

• autojohndoe (Member) on Nov 29, 2008 at 10:50 am

i am not against the views on whoever capable can run Proton instead of DSZ… but from my view is, he had experienced the Toyota Production System at P2 which takes several years (if not mistaken la, I’ve been there for training) to implement (but not fully implement),,, he understand how the TPS work from the management perspective; the Total Quality Management, in the production line, Gemba, Kaizen, 5S and etc…

for me, 3 years is not sufficient for him to change the Proton’s ppl minded which has been trained with Mitsubishi mind thinking… The Mitsubishi way (previously) is different with the Toyota way… pls do figure it out… it not just about who knows to manage.. but knows how the competitor work…

and the Japanese is stingy with their knowledge… it is not easy to ask them to teach….

• tokmoh (Member) on Nov 29, 2008 at 10:58 am

I’m with prem3377. In finland, they nd abt 2 yrs to get licence, they nd to learn how to drift to get their licence!! That’s why “If u want to win, get a Finn driver.” :D Go Kimi!!

Ok, my point is, our driving education system is just insufficient. I believe it needs to instill the sense of courtesy in us, as well as the importance of maintaining cars very good. I drive a 17-yr old saga, n I treat it with respect by driving it with care (when I hv no emergency la), tell my dad when nxt maintenance is due (got a few stickers on windscreen to remind nxt time to change oil, timing belt etc). Also, more importantly, it needs to educate the importance of having a positive, optimistic attitude. And it’s not just for car, I mean attitude towards living in every aspect. Speaking of which, I heard savvy did well in thailand :) That’s in a country with level playing field.

autojohndoe,

rilek bro, tersalah tgk tu. Dia ingat ko yg bash, padahal ko setakat quote je, ehehe.

Omedeto gazaimasu DSZ~~!!

All hail DSZ!!

• not_ah_beng (Member) on Nov 29, 2008 at 11:39 am

Awww……….look at all the Potong fanboys………so poor thing. Guess you must be Potong employee or salesman thats why so blind to defend a crappy car company even after 23 years. LOL.

Sure, you can blame accident on human error, never service brakes, etc whatever. But I notice you purposely refuse to refer to my 2nd point – that if you ask 1000 (or lets make it 10,000) random people to survey which cars they think are safest all the Potong esp Iswara will be near the bottom (together with Perodua Kancil). Dare to disagree? And yes, human error may be main cause of accident, but ONCE you commit the error or actually involve in accident the safety features of the car is very important. Thats why Schumacher can survive crash at 200+km/h in his Ferrari when in ordinary car he ham ka chan already. Yes, even one of the greatest driver ever also can made mistake – but his car keep him safe.

And thats why Potong is a piece of junk. Cos vast majority of their cars OTR even after 20 years lacks basic safety features. Even though overseas they implemented some time back. Because to them MALAYSIAN LIFE IS CHEAP. So much for you fanboys, you love Potong, but Potong don’t love you – LOL.

Anyway, no need to talk so much about this award and that award. There is a good reason why the likes of Vios and City outsell Gen-2 and Waja even with the outrageous tax. And also why Vios and City retain 2nd hand value much much better than any Potong car in existence. Hehe………looks like you can’t fool Malaysians boys. End up we still know which is junk.

Anyway, even your beloved G also dun wan 2 use Potong Perdana if they could. Even the founder of Potong Mahatir oso rather use a VW. hihihihi. What loosers. ^^

• not_ah_beng (Member) on Nov 29, 2008 at 11:52 am

LOL………..good spin my friend. You learn from Wong Chun Wai? Hehehe.

Brader, Potong sales target FOR ENTIRE YEAR 2008 is a lousy 5,000 unit only. ALL MODELS. As reported on this blog. What a bloody joke. Hehe.

Potong sales in Thailand during Q1 2008? A pathetic 1,500. Toyota sales in Thailand during Q1 2008? A whopping 67,012. Thats only 45 times more, Potong. Keep it up!!! One day, one day…………..LOL

http://www.aseanaffairs.com/thailand_automotive_car_sales_defy_high_fuel_prices

“Level playing field” huh. Yeah, lets leave it at that shall we.

• autojohndoe (Member) on Nov 29, 2008 at 12:03 pm

suddenly put Kancil name, than when other ppl put datsun, u put datsun on the list… pls do that 1000 thousand survey first, than share it with us before claiming anything…

u r very disappointed bcoz u have buy toyota or honda or any other car with high price…

i am not a rich ppl… so, old Proton Saga with no safety feature all i can get… not saying that i love it very much nor i hate it…

the car has no extra safety feature, so i put extra safety measure to myself, drive with proper speed, concentrate more on the road and the way ppl drive, predict the risk which may rise and etc…

• tiadaid (Member) on Nov 29, 2008 at 3:15 pm

To all the Malaysian people who love to bash Malaysian products, I have news for you :- You’re also made in Malaysia, so you must be crap too!

• adunadun (Member) on Nov 29, 2008 at 4:08 pm

loh,,mistaken identity..i point to not_ah_beng actually,
    sori autojohndoe

• shooter (Member) on Nov 29, 2008 at 5:27 pm

not_ah_beng said,-

“Brader, Potong sales target FOR ENTIRE YEAR 2008 is a lousy 5,000 unit only. ALL MODELS. As reported on this blog.”

but Paul reported:-

“Revenue was up to RM3.55 billion in Q2 FY2008 compared to RM2.45 billion in Q2 FY2007, and units sold were 84,565 units versus 62,485 units for the first half of the year.”

care to comment?

• saki77 (Member) on Nov 29, 2008 at 6:14 pm

ah beng?..Awwww?…pondan ka?

• shooter (Member) on Nov 29, 2008 at 6:59 pm

awww… whats the matter P1 hater?…cat caught you tounge ahh? fyi I’m not a P1 salesman, employee, vendor or in any way linked to the company at all.

in my life time so far, i have been very lucky to have had the oppurtunity, to have a fairly well mixed assortment of automobiles, that have stayed in the porch in my family’s home. among them are a Ford Esccort, a Merc S280, a C220, an E220 Masterpiece, three generations of Honda Accords, a Lexus RX350, the current Camry 2.4L, an Iswara 1.3, a Wira Aeroback 1.5L, a Waja Premium, a Myvi, a Perdana V6, the current Volvo S240 and a brand new HL Persona.

I’m no expert, and I know there are people out there that have sampled more and better , than what I and my family have. from where I’m standing the CURRENT P1 models are pretty good, way-way better than models that came out 20yrs ago.

and FYI the basic safety equipment in ANY vehicle nowadays is the seat belt, and i believe my late grand uncle wore them when he took me for my 1st ride in the (then) brand new P1 Saga back in 1986. way before Schumacher was in F1.

speaking of which, if you were refering to an F1 machine, on a track, then i wouldnt comment. but at 200++kph in an F430 Vs a tree/ devider/ kancil 660 even, his chances of survival very,very slim. you check out some of the pics of car crashes on the Autobahn, you’ll see many big conti cars in many, many peices, so get real will ya? and besides why do you want to drive an Iswara, on the road, at that speed? sounds like the driver him/her self values life (their’s and the others on the road) cheaply…..

one more thing, your perception on how bad the build quality and the question of reliability of P1 cars are neither new or exclusive to P1-as if none of the imported cars my family and i had didnt have any defect….

back in the 70s Alfas were called ‘rust buckets’ and to this day that notion still lingers in my dads mind. in the 80’s Beemers were called ‘manja’ and ‘sensitive’- easy to break down. but to our generation these brands represent sexyness, power, security, achievement, sucess, so on and so forth.-my point is that things have changed, and are slowly changing for P1. it took about three decades for alfa to have a better image in the minds of my father’s generation. and i believe, with regards to P1, that you are suffering the same thing old man…..

• not_ah_beng (Member) on Nov 30, 2008 at 1:07 am

@shooter:

“care to comment?”

Duhhhh………we were talking about the “level playing field” market in Thailand? Potong fans always got poor reading comprehension. tsk tsk.

Btw, obviously, fatal crashes may happen in any car at 200+km/h but in the lightweight Proton Iswara with negligible safety features except seat belt, you will find fatal crashes occur at much lower speeds (not that the crap car can even reach 200km/h in the first place…….especially the useless 1.3l verrsion).

Btw, as for you claiming that the only basic safety equipment in a car is seatbelt…………..all I have to say is ROFL. Clearly, the “less informed” people at institutes like EuroNCAP don’t agree with you. In fact, I seriously doubt you have come anywhere close to a Volvo or Mercedes much less own one if you continue to spout this sort of BS. But hey, kononya, you own a lot of cars, so you must know more than them right? LOL.

One more thing:

“from where I’m standing the CURRENT P1 models are pretty good, way-way better than models that came out 20yrs ago”

I guess this is the only kind of statement is the only sort of rubbish Potong fans can come up with. Heh.

“our cars now are better than models that came out 20 years ago”. All I have to say is WOW. WOW. Yeah ok. Maybe in another 20 years time, we will make some models better than the models now. What kind of deluded thinking is this? If in 20 years Potong still make the same junk model (and they do, Iswara model produce up until year 2008) then they pretty much have no hope already.

People compare HERE AND NOW, and compare to other foreign automaker, Potong = FAIL. Improve from 0 marks to 20 marks in exam is still FAIL, especially when other students scoring around 70-80%.

Btw, Alfa Romeo is still known for reliability problems just that they make really good looking cars, even since the 70s – so they still can survive even with their reliability issues. Unfortunately for Potong it makes rust buckets that look exactly like rust buckets (and overpriced rust buckets at that) – too bad for them.

Btw, if you so sure Potong is “changing its image” why don’t ask the G to remove the tax on foreign cars and let all Malaysian decide with their wallet? LOL.

Whats the matter, Potong fanboy, cat got your tongue?

• Wisdom (Member) on Nov 30, 2008 at 1:08 am

Anyway, no need to talk so much about this award and that award. There is a good reason why the likes of Vios and City outsell Gen-2 and Waja even with the outrageous tax. And also why Vios and City retain 2nd hand value much much better than any Potong car in existence. Hehe………looks like you can’t fool Malaysians boys. End up we still know which is junk.
    -not_ah_beng

The likes of vios & city outsold Gen-2 and Waja not due to quality per-se. There were also cases of arrogant ah-pek and pacik, the likes of you out there, try to look ‘successful’ by buying japanese wannabe models specially formulated for dumb asean consumer. And please study carefully that the tax for japanese car was reduced, but the manufacturer + dealer (umw/tan chong) refuses to reduce their price because they have you (sample of dumb malaysian) who can’t figure out value, and willing to pay fat profit to fulfill their greed.

Please test drive Vios J and Waja CPS back to back and define your value. Dont eat my word (of Wisdom). Do it and you’ll know.

• adunadun (Member) on Nov 30, 2008 at 4:07 am

Wisdom said,
    =======================================
    And please study carefully that the tax for japanese car was reduced, but the manufacturer + dealer (umw/tan chong) refuses to reduce their price because they have you (sample of dumb malaysian) who can’t figure out value, and willing to pay fat profit to fulfill their greed.
    ========================================

agreed,

• Prem3377 (Member) on Nov 30, 2008 at 4:16 am

wei not_ah_beng@whiteeye,

no matter how many times you change your nickname..we know who you are!!your stupidity clearly shows whenever you submit a comment here!!

what formula 1 and Schumacher got to do with passenger cars??formula 1 cars worth 100 million plus..and only 20 to 22 lucky drivers can drive them..so why on Earth you compare with production cars?

wei no matter what car you drive..only up to speed of 50 to 70 km/h you are safe…after that speed you have to depend on your luck..simple as tat…crash test are done in controlled speed..understand!!if you drive about that its at your own risk!!if yo dont believe me ask the guys from NCAP!!

if you hate proton doesnt mean they are bad..come to earth please and come to year 2008..where have you been so long??hanging around which you china friends??maybe you have eaten to much melamine!!go seek a foreign doctor..

look at your facts again,

the sales record you have given shows clearly how narrow minded you are..the sales record for toyota in thailand includes their SUT!!which sells like hot cake in thailand…if you have abit of brain left inside your skull…check out how many cars similar class to proton savvy and proton Gen 2 sold in thailand for toyota..

then show us the figure.do show us bullshit k??cause the second standing is Isuzu..and what passenger car does Isuzu produce???and yet they are second…didnt you notice that…

and proton is a new comer in thailand..so how can you compare sales figures to say proton is not doing well in level playing field??plus check your earlier post…you said proton can sell none in level playing field..and then on your second post you change you story with sales figures…use ur brain abit la Mr Ah beng..(if you have any)dont change topic ans try to escape from your crappy comments when you cant find an answer…

how can you say proton is over priced??where is your facts for this??

check out how much a gen2 cps cost in langkawi without tax and how a vios G spec cost in Langkawi..and tell us what u learned from that!!

if you fail your exam by getting 0 you are dumb..and when you get 20 we call it improvement..not just sitting there and getting 0 forever..

companies like toyota and etc have failed more than once..the key of achievement is by not giving up…and now proton is making profit..why complain??

you are a lazy person who just want the G to remove tax for foreign cars..work harder and get them la k..there is very little tax free cars sold around the world k…taxing cars is a must..even proton do pay taxes…protecting a local product is not only practised in malaysia..go korea,japan,china or any car producing nation..and you will know..

so dont be lazy coward just trying to by cheaper cars by killing our very own national product and heavy industry..

next time change yourself..dont think you can just change you indentity by changing nicknames..stupidity is not easy to hide..it clearly shows whenever you post a comment here….

• shooter (Member) on Nov 30, 2008 at 7:48 am

to Wisdom, Prem3377,adunadun

guys I ithink we shud jus stay away from this sure_ah_beng, its like wrestling witha a pig- we get dirty and so does the pig, but the pig loves it….

• autojohndoe (Member) on Nov 30, 2008 at 10:40 am

back to the topic….

Proton makes profits…. Good… Malaysia got money…

DSZ stay…. so, i hope he can implement the Toyota Production System as much as possible before being replaced with another capable person…

• awak (Member) on Nov 30, 2008 at 1:40 pm

today in paper, DSZ awarded,

• aenz81 (Member) on Nov 30, 2008 at 2:02 pm

Wisdom said,
    November 30, 2008 @ 1:08 am

Please test drive Vios J and Waja CPS back to back and define your value. Dont eat my word (of Wisdom). Do it and you’ll know.
    —————————————————————-
    I most prefer if u asking him to test drove Vios J and Gen2 CPS(M) as both of
    the cars have a similar body weight…

Prem3377 said,
    November 30, 2008 @ 4:16 am
    ———————————————————-
    well said mate, agreed with ur statement….

autojohndoe said,
    November 30, 2008 @ 10:40 am
    —————————————————
    We hope so… we want proton to produce a good quality cars for “rakyat” with reasonable prices

awak said,
    November 30, 2008 @ 1:40 pm
    ————————————————–
    Well well…. good to hear that mate….

• adunadun (Member) on Nov 30, 2008 at 3:22 pm

if i not mistaken ,toyota heve manufacture site in thailand,indon
    we cant go to their country and sell our car at cheapest price just like that, it will effected their country auto manufacture industry, obviously they are protecting their income, so malysia did the same approach!!(yet people keep say malaysia protect p1 too much) but the smart of p1 was , now p1 have their own engine ,and owner of the design, so p1 dont need to pay money to outsider.

yes i do kutuk proton about 10 years back, but now DSZ come and he did improvement on proton. so he deserve congratulation from me. if people change/improave,we support, not kutuk,(u want people to change/improve, but yet u are the one who not change/improve)

previously, a lot of people (including me) that look down any local made product. but when i start travel outside, i did see some of restriction that other country have same like malaysia, and the important for us to protect and control our own economy and politic. I do hope continuous imporvement in P1 , and will change malsyaian mentallity to love local product/made.

• saki77 (Member) on Nov 30, 2008 at 8:19 pm

i’ve told u guys already…
    ah beng tu, semua orang tak betul…hehe…lol…gelak kuat2…kawan dah mati..itu pasal bad tempered….xleh terima hakikat..LOL..tp still boley ROFL….
    i think after he get a new best friend, then he will be a little bit soft la kot..x marah2 dah…given if anybody wanted to be friend to him laa…LOL lagi…
    Or maybe the late one is his only best friend…LOL…
    Jauh lari tajuk nie….LOL….

I learned to LOL from ah beng…well he did LOL a lot….for someone who lost a bff….
    Well..wat eva….i only drive a tiara..LOL….
    LOL..LOL..LOL..ROFL..gelak guling2 atas lantai…

• mystvearn (Member) on Nov 30, 2008 at 8:59 pm

Got money now go buy Saab, this time don’t sell for 1 Euro!

• not_ah_beng (Member) on Dec 01, 2008 at 1:06 pm

Btw, previous CEO of Potong also once upon a time been awarded, “CEO of the Year”. Look how that one turn out. Heh.

And of course, everyone is wrong except Potong fanboy. I’m wrong. All the thousands and thousands of so-called “uncle” and “pakcik” who buy City and Vios rather than the great almighty Gen-2 Waja and Persona all wrong. People who tell horror stories of Potong and their i-don’t-Care line in autoword and zero2hundred all wrong and liar. People who actually buy Potong and found out their car spend more time in SC than on the road all wrong.

Only Potong fanboy are correct. All hail Potong. Potong save us.

Guess all of you “Potong fanboys” only because no money to purchase other cars. When earn more already run off to buy other cars, just like our Beloved G. Die die oso don’t want to use Potong Perdana.

• TheDuck (Member) on Dec 01, 2008 at 1:35 pm

Have to agree with ‘Not ah beng”. Its pathetic supporting a company that feeds off a protectionism policy. To me, Proton has a made profits based solely on its monopoly and not competition. RM57 million profit only??? What about the ROI? Come on la! Lucky for the G, we Malaysians are not smart enought to ask Proton to just LIQUIDATE!

• Nakal (Member) on Dec 01, 2008 at 2:56 pm

not_ah_beng said,

December 1, 2008 @ 1:06 pm

No one here stated bout vios n city…n no one here said that buying vios n city is wrong… crap talk

i never heard car manufacturer called ‘potong’… u got wrong room to give comments…pls note that forumers here talk about PROTON..not ‘potong’

im no good in english ..but i took 10 min to understand ur comment..
    n it just wasting my time..because no info n automotive knowledge i found… just crap talk

• autojohndoe (Member) on Dec 01, 2008 at 4:36 pm

let him (not_ah_beng) be la… he hates Proton (because he have to buy other car at higher price, solely his reason)… clearly that is his stands… what ever some of us about the positive about Proton said has no effect on him…

he just love us too much… doesnt want us to end up like his friend… thank you not_ah_beng for your concern… lucky to have u here…

but, some of us only can afford proton and love its current progress…

• autojohndoe (Member) on Dec 01, 2008 at 5:11 pm

**Correction**

let him (not_ah_beng) be la… he hates Proton (because he has to buy other car at higher price, solely his reason)… clearly that is his stands… what ever some of us talk about the positive things about Proton said has no effect on him…

• autojohndoe (Member) on Dec 01, 2008 at 5:12 pm

haiya… my rubbish english… haha…

• wheregotcar (Member) on Dec 01, 2008 at 7:04 pm

untung lebih bagus dari rugi
    kalau DSZ suda buat proton untung
    baik kekalkan dia shj, buat apa mau susah2 interbiu orang lain untuk jadi boss besar Proton?
    bole jimat masa, jimat kos = bole kaut lg byk untung

kalau proton untung sapa yg untung = itu pemegang saham sahaja
    yang lain sapa untung? lagi byk bunyi shj

• munky (Member) on Dec 01, 2008 at 7:45 pm

i wonder what this ah beng guy drives ? must be a ferrari or porsche

• ReactiX (Member) on Dec 02, 2008 at 8:40 am

told u, ah beng “drives” moto Suzuki GSX je! thats why complain so much

• ALPINA Burkard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Dec 03, 2008 at 2:16 pm

he looks like a fruitcake