Proton Campro turbo engine by 2010-2011

Proton LogoProton managing director Datuk Syed Zainal Abidin told the Oman Economic Review that Proton was developing a turbocharged engine set for introduction by the years 2010 to 2011, just in time for a facelift of the 2009 Proton MPV which could see the introduction of this turbocharged engine.

The turbocharged engine would be in line with the current market trends of having a small displacement engine but forced inducted to produce the equivalent horsepower of a larger motor, usually with more torque, and more fuel efficiency. The engine will have the power output equivalent to a 2.0 litre engine. We could be looking at a 1.6 litre Campro turbo or Campro CPS turbo engine producing about 150 horsepower and perhaps 240Nm of torque.

Proton is also set to spend RM5 billion over the next 5 years on R&D efforts, which is about RM1 billion a year. Other efforts (as quoted in the report) include developing a small competitive car, acquiring diesel engines licensed from an international OEM (Fiat? Peugeot?) because of their popularity in markets such as India, hybrid and electric technologies, the possibility of a joint model with Lotus (spiritual successor to the Lotus Carlton based on a Proton maybe?), and the reduction of weight of Proton models.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• jolly_idiot (Member) on Dec 13, 2008 at 9:30 am

Y not supercharge it instead of turbo? Btw, how reliable for Campro being turbocharged? Doubt on it’s durability. Heard lotsa case that campro crankshaft, crankcase crack into pieces when ppl hard revv it. This case now happens on a NA campro. Turbo campro will it die faster?

• ilmondo (Member) on Dec 13, 2008 at 9:30 am

exciting….

a very good new! its a very good way to start a day indeed :P

joint model with lotus.. proton waja replacement maybe?? since carlton in midsize saloon with very family oriented look..

so does this mean proton will be sourcing its higer cc engine from other manufacturer?? mitsubishi??

happy motoring!

• charles27 (Member) on Dec 13, 2008 at 9:39 am

another big plan ahead to suck dry the account.. before close down.. haha

• tokmoh (Member) on Dec 13, 2008 at 10:01 am

Hm… that’s interesting. Make it happen then.

• johnson wong (Member) on Dec 13, 2008 at 10:02 am

jolly_idiot said,

Y not supercharge it instead of turbo? Btw, how reliable for Campro being turbocharged? Doubt on it’s durability. Heard lotsa case that campro crankshaft, crankcase crack into pieces when ppl hard revv it. This case now happens on a NA campro. Turbo campro will it die faster?

my friend bolt turbo on his gen2 more than 1 year already.. boosting at 0.7bar until now also running nicely can play wit stock gsr also.. in that case 150 horse.. why cannot tahan if they run the car on low boost…

• normaluser (Member) on Dec 13, 2008 at 10:04 am

I thought the Campro was to be outphased and succeeded by new version of engines. Its better for Proton to get licensed diesel engines from PSA Peugeot instead of turbocharging the campro. Same displacement diesel engines can achieve very good torque & fuel consumption figures, while being more reliable too compared to turbocharged petrol engines.

Its time for Proton to go diesel. For local market, that depends on our G’s stone age policy, how fast can they regulate the diesel quality to Euro3/4 level.

Now where’s Si-Fu?

• adil2008 (Member) on Dec 13, 2008 at 10:17 am

Good news from PROTON, some more diesel engine. good, really good to hear that.
    Well done PROTON, well done Syed Zainal Abidin.

• ctawyong (Member) on Dec 13, 2008 at 10:31 am

(Proton is also set to spend RM5 billion over the next 5 years on R&D efforts, which is about RM1 billion a year) i dont hope after 5 years the campro turbo only show at the exhibition of proton showroom, and the billion dont know it end up in whose pocket of R&D company. Why not proton invest in the quality, design, and reliability. pls back to the basic of making car instead of wasting all the billions doing hybrid and electric car.

• ignas (Member) on Dec 13, 2008 at 10:52 am

i do hope that 5 billions is not from our country’s treasury. else dont jus not buta buta congrate them well done without knowing how the money is going to be spent.

maybe in the billions ringgit also include months of car testing in cool climax europe countries (malaysia is hot and humid) for say, on ratio of 1 engineer (who actually works till beats to the bone) and 10 big shots kononnya supervise but actually pigi holiday vacation.

seriously, is it worth the praise for someone to spend soooo much money just to develop something that is already existed in the market?

• bmpower (Member) on Dec 13, 2008 at 10:55 am

ctawyong said,
    December 13, 2008 @ 10:31 am
    (Proton is also set to spend RM5 billion over the next 5 years on R&D efforts, which is about RM1 billion a year) i dont hope after 5 years the campro turbo only show at the exhibition of proton showroom, and the billion dont know it end up in whose pocket of R&D company. Why not proton invest in the quality, design, and reliability. pls back to the basic of making car instead of wasting all the billions doing hybrid and electric car.

for me it’s ok for 5B.

since. this is the 1st time, they had to learn.. A part of learning curve for upcoming better engine. Why not? And of course.. it’s not about turbo only, there’s plenty of related items.

Maybe later.. cps+turbo+ valve tech from mivec can be addapt.

Campro : Cam Tech + Mivec : Valve Tech = CamVec :D
    Sure a boom!

150hp quite impressive.. for 1.6 engine!

• corolla_KE70 (Member) on Dec 13, 2008 at 11:26 am

As i expected, lots of bashers didnot have any “modal” to bash proton lately.With this latest news about campro turbo and millions to be spent on R n D, those bashers came to live again! I do know some good inside news regarding the campro turbo, but i think its better for si-fu to explain to them!

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Dec 13, 2008 at 11:46 am

Fu……………………….. Yo………………… HHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH !!!!!!

Expect the Un-Expected !!!!!

Well, thats preety nice to hear that proton wanna give a try for turbo-charge !!
    Lets wait for the machine to come-out first !!!! then let one of them to test drive it !!!!

CamPro Twin-Turbo !!!! ….. sounds blooming !!!!

• ignas (Member) on Dec 13, 2008 at 11:49 am

its 5 thousand millions

• lochangyong (Member) on Dec 13, 2008 at 11:52 am

if this word comes from Tengku Mahaleel , then i would doubt it .
    But it is DSZ which has proven record since last few years, Of course you can’t expect much as proton is a nitch player, diesel engine based on collaboration would be nice. Petrol engine usage is still a need.

• tikus (Member) on Dec 13, 2008 at 12:06 pm

Campro turbo 1.6 does it means rival with BMW-Peugeot Prince engine 1.6 turbo? Cant wait to see it….

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Dec 13, 2008 at 12:37 pm

Thats good news so far. IF proton does well, we will all enjoy better cars, irrespective if we bought other brands.

Its good that proton FINALY realizes they can’t do it alone. Pride can only take you so far. Can’t develop a diesel engine on your own, fine get from someone else, just like everyone else.

• torque (Member) on Dec 13, 2008 at 12:48 pm

jolly_idiot said,
    December 13, 2008 @ 9:30 am

Bro, not to say that supercharged is not better but they tend to take lots of space in the engine bay compare with a turbo since they are belt driven. Just drop by Powerzone and see how much space they take once they install it in most of Proton cars. Obviously, Proton ain’t gonna put a big ‘snail’ to their current engine line up. Sure go boom one! So you better expect small and decent turbo just like one in Fiat Bravo T-jet engine which had a 1.4 displacement but producing 150bhp and 206Nm of torque.

How about this, let’s just wait and see, test drive it once it’s out and comment on it base on each individual experience? Seems fair like that…..

As for Proton under DSZ, pls don’t wasted all that RM 5 billion. Make full use of it for RnD since people are keeping close eyes on you, both supporter and basher alike. I’m very excited to hear about the turbo engine and wish all the best for it. Haaaaaaaiii….bila la nak buat road version of the Neo Super 2000 tu? :-( Happy motoring everyone…

• ingolstadt (Member) on Dec 13, 2008 at 1:11 pm

Based on the number of cars manufactured and sold by Proton each year, its not even worthwhile going into R&D, designing and producing their own engines. Strategically, Proton should license engines, or get itself involved in engine R&D works with major manufacturers.

Peugeot’s 207 share the same engine as Mini, Kia Rondo/Mitsubishi Lancer as well, that speaks alot about balancing ‘pride’ and economic viability.

Now where’s my Proton Satria Neo 1.8TFSi ?

Wheels Weekly

• Wisdom (Member) on Dec 13, 2008 at 1:44 pm

Heard from inside, the unit will use variable geometry turbine besides normal turbine. Means no turbo lags. Nice huh. Si-fu can verify this?

However the use of variable geometry means theres no blow-off valve or wastegates, means no sneezing effect. Ahbeng sure dissapointed.

Regarding campro reliability, i still doubt the crank issue since all of my colleagues using Gen2 (some since 2004) never had this problem. Could be an isolated case. The only problem on first badge campro was high noise at high rpm and noisy aircond compressor, which already resolved by one of my colleague using denso compressor.
    Another plus point of campro from my observation, the valve seals seems more reliable than Mitsubishi unit. My same colleague had his Gen2 miled 150k km plus but no trace of white smoke. His last Wira (4G15) lasted around 100k km before white smoke occurs. And he is a rough driver.

Look around and see if the exhaust of Campro emitting white smoke. Im still looking for one.

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Dec 13, 2008 at 1:47 pm

I think the CAMPRO turbocharge engine is long time plan already, still remember the Satria Neo spy shot with the intercooler?

I think the turbo will emerge in either the GTi version of Satria Neo, or replacement of Perdana. Anyway if you follow the plan Campro engine at Proton website, i think they still have go into the Direct Injection technology (GDI)?!? To be the best of turbocharge engine, it is better to have direct injection (like VW engine) which will improve even more better FC & provide better torque curve! Turbo diesel engine is a best way to go, and i think they will take from Renault/Citreon/Peugeot? If i not mistaken Mitsu outlander took it from Citreon which is also same from Renault?!? So probally i think will be from France technology.. Anyway the Diesel quality recommended is EURO 2 above. (prefered EURO 4!) How we can drive it in Malaysia if our G is still dinasour world thinking?

It still make me wonder what is the deal with KLEEMAN few year back, which i think the company is famous for making Merc supercharger?

Anyway wish Proton good luck, as i am hoping to get my hand on the new 2010 WAJA-LANCER with hopefully 2.0 GEMA MIVEC engine~! Haha.. I can bare with Manual 5-speed or better 6-speed! Saving now.. $$$

• awak (Member) on Dec 13, 2008 at 1:58 pm

i think to turbo the campro shouldnt take too long,

• kei9 (Member) on Dec 13, 2008 at 2:00 pm

We’lll see how ’09 goes for Proton.

• adunadun (Member) on Dec 13, 2008 at 2:05 pm

LittleFire85 said,
    December 13, 2008 @ 1:47 pm

How we can drive it in Malaysia if our G is still dinasour world thinking?
    —————————————————–
    Our G = dinosour world thinking is something default,
    we cant change it …hehhhhohahha~ funny funny,, actually we are talking abiut our own community culture, it ours :( to bad but hv to accept it

i am waiting for saga blm diesel from proton…

• awak (Member) on Dec 13, 2008 at 2:06 pm

proton should double up its effort in producing batter engine, because we need it NOW

• NeedGoodCar (Member) on Dec 13, 2008 at 2:57 pm

RM1 billion a year? Wasting money

• shooter (Member) on Dec 13, 2008 at 2:58 pm

still hear ppl making noise abt the crank thinggy… thing is, when the early batch of E46 M3 came out and had same crakn problem, i didnt hear NO ONE complain!!!

any way, although I’m kinda happy with how things are progressing, i still feel its just way too late for this kinda dvlpmnt, shoul’ve been done yrs ago. just goes to show how screwed up the old mgt team was.

one more thing, if its not too much asking, can P1 just retire the IAFM motor and just build all Campro 1.3L &1.6L with CPS. you know, modular stuf, just vary the stroke. hopefuly they can enjoy beter econ scale.

RM 5B for R&D in 5 yrs? I say go for it. and i want to see RESULTS!!!- ‘good’ is the enemy of ‘great’.

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Dec 13, 2008 at 3:11 pm

Cool stuff!

• droll (Member) on Dec 13, 2008 at 3:16 pm

excellent! let’s hope we see a cheap sports car! 0-100 in 6 seconds?! lol.

• vivio (Member) on Dec 13, 2008 at 4:16 pm

gut2 hope so ..

happy motoring chill!

• I LOVE SABINE SCHMITZ (Member) on Dec 13, 2008 at 4:22 pm

great, more of the wajalution bullshit. me proton like porsches 911 turbo, also got turbo

• lambov12 (Member) on Dec 13, 2008 at 6:42 pm

Good job DSZ !!

if proton put the 1.6 turbo engine in it’s satria,
    then it will really become Malaysia version Polo GTi – Satria GTi. ..

wonder y they dun develop the 2.0 litre turbocharged engine … ?
    too expensive ??
    no market ??

• nyawere (Member) on Dec 13, 2008 at 6:49 pm

Dear Bashers,

Please leave your unproductive comments at home. If you are worries about the RM 5 billion, so am I, but i have a whole lot more confidence in DSZ as compared to TM. Sooo, from the progress he has shown us, i think he will deliver.

As for Proton, we should see this as a very positive step. At last, they are following the world trend. When the demand is MPV, they built it (better late than never) and when everyone is turbocharginf theire cars for better fuel efficiency with higher capacity power, they are also lloking at the same thing. This means that they are going in the right direction.

Paul/Sifu,
    Today, i saw on the road a 2 full trailer loads of Proton Neo with a very different bumper and bodykit. Soory i couldn’t swnap any pic. But is this the Satria Neo GTI or Satri CPS…?

Paul Tan says: I think you may have seen a trailer load of these cars. Does it mean they’re launching soon? Hmmm. Look at the two links below.

http://paultan.org/archives/2008/10/18/spyshot-the-new-satria-neos-new-wheels/
    http://paultan.org/archives/2008/10/14/proton-satria-neo-cps-or-facelift-spotted-on-test/

• Wisdom (Member) on Dec 13, 2008 at 7:07 pm

Some Malaysian very stingy.

• mystvearn (Member) on Dec 13, 2008 at 7:16 pm

Good direction. Maybe they will put a turbo for the perdana replacement model as well. I think perdana is the longest in production proton still in malaysia. The saga has changed to a new one.

• lchan (Member) on Dec 13, 2008 at 7:18 pm

2-3 years…and they started R&D when? this year? far out…how behind are we. in 2011, you think the 1.6 LPTs will be putting out 150hp and 240nm torque?….nevertheless…better late then never…but knowing proton..sometimes their late is like never.

• theking (Member) on Dec 13, 2008 at 7:21 pm

nyawere,

Neo CPS to be launched anytime soon.

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Dec 13, 2008 at 7:36 pm

GM’s 1.9 CDTi would make a great choice if Proton were to outsource turbodiesel engines for passenger cars.

• bmpower (Member) on Dec 13, 2008 at 7:39 pm

nyawere said,
    December 13, 2008 @ 6:49 pm
    Today, i saw on the road a 2 full trailer loads of Proton Neo with a very different bumper and bodykit. Soory i couldn’t swnap any pic. But is this the Satria Neo GTI or Satri CPS…?

Wah!.. Neo CPS to be launch soon..
    I bet this car can easily tapau any civic, even the type-R one (new type R not good as their old one).
    Powerfull engine + light body + steady great handling. only need guts

• qozhx (Member) on Dec 13, 2008 at 7:41 pm

finally…. after all these years lurking in d R&D Dept, Proton finally going to introduce forcefeed engine & diesel engine….
    Prove to world not just Malaysia…
    Good Job Proton !

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Dec 13, 2008 at 8:06 pm

bmpower said,

Powerfull engine + light body + steady great handling. “only need guts”

———————————————————-

Does that mean that the safety standart is still not yet satisfied? Why not Proton buy over Volvo.. :)

Anyway for now, i think Proton should starting to improve safety as Volvo might be bought over by China company.. Think another 5-10 years time “China car with 5 EURO NCAP!!!”

• autojohndoe (Member) on Dec 13, 2008 at 8:15 pm

forged the crankshaft… then it can sustain the force from the turbo power….

rather than making 2L engine, it is better to install turbo to 1.6L so it can produce equivalent power to 2.0 or maybe a bit higher.. save cost on raw cast manufacturing and machining…

• autojohndoe (Member) on Dec 13, 2008 at 8:21 pm

torque said,

December 13, 2008 @ 12:48 pm

Haaaaaaaiii….bila la nak buat road version of the Neo Super 2000 tu? :-( Happy motoring everyone…

Lat time i check on the internet… the s2000 neo worth 170,000 pounds…

• car_craze (Member) on Dec 13, 2008 at 8:28 pm

For those who do not much about car development – 1 billion Ringgit a year is small! A new model development usually cost between 600mil to 1 billion Ringgit PER MODEL, depending on the changes. New powertrain (engine + transmission) takes the bulk of the cost.
    Maybe Sifu can throw some light into this matter?

• lochangyong (Member) on Dec 13, 2008 at 9:09 pm

car_craze ,
    well 1 billion ringgit per year isn’t on RnD purpose for proton is just almost like suing the existing platform and reengineer it.
    Kia cerato has been develop by using USD220million which is about RM800million. This depends on which and how the manufacture wants to manufacture the car. Proton Waja platform has been lengten and reengineered into Satria Neo, Gen2 , Up Coming MPV , and the Savvy platform has been reengineered into Proton Saga. Well , it isn’t a problem for me for sharing platform as long as the final product has their own identity.
    to me RM1billion isn’t quite a big figure or too small for a car company, of course the more it can put, the better it is.

• nizam80 (Member) on Dec 13, 2008 at 9:31 pm

Just the news that i’ve been waiting for. Imagine putting this baby on a 2011 Satria Neo. Result: A true hot hatch!!!

Btw, I think it will be slightly more than 150hp. 165hp perhaps? But, I don’t mind having only 150hp, if the torque figures are superb.

• binarumah.com (Member) on Dec 13, 2008 at 9:39 pm

Hmm, whatever la proton. If u wanna make a turbocharged,make a proper one okay. Don’t just design and build ‘cincai2’. I don’t mind paying more with good quality rather than pay less and get the expected result just for a few month.

• Aaron Ch'ng You Liang (Member) on Dec 13, 2008 at 9:42 pm

WHY PROTON DON’T USE THE 2008 NAZA SORENTO ENGINE (CRDi) DIESEL TO PUT IN THE FACELIFT 2009 PROTON MPV AND PERSONA. I THINK THE CAMPRO DIESEL ENGINE HAS NO POWER.

• nizam80 (Member) on Dec 13, 2008 at 9:47 pm

tikus said,
    December 13, 2008 @ 12:06 pm

Campro turbo 1.6 does it means rival with BMW-Peugeot Prince engine 1.6 turbo? Cant wait to see it….

tikus, I was thinking the same too. The 1.6 BMW-Peugeot Prince engine is being used in the Mini Cooper S, right? Making about 160++hp…
    IF Proton is considering putting this Campro-T engine in their future Satria, then it could possibly rival the Cooper S. But, by that time, the Cooper S will probably be using a more powerful engine already…..

• awak (Member) on Dec 13, 2008 at 9:51 pm

last time proton have turbo kit for 4G engine,

if proton want turbo now i would suggest it could go through R3 division,
    well it also has to look on final drive analyis on gearbox for batter economy since its load with power,

beefed up component also should be made available like forged parts and nikasil coated if possible, if some one looking for serious performance,

mapping, double head gasket, etc,,,

its the job of

R3
    AR TREE

• pixie_wawan (Member) on Dec 13, 2008 at 10:53 pm

I want my first Proton sports car!!! I’m 19th and next month I’ll be 20. Proton will produce thier 1st turbo engine by 2010 – 2011 which is my age is between 21-22. So the question is WHEN? ALAMAK! (=.=)”

• topgunthang (Member) on Dec 13, 2008 at 11:22 pm

so that means government protection well past 2015 then. oh boy, i cant wait.

• csv (Member) on Dec 14, 2008 at 1:03 am

let’s hope it works out.

clarify the reliability first since turboed engine are not really more durable than NA.

• autojohndoe (Member) on Dec 14, 2008 at 1:14 am

whatever done still will be bashed…

• seat-belt (Member) on Dec 14, 2008 at 1:14 am

make sure u use the money WISELY……..
    btw, we gonna have our own turbo engine!. made by malaysians!…

• schdmitz (Member) on Dec 14, 2008 at 10:55 am

if wanna do thing must do it seriously….don do it and die half way!!!if wanna turbo charge the campro do it seriously….don like the wira diesel….juara…arena…tiara…if the ppl purchased these product half way it die….then where to look for the spare parts???? one thing about the campro its a thirsty monster!!if turbo charge, it will become more thirsty….need to improve on the ECU and also setting of the pistons….etc…

• bmpower (Member) on Dec 14, 2008 at 11:18 am

iafm no more thirsty lah!.. it’s ok now..
    you need power = thirsty.
    you want save fuel = no power.
    vice versa..

what they trying now, low fc with extra power.

• car_craze (Member) on Dec 14, 2008 at 12:40 pm

lochangyong – you are right the Savvy platform was modified to make the new Saga, but you are wrong saying that Proton uses the Waja platform to make the Gen2, Neo and the new MPV. Extensive modifications would have to be made to render it unfeasible, cost wise.
    As for the Kia Cerato, it was made using from many ‘parts bin’ which Kia has, especially on the hidden and common parts, hence they are able to cut development costs and lead time. Unfortunately, i think Proton does not have too many ‘parts bin’ to choose from.

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Dec 14, 2008 at 3:09 pm

Proton seems to be moving in the right direction. Now let’s hope the engineers inject a little more passion into their work. Needless to say, attention to detail is key. =)

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Dec 14, 2008 at 3:13 pm

Picture a twin-turbo Proton in 5 years’ time…

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Dec 14, 2008 at 3:14 pm

And maybe a quad-turbo in 10 years…

• co-driver (Member) on Dec 14, 2008 at 3:29 pm

When can we drive this Satria Neo ‘lotus’ Turbo in Europe ?
    Then i can replace my MG ZR by a ‘ Handling by Lotus’ Proton !!

• I LOVE SABINE SCHMITZ (Member) on Dec 14, 2008 at 4:32 pm

proton turbo sure full of turbo lag

• teelim (Member) on Dec 14, 2008 at 4:34 pm

Proton should have come out with a new engine by now. Come on, this is really silly. It took 5 years for proton to finally fit the Campro engine with CPS (the thing that actually gave the engine its name) and then another 3 years to fit a turbo charger? Most car manufacturers would have produced 2 generations of the same model with the same duration.

Proton is just taking too long to produce new cars. This is not the way to stay competitive. And in the end, the consumers are the ones who actually loose out.

• rugaxp (Member) on Dec 14, 2008 at 4:45 pm

Hi there Paul,

Can you get more info regarding the Satria Neo facelift that will come to our market soon?
    like reader nyawere said he saw trailer fully loaded with a different looking Neo

• bmpower (Member) on Dec 14, 2008 at 4:47 pm

Out Of topic.
    There’s another one Satria Neo S2000 video beside the yellow one.
    It was white with red strike. Such a nice! Now… i think :
    Neo is the choosen one.. :D

• _Zephyre_ (Member) on Dec 14, 2008 at 5:45 pm

Yes, I’m interested in the Neo facelift/Neo GTi/New Neo/Neo Neo/whatever it is, too. Could you look into it, Paul?

• huckerz (Member) on Dec 14, 2008 at 7:14 pm

Y not supercharge it instead of turbo?<—-Hey Jolly Idiot…im not say ing tht u r idiot but the name la.. Better Turbo cause Turbo we can set the boost to control unlike Supercharged, From 1k rpm the Supercharged is on already, so theres no fuel efficinency compared to turbo.. Nway I hope Proton can make it.. Gud idea finally n gUD lUCK

• nyawere (Member) on Dec 14, 2008 at 7:56 pm

teelim said,
    December 14, 2008 @ 4:34 pm

Proton should have come out with a new engine by now. Come on, this is really silly. It took 5 years for proton to finally fit the Campro engine with CPS (the thing that actually gave the engine its name) and then another 3 years to fit a turbo charger? Most car manufacturers would have produced 2 generations of the same model with the same duration.

Teelim,
    As what we have all been discussing, there is a new management now. After they have taken oven for the past 2-3 years, quality has gone up, MPV coming out & CPS has been introduced togather with IAFM. Pls gove the new team more time. Designing a new engine takes a lot of time. If they can improve the Campro CPS to be on par with other engines such as i-vtec, then why not…???

• I LOVE SABINE SCHMITZ (Member) on Dec 14, 2008 at 8:01 pm

nyawere said,

December 14, 2008 @ 7:56 pm

teelim said,
    December 14, 2008 @ 4:34 pm

Teelim,
    As what we have all been discussing, there is a new management now. After they have taken oven for the past 2-3 years, quality has gone up, MPV coming out & CPS has been introduced togather with IAFM. Pls gove the new team more time. Designing a new engine takes a lot of time. If they can improve the Campro CPS to be on par with other engines such as i-vtec, then why not…???
    ——————————–
    they should lower the prices. their quality is still rubbish.

• tokmoh (Member) on Dec 14, 2008 at 9:12 pm

Off-topic, hmm….quite a number of DSZ supporters I see :) True, I wouldn’t be as confident if TM is still the CEO. Anyway, remember when he used to say he’ll display his number n email at all showrooms? Then bashers go say he’s a liar n blabla cuz nobody post it here? Well, I dare them to dial this: 03-80269669, and write to this: [email protected]

Saga no yr-end promo, boohuhu. But Gen2 got rm6k promo 0__o Nice.

• szw (Member) on Dec 14, 2008 at 9:51 pm

proton will continue to surprise people
    i got 1 friend actually complimented on the persona full spec after he sat in one of his friend’s persona, n he feel like being cheated for owning a myvi…
    so all i can conclude that proton’s quality has improve…
    its just that some malaysian brain doesn’t improve .
    like those who complain bout proton

• bmpower (Member) on Dec 14, 2008 at 10:41 pm

tokmoh said,
    December 14, 2008 @ 9:12 pm
    Saga no yr-end promo, boohuhu. But Gen2 got rm6k promo 0__o Nice.

saga already hot cake, why must give a promo.. they not even complete the sales order already.. after finish the sales order, they had to market it fast to thai, uk, aus, etc.
    Which gen-2 got promo? CPS one?

• Hil-mei (Member) on Dec 14, 2008 at 10:57 pm

To me the Campro is a failed engine….when they initially launch the project, it was suppose too have “CLASS LEADING POWER OUTPUT” sort of. Proton focus too much on the final power output, they forget that the 2000-4000 rpm torque is the thing that makes the car MOVES initially. Surely the DESIGN IS FLAWED since ECU updated couple of time also does not improve the torque dip. Then take 2-3 years to bolt the cps and iafm…..by the time they did, the engine is OLD STORY already. BMW+PSA Prince engine with Variable timing produces 120bhp compared to Campro CPS 127bhp and Prince is much more clean and efficient….So bak datang la supercharger ke, turbocharger ke, the engine is doomed, before they even finished the engine…. and its all the previous management’s fault. So WTF does DSZ has to cover for previous management’s fault. Campak je engine tu dalam sungai…..ambik lesen pasang Prince engine………lagi bagus……x payah pening2…..Improving a failed design is costly and uneconomical……like MRR2. And it will sure fail again…….

• Wisdom (Member) on Dec 14, 2008 at 11:38 pm

Unlike MRR2, engine is a continuous product which can be improved and optimized by batch, model or series. So your conclusion was way off.

The first edition campro was an optimistic engine since the last management was concentrate more towards ‘driver’s car’ in building Gen2. Current Persona drives much better on daily basis.

Also, its easy to be a trader. Buy others goods (prince engine etc), mark-up the price and sell. Easy profit. But then we will pretty much depends on economical circumstances. Its important for Proton to have its own engine. At least for a knowledge based purposes. Guess how proton can come out with 1.6liter vehicle for as low as rm45k (Persona BL) while Myvi BL (also national car status) 1.3 have almost the same price.

• tokmoh (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 12:08 am

@bmpower

Both m-line n h-line, so yeah.

Hil-mei,

I think some toyota out there using older engine than campro xde org bising pun….. all they nd to say is “it’s powerplant proven wit gud fc, reliability” den msian edi sign the cheque.

Just to let u noe, persona recently won best fc in its class by asian auto-bosch.

Anyway, why bother abt “cleanliness”? Campro is euro 4 compliant still nt happy? Or u’re a fanatical “save the penguin, stop driving polluting cars” activist? U want to save penguin, start by shooting every hybrid car u see. puhleez la, european engines are nvr known for reliability, so dun bother abt that either. u want gud fc, just get a 2nd hand kelisa. enjoy motoring.

• I LOVE SABINE SCHMITZ (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 12:24 am

campro is overhyped

• Nakal (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 9:01 am

all,

1) bout diesel engine: I feel there will be arena replacement .. arena doing well at australia rite…any comment paul n sifu?

2) autojohndoe said,
    December 13, 2008 @ 8:21 pm
    Lat time i check on the internet… the s2000 neo worth 170,000 pounds…

it euros…not pounds..n hope to see it at malaysia… that car awesome!

http://www.carstandard.com/blog/155/super-rally-satria-neo-s2000.html

3)Hil-mei said, (or HELMI?)
    December 14, 2008 @ 10:57 pm
    _________

someone again…..u just live in ur world….
    campro is probably the first vehicle engine developed by msian…n i never heard that campro is a failure project…not any in the world!! if u heard bout some campro problem, then i want to tell u, my father’s ACCORD also got one…

or at least helmi…pls give fact to prove what u said that campro is failed engine…FACTS

tell me on how to build a ‘passed-first time built” engine- material properties, displacment/capactiy, hp, torque, dimensions,cooling system, BMEP, manufacturing process, timeline development, cost…..n all bout engine…to show that campro is failed engine n what u explain is ‘passed-first time built” engine…pls show the proton powertrain engineer how good ur technical knowledge..im sure lot of proton engineer review this blog…

4)I LOVE SABINE SCHMITZ said,

December 15, 2008 @ 12:13 am

n paul u suck
    _______

whats wrong with u cari pasal with paul?

• farghmee (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 9:24 am

i think proton should a little more marketing.
    more tv advertisement, in between the commercial breaks during prime time news broadcast?
    tell the mass people out there what are valve lift, turbo etc.
    educate the salespersons some basic knowledge of products etc.
    well, some people still doesn’t know that airbag won’t deploy if seatbealt is left unfastened ;)

sifu, what is CDA? i came across this word in the proton website, at the RnD section together with the CPS.
    Cylinder De-Activation?

• I LOVE SABINE SCHMITZ (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 10:00 am

I LOVE SABINE SCHMITZ said,

n paul u suck
    ——————————-
    damn some gay faggot is imitating me

• LogicallyMad (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 10:24 am

December 15, 2008 @ 10:00 am

n paul u suck
    ——————————-

rrrrrrite…. =p

Starting to think u’re actually ALPINA cuz ur comment and his r same…

• not_ah_beng (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 10:29 am

Hmmm I wonder.

Potong only made a measley RM50 million profit last yr. Compare to the RM1 billion they plan to invest! Per year! Thats A LOT – don’t think you guys need me to tell you that.

Next yr economic crisis. All car sales down. Even such reputable and giant brands like Toyota, Honda, BMW all expect drop in sales. So Potong maybe make even smaller profit (if they are lucky, that is, if unlucky can even loss money!)

So the RM 1 billion a yr come from whose pocket?!?! Thats what I wanna know.

If Proton pay themself I don’t care – they do what they like.

If come from TAXPAYER MONEY, then all I can say is f*** Potong and the BN Govt. Country in economic crisis use OUR MONEY for this kind of useless activities? How dare they? That RM1 billion a yr can build how many roads and schools instead of propping up a useless company?

Potong better give some answers!

• TheDuck (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 10:36 am

I think its better Proton invest in
    1. GREEN Engines. Thats the future.
    2. Reliable Engines. Best to imitate Toyota.

What’s the use of having TURBO cars in Malaysia, when our speedlimit is still 110kmh?

• aenz81 (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 10:51 am

TheDuck said,
    December 15, 2008 @ 10:36 am

I think its better Proton invest in
    1. GREEN Engines. Thats the future.
    2. Reliable Engines. Best to imitate Toyota.

What’s the use of having TURBO cars in Malaysia, when our speedlimit is still 110kmh?
    —————————————————————-

Eventhough our speedlimits is 110km/h, our malaysian fellas still driving beyond the speedlimits…. that was the uses of turbo engine.. :P

• Wisdom (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 10:51 am

not ah beng

You sounds like you’ve paid a lot. Very much differs from a multi-millionaires (the one who really paid a lot) who don’t even have time to read blogs.

I agree with u on the roads & school part. You’ve learn a lot. But proton not that useless i think.

• aenz81 (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 10:57 am

not_ah_beng, still pointed at our G? what u really think that proton will use the “TAXPAYER” money to invest in their development? if proton use their own money, how come their can use that money to build a roads and a schools? can u give more detail about this thing please…

• aenz81 (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 10:59 am

LogicallyMad said,
    December 15, 2008 @ 10:24 am
    rrrrrrite…. =p

———————————————————————

i do think so… maybe yes… :D

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 11:39 am

Wisdom said,
    December 15, 2008 @ 10:51 am

not ah beng

You sounds like you’ve paid a lot. Very much differs from a multi-millionaires (the one who really paid a lot) who don’t even have time to read blogs.

I agree with u on the roads & school part. You’ve learn a lot. But proton not that useless i think.
    ___________________________________________-

dont waste your time asking.. he most likely cannot explain because the below is likely to be true:

1. he has no facts
    2. proton uses its own money

also, he doesnt realise the 50 million(56.6mil actually) announced recently is Quarterly profit, not yearly. He also doesnt realise that its already taken the money proton spent on R&D out of the equation, likewise operating costs, factory maintenance, utility bills..salaries..etc. etc. and there is still “50 million” left.

• not_ah_beng (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 12:40 pm

@Wisdom:

I know how much tax I paid, and its a lot. If the G doesn’t think its a lot, no problem, they can always refund to me – I don’t mind. :)

Spending money in Proton is useless, especially in economic situation like this. Nevermind schools and roads, there are thousand of other better things to spend on.

Point is this – IF it is our taxmoney (no one knows for sure, not me, I admit, and neither do you) it is OUR RIGHT to know if it is.

Don’t you agree?

And I am sure big majority of Msians DO NOT agree their taxmoney should be spend financing Potongs new engine or MPV, but even if they do, is the G’s and Proton’s responsibility to tell them.

• tiadaid (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 12:50 pm

LogicallyMad said,
    December 15, 2008 @ 10:24 am
    rrrrrrite…. =p

———————————————————————

The name’s a dead giveaway….Sabine Schmitz, Alpina…

• tiadaid (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 1:35 pm

not_ah_beng said,
    December 15, 2008 @ 12:40 pm

Spending money in Proton is useless, especially in economic situation like this. Nevermind schools and roads, there are thousand of other better things to spend on.
    ————————————————————-

Your thinking is short sighted. Proton was formed in the quest to turn Malaysia from an agricultural-based economy to and industrial-based economy, so that we in turn could become a First-world country. Who would benefit from that? The rakyat, as GDP goes up then per-capita income would also go up. The only weak link are two types of Malaysians :- people like you who are pessimists and can’t see beyond their noses, and people who wants to make money the easy way. Get rid of these two types of people, and you can bet things would be much different.

• not_ah_beng (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 1:53 pm

@tiadaid

“Proton was formed in the quest to turn Malaysia from an agricultural-based economy to and industrial-based economy, so that we in turn could become a First-world country. Who would benefit from that? The rakyat, as GDP goes up then per-capita income would also go up.’

HAHAHAHAHA! What a joke.

Potong was formed in the quest to feed ONE MAN’S EGO. Thats all. Nothing to do with “industrial-based economy” or whatever.

So far, the rakyat has yet to feel any single bit of “benefit” from Potong, only the pain when the G use our money to bail out an almsot bankrupt company dunno how many times.

23 years and they still can’t even made a world-class car. Their pathetic attempts at cars like Gen2 and Waja, far from making Malaysian proud, made us the laughing stock of the foreign auto journos who laughed till they cried when they test-drove the cars.

• kee (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 2:30 pm

want a world-class car, work harder. no money to buy world-class car, come here to beg the govt to give you ah? RICH PEOPLE NEVER COMPLAIN!

• SY0H (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 2:34 pm

There’s only one sentence to describe these kind of people;

not_ah_beng
    I LOVE SABINE SCHMITZ
    and any other idiots I might have missed out…

“Never argue with idiots, they drag you down to their level and then beat you with experience.”

Just a bunch of losers wanna cheap attentions from you guys in here to give them credits from unsubstantial arguments of theirs. Start ignoring them, this forum will go back to its normal discussion. Start meddling with them, we’ll end up off-topic. As always, enough said.

• Prem3377 (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 2:35 pm

dont laugh at people not_ah_beng,

you just cant accept the fact which tiadaid has given

again and again you come up with factless comments..

one man’s ego can always make a difference..like how your ego confined you in your own world..

who say rakyat dont feel the benefit??since 1985 many rakyat has own a proton as their first car and i dont have to tell you what is the benefit of owning a car..if you dont get any benefits..please dont think other wont too..

if proton cars are not world class then why foreign journos wanted to test them in the 1st place??

gen2 and waja is the thing of past..persona and saga has made the journos stop laughing..

early 1970s till 1980s japanese car were laughing stock too..then replaced by Kia and hyundai..in 1990s..and now proton..sooner or later they gonna stop laughin…even now they cant laugh anymore…

you must have been watching too much of top gear..JC and all…if you do..better stop..they just laugh at cars for the money…nothing else…

• longjaafar (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 3:03 pm

When we talk about engine development, we must talk about diesel engines. And when we talk about diesel engines. we must talk about diesel fuel.
    I just want someone in the govt to tell us when are we getting clean diesel, and why are we left behind in this field. It’s so frustrating for Malaysians that they are really left out of having good, powerful, clean diesel cars, simply because, we as an oil producing country, have been deprived, because of short sightedness on the part of the govt.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 3:06 pm

longjaafar said,
    December 15, 2008 @ 3:03 pm

When we talk about engine development, we must talk about diesel engines. And when we talk about diesel engines.

—————————————–

i think there are more unanswered questions about petronas than proton. end of the day, proton’s accounts are audited and results of their accounts..etc. are reported to their shareholders and the klse.. (no idea where they hide the fact that they “whack” billions of tax payers money)

petronas info is a govt. secret.

• MyviKiller (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 3:11 pm

BanyakMasukWorkshop said,
    December 15, 2008 @ 3:06 pm

—————————————————————-
    Yes it should be, few onths ago there was a publication on the petronas taxes was the main source of $$ for the federal goverment.

Correct me if I’m wrong.

• bmpower (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 7:45 pm

paul. please ‘kill’ this ‘alpina #2’..
    he/she/shemale insulting every people here.
    except cursing, doing nothing!

• Hil-mei (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 7:47 pm

I’m not saying that Proton should get it right the first time they built anything, but they are very slow in mending the problem……Took them 3 years to bolt on the CPS……and that SUPPOSEDLY where the engine got its name in the first place…..LOL…And contemporary engines USUALLY does not have a torque dip, and between 2000-4000 rpm too. So whose to blame??? At least when they’re trying to built an Engine, get the help of EXPERIENCED party’s. Like the other carmakers who have experience in building engines. No use trying to prove your good at something if you does not have any experience in the first place. Just make a fool of yourself.

And I do agree longjaafar, OUR diesel is not up to par with current European standards. But I’ve read a news sometime ago that the government plans to upgrade our diesel fuel to be at par with European ones…..don’t know when they gonna do it though….

• adunadun (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 8:16 pm

kee said,
    December 15, 2008 @ 2:30 pm

RICH PEOPLE NEVER COMPLAIN!
    =================================
    true, rich people laugh at us, ” haha, they have no moeny, that why they keep compplaining at paultan.org ??” i guess this is what they said

i love malaysia, when i went to country like india,pakistan, the it make me apprieciate my country more,

• MyviKiller (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 10:39 pm

adunadun said,
    December 15, 2008 @ 8:16 pm

kee said,
    December 15, 2008 @ 2:30 pm

RICH PEOPLE NEVER COMPLAIN!
    =================================
    true, rich people laugh at us, ” haha, they have no moeny, that why they keep compplaining at paultan.org ??” i guess this is what they said

i love malaysia, when i went to country like india,pakistan, the it make me apprieciate my country more,
    —————————————————————-
    Yeah, absolutely Korek Korek Korek… They are making themselves laughing stalks…

• Alpina the 8itch (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 10:52 pm

December 15, 2008 @ 10:00 am

n paul u suck
    ——————————-

===

If paul is suck u will be way beyond than the worst person in the world..
    No word to describe how bad u are,
    as human never actually reach this sort of badness before.

You idiot foreigner.. make something top notch first before u curse whatever you can or criticise whatever you see!

Sabine will never love you in anyway!

• szw (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 11:25 pm

to all the people who write bad comment on proton,
    please , go get a life…
    i think u all should shift to other countries like UK (if u think malaysians are paying alot of tax).
    stop crapping around here…
    u all are starting to piss alot of people off…
    do u think u really that good ?
    let me tell u all that is alot of people look down on people like you…
    so uneducated…
    criticize all you want, you’ll end up being a POS
    no matter what proton do , its not gonna effect your life right since you already reject proton…
    so why waste time ?
    cause people like you don’t appreciate what you all have, i think u all need to get some counseling.
    if you’re unhappy with what i say, leave this place then , AHole…

• bmpower (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 11:35 pm

adunadun said,

Absolutely correct.

For bashers especially… Try living in indonesia for few couple of month… the rural area one is better .. then you’ll MORE appreciate malaysia.

• MyviKiller (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 12:17 am

szw said,
    December 15, 2008 @ 11:25 pm

to all the people who write bad comment on proton,
    please , go get a life…
    i think u all should shift to other countries like UK (if u think malaysians are paying alot of tax).
    stop crapping around here…
    u all are starting to piss alot of people off…
    do u think u really that good ?
    let me tell u all that is alot of people look down on people like you…
    so uneducated…
    criticize all you want, you’ll end up being a POS
    no matter what proton do , its not gonna effect your life right since you already reject proton…
    so why waste time ?
    cause people like you don’t appreciate what you all have, i think u all need to get some counseling.
    if you’re unhappy with what i say, leave this place then , AHole…
    —————————————————————-
    Chill dude, just ignore them will be fine.

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 10:41 am

bmpower said,

December 15, 2008 @ 11:35 pm

adunadun said,

Absolutely correct.

For bashers especially… Try living in indonesia for few couple of month… the rural area one is better .. then you’ll MORE appreciate malaysia.
    ——————————-
    bali the beach life there nicer. quiksilver clothing also cheaper there. got babi guling also.

• KKTE (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 11:17 am

It is not that i looked down on proton. My intuition told me 1.6 giving 150 horse power is nearly impossible. This is due to i felt that the technology in malaysia is not at that level yet. What the goverment should do is just decrease our automobile taxes, and THAT will be highly appreciated.

• ReactiX (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 12:40 pm

longjaafar said,

When we talk about engine development, we must talk about diesel engines. And when we talk about diesel engines.

—————————————–

i think there are more unanswered questions about petronas than proton. end of the day, proton’s accounts are audited and results of their accounts..etc. are reported to their shareholders and the klse.. (no idea where they hide the fact that they “whack” billions of tax payers money)

Yes, since it is a gov owned company formerly. btw, this nation lives is because PETRONAS feeding it. should one day the feed stop, you and i as well as others will not enjoy life as happy as now. remember that.

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 7:57 pm

ReactiX said,

December 16, 2008 @ 12:40 pm

longjaafar said,

—————————————–

Yes, since it is a gov owned company formerly. btw, this nation lives is because PETRONAS feeding it. should one day the feed stop, you and i as well as others will not enjoy life as happy as now. remember that.
    ——————————–
    actually the only thing petronas has given us is bmw sauber and the two tallest condoms in the world.

• autojohndoe (Member) on Dec 16, 2008 at 9:40 pm

actually the only thing petronas has given us is bmw sauber and the two tallest condoms in the world.

plus lower fuel price, money to the country, scholarship to the students, lubrication development, fuel development, jobs to the ppl, syntium, university, and many more…

• rugaxp (Member) on Dec 17, 2008 at 12:50 am

KKTE:

Is absolutely possible with turbo bolt to a 1.6L engine to get 150hp

• tokmoh (Member) on Dec 17, 2008 at 1:22 am

IIANM, Mitsu UK boys hv created 400bhp from just 2.0L engine, that’s 200hp/L.

Besides, 150 is just speculation, proton nvr said it themselves it’ll be 150hp. jst wait la

szw,

yea, i agree, bt they shud try thai 1st before UK. Few yrs ago (actually, until now oso got), we’d hear complains of them benefiting billions of FDI, thousands jobs created, cheap vios blabla. Well, gud luck to them.

surprisingly, proton did considerably well despite vios n cit r like dirt cheap there…..

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Dec 17, 2008 at 1:40 pm

tokmoh said,

December 17, 2008 @ 1:22 am

IIANM, Mitsu UK boys hv created 400bhp from just 2.0L engine, that’s 200hp/L.

Besides, 150 is just speculation, proton nvr said it themselves it’ll be 150hp. jst wait la

szw,

yea, i agree, bt they shud try thai 1st before UK. Few yrs ago (actually, until now oso got), we’d hear complains of them benefiting billions of FDI, thousands jobs created, cheap vios blabla. Well, gud luck to them.

surprisingly, proton did considerably well despite vios n cit r like dirt cheap there…..
    —————————-
    thats because they are many with worrying mental problems there.

• tony2304 (Member) on Dec 23, 2008 at 12:35 am

^.^ maybe they’ll slam in the oldschool 4D68T with valvetiming and new fuel delivery system??

• fickybabe (Member) on Feb 23, 2009 at 3:43 am

I bet for this coming a few years later, Proton is not in the list of affordable car. CamPro is quite expensive in maintenance. I do my training at Eon so I know which service maintenance is pricey or not. But CamPro with turbo? I can say the rate will be the same just like if you own a European car. Proton in other word is cheap in price to buy but not when it comes to maintenance. CamPro with turbo is ………………… lunatic?

• dabok on Apr 09, 2009 at 10:57 pm

Hehehehehe… RM 5B is not a waste for RnD but just to come up with turbo.. come on they can do better then that.. We currently come to automotive world with high efficiency of engine power and fuel economic things not to mention drivability and all that.. They should better start running because proton already left behind for auto technology rather than other car manufacture.. If they should waste more than RM 5B then be-it rather than stay behind and used stone age technology. It quite shameful if we try to build old technology look like new instead we photocopy other technology and we upgrade it. It rather more high tech and can be proud of. About the spare part of campro. haiyoo… in Malaysia already have many pirate or local made ciplak one. Some is good some are bad just chose…

• Gen2Turbo on Jun 16, 2009 at 5:26 am

Just do your own BOT to your own Campro engine …. hehehehe

Can save cost and more power …Mine done it on my Gen2 with 0.7 bar boost.

Can clock 178whp and speed can be easily go up to 230km/h. So far still don't have any problem. Already run the engine with turbocharged for 1 year.

• Dabok on Jun 17, 2009 at 5:50 am

Is it true Gen2Turbo?. with out any hassle it can go up to 178whp… wah…. without anything to upgrade just plug the turbo system can increase that much ka? I wonder what will it do if I used it in Campro CPS engine…….

• Gen2Turbo on Jun 18, 2009 at 4:18 am

Dabok…It is true … but you must have piggy back Management .. E-Manage Blue should be good already. Mine using Unichip ..

Still using stock piston …all engine parts still stock items.

Just add turbine, intercooler, fuel regulator, engine oil cooler, and piggy back..

with proper tuning …. your car can fly…..!!!!

Beware… do not go with high boost …. unless if you change to forged piston and add metal gasket …..to reduce the compression.

• dabok on Jun 18, 2009 at 12:13 pm

Gen2Turbo thanks for theinfo but can you tell me where did you do all this I mean the workshop? and how much did you spent for it.

• dabok on Jun 18, 2009 at 12:21 pm

Gen2Turbo thanks for the info. But how much did you spent for it and where did you do it I mean the workshop?

• Gen2Turbo on Jun 20, 2009 at 7:22 am

Total spent without piggy back … RM 5500 …including installation.

It is up to you to choose type of piggy back the better the expensive you will spent…. hehehehehe

You can contact this guy …0163988338 , Mr. Xenon. for more info about campro turbo….

Mine just do it at K.TRG….

• dabok on Jun 20, 2009 at 5:26 pm

Thanks Gen2turbo.. I think I need to start make a seving for that purpose from now.

• dabok on Jun 20, 2009 at 5:27 pm

sorry for typo mystake it is actually saving not seving…

• Gen2Turbo on Jun 21, 2009 at 6:54 pm

Ok… go ahead man … you won't regret …. believe me … already got 30 cars equip with turbo in campro engine….

• Chang Chew Soon on Jul 05, 2009 at 1:13 am

haha!

• proton sucks big tim on Jul 30, 2009 at 9:40 am

put turbo in campro and the cylinder block will kebaboommmmmm!!!!

here comes another wajalution ah beng…pathetic

• Dabok on Jul 31, 2009 at 4:56 am

For You (proton suck big time) here come another pathetic comment with out Knowledge…. If you said about others who put turbo without knowledge then it maybe happen.. but when you said about manufacture who put it… Your really ………. you think your self la…

• Gen2Turbo on Jul 31, 2009 at 8:20 am

Please log on to www.camproturbo.com , you can ask all the successful campro turbo owner out there…

• does it means my favourite proton putra will be n production again?

if yes, tat's d best news

• Norman on Sep 11, 2009 at 1:11 am

Aiyo my friend Toyota Vios with Built in Turbo also suffer piston crack,gasket spoilt when he overboost..

• All the things have thier limmits, if you put wrong configuration/design Wartsila engine also keboom!!!la brother…

• Dabok on Jan 30, 2010 at 9:58 am

to true… yes all the things have their limits.. but if the car maker who installed it. do you think it will kaboom? I don't think so… because they already done R&D about it and off course they already put a limitation for the engine… which engineering side called it safety factors…If not… then Toyota camry cases will happen… even like gen2 turbo said.. many tuner in Malaysia currently already succeed in installing turbo in the campro engine because I seen it my self…so to concluded it, Malaysia boleh.. and anything can be done with effort…good or bad is up to us..

• zattyfassa on Feb 17, 2010 at 5:10 am

i hope the coming new proton waja should have so nice design technology. That why i like it very much and the price is the lowest also..

• zattyfassa on Feb 17, 2010 at 5:12 am

i hope that the new coming proton waja should be very nice on their design,technology and prices

• lol….when?when?hardly can wait…hopefuly its for neo cps body…huhu realy need more powerful engine

• Fraz006 on Mar 09, 2010 at 2:53 am

Sex is wonderful, but it’s like cha said:

"actually the only thing petronas has given us is bmw sauber and the two tallest condoms in the world."

this is the most misleading comment I ever read. but, we understand fully, not many malaysian are well informed about Petronas.

to tell u the truth. billions profit every year, fixed XX% percentage will go straight to Government. that will be billion too, spent for the country, back. ur fuel is subsidized by Petronas, if not it will be RM4.50 per litre.Petronas doesnt want to shout it loud for what they had contributed to the country, therefore, not many people are informed. U knwo why NGV in malaysia is so damn cheap than normal fuel? subsidy again. other oil company semua tak sanggup maa tanggung subsidi tu, thats y u cant find any non Petronas NGV here. then u shout again Petronas dominate NGV? aiyaa u misinformed malaysian. but its not your fault, we understand. one more thing, if the oil price goes up, please dont blame the oil company, its not under their power at all.

just sharing….and i am not mad at all, u are not the first one

• we support u proton….

• It a good work Proton been talking about turbo quit some time and this year Mercedes intoduce turbo engine no more kompressor so Proton inline with Mercedes. They like working at the same rate congratulation Proton. One more thing In Japan the price for 2011 Wish 1.8 is around RM 80,00 and Exora RM 76,000 so wish is not so good because it not a really high speed car it only reach 170 something km/h. My point is these car at the same lavel. Don’t think it sooo goog. It good because you care as you a very high price but actually you been cheated by people say Toyota is good that what they said why listen to then because later on they you stupid because unable to use your brain. Thank you

• kevin lee on Nov 25, 2011 at 6:22 pm

2011, still hasnt happened..