Air Asia rumoured to expand F1 involvement?

BMW F1

The Malay Mail has an insider scoop that Air Asia is considering expanding their involvement in F1 by “having their own team”. If this is true, it will probably happen only later as Air Asia is currently still in a 3-year sponsorship deal with the AT&T Williams F1 team as one of their sponsors as parts of their international brand-building efforts.

An overseas F1 news syndicator have linked Air Asia to the BMW Sauber F1 team as a potential purchaser, however Air Asia has stated that their interest in F1 is still AT&T Williams for now and they will continue sponsoring them. If Air Asia expands its role in F1 with a deeper involvement with BMW Sauber F1 it would mean a Malaysian sponsorship “tagteam” of sorts as as the team currently already has a Malaysian sponsor – Petronas.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• scanzew on Aug 21, 2009 at 8:48 am

right move….poor for kubica and heidfeild become a penganggur….

• singh on Aug 21, 2009 at 9:16 am

yeah, alex yoong will get a driving seat soon….. go go alex, hehe

• scoliosis on Aug 21, 2009 at 2:23 pm

Since BMW has pulled out of F1, Petronas might need a new team to sponsor :) And please don't let Alex back into the cockpit. His performance was worst that Takuma Sato's worst!

• azrai on Aug 21, 2009 at 3:46 pm

Rubbish! it's just a rumour or khabar angin. They even hold their purchase of new Airbus last week. Do you think they ever gonna buy F1 team? No, I don't think so. Moreover it's a public listed company.

• Miauuw Ror on Aug 21, 2009 at 4:17 pm

yeah, alex yoong will get a driving seat soon….. go go alex, hehe

—-

With Minardi? again will accident with the tembok? haha.. Malaysia only drive 110km/h mah… thats why lor….

• I hope not, they should use the extra money to keep selling us cheap tickets!

• bmpower on Aug 21, 2009 at 5:12 pm

azrai said,

August 21, 2009 @ 7:46 am

Rubbish! it’s just a rumour or khabar angin. They even hold their purchase of new Airbus last week. Do you think they ever gonna buy F1 team? No, I don’t think so. Moreover it’s a public listed company.

——

What rubbish?

It's a wise decision what?

Buying Airbus = asset.

the bad site of buying assets / properties now… it's to decrease value.

in this case, might be no demand too.

who now if the price of plane materials gonna gone cheaper next year?

Therefore. This is only the best time to invest for branding!.

It's might be also far cheaper this time.

I think… Air asia will sponsoring brawn. Virgin removed.

Since Richard Branson of Virgin Air also had 20% stakes in Air Asia X.

Brawn will color white + red . Nice what?

Let alone Petronas with Sauber + using BMW engine.

That's better than Petronas Sauber with ferrari old engine in back years.

Anyway.. anything can happen in F1.

just like "Oh!.. my neck injury is back" .. Hahahahaha

• roti naan1 on Aug 21, 2009 at 6:17 pm

unlikely to happened. Just rumours.

• henry on Aug 21, 2009 at 7:47 pm

I don't think so TF would spend the money owning a F1 team. The most logical thing in my mind is becoming a premium partner like what Petronas did and I believe the team could be Brawn.

• fadzly on Aug 21, 2009 at 11:17 pm

I though the BMW will end the cars team? Even they decline Sauber offer to bring back sauber team, how will Air Asia suppose to buy that team?

• PTAllTheBest on Aug 22, 2009 at 2:19 am

azrai said,

August 21, 2009 @ 7:46 am

Rubbish! it’s just a rumour or khabar angin. They even hold their purchase of new Airbus last week. Do you think they ever gonna buy F1 team? No, I don’t think so. Moreover it’s a public listed company.

——

What rubbish?

It’s a wise decision what?

Buying Airbus = asset.

the bad site of buying assets / properties now… it’s to decrease value.

in this case, might be no demand too.

who now if the price of plane materials gonna gone cheaper next year?

Therefore. This is only the best time to invest for branding!.

It’s might be also far cheaper this time.

I think… Air asia will sponsoring brawn. Virgin removed.

Since Richard Branson of Virgin Air also had 20% stakes in Air Asia X.

Brawn will color white + red . Nice what?

Let alone Petronas with Sauber + using BMW engine.

That’s better than Petronas Sauber with ferrari old engine in back years.

Anyway.. anything can happen in F1.

just like “Oh!.. my neck injury is back” .. Hahahahaha

———-

not they holding the purchase but they just postpone the airplane delivery while waiting for the LCCT to complete…

but frankly speaking, this company now is in big debt totalling about few hundreds million which they borrow to buy airplane…

• ferruccio on Aug 22, 2009 at 2:32 am

Yes, word in KL is that Tony is lobbying for a deeper involvement in F1 with govt backing. Like all things there's a lot of talk right now. Probably next week things will settle more and a clearer picture will arise.

I am all for such a thing provided there is inflow of motoracing knowledge and technology into the country from the endeavour, with the creation of a real motorsport industry, unlike what happened the past 12 years with billions spent under Petronas.

• I think F1 was being getting bore….bore & bore. Those team Sponsor will not get the sufficient benefits as good as last time. Y? ask the FIA, they have destroyed it by it own hand.

• EdwardWong on Aug 22, 2009 at 4:18 am

Better 2 sponser Qi Meritus that also wan 2 go 2 F1 by 2016…..

• Ford_GT on Aug 22, 2009 at 8:03 am

Another rubbish, this time Tony F.dream team in da making ? I bet 50 cent wouldn't give a damn.

• Ferruccio on Aug 22, 2009 at 9:00 am

With regards to BMW Sauber, When BMW exits at the end of this season, there will be a big hole in their funding such that even Petronas cannot fill up. No replacement sponsor, no team.

Talks of a Malaysian backed F1project said to be driven by Tony Fernandes is certainly circulating in the market. The deficit that will be left by BMW in Sauber is just huge and significantly more than the yearly spend from Petronas. Can the Malaysian economy even afford this?

It was reported that Tony was also the one behind Litespeed lobbying in Malaysia recently for support in F1 to race under 'Team Lotus', claiming they held the rights to the name. What they forgot to mention was that the rights to use 'Team Lotus' in F1, was and is still owned by a gentleman named David Hunt who has nothing to do with Litespeed and co. Even Proton cannot race in F1 under 'Team Lotus'. The Lotus car company THEMSELVES cannot race in F1 under 'Team Lotus'. Litespeed inaccurately publicized that they acquired the rights to race 'Team Lotus' in F1 next year and were in KL asking for funds. Doesn't sound too honest.

When Tony fernandes left a good career in the music business to start an airline, everyone called him a nutcase like how some are calling him when hearing this big push into F1. He also knows Air Asia alone is not enough for this project and he'll need govt support and other funding.

Tony is a phenomenal entrepreneur but perhaps he needs to spend more time in F1 (several years in the paddock) to learn the sport like what other wealthy businessmen turned F1 team owners did. Would have avoided the 'Team Lotus' cock up.

Richard Branson was honest to admit that he didn't know enough about F1. All great entreprenuers, Branson included, don't get too deep into ventures that they don't know enough about. Yes he did sponsor Brawn, but he was very careful to arrive at the decision and he did not commit deeper into it buy wanting to own the team etc

• Jarum on Aug 22, 2009 at 9:53 am

Totally agree with Ferruccio! I heard the same thing you had mentioned.

Apprently he has already put in their application to FIA. He is also lobbying for Proton and Petronas but Petronas isn't too keen in sponsoring any motorsports in the future after the end of this year's F1 season.

• if air asia want to sponsor F1 with their own money out of their business revenue, then go a head. but if ask for gov backing, then i disagree. let the gov do their due to the people. you as business entity should focus on making money out of business license given by the G, if you made money, then do laa whatever you want with it. stupid laa u if you ask G to sponsor u for your company branding exercise.

• Tiadaid on Aug 23, 2009 at 2:13 am

What they forgot to mention was that the rights to use ‘Team Lotus’ in F1, was and is still owned by a gentleman named David Hunt who has nothing to do with Litespeed and co

—————————————————-

Just some useless trivia. David Hunt is the brother of 1976 F1 World Champion James Hunt…

• Kimi Räikk&ouml on Aug 25, 2009 at 12:56 am

Kimi Räikkönen for AirAsia new F1 Team!!!

• kimmy on Aug 25, 2009 at 7:54 am

(1) Air Asia's pocket is not as deep as some people might think.

(2) No, Air Asia cannot afford to buy an F1 team. If they want to do it with their own money, then go ahead and let's see how this can/will impact their bottom line. But if they are going to ask for government backing, then it's bollocks and pointless. Remember the Team Minardi-Alex Yoong-Magnum-Ministry of Sports debacle? It was needlessly embarrassing. In any case, asking for government support is effectively asking for free money for Air Asia's global branding exercise.

(3) And before anyone suggests this, No, I don't think Proton should get involved either. Proton should focus on manufacturing cars with decent quality and make them cheap enough for people to buy. But I digress,

(4) Just because BMW has apparently pulled out of F1, it does not automatically mean "PETRONAS might need a new team to sponsor." They could well walk out at the end of the current season. If their focus in on branding, maybe sponsoring any team will do the trick. But they will probably be looking at a car manufacturer (e.g. Mercedes, Renault, Toyota et al.) if they are going to remain in F1 at all. This is because involvement in F1 is not not necessarily (and certainly not exclusively) about branding per se or even about cars and motor racing. In the final analysis, PETRONAS as a business will be looking at things like lubricant development and sales.

(5) When it comes to branding etc., F1 is pretty much recession-proof. So no, it is not going to be cheaper this time.

• robert phang on Sep 17, 2009 at 12:21 am

It looks like the article was spot on. Who would have thought that the Malay Mail could even beat the European papers on the news.