Confirmed: MINI range to get two new models

MINI Coupe Concept

BMW’s chairman Dr Norbert Reithofer have confirmed today that two new MINI models will go into production at UK’s Plant Oxford, including the Frankfurt show’s MINI Coupe Concept. This ends speculation as to whether the MINI Coupe Concept will be produced or not. Previously other senior BMW officials have said that the concept will be built if public response at the motorshow was good but I think these days with the internet and social media you can already gauge such responses before the public sees a car.

MINI Crossover Concept

The announcement today also had another surprise – apparently a second car that will be unveiled at Frankfurt will also go into production. I have a feeling this is the MINI SUV based on the MINI Crossover Concept showcased last year. This will give the MINI brand a total of 5 bodystyles – Hatch, Clubman, Convertible, Coupe and Crossover.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Actually both of them looks kinda good. Saw 1 mini clubman on the road today, looks good too.

• wonder how much the mini SUV will be in Malaysia 235k?

• spotlight on Sep 04, 2009 at 7:29 am

Looks like the trend seems to be

the crossover concept cars – with Honda joining into

the bandwagon too.

Nice,finally a 4 door Mini cos most owners not so mini

-so difficult to get in & out lah !! cheers!!

• ricaza (Member) on Sep 04, 2009 at 8:05 am

mini is always looking good for me..but when la to have it..tsk..tsk.. :(

• Alitstar on Sep 04, 2009 at 8:10 am

Wah, already reputed as 'Chilli-Padi' now looks more nasty. Beautiful!

• Alitstar on Sep 04, 2009 at 8:55 am

Ricaza, try this. Before going to bed, tell yourself you are going to get it. Fix an appointment to test drive the car this weekend. Visualize going somewhere driving it. Dont think about anything else, just follow your intuition. See what happens. If that's what you want!

• They shud also produce mid engine RWD variant…tats hot

• scirocco lover on Sep 04, 2009 at 9:55 am

the mini cross-over looks like a baby porsche chayenne. and if those are the production colour.. i really wouldn't mind

• Taimi on May 24, 2011 at 2:50 am

And I thought I was the senslbie one. Thanks for setting me straight.

• Randall on Sep 04, 2009 at 2:50 pm

One has to wonder: the roofline of the standard Mini Cooper is already quite low, how short would you have to be to drive the Mini coupe? Did their designers even think about that during the design process?

Or maybe they thought 'Mini customers are already a pretentious bunch that only care about looking cool without considering practicality', so it wouldn't matter anyway.

@nmh: there is barely any room in the Mini as it is, what do you think the mid engine or RWD platform is gonna do to luggage/seating space?

• apexg2 on Sep 04, 2009 at 3:40 pm

new taste of roof design..

• FEMLab on Sep 04, 2009 at 4:35 pm

IMHO, all these new design for mini need some to accept it (to my eyes at least)..previously..hate what they done to clubman..but after few time see on the road..not that bad..not bad at all

• spotlight II on Sep 04, 2009 at 5:33 pm

Well that's what they say "beauty is in the eye of

the beholder"!! and the Mini Cabrio although it seems to have a low roofline,

it actually is not, you'll have to be in one b4 passing any comments.

bro, it's designed in Europe & not in Jap. so legroom & height

has already been taken into consideration at their design stage

What i meant is the back pax getting in/out is a hassle.

Waiting for the Mini D- 3.5l/100km even best Prius (Aust test)

• Audio on Sep 04, 2009 at 5:52 pm

Nice!!~.. I want one!

• gangully on Sep 04, 2009 at 6:15 pm

Some people still believe that designers just design for the sake of designing without regard for practicalities… amazing how people always think that way…

if you take the roof line of the standard mini cooper… and compare it with say the roof line of other compact hatches… believe the mini cooper has got an edge over the others…because of the rake of the windscreen…

• bmpower on Sep 04, 2009 at 8:05 pm

Modern 'Classic' Look .

what a combination.

wish they not remove the 'fun' side of mini itself. :D

• mitlanevo on Sep 05, 2009 at 6:27 am

coupe YES…

suv BIG NOOOOOOO…..!!!

• ToyCar on Sep 05, 2009 at 8:02 am

i'm lovin it!