GT Academy transforms couch potato Playstation racers into real ones!

gt academy

Nissan and Sony Computer Entertainment Europe have joined forces to bring Gran Turismo fans the ultimate competition. Called GT Academy 2010, it will go live on 17 December, and will use the virtual world of the new PlayStation Gran Turismo 5 game to find a real-world racing driver. Prize? The winner gets to swap his dirty sofa for a snug race bucket with safety harness in an intensive race training programme and a season-long drive in a the European GT4 Cup! He or she will be driving a full race-spec Nissan 370Z. Think of this as the car enthusiast’s Idol singing competition.

In the inaugural GT Academy 2008/09, Lucas Ordoñez, a 23-year-old Spanish student, graduated from his PlayStation 3 to debut in the Dubai International 24 Hour race alongside former F1 driver Johnny Herbert. He then teamed-up with British driver Alex Buncombe to campaign a Nissan 350Z in the European GT4 Cup, which runs alongside the FIA GT series. Driving for the RJN Motorsport GT Academy team, their season included two race wins and two second-place finishes that left them second in the drivers’ classification and winners of the Teams’ Championship – proof that the world of virtual racing can unearth a real racing talent!

The GT Academy is open to participants from 15 European countries, Australia and New Zealand. Anyone who holds, or has held, a national or international race license is ineligible. I reckon that had the competition been open to Malaysia, one of our own would be going very far!

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• xavier lert on Dec 04, 2009 at 7:17 pm

if they do this in early 2000 ill be the one who'll represent malaysia….. :p

• Ariff on Dec 04, 2009 at 7:18 pm

cool!!!

• azrai on Dec 04, 2009 at 7:18 pm

Wow. This is great.

• MADBOY on Dec 04, 2009 at 7:33 pm

a 15 years old boy will win the competition and will tell the whole world about it. Then when it come to the real thing, reality will bite back….

• Mazda 3 MPS on Dec 04, 2009 at 7:47 pm

better get a ps3

• cool stuff!

• Neo.S on Dec 04, 2009 at 8:35 pm

i'm in !!!

• need to buy PS3 and start training now!!!

• no eye see on Dec 04, 2009 at 10:58 pm

It is always not too late to have fun, let's ROCK!

• kerelbort on Dec 04, 2009 at 11:25 pm

eh? launch ald aa? GT5 for PS3? if confirm, i'm running to buy one now~!!

• DOME Co.Engineering on Dec 04, 2009 at 11:57 pm

One thing race simulators cannot do is to create the G force and heavy force feedback.

Go for a spin in a 100cc kart and you'll know what i mean.

• Tiadaid on Dec 05, 2009 at 12:36 am

A reason to go out and buy a PS3

• sLicense on Dec 05, 2009 at 12:46 am

I have super-license in gt4, but i reckon in real-life driving. I wont have any chance to drive like how i do in gt4

• mystvearn on Dec 05, 2009 at 1:29 am

Too old to be in it but this is better than american idol.

• The Reader on Dec 05, 2009 at 2:36 am

Okie, in GT5 PS3, I can full throttle, because I don't feel the G-force, and there is no fear at all, no fear.

Okie, when I come to the track, OMG, the stress, the fear and the guts is all over your soul. When you come into the corner in high speed, you feel that your car is on the limit of lost control, and there is 1 car behind your bumpers forcing you…. I think you all will understand what i mean. The real thing is totally more than you can imagine from the TV =.=

In real track racing, it wont be a kids that sit on sofa drive a virtual car banging around in the corner and ram some oponents out of the track or even reset the race =.=…..

• Mazda 3 MPS on Dec 05, 2009 at 2:36 am

which track are they going to let us drive in

• fique D on Dec 05, 2009 at 1:35 pm

heheh nice…. why dun they hv these programme last time..

• fique D on Dec 05, 2009 at 1:36 pm

heheh they should convert their steering mech. with ps3 joystick…

• Salamander on Dec 05, 2009 at 5:16 pm

There is one episode of Top Gear where Jeremy Clarkson tried to replicate the time that he manage to pull using Honda NSX at Laguna Seca circuit on GT3 at PS2.

After he tried multiple time he still unable to replicate the driving and time achieve and he lag arround 20-30 seconds compared to the time he able to pull inside the game when he is driving it in real life.

There is too many factors why in game it was easy. One factor is the Fear as you taking the corner in high speed and feel the GForce acting through your body.

• Mazda 3 MPS on Dec 05, 2009 at 7:51 pm

Salamander said,

December 5, 2009 @ 9:16 am

There is one episode of Top Gear where Jeremy Clarkson tried to replicate the time that he manage to pull using Honda NSX at Laguna Seca circuit on GT3 at PS2.

After he tried multiple time he still unable to replicate the driving and time achieve and he lag arround 20-30 seconds compared to the time he able to pull inside the game when he is driving it in real life.

There is too many factors why in game it was easy. One factor is the Fear as you taking the corner in high speed and feel the GForce acting through your body.

————————

and also in the game u don have the fear of wrecking the expensive car

• TURBOfans on Dec 05, 2009 at 10:56 pm

My neighbour's dog has just give birth to 3 little baby …

• TURBOfans on Dec 05, 2009 at 10:56 pm

Amy has just break off with her girl fren susan..

• while competing, the same adrenaline rush exists.. it's the ability to handle pressure.

when you are in "competition" mode… minds take over the body.

good example from 2008/2009 academy grad

why the skepticism…?

even real car racers are using simulations.

the key is to remember all the turns and corners

not just full throttle using the joystick.

• AMDunFreak (Member) on Dec 06, 2009 at 3:09 am

guys, i think you have problem reading article…

it is not open to malaysian…… muahahahhaa……

go buy a PS3 and find out it's not for you!!

• rayzhai on Dec 06, 2009 at 9:56 pm

haiz.. why why why

i wan join…

open to malaysian la

• Rassi on Dec 07, 2009 at 7:05 pm

xavier lert said,

December 4, 2009 @ 11:17 am

if they do this in early 2000 ill be the one who’ll represent malaysia….. :p

YA ME TOO!!!! …… Gran Turismo the world's best driving simulator !!!!!!!!!!

• exJAVANESE on Dec 08, 2009 at 12:21 am

Guys,

It's Proton car are in list in new Gran Turismo 5 (not Prologue)? anyone?

• PTAllTheBest on Dec 09, 2009 at 12:30 am

exJAVANESE said,

December 7, 2009 @ 4:21 pm

Guys,

It’s Proton car are in list in new Gran Turismo 5 (not Prologue)? anyone?

—————–

yes… i heard proton is in the lineup but not porsche… coz the only game simulator who have the rights to use the porsche name is only EA sports

• einstein on Feb 15, 2013 at 6:27 pm

i guest they need to start physical training before entering any competition