Proton employees show off “creative concepts” at its 2010 Family Day celebration

o1

It was an early start for a Saturday morning, but I dragged myself out of bed to Proton’s Shah Alam factory to join in the national carmaker’s annual Family Day event; yesterday’s 2010 edition also kick off Proton’s silver jubilee 25th anniversary celebrations.

They erected a seriously huge tent (more like an airplane hangar!) to house 18,000 staff and their families who packed the venue. The guest of honour was none other than the man who’s vision created Proton: Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamed accompanied by wife Tun Dr Siti Hasmah.

o5

No, there weren’t any sneak preview of the Persona facelift or new Waja that I had hoped to catch, but the event was anything but boring, thanks to the participants of Proton’s Invention and Innovation competition, an in-house inter-department contest where staff came up with “concept cars” using units that were destined for scrapping. It was very entertaining to say the least; there was a supercar, a shoe car, a caravan, a wooden sportscar, a Donald Duck inspired gullwing Saga and a space ship!

Check the gallery after the jump, but before firing the poison arrows, please do not take them too seriously – this is just a fun contest open to all Proton staff, not a prototype design shootout for the next production model. Enjoy!

Third prize winner: Mid-engined Saga
i3

Second prize winner: Sport shoe inspired convertible
m1

Winner: Super carrier business concept
k2

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• my favourite is the sports shoe inspired one. :D

• WOw, Exora with sports car design…

• DaveDiablos on Jan 11, 2010 at 12:13 am

wow, that yellow car looks gorgeous!!!

feel like buying one if they really make one…

• dzulx on Jan 11, 2010 at 12:13 am

Dr. M looks so boring.. hahaha

• klx (Member) on Jan 11, 2010 at 12:17 am

Very creative indeed, hope the same is used to conceptualize new models!

• Tiadaid on Jan 11, 2010 at 12:18 am

You'll know what the bashers will say….if they'd spent time designing real cars rather than cars for the family day…hehe, you know the rest!

• DEUTSCHLAND BOLEH on Jan 11, 2010 at 12:22 am

What a load of carbage! The sunway bengkel people can do a better job than proton. The mid engined Saga looks good from the technical engineering point of view but still fugly.

• Matchy on Jan 11, 2010 at 12:24 am

WTF?! @_@

• Kevin Lee on Jan 11, 2010 at 12:32 am

that gold car looks like a toyota celica with honda accord lamps and inverse perdana tail lamps! lol

• chuakz on Jan 11, 2010 at 12:38 am

I thought these are the official concepts….damn…i was prepared to criticize proton….lol

• Peter on Jan 11, 2010 at 12:39 am

the looks were very plastic..

but nvmnd..

at least we have an automaker..

• theanswer on Jan 11, 2010 at 12:45 am

they should be more serious..who knows that one day the can use the design for real.

• Jarum on Jan 11, 2010 at 12:52 am

The yellow one is from the Putra base? Look cool tho!

• Sentul Cowboy on Jan 11, 2010 at 12:57 am

P1 is hopeless… 25 years wasted… mahathir must be very sad to see all these toys

• ~JviperS2~ on Jan 11, 2010 at 12:58 am

No wonder Proton takes decades to properly design their models. Look at what they're up to during office hours! And now I see where the rakyat's money goes to! >.<

• xenith (Member) on Jan 11, 2010 at 1:04 am

Why is the yellow sports car a Left Hand Drive?

• staff on Jan 11, 2010 at 1:06 am

to people who wants to criticize… they are given RM2000/team only to make those… so, people in sunway bengkel can do better with that amount of money?

• staff on Jan 11, 2010 at 1:08 am

~JviperS2~ said,

January 10, 2010 @ 4:58 pm

No wonder Proton takes decades to properly design their models. Look at what they’re up to during office hours! And now I see where the rakyat’s money goes to! >.<

Fool… the people are not doing this during working hours… Fool!

• staff on Jan 11, 2010 at 1:09 am

Sentul Cowboy said,

January 10, 2010 @ 4:57 pm

P1 is hopeless… 25 years wasted… mahathir must be very sad to see all these toys

Please tell me exactly…. where is the waste?

• nabill on Jan 11, 2010 at 1:13 am

looks like one of those cars made by those programs on discovery turbo chanel ! bt great fun though . nice to see proton give designers the freedome to express their cars…..

i applaud…..for those who are bashing already , forheavens sake GET A LIFE ! this is jus for fun and nothing else….

• jimbet on Jan 11, 2010 at 1:14 am

whoah the tent didn't collapse. that's a good start :P

mid-engine saga looks cool btw

• Bunch of….. (speechless)… there goes P1 for many many yrs :(

• tunomura on Jan 11, 2010 at 1:19 am

Is this Proton with 8000 engineers do all this time?? Sigh..not funny at all, be serious man!..

Eventho, P2 can't do the same but they are expert in rebadging what Proton doing..lol

• the bastard on Jan 11, 2010 at 1:21 am

I dont know why you guys bash. They were just having fun!!!

It's as if you guys dont visit paultan.org during office hours. What a bunch of hypocrites.

And the point is, they're having fun. In my company (MNC which has > 80,000 employees worldwide), we are forced to have a hobby besides work. There are like a million of activities that my company give us, every weekend, to participate in. And family members (spouse and children) are always welcomed.

Nobody can work like a robot 24/7.

We are human beings. If Proton understands this concept, then it's good. It's wonderful. It brings the teams closer together and it makes the employees happy. Not like y'all (and me to some extent). A bunch of sad sacks. Mr. Killjoys.

No wonder we Malaysians are so bloody uptight. We like to rain on other people's parades.

The point is, everybody deserves some fun. Some moment when things shouldn't be taken seriously. It lightens the mood. It makes the soul happier. It makes one feel that the company cares about its employees.

• Mufasa on Jan 11, 2010 at 1:23 am

dont you guz have family day in ur office?

for example chrismas day….some big boss with santa custom… it a day to enjoy… why cant they have some happy time?

• jimbet on Jan 11, 2010 at 1:23 am

the bastard. just face it. proton don't sell.

• gabamorrum on Jan 11, 2010 at 1:25 am

from the article….

quote;

"….Check the gallery after the jump, but before firing the poison arrows, please do not take them too seriously – this is just a fun contest open to all Proton staff, not a prototype design shootout for the next production model. Enjoy!…."

dont be too narrow minded and just easily comment, read first then only comment….

• the proton supercar is cooooool!

• gabamorrum on Jan 11, 2010 at 1:27 am

the bastard and mufassa….

i second you guys…those who bash certainly are zombies….

• almostthere on Jan 11, 2010 at 1:33 am

As if it's wrong to let their staff exercise on their creative juices eventhough some may not have the flair for it. Other companies do it so why can't we? Typical Malaysians, tau je kutuk cam haram tapi tak reti nak puji

• whats there to puji ?

• kickoutstupidbasher on Jan 11, 2010 at 1:48 am

they want release tension and have fun time…x boleh kaa…

same la like others company do…family day,mengeratkan hubungan sesama staff..ni cara mereka 4 family dy…something like this pun nk kena bash jgk ke…alahai basher2 elstupido ni…

please3x…nk bash pun pd tmpt sewajarnyala…adoi~

• nicecar on Jan 11, 2010 at 1:51 am

hope the yellow car's design gets into production, looks real nice XD

• santa cruz boy on Jan 11, 2010 at 1:57 am

wouldnt mind buying the yellow supercar .. hope they bring the putra model back in this kinda shape but with bigger exhaust and a proper 2.5cc v6 or something .

the white erm juara / savvy / saga rear pick up looks cool and cute too . hopefully with atleast a 1.8cc engine . the reason why we're not interested in the savvy or juara or arena is because they only come in small cc engines and there's some of us who can afford and is willing to pay a little extra to have something locally made but with something different from the rest .

• bobby on Jan 11, 2010 at 1:59 am

Its a good thing they did this, should make it as an annual event. Competition like this can bring more idea and creativity for future designing.

As a material engineer, personally I felt this is a very very good thing. Do not be surprised that one of the model above will inspired the next proton model. It might also seems far-fetch but hey, at least they started.

• bobby on Jan 11, 2010 at 2:02 am

And the shoe car is so stand out and nice orange sport car. Not bad huh ^^

• no name on Jan 11, 2010 at 2:05 am

some of them came out with 'not bad' design..

but some of them.came out with seriously weird design…

for a start…

it was ok…

cammon proton…

• kimi_ on Jan 11, 2010 at 2:05 am

What a loads of CRAP…..

They can design something useful instead of this WEIRD, STUPID things (not qualify be car) which cant be use in REAL LIFE !!!!!

• Salamandar on Jan 11, 2010 at 2:13 am

I like the shoe car. Nice!

• eddie on Jan 11, 2010 at 2:15 am

proud to be malaysian??

• so nice..of family day..what we all hav in family day run and cary ballon.syabas proton

• corolla_KE70 on Jan 11, 2010 at 2:26 am

just know how to bash, when it have anything to do with proton. its a FAMILY DAY, narrow-mind people !! but then, you knew this kind of people usually are just kids hiding in front a computer screen..

• biasa la org kita..asal nmpk benda2 mcm ni je ckp membazir la tu la ni la…..be positif la…benda ni just sekadar hiburan aje…kalau x suka xpayah tgok…senang kn?

• wochomi on Jan 11, 2010 at 2:43 am

Proton bukan lu org punya kompani lah….. mau itu mau ini, mau cantik mau murah…. masalahnya ada puak-puak tertentu yg campur kilang kereta dgn politik. Proton itu kilang kereta… lantak pi lah dia nak buat kereta kasut fungkion ke, kereta sampan ke, kereta roket ke….janji ada 4 roda boleh jalan (tolak pun boleh). Yang kau org pi kutuk proton pasal kau org tak mampu nak pasang turbo kat kereta kau org.

• I love the yellow supercar and the mid-engined Saga

• kimi_ on Jan 11, 2010 at 2:57 am

To those PROTON defender…….WTH advantage got from this, all USELESS design that will be thrown after this…

For entertainment???????? so can waste all this money!!!why not design something PRACTICAL then instead of this rubbish!

Dr M must be wanted to hide his face on seeing this stupid design that 3 years old boy can do better!!!!

• avatar on Jan 11, 2010 at 3:03 am

the yellow car look almost like the Peugeot SR1 :)

• for the mpv, they should make it with 8 wheels like the eliica..

• Kambing Gurun on Jan 11, 2010 at 3:08 am

This one just like perarakan kereta berhias only. Interesting.

• Some looks like crap too

• nazri on Jan 11, 2010 at 3:14 am

dh la x pernah support proton pastu family day pn kutuk.. apa kata basher tahun depan di invite untuk menunjukkan cretiviti design kereta diorang.. paul what u say?

• eposuer on Jan 11, 2010 at 3:20 am

what's wrong with the p1 bashers..?? its a FAMILY DAY for god sake..

• septzz on Jan 11, 2010 at 3:22 am

that white cabri savvy with saga tail lamp looks good. (mid-engine saga aite?) not great but good. for RM2k i think it's not bad considering the detail of their creativity.

those who are whining…did you have something better to show to us?

stop complaining,give some support for your country. Proton is your child…what did you say to your kids when they showed you what they paint at school? i know it's not that beautiful but you tell them it's beautiful instead. RIGHT??!! for what? (i think you know how to answer it yourself)

I'm an engineer in france. I also involved in designing some cars. I know what's good what's bad… support your own country. there's nobody else to support your country if it's not start with you. Open your mind. Step out of the cage.

• saya nak mid engined saga tu ! :)

• 1Malaysiarakyat on Jan 11, 2010 at 3:29 am

Well, thats y there must come up with their own identity in Geneva…

• kimi,

those cars was designed by very fresh graduated staffs and taking them about a month to do modifications based on existing models. they were asked to redesign the car with no limitation, provided that the car can run at least 30km/j. it doesnt even matter if they decided to use 17'' rim in a savvy (for example). in that process, i believe that they have learned a lot on how to produce (basically), a car and how to put their creativity in a right place. i don't see why those bashers keep bashing this kind of learning exercise. oh, one more thing, these car are collected from very old stock models and unsurpassed QC checking. instead of wasting them, they decided to throw to their staffs and make it a competition. o very good ideas i would say. i say those modified cars photos long ago from my friend's hand phone, and he was part from this team. anyone who want to bash them, think twice. at least they put their full effort going back home at 2am everyday and go back to factory during weekends. at least, appreciate that. TQ

• The yellow one boleh tahan…….the others,…….school project?

• proton_sucks on Jan 11, 2010 at 3:32 am

Super ugly!!!

• hiruma kecil on Jan 11, 2010 at 3:45 am

the yellow one with exora head lamp and perdana tail lamp should be look seriously… proton should makes more and put lotus exige engine to that car.. it should be proton next model… proton sport car… anyway… how about PROTON SPORT PU…. long time ago…. hahaha… proton tell us that they will makes sport car… i still remember the car.. the proton sport pu..

• peugeot on Jan 11, 2010 at 3:49 am

Don't embarrass me, 4 light years far from my SR1!!!!!

• There are obviously some very good effort here and some just for fun and all out tacky stuff which basically is in the office party spirit, just relax.

It's not like they sent these out to contest for international design competitions.

• Mazda 3 MPS on Jan 11, 2010 at 3:56 am

what is so creative about this?

• Chriztoburd on Jan 11, 2010 at 3:59 am

I love the mid engined Saga mini… I seriously think if there is enough effort put into it.. there could be a chance it will be successful.. not in M'sia tho.. don think m'sians appreciate it.. I for one would buy one

• dzulx on Jan 11, 2010 at 4:06 am

staff said,

January 10, 2010 @ 5:06 pm

to people who wants to criticize… they are given RM2000/team only to make those… so, people in sunway bengkel can do better with that amount of money?

———————————————–

2k only for this kind of outcome?? what material u use?? wah freaking cheap..

• nebula87 on Jan 11, 2010 at 4:09 am

omg..plz don't sell us those car, i will guarantee proton will bankrap in 1 week time..>.<|||

• Eyesore on Jan 11, 2010 at 4:26 am

Before you guys bash mindlessly…. most of those cars was done by non-executives (mostly factory worker) with supervision of 1 exec… only for of those cars build by team that contain more than 1 exec / engineer such as the mid engine saga and the car using exterior from lalang (the brown ones). the yellow sports car was build by non-exec team.

btw they can easily decorate the cars to look sporty n more attractive… but the competition was about innovation and Invention… those two things is not simply making a car look sporty… duh… and with limited budget of RM 2000 only, I'd say most of the cars are well built….

I personally like the big MPV (Rhino Beetle), the mid engine saga and the yellow sports cars…

well done….

• Malaysia memang bole on Jan 11, 2010 at 4:27 am

The only thing typical malaysian will do when they saw this is BASH

• Amarjie on Jan 11, 2010 at 4:28 am

come on bashers…they are just having fun..

my company also doing the same thing last year, the staff were given a couple of hundreds ringgit to design & make a boat for a parade & you'll be surprise what they can come out with..

it's after office hour things la you moron…

the RM given to each of the group pun not even your money..

ni sah2 ofis korang tak pernah buat family day nih..

what a bunch of idiot bashers…

• malaysian on Jan 11, 2010 at 4:32 am

kimi.. have u read all those comments up there??

as staff said proton just give them rm2,000 (2k) oni for each team lol…

can u create supercar as u want form rm2,000 oni haa??

tyre, rim, engine, all the components, can u get it for oni rm2,000??

come on guys…

u guys wanna buy super car.. proton can produce it..

but for sure the price will be higher maa…

if proton price same like honda n toyota,

im sure u all bash will buy the japanese one..

malaysian mentality.. always know how to critics oni..

BLM won so asean award, have u guys congrats them?

• campromania on Jan 11, 2010 at 4:37 am

they just do it for fun..it got nothing to do with the R&D department..some of them look weird..hehehe..

• Iskandar on Jan 11, 2010 at 4:44 am

I went to Petronas's family day a while ago.

Instead of wasting money on mods like this, the staff are asked to bring their family to for Petronas's gotong royong at a rumah anak yatim, org tua or masjid.

Only after half a day at these places do the staffs go to their hotel to rest and go for family sport activities the day after.

It's amazing how the company that earns so much spends so little for their family day. Yet the company Petronas bail-out (like Proton) spends lavishly for their family day like this one.

Speaks a lot about management and responsibility.

• come on…dont be too hard la on the proton team…some of the designs are actually cool. and the effort it takes to come up with these shows that proton can do better in the future if they really tried. and it's for fun anyway,and its family day. don't simply pour out the negativities. well done proton!

• carrot on Jan 11, 2010 at 4:58 am

besides the yellow car, the rest look like shit! those Proton staff are really good at time wasting activities.

• why not show a sample of performance campro turbo ground testing,

• frezzoed (Member) on Jan 11, 2010 at 4:59 am

common la…this is a fmily day…not a competition to built a car for production…why all like to complain???dunno how to read ka???

• alisetan on Jan 11, 2010 at 4:59 am

Pi mampos dengan all the bangsat BASHER.. u dick head moron know nothing about cars. go jerk off dude.. that is what you are best in..

This is a family day.. for fun and only for staff.. u bastards moron basher go jerk off.. that's a lot of amoy in Sun Complex u can jerk off… better than coming over this blog and mumbling your MTF..

• "an in-house inter-department contest where staff came up with “concept cars” using units that were destined for scrapping". quote from paultan

dont the basher ever read the article carefully? aiyoo, patutlah kat skolah cikgu marah2, sebab org2 macam ni lah, lain cikgu ajar, lain dia jawab.

they are not wasting money because that are the scaps unit. aiyoo, n this is not from proton design, it is from its normal stuff to have fun during family day. get a life basher

• anonymous on Jan 11, 2010 at 5:13 am

At least the supercar is acceptable :)

• quadlights on Jan 11, 2010 at 5:13 am

Eyesore said,

January 10, 2010 @ 8:26 pm

Before you guys bash mindlessly…. most of those cars was done by non-executives (mostly factory worker) with supervision of 1 exec… only for of those cars build by team that contain more than 1 exec / engineer such as the mid engine saga and the car using exterior from lalang (the brown ones). the yellow sports car was build by non-exec team.

btw they can easily decorate the cars to look sporty n more attractive… but the competition was about innovation and Invention… those two things is not simply making a car look sporty… duh… and with limited budget of RM 2000 only, I’d say most of the cars are well built….

I personally like the big MPV (Rhino Beetle), the mid engine saga and the yellow sports cars…

well done….

Thanks for the info

• Muzhaffar on Jan 11, 2010 at 5:16 am

What i like the most is mid-engined saga.Its just look cool.

i have this thought that when will proton design a supercar…

• syamness on Jan 11, 2010 at 5:26 am

bashers=party poopers

you have to go so low to even bash their family day event? get a life

• azamreeves on Jan 11, 2010 at 5:28 am

Actually this is quite good start for Proton. Proton Exora have responded to market need & after getting nervous for the market respond

they deserve to have their fun

i some time disheartened with people with narrow minded and like to critize something without first assesed the story…

same thing happened when i'm visiting Bali with wife.There is one old man with this kind of attitde & always critizing all the time .Luckily he have some problem in Malaysia in have to go back early

Get nuisance to have this people around

People with narrow minded is something which I try to be avoid. I like them to be sent to Planet Pluto & try living with those alien

• wheel on Jan 11, 2010 at 5:44 am

the yellow one looks superb, except for the tiny mini wheels.like viva wheel fitted to perdana.

• enuf / stop / end

• Actually they were hoping they can sell those designs to China.

• squawk on Jan 11, 2010 at 5:59 am

Nothing wrong with having a family day. It's something positive. And you have to realize not all concept cars are workable or practical for production. It's a positive start.

You just have to compare the 1st Ms Astro Chinese Universe pageant (or whatever it's called) and the most recent one. Look at the quality of the 1st one and the prizes offered and the one in 2009.

If P1 can do something to genuinely improve, why not? After all, our invested tax money is at stake.

• Rambo on Jan 11, 2010 at 6:02 am

For those bashers,come on lahh,shut up & get a life…Yeap,Proton might be quite bad in the past few years,but atleast they had shown a really good improvement & commitment in growing their business under the management of Dato Syed Zainal,especially by inroducing the Exora,really well done!!

• kimi_ on Jan 11, 2010 at 6:07 am

This is USELESS and HAZARDOUS family event….Does it means 18,000 people

including kids that gather in the tent and take in the CO2 emisions from the cars

for hours is GOOD for the familly health??????????? Cant proton organizes a better event!!!!

• Swift on Jan 11, 2010 at 6:15 am

Proton still sucks. Stop wasting rakyat's money and time on this bullshit. Proton SUCKS.

• almostthere on Jan 11, 2010 at 6:29 am

I wanna see them comment if the japanese make weird cars like those kerusi beroda high tech…sure gonna say very creative cos it;s from Toyota/Honda…..typical Malaysian…tau je kutuk sama sendiri….another 10 years to 2020 but attitude still 3rd world villagers

• Neo.S on Jan 11, 2010 at 6:39 am

er,,,,,obviously those are made of scrap proton cars (maybe) it might because before scrap let the worker play around with design loh for fun fun loh….it might come out some thing surprise leh ….whos known ?

so basher ….use your brain la…..only known how to use money to live a life meh …..

• FRUST OWNER on Jan 11, 2010 at 6:50 am

quality tak boleh , design apa apa boleh buang

• sang bertiga on Jan 11, 2010 at 6:53 am

ady said;

"……..anyone who want to bash them, think twice. at least they put their full effort going back home at 2am everyday and go back to factory during weekends. at least, appreciate that…"

really, going back at 2am to do this…better put the resources on something better… at least that most people would think that way…

• lance on Jan 11, 2010 at 6:54 am

Having fun is good … but not with money paid for with my hard earned salary (tax).

Please remove all the "tongkat" policies, then I'll react differently to this article …

• exJAVANESE on Jan 11, 2010 at 7:04 am

to swift

WTF??

This is just a competition on how to generate our MIND with new and fresh idea between proton staff. Nothing waste any of DUIT RAKYAT. The DSZ want all of their staff think on how to be more creative person and T-out of box…

U wanna great design from the proton, this is the one of thier way man…

F*** u all who all have this kind of thinking…

HOW CAN U SAY THAT PROTON ARE BULLSHIT??

U'RE THE ONE WHO MAKE A REAL BULLLSHIT!! A**H**E…

(Maafkan saya…saya btul2 dah tak boleh tahan org2 kita ni asyik bagi carut ke PROTON n PERODUA…)

• Day deSIANG on Jan 11, 2010 at 7:12 am

Why i saw a yellow honda accord there de??? weird…

• narrowband on Jan 11, 2010 at 7:12 am

looks like national day parade floats. interesting, but not impressive.

was looking forward to more engineering feats. nonetheless the mid-engine idea gets my pick, although i don't really see the point in mid-engined-but-not-so-aerodynamic car. mid-engined sports car would be reasonable.

• mystvearn (Member) on Jan 11, 2010 at 7:16 am

The cars are not car-show standar. That is one misconception people must put in their head.

Its coming together having fun. I like the mid-engine saga. Though that first car in the photo looks almost production like perdana replascement even though its a marriage between exora and that PM5 sports car.

• frossonice on Jan 11, 2010 at 7:22 am

Lance,

Yes, they used your tax money for their Family Day. Go and sue them.

• I agree with almostthere.

If these were to come from any other country like japan, u no-good bashers like kimi_ would have written a long stupid essay on how creative and cool the japs are. Stop looking for holes to bash proton. CO2 emissions for a few hours in a day is not gonna kill anyone. Duh. After all, we breathe them in practically everyday from air pollution and smokers too dont we?

I dont own a proton,but i certainly wont downgrade them with those words. Try designing a car yourself man.

• frossonice on Jan 11, 2010 at 7:28 am

Oh ya… Kimi_, Swift and all bashers. Yes, Proton is wasting rakyat money by having a FAMILY DAY. Go and sue them.

Bloody hopeless bashers.

• i thought the yellowcar was the proton ultimate.

thanks goodness it wasn't.

• Eyesore on Jan 11, 2010 at 7:36 am

kimi…seriously… get the fuck off…. i was there… the parade only took about 15 mins… without any action of pushing the engines to limits where it will produce hell lot of CO2 to poison the kids… stop spreading false rumours…

there are a lot of other activity besides the parade…. advance driving demo, go kart, horse riding, games for kids, factory visit, ghost house etc…. isn't those are pretty normal for family day?

btw proton decide to do the family day in proton because they want to celebrate 25 years proton…..

• dzulx on Jan 11, 2010 at 7:45 am

frossonice said,

January 10, 2010 @ 11:22 pm

Lance,

Yes, they used your tax money for their Family Day. Go and sue them.

—————————————–

haha very funny so sarcastic…

Frossonice… just give up.. you cannot beat idiot with experience..

They have whole life full of experience being an idiot…

• The Pantat on Jan 11, 2010 at 7:46 am

azlano's design concept sucks

• I don't understanding what is there to celebrate?? Celebrating 25 years of hidup segan, mati tak mahu! Look at Hyundai & Kia which are of similar edge, but miles and miles ahead.

I would have committed harakiri in shame if I were Proton, really pathetic!

• Otter on Jan 11, 2010 at 7:58 am

The german and japanese car makers has the same concept day where staff go crazy with design – resulting with vehicles like the kerusi roda from toyota.

And they were given carte blanche funds to design from scratch.

The proton engineers was given 2K (which is only 600 USD!!!!!!) and they still managed to have interesting designs coming out from their head.

Wouldn't that showcase how inventive and resourceful the proton engineers are?

And the fact that all of these cars are headed for scrap and also the fact that they all RUN!. No car are static.

90% of the commenters on Paultan.org are like clarkson – only speed and high price can satisfy your carnal urges.

I am so sad with the malaysian motoring community.

• hmwong on Jan 11, 2010 at 8:00 am

anybody notices there about 20 cars there… someone mention they got only RM2k for a team. The existing parts, perhaps it's scavenged parts from bins, say around another 3k for a team. Meaning that's 5k X 20, 100k. And of course, this is just on the team. And the prices? 29.2k (look at the pix). Grand total, around RM129.2k, just for an event for a family day. WOW..

• iskett on Jan 11, 2010 at 8:06 am

Hehehe.. the car with the fans at the back!!

Wonderpets 2x , ape yg penting, kerjaasamaaa… lol..

Come on, its their family day la..

They are using ready-to-scrap-cars..

And I think the Proton people has had enough share of bashing over the whole 2009 (some justifiably though).

So let them have some fun this weekend..

You want to bash sambung later laa..

• almostthere on Jan 11, 2010 at 8:10 am

Biasa laaa…kids who are typically Malaysian, puja the foreigners. But when ask them to contribute by at least giving suggestions in a constructive manner, senyap semua. And then wait laaa when the new design language is announced will say ooo….Malaysian stupid dunno how to design. If that's the case Toyota, Nissan, Renault, Kia, Hyundai and other companies dunno how to design too since they also employ design houses to give input or open studio's in Europe/US.

Tell you what la guys, if these bashers can give constructive criticism one day,I'LL REALLY FALL OFF MY CHAIR LAUGHING!!!

• the bastard on Jan 11, 2010 at 8:21 am

@jimbet

"the bastard. just face it. proton don’t sell."

What does that has to do with Family Day? I was talking about companies giving a chance to their employees to let loose and have some fun! They deserve some. Everybody deserves some. You deserve some.

And some of this.

• Mazda 3 MPS on Jan 11, 2010 at 8:26 am

i think this is much worst than the hammerhead i-eagle thrust. so this is what our engineers can produce given the freedom. no wonder our proper cars are so shitty. in other carmakers, our production cars are probably their first failed attempt result.

• Pinky & the Brai on Jan 11, 2010 at 8:41 am

i love the THIRD Place…

maybe can comes with Savvy facelift..look fresh design…

• nudin on Jan 11, 2010 at 8:43 am

this is for fun even this interdepartment competition so what you expect.

BTW this 1st time ever like this event so next year will change with maybe

theme parade car like ev comcept or supercar.

just Sue them and then be PM if you say it eeasy o control a country

• tamaki on Jan 11, 2010 at 8:48 am

creation and design is a core in automotive field. Since proton ready them self participate in Geneva 2010, then evaluation must get through. By the way, the car in family look odd,instead of this event ,how about have some kind of public perception and design contest better then this limelight car what a dillydally.

• bmpower on Jan 11, 2010 at 8:49 am

Check the gallery after the jump, but before firing the poison arrows, please do not take them too seriously – this is just a fun contest open to all Proton staff, not a prototype design shootout for the next production model. Enjoy!

+++

Bashers…

Paul already wrote above statement.

Do respect him at least.

• bmpower on Jan 11, 2010 at 8:49 am

ops. Danny, not paul.

• RedLine on Jan 11, 2010 at 8:50 am

Honestly, it's really embarassing to read some of the comments here. This is a FAMILY DAY. Do all these bashers know what family day is? A family day is NOT the Geneva Autoshow, you know? And all these design cars are done by non-exec staffs using bits and pieces of company scraps. I think this is a great way to encourage innovation and out-of-the-box thinking. This is much better that having a "normal" family day with only makan-makan and some kids games only.

I think we should just ignore all these bashers. I bet even if Proton or Proton staffs do charity work like help the terminally ill or donate to an orphanage, these bashers will surely find (or create) something to criticize about that as well.

• altimate (Member) on Jan 11, 2010 at 8:56 am

It's a family day, they could have just organised some makan2 and then balik but instead Proton came up with this great idea to nurture creativity amongst its staff, which proved to be a fun event.

Imagine how inspiring this event would have been for the young kids over there..

There is a difference between "criticise" and "criticise blindly".. the criticisms here are more of the latter.. come on guys, grow up.. i wont be surprised if half of you, bashers, are driving Proton for god sake.

Cheers

• jijoy_09 on Jan 11, 2010 at 8:57 am

to all bashers;

korang xbace btl2 ke artikel tu tulis ape? ataupn, korang yg xpaham english? dah die kate event nie hanye utk suke2 je, just 4 fun… utk mengeratkan ikatan keluarga. Besides, event nie just utk staff Proton.. So, up to them la nk organize n participate camne… Aku rase la kan, mostly yg kutuk2 nie mesti xpenah g mane2 family day… Senang cerite la, klu korg g mane2 program motivasi pn, still ade bende nie gak tp, gne material n idea yg berlainan la… DONT BE A THIRD CLASS MIND!!!

to Proton staff:

Good job!! Its quite interesting to see what u've done.

• I so malu to be MALAYSIAN!

• blablabla~never ending bash to p1

this is what we called leisure for employees maa(kata pun family day), we also doesnt expact much if we saw the co's staff dancing arround wearing outragous costume in ann dinner or fam day..why dont you just bash them for not dance their heart out??..typically stil the same thing..not a geneva autoshow or whats not..they all are just having fun..not engineers,dont be suprise even accountant or sales took part in making these cars..try to get the objectives of family day.

• Is it me or some of those design might actually work if they do it more serious and less wacky in it ?

• Nieto on Jan 11, 2010 at 9:26 am

heh, i love tat mid engine saga and exora supercar?? no idea wat to call it. and that yellow supercar using perdana rear lamp?

• Just Curious….Has anyone ever did a Comprehensive and Thorough Research on Malaysia's Automobile Market and the impact on people's life? Perhaps the Complete Publication could give a better/clearer picture….

Car/Vehicle prices in Malaysia in comparison with many other countries are expensive with the roads being dominated by two national brands, Proton Cars and Perodua. The reason for the higher vehicle prices in Malaysia is down to the tax applied to the vehicle, this prohibits many Malaysians except the wealthy from buying new foreign manufactured cars….

The Point Is….For Past 25 Years, and being given the amount of time and "Protected" Market, and for that amount of time, Proton 'SHOULD' have improved tremendously but unfortunately it's a disappointment. Why not (do a live testing for a period of time, i.e. few years) remove the 'protection' and priced all local assembled automobiles as the one in Langkawi and Labuan? And Test Proton's Competitiveness, Quality and Design in the REAL UNBIAS MARKET and see the results? I for one would be eager to know how will the result turns out to be….(no point to be arguing on who's right and wrong here)

• exJAVANESE on Jan 11, 2010 at 10:11 am

I'm really tired with all of this kind of 'basherian'..(sampi ada yang mncarut-carut entah ape2..rasa nak bagi penampar je…)

Everytime when Mr.Paul and Mr. Danny do some an article about our [email protected] are always have some of their comments from our lovely 'basherian' that they have reach up only on standard 3 mind class.

C'mon… grow up u guys…grow faster… with more intellectual critics comments, not followed by your emotion revenge….(aahh…penat dah aku nagn pemikiran diaorg ni…'basherian')

• Helmet on Jan 11, 2010 at 10:27 am

You guys who bash should learn to troll better. Too unrefined. You're taking the fun and art away from Internet arguments.

• x-proton owner on Jan 11, 2010 at 11:51 am

ugliest things ever seen and they called them cars. lucky for these "things" and people that the awards were within Proton. if Geneva 2010 has a "Best Creative Ugly Looking Car", one of these and the designer must be the winner. F-U-G-L-Y! i give up.

• exJAVANESE on Jan 11, 2010 at 12:44 pm

x-proton owner said,

ugliest things ever seen and they called them cars. lucky for these “things” and people that the awards were within Proton. if Geneva 2010 has a “Best Creative Ugly Looking Car”, one of these and the designer must be the winner. F-U-G-L-Y! i give up.

Alaahai… don't you get it you dumb-ass minded bashes?? Proton company are just doing their family day among of their staff? have do u read a full article about it?? or u just wannna 'hantam cromo je?

I REPEAT…THIS IS NOT FOR GENEVA 2010…NOT FOR NEXT PROTON PRODUCTION CAR…THIS IS JUST FOR FUN AND THINK OUT THE BOX..DAMN IT!

(contoh…kalau ko kerja dengan syarikat buat baju, korg ada buat event pakai beragam…korg kena design baju itu mengunakan lebihan kain dari syarikat itu sendiri..agak2 dpt jadi cantik x semua baju yg staff design tu? mestila terpulang pada kretiviti masing2…Btl x?mengarut @ xmengarut…. sama la dengan syarikat proton ni…diaorg ni kilang buat kereta, mesti de kereta yang reject, tak lepas QA inspection…jadi, daripada dok tersadai banyak2, kan bgus kalau diaorg curahkan kretiviti dalam event macam ini…sekurang2nya dapat juga diaorg release tension after working 24/7perday!! xsalahkan kalau diaorg buat event kereta beragam untuk familay day diaorg?? namanya pun 'ragam'..bermacam-macam ragam…

sorry guys…I have to speak in Malay..we all Malaysian rite? kalau tak paham tu…paham-paham je lah…)

• anti-morons on Jan 11, 2010 at 3:26 pm

"Check the gallery after the jump, but before firing the poison arrows, please do not take them too seriously – this is just a fun contest open to all Proton staff, not a prototype design shootout for the next production model. Enjoy!"

– It's a family day of an carmaker company.. of course there should be events like this!

Damn you bashers are extremely,extraordinarily,absolutely very2 stupid… maybe there are people are born to be morons… aihh..thumbs up to be a very consistent morons all these years.. Morons!

• techboy_88 on Jan 11, 2010 at 3:31 pm

I like the first and second pic (the yellow "sports car").

• Prismo on Jan 11, 2010 at 3:51 pm

Kevin Lee said,

January 10, 2010 @ 4:32 pm

that gold car looks like a toyota celica with honda accord lamps and inverse perdana tail lamps! lol

—————————————————————

Honda accord lamp?? hm…..

kimi_ said,

January 10, 2010 @ 6:05 pm

What a loads of CRAP…..

They can design something useful instead of this WEIRD, STUPID things (not qualify be car) which cant be use in REAL LIFE !!!!!

—————————————————————

from the article,

"thanks to the participants of Proton’s Invention and Innovation competition, an in-house inter-department contest where staff came up with “concept cars” using units that were destined for scrapping."

they were using a car that "DESTINED FOR SCRAPPING".. read properly la my fren..

• azrai on Jan 11, 2010 at 3:56 pm

Najib had asked us to be an innovative country now. I like this idea. It spurs innovation. But then, it should be more technical and education purpose then only we can see the result from this. From what I see from this it just a syok sendiri suka-suka project.

• SY0H (Member) on Jan 11, 2010 at 3:57 pm

Rather than competing on concept cars, they should have compete on "the best workable power window" for Proton cars. Thehehe.

These people have way so much time.

• basher = 3rd class m on Jan 11, 2010 at 4:10 pm

buat family day pun salah..

Buat pertandingan kereta berhias pun salah..

basher kat atas tu memang bodoh sombong, bangang, dayus!

kalau perodua yang anjurkan, mungkin family day mereka hanya tukar bumper dan bonnet sahaja untuk dipertandingkan.

For Blind Basher = take my word.. U are totally DAYUS BASHER..

• littleboy on Jan 11, 2010 at 4:13 pm

all the desgn were fugly…angan2 mat jenin!!!!!wakr up!!!

• Proud With PROTON on Jan 11, 2010 at 4:34 pm

If savvy comes with facelift like 3rd winner, i think it is ok… no need to reproduce Rear lamp, just use the "Merc lookalike" rear lamp..

then make the target for Women… sure they like it… can compete with Suzuki Swift…;)

if the facelift changes cost millions..just forget my idea =)

p/s: just ignore the jealous basher..

• putra_rider on Jan 11, 2010 at 5:14 pm

for all the basher…

can u organise your own family day?

or, can you even draft your own car design?

lets open our mind..even the design not really pretty (some is really imprezzive-mpv) at least they can take out their own imagination into reality..

later on, all will be better..cheers proton..

• cardreamer on Jan 11, 2010 at 5:17 pm

Come on guys…it is just a family day…and the good thing is we don't really know the skin and flesh of the whole event and we start condemning them. Be fair and healthy minded people. When some of us have to create sand castles or running in gunny sacks for our family days, they have their very own way of celebrating their family day too…we need happy and healthy minded working people to come out with brilliant ideas…and almost all brilliant ideas we have today originated from a whole lot of 'stupid' ideas too…perhaps by spending a merely RM2000 per team, this project had the involvement of so many staff in a project and that is good investment in terms of human capital development…be in mind some of you may have spend a lot just to attend a seminar for only a person!

As usual, we Malaysian will praise all the things that foreigner have for how 'stupid' it may look, but look down to ourselves…Pity Malaysians!! soo sad!

• Just leave the TROLLS be. They're posting just to bash Proton and mostly Malaysian products. Lol maybe they not even read the article first. Just ignore them. Macam pepatah lama, "Seperti Anjing Menyalak Bukit". But I do think Proton spend too much on their family day even though its their 25th anniversary. They should trim it a bit and give their employees a bonus instead, especially for those line workers. BTW, I saw the white mid-engine Saga last Friday. Looks awesome. Well, if Proton changed the event to Pertandingan Kereta Berhias, maybe it suits them better.

• Ha Gnih on Jan 11, 2010 at 5:35 pm

I hope they would consider producing the yellow exora-like coupe. Looks STUNNING !!

• ford_ton on Jan 11, 2010 at 5:35 pm

Do you know a bunch of engineers spent their free time toying around with a car and thus the original Golf GTI was born from bits from Golf LS. This is the sort of 'out from the box thinking' that DSZ is encouraging. At least a good start from Proton alas a crude effort here. Just giving the staffs some time to wander off the line they are supposed to tread to.

• lchan on Jan 11, 2010 at 5:36 pm

local design creativity = FAIL.

• molala on Jan 11, 2010 at 5:46 pm

OMG!.. its ridiculous….

• waklanproton on Jan 11, 2010 at 5:54 pm

Malu said,

January 11, 2010 @ 1:09 am

I so malu to be MALAYSIAN!

…………………………………………………………………………………………………..

go to JPN now…declare nak jadi warga ape..malaysia pun tak rugi punya rakyat macam awak!

malu ada rakyat mcm awak..

• Boink on Jan 11, 2010 at 5:56 pm

interesting, nw i've seen a freak show; thanks.

• naatorres on Jan 11, 2010 at 6:12 pm

To all proton basher……………go to hell !!! You only know about a car but you dont know what is car??? If Proton all not good!!! but if Perodua all good……….

They only know how to re-badged and selling a car with huge amount of profits.

F%#@ Family Day also you want to complaint this family day not rakyat money all is Proton money……..

• Hameed Koyakuti on Jan 11, 2010 at 6:19 pm

Judging from this:

1- Waste of Money and only benefitted the few.

2- As mentioned zillion times, P1 BOD, MGMT, EES are not creative and innovative. They are just kampung minded people who think by working with Lotus, will leap their status automatically.

3- If the related authority is reading this, with this kind of attitude, it is about time to shut down or sell P1. If u look at the clips, u dont see any future in them.

No Hope. No Future. Bungkus Jgn Tak Bungkus.

• Adrian on Jan 11, 2010 at 6:20 pm

some of the above comments are really rude. hope this article can be removed of deleted. no need to be here since it was about Proton's staff and not their products. i believe that most of proton's staff do not want this article which is about their family day be in this blog.

• wow… i really love the savvy+saga… looks way better than smart for 2.

• i bet the bashers here dont even know how to built a kite…..

if you want just the looks, just built a clay model, but then… it wont move anywhere far!

Skills can be learned from such activities…and not everything can be translated to purely aesthetic values!

• initial R on Jan 11, 2010 at 6:22 pm

Common guy's…. it Family Day ok… For Proton Family…. Just for fun… no animal been abuse in this family day (except those have animal brain, i'm sorry for that). Tak salah kalau diaorang nak ketengahkan idea para pekerja proton yang bertungkus lumus bekerja selama nie. RM2k budget tu kira kecik le sebab 80% datang dari "scrap bin" Proton…. As designer (i have study & get degree) i think for non-exc workers working together with fresh designer…. it fun to see this what came out of they mind… even so they children also will have more respect to they father or mother that work in proton… Even how's know maybe in future they son can work as designer in other car company with this early stage expose…. Maybe for you guy's it waste but for those employee diaorang rasa lebih berbangga & lega sekurangnya apa yang diaorang fikirkan dah bergerak atas jalan…. sekurangnya apa yang pekerja nak buat atas kereta impian diaorang jadi gak kenyataan… bukan hanya bashing tanpa ada idea membina, yang ada nak meruntuhkan aje…. tak heran le ada manusia cam Raja Petra tu…. Kat luar negara joli & enjoy…. Dalam blog berani cakap, nak facing face 2 face penakut….. tak ada idea membina langsung, meruntuhkan moral lagi ada le…

• Annoy-nimal on Jan 11, 2010 at 6:23 pm

Cool family day!

For those who complain too much, get your workplace to design cars on your family day… cannot stand seeing people having a good time? or is it because your job sucks?

p/s: the vehicles are ugly, but it sure looks like good fun making them!

• CatmaN on Jan 11, 2010 at 6:25 pm

Bashers kat thread nih…suma belagak pandai, mcm tu suma benda. Tp sebenarnya BODOH. Bash x guna otak. Tau hentam je. Baca bebtol la apa yg Danny tulis dlm posting dia tuh.

• U know what …………We proud to be Malaysian. Even, we know that all the bashers were there. Having fun with their family on their family day . Salutes to all proton employee………maybe some other day proton need to produce more and more……HIDUP Malaysia. Aku sokong naatorres. F@#k off all the BASHERS………………Busuk ati ………I think that rm 2000 is not enough For the concept car that u all made it …….syabas WEI…………

• proton cool…….. antiproton go to hell………….

• alldisc on Jan 11, 2010 at 6:27 pm

even though its just for fun with a limited budget but apparently, P1 staff is just as 'syok sendiri' as their designers/engineers. lack of passion. or ideas.

pathetic.

they should take the chance to show their creativity – who knows that may inspire the designers team to come up with a similar designed production car.

ah! WTH!!

• sam2288 on Jan 11, 2010 at 6:28 pm

nice… but some too over… 6 tyres, 4 fog lamps…

• phail on Jan 11, 2010 at 6:32 pm

proton phails… pls remove protection… then i will respect them…if they compete fair n square…

• Kwang on Jan 11, 2010 at 6:52 pm

The mid engined Saga is good. It can be developed further just like the Subaru R1 and R2

• all the designs look pathetic…

• Anti Orang Koya on Jan 11, 2010 at 6:57 pm

Hameed Koyakuti said,

January 11, 2010 @ 10:19 am

Judging from this:

2- As mentioned zillion times, P1 BOD, MGMT, EES are not creative and innovative. They are just kampung minded people who think by working with Lotus, will leap their status automatically.

3- If the related authority is reading this, with this kind of attitude, it is about time to shut down or sell P1. If u look at the clips, u dont see any future in them.

——-

MUNG MEMEY SELAMANYA KOYA… KOYA..

KOYA BIJOK TAPI BODO PO KERO..

• BRAZBUZ on Jan 11, 2010 at 7:03 pm

bodo la bashers nie.ni bukan concept car or prototype. this is for fun… i'm sure all the bashers never attend the family day. all of them actually really tension with their works and bashing to entertain themself since their compny never organise family day. only someone with technical background will appreciate on this, this is what we call creative. and creativity is unlimited…

• Panas on Jan 11, 2010 at 7:08 pm

Hameed Koyakuti said,

January 11, 2010 @ 10:19 am

Judging from this:

——-

MUNG MEMEY SELAMANYA KOYA… KOYA..

KOYA BIJOK TAPI BODO PO KERO..

———–

BAKAR je kereta dia bro..hahaha.. detect IP dia.. then ask your GENG.. bakarrr.. bagi pengajaran skit kat si buta ni..

• chronozome on Jan 11, 2010 at 7:10 pm

That proves that a lot of proton employees are Ah Bengs themselves.

• automotive designer on Jan 11, 2010 at 7:12 pm

i seriously support ur oppinion "the bastard" and "mufasa". and the yellow car looks awesome.

• proton basher=x paka on Jan 11, 2010 at 7:13 pm

ni la masalah klo bute huruf x reti membaca[bodoh]. danny dah ckap ini bukan prototype or concept car.this is how to express their creativity into reality and only for fun in more educated way rather than invite artist and got nothing. maybe they can get some idea from this event to crete the new car…

• my name is on Jan 11, 2010 at 7:15 pm

phail said,

January 11, 2010 @ 10:32 am

proton phails… pls remove protection… then i will respect them…if they compete fair n square…

Where in the world, a country with a car company play fair and square?

Sugar price is lifted to play fair and square… dont you happy about it?

• your_a_dumbass_bashe on Jan 11, 2010 at 7:16 pm

Hey bashers, since you're a dumbass see if you can understand this sentence:

IT'S A FAMILY DAY

Get it? Oh wait you're a dumbass of course you don't understand!

• OMG the shoe car is so cute. Awww. Make a smaller version for kids or something.

• OKIDO on Jan 11, 2010 at 7:32 pm

Proton Yunkyard War? what a jerk….

• Rm2k x say 20teams=40k? For fun…??!?!?!

I rather they either hav fun on something else or spend 40k for real in concept cars..m i a basher? Yes i am, i'm not a basher of craps car,i'm bashing wastage of money.. Bcoz i was told these money were used to have 'fun'.any contribution to future development of proton product line?i dono..but for sure more than half above are not even close for proton to prototype it, touch ur heart n judge urself..so what's the point of doing so? For fun? Then i would say out of fun, no contribution at all..it's just fun and waste of money. Is having fun n wasting money a dosa/ a sin?btw,it's a question.

• Tiadaid on Jan 11, 2010 at 7:43 pm

phail said,

January 11, 2010 @ 10:32 am

————

Fair? Nobody compete fairly. Americans don't compete fairly, Japs don't compete fairly, Europeans don't compete fairly. Their version of fair & square competition is "competition that profits me, but not the other party"

• cbkdeen on Jan 11, 2010 at 7:43 pm

I cant believe reading all this nonsense

its A FAMILY DAY !!! A day where employee got to enjoy themselves. Those who have a job should understand this simple concept. No need for some of the silly comments

Suggestion to Paul, just remove this article. If it is my company, I also hate being commented & bashed for our internal family days. Some malaysian yet to grow up.

• kanasai on Jan 11, 2010 at 7:44 pm

no harm for having such event since proton afford for the cost. no doubt some of the design looks practical. perhaps proton can consider it in the upcoming models. more offer means more benefits for our people.

one suggestion… proton can consider to have a open contest forpublic to design new car. but just the outlook only, not the engine :)

• If ford is doing family fun rm2k design i say good idea(but i bet thet will not, coz they dont have government to pay these money). Using 'our' money doing so, n keep saying no more subsidy for sugar n others,i wonder those who support this activity knew how to calculate? If it's a concept car, it definitely pay off to gain respect n recognition or wateva. This is merely wasting money for no purpose fun. Dosa bro,real Dosa using other ppl money to hav fun..

• cbkdeen said,

January 11, 2010 @ 11:43 am

I cant believe reading all this nonsense

its A FAMILY DAY !!! A day where employee got to enjoy themselves. Those who have a job should understand this simple concept. No need for some of the silly comments

Suggestion to Paul, just remove this article. If it is my company, I also hate being commented & bashed for our internal family days. Some malaysian yet to grow up.

—————————————-

whose money is that u're using to have 'fun' family day????

• Will anyone go for a 'Mid-engined Saga'? I may go for it if the price is reasonable. : )

• nighttrain on Jan 11, 2010 at 7:55 pm

Hoi.. aku pun basher hadhari(ada had ada hari) jugak. These people are having their family day (what's Paul doing there?). Yall sakit hati ni apahal? Organize sendiri punya company family day la bodo. Budak sekolah kot yang sibuk bash ni.. bodo, tadak skolah punya orang.

• commenter on Jan 11, 2010 at 7:57 pm

Please do be too emotional.

First, family day is great and fun; i think most of you agree with me.

2, Proton’s Invention and Innovation competition is a good idea, also agree?

Third, I don't think all of you will agree and love all the competition designs, so this is kind of personal opinion. Since you only like some of the design, then let others also comment the worse, so that room of improvement is there, dont get too emotional. I personally feel some of the designers are really talent in toy car making instead of real one. Just have a thought, how many people would like to buy the shoe design car? get a statistic and let me know.

4, waste of time and money, yes and no, but it is a good motive and motivation from the organizer; but someone commented used proton $$ only; doesn't proton $$ means government $$; and government $$ means rakyat $$. Sorry if you are not agree with me; my bad

5. …

• Panas on Jan 11, 2010 at 7:59 pm

Nic said,

January 11, 2010 @ 11:34 am

Rm2k x say 20teams=40k? For fun…??!?!?!

I rather they either hav fun on something else or spend 40k for real in concept cars..m i a basher? Yes i am, i’m not a basher of craps car,i’m bashing wastage of money.. Bcoz i was told these money were used to have ‘fun’.any contribution to future development of proton product line?i dono..but for sure more than half above are not even close for proton to prototype it, touch ur heart n judge urself..so what’s the point of doing so? For fun? Then i would say out of fun, no contribution at all..it’s just fun and waste of money. Is having fun n wasting money a dosa/ a sin?btw,it’s a question.

——–

chittt..ptuihhh.. cakap pasal dosa@sin konon..main tuduh/fitnah ni bukan dosa ker bahlol?

• commenter on Jan 11, 2010 at 7:59 pm

Correction!!!!

Please dont get to emotional…. have a great day…

• mr.eims @ healthawar on Jan 11, 2010 at 8:01 pm

Proton should take the winners idea seriously..

I realy love the business mpv & the mid engine saga…. demm i thought it was a savvy :p

• i understand that these cars are made off scrapped materials (or even cars), but i wonder from which proton model did the Winning team used for the Super carrier business concept vehicle (wow…thats a mouthful)…

• Hameed Koyakuti on Jan 11, 2010 at 8:05 pm

The problem is…..even though when is not on P1 Family Day, they still suck in producing cars…..

so when is P1 not suck in making cars??? Non basher pls answer since i'm waiting the right one to come…..( pls remove any nationality/protectionism sentiment etc.)

From the sacking of TM until now, P1 sales is still in slump, export volume declining, quality deteriorating ( i can list down hundreds of complaints)….mana IMPROVEMENTNYA????? U think all the bashers stupid or wat??? Read at my earlier post, how many kasut kuda can u observed???

Pls refer to case of Namewee bashing TNB…..Yes, its rude, but the TNB guys had no clue of the situation and how to act on it….same goes here…

I really gonna launch a campaign to force G to sell off P1. Such a burden to the economy.

• Fuego66 on Jan 11, 2010 at 8:10 pm

Aiyoo bashers, read and understand the article first larrr b4 giving any comments, don't just look at the photos and ASSUME (Ass-U-Me) that those are products from Proton Engineers!! U bashers, GET A LIFE!!

• mynuszero on Jan 11, 2010 at 8:19 pm

come on la….its family day fun contest with every team given 2K budget and scrap to play with short amount of time….all these "new kids on the block" and their passion for japaness cars….forever like to bash everything malaysian/korean/continental but honda and toyota…..put a honda/toyota badge on a BMX and they will say "awesome' or "cool"…..flipping idiots with pea brains.

• the yellow frankly said. the rear look are not bad…

but the front.. is accord front light and ugly bumper.

the rest wat the fuk is that???

proton JUNK YARD fun ceremony or wat?

dont go public or else… is make fun by others.

creative? hmmmm not even close for me.

like those kids playin with they drawing at home.

• I haven't own a Proton yet.. but I'm very proud of your achievements Proton! Don't listen to the naysayers… It is very easy to complain, ridicule, bad mouth people's efforts. Some of them think they can do better.. haha dream on.. the whiners are normally non-achievers!

Some of the fun cars are actually very nice looking! I like the 3rd & 2nd place cars better than the winner! Maybe Proton shd set up a special division that can cater for people who wish to buy a niche cute / modified Proton cars.. No need to find new staff.. just pinch the staff from the factory when there is a demand… Just an idea..

• Double-77 on Jan 11, 2010 at 8:25 pm

To all BUSHER@…..kimi,panas,alldisc@etcc….

da sah melayukan….asyik nk kutuk org je…diri sendiri mcm tu gk..xberubah..commonla MALAYSIA…try to be supportivela…jgn nk merBODOHkan diri walhal diri tu da mmg BODOH…pleasela…

WTF all the BUSHERS.!!!!!!

• zaff1984 on Jan 11, 2010 at 8:26 pm

i think its funny… don't be too harsh. I just a family day. Duhhh….

• parek on Jan 11, 2010 at 8:26 pm

to Nic,

Ko jeles sebab co ko tak penah wat family day.

RM 40k tu kira sikit la untuk co. besar buat family day.

• Kamyongkai on Jan 11, 2010 at 8:34 pm

Remember people, not all proton bashers are idiots. There are some of us who understand exactly what this is and we do know it is a good step; at least towards encouraging creativity. As a person who often bashes proton, I'm gonna say that this Family Day event was a good move. At least it shows that Malaysians still have creativity in them.

• Nice family outings.

Interesting so-called "concepts cars"

But all looks like shit. Sorry to say.

• commenter on Jan 11, 2010 at 8:38 pm

that's why branding is important and the overall output from design up to after sales service must be significant to support the brand. Otherwise, how Toyota can beat others with Top sales in this world.

I dont think ppl will offense on this P1 family day. But 2k for a team, how many team are there? 10 teams? means 20K and has not plus the prizes and other unknown cost. A seriously huge tent plus others expenses, overall how much does the fun cost?

I can understand that bashers are more emphasis on the design and the wastage but they never complaint about the family day and I dont know how those pea brains read the comment…

This is sad and I am out of here for today..

• Eyesore on Jan 11, 2010 at 8:45 pm

Hameed… proton sales slumping since the sacking of TM??? You really need to check you facts a#$ h*&e… If you do care to check about the fact I believe you'll find about proton recapture 30% of the market share… which was improvement from TM era…

Now… Be my guest list the 100 problems you claim you can list down… I'll answer them one by one…. ouh ya… don't bother bringing on the 90's problem cuz you'll just make urself look dumb like SY0H and his evergreen power window problem…

start listing now….

• Prismo on Jan 11, 2010 at 8:47 pm

bashers ni tergolong dalam kumpulan NATO.. No Action Talk Only…