BMW offers ‘Edition’ models for CNY 2010

BMW E90 LCI

BMW is offering a total of 7 limited edition models for the upcoming Chinese New Year Celebrations. Four are from the 3-Series range and three are from the 5-Series range. You can check them out this weekend at the CNY@BMW dealership event at all BMW dealerships. I’ll be going to the one closest to my home – Auto Bavaria Sg Besi, to snap some live photos.

The E90 range consists of the BMW 320i Lifestyle Edition, the BMW 320i Performance Edition, the BMW 320d Performance Edition and the BMW 325i Performance Edition. Each Performance Edition variant of limited to 48 units each. I don’t really have much info on the Lifestyle Edition at this point.

You basically get BMW Performance accent strips and a black front grille for a sportier look. On the inside, you get BMW Performance gear levers which are wrapped with Alcantara and Walkanappa leather with a chrome strip on top, and a BMW Performance handbrake grip in Alcantara leather. Finally, there’s a set of aluminium pedals and footrest.

BMW 320i Performance Edition – RM 250,800
BMW 320d Performance Edition – RM 257,800
BMW 325i Performance Edition – RM 311,800

The ‘basic’ 320i goes for RM236,800 while the ‘basic’ 320i Sports goes for RM248,800, so that’s about a RM2,000 premium for the 320i ‘Performance Edition’ over the regular Sports. A regular 320d Sports goes for RM255,800 and a regular 325i Sports goes for RM309,800. Both represent a RM2,000 premium.

BMW offers ‘Edition’ models for CNY 2010

The E60 5-Series will be available as either a 523i Executive Edition, a 523i Exclusive Edition, or a 525i Sports Edition. The 523i Executive Edition features the Neptune Blue metallic paintwork and 17 inch 278 double-spoe alloy wheels. On the interior you get Poplar Grain Brown wood trim and Natural Brown “Dakota’ leather upholstery.

The 523i Exclusive Edition is done up in a Platinum Bronze paintwork with Chrome-plated trimming around its side windows and windscreen washer jets. This car comes with 17 inch style 277 V-spoke alloys. On the inside, you get Anthracite Variegated Bamboo trim with side sill strips with the ‘Edition’ lettering. You also get a glass roof with anthracite rooflining and a sports leather steering wheel.

The most expensive ‘limited edition’ car here is of course the 525i Sports Edition. This is available either in Carbon Black metallic or Alpine White with the M aerodynamics package. You also get the BMW M Sports Suspension with 19-inch alloy wheels in 172 M double spoke design. On the inside, you get sports seats done in a bi-colour Black/ Grey “Dakota” leather combination, Aluminium Pentane interior trim, rooflining done in anthracite, and the same ‘Edition’ side sill strips.

BMW 523i Executive Edition – RM 343,800                                                                       
BMW 523i Exclusive Edition – RM 383,800
BMW 525i Sports Edition – RM 415,800

The normal 523i goes for RM343,800 – the same price as the 523i Executive while the 523i SE goes for RM383,800, the same price as the 523i Exclusive. The 525i Sports also normally goes for RM415,800, so basically with the E60 there is no premium for these ‘Edition’ models over the regular cars.

These are probably the last few batches of the E60 before the new F10 hits our streets. If you’re in the market for a new car you may wanna check out the event this weekend – 23rd and 24th January, except for Auto Bavaria Kuantan which will be having theirs on the 22nd-23rd instead. All the ‘mods’ seem pretty much aesthetic for both the E90 and E60.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=784]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Alpha on Jan 22, 2010 at 2:55 am

somehow the packages are uninteresting to me.

• toffeeman on Jan 22, 2010 at 3:23 am

Somehow I agree that its unattractive becos F10 is round the corner. hence, price should be more attractive

• Tiadaid on Jan 22, 2010 at 3:41 am

Why do they call it the "Performance" edition when the addition to the car does absolutely NOTHING to the car's performance? Damn marketers.

• farghmee on Jan 22, 2010 at 3:58 am

hm…so many special sedition…opss…special edition..

haha

• kantoiz on Jan 22, 2010 at 4:14 am

boring…

• hmm… Clearing all thoe 5 series?

• squawk on Jan 22, 2010 at 4:26 am

WTF? Will they also have Deepavali, Aidilfitri and X'mas editions too? What about Wesak Day edition?

• any additional item under the hood for 320d to entitled it to become the performance edition.

• Andrew on Jan 22, 2010 at 6:10 am

$92k for a 325i – no kidding. I knew cars were more expensive in MY – I didn't realize it's THAT expensive.

• just me on Jan 22, 2010 at 6:13 am

does the

• A4 2.0T Quattro over 325i anytime, for less.

• just me on Jan 22, 2010 at 6:18 am

does the last two number indicate the engine cc?

example:

BMW 320i -2.0L

BMW 320d -2.0L

BMW 325i -2.5L

BMW 523i -2.3L

BMW 525i -2.5L

• Mazda 3 MPS on Jan 22, 2010 at 6:41 am

Andrew said,

January 21, 2010 @ 10:10 pm

$92k for a 325i – no kidding. I knew cars were more expensive in MY – I didn’t realize it’s THAT expensive.

———————————-

well now you know. and if u plan on staying here. please forget it. it's a horrible place.

• Stock clearance sale.

Then again, these are very good cars to begin with.

No first day production quality issues except in a few months they will become old models.

A little bit sporty outlook with quality body kit. At least, don't have to re-spray the whole body.

• i wan it in red…

• Abraham Tawi on Jan 22, 2010 at 7:51 am

just me said,

January 21, 2010 @ 10:18 pm

does the last two number indicate the engine cc?

example:

BMW 320i -2.0L

BMW 320d -2.0L

BMW 325i -2.5L

BMW 523i -2.3L

BMW 525i -2.5L

For the 3 Series Sedan,

320i : 1995cc/Inline 4

320d : 1995cc/Inline 4

325i : 2497cc/Inline 6

(however in Europe and US, there is 3.0L Inline 6 holding the 325i badge)

For the 5 Series Sedan,

523i : 2497cc/Inline 6

525i : 2497cc/Inline 6

The 523i and 525i share the same engine but are in different stages of tune

• senzu on Jan 22, 2010 at 7:59 am

Seems like BMW copy P2 marketing style lol…

• nobody here really bash bmw for "edition thingy" and i know 1 maker will be bash if "edition thingy" or facelift came out

• silver66 (Member) on Jan 22, 2010 at 8:36 am

Not as gross as Volvo having "Merdeka Editions" for their 940 sedans in the '90s

• now 3 series look like 5 series, while 5 series more like 7 series.. they're upgrading all models huh..

• mystvearn on Jan 22, 2010 at 10:09 am

nobody bash because bmw rarely does it. And even if they do it, its not 10 times or more on the same model.

• Dhion Malaysia Datin on Jan 22, 2010 at 11:40 am

BMW is a great car brand, it uses most of "the have" people. It's comfortable to ride and has pride for those who ride it. :)

• fadman1 on Jan 22, 2010 at 11:48 am

To Mazda 3 MPS,

before you say Malaysia is a horrible place to live, may I suggest you visit India or Bangladesh or even Jakarta first before start commenting negatively about Malaysia. Malaysia/KL compared to these countries are like heaven to hell, understand!

• hidup 1malaysia!! on Jan 22, 2010 at 12:24 pm

where's the 1malaysia special edition??

• The Royal Academy of on Jan 22, 2010 at 3:57 pm

zman said,

January 22, 2010 @ 12:25 am

nobody here really bash bmw for “edition thingy” and i know 1 maker will be bash if “edition thingy” or facelift came out

————————-

you are right. and that small manufacturer deserves to be bashed.

• redxdevil on Jan 22, 2010 at 4:26 pm

sure will sell. its bmw

• Better wait for the new 5 series model..if they want to clear stock should give more discounts..

• just me on Jan 22, 2010 at 5:36 pm

thanks, Abraham Tawi..

• K Tan on Jan 22, 2010 at 6:51 pm

Oh, please grow up Mazda 3 MPS. Just because cars here are relatively expensive doesn't make Malaysia a horrible place to stay. There are other things more important than cars right? What, your criteria for assessing the standard of living is based on car prices is it?

• eposuer on Jan 22, 2010 at 7:33 pm

don't worry..there will be Labour Day special edition soon…

• Oh Pls... on Jan 22, 2010 at 8:09 pm

A porshe 911 that is in the range of 60 thousand pounds is not a car that most people can afford to drive in the UK.pls lah.ckp mcm penah duduk UK.US lah.grow up n do the math yrself.kita x kena tax byk.kat thailand gaji dah la x mahal,tax mahal,tp keta ja murah.MALAYSIA is not a bad place to be.

Whatever-to all the stupid comments that will spawn from this statement.

• Oh Pls... on Jan 22, 2010 at 8:10 pm

Fadman – u r right

• Motorist on Jan 22, 2010 at 8:15 pm

Yawn… add some stripes & other useless cosmetic items and sell it off as "special edition".

Typical BodohLand car dealers.

And those stupid enough to fall into the trap, you're as gullible as you look. If you think this BMW will "Bring More Women" for you…. hahahaha. Best keep to w@nk to internet p0rn.

• Mazda 3 MPS on Jan 22, 2010 at 9:42 pm

fadman1 said,

January 22, 2010 @ 3:48 am

To Mazda 3 MPS,

before you say Malaysia is a horrible place to live, may I suggest you visit India or Bangladesh or even Jakarta first before start commenting negatively about Malaysia. Malaysia/KL compared to these countries are like heaven to hell, understand!

—————————————

hey, Jakarta is actually quite a good place.

• I want CNY "Ang Pow' edition.

I want CNY "Yee Sang" edition

I want CNY "TigerPower' edition

I want CNY "Choi Shan" edition

I want "Chap Goh Meh" edition

I want "Limau Mandarin" edition

etc…

if there are no more festivities to commemorate, BMW should try this edition:

The "Limited Normal Edition". See it if sell or not…heheheh

• Mazda 3 MPS on Jan 22, 2010 at 11:28 pm

Oh Pls… said,

January 22, 2010 @ 12:09 pm

A porshe 911 that is in the range of 60 thousand pounds is not a car that most people can afford to drive in the UK.pls lah.ckp mcm penah duduk UK.US lah.grow up n do the math yrself.kita x kena tax byk.kat thailand gaji dah la x mahal,tax mahal,tp keta ja murah.MALAYSIA is not a bad place to be.

Whatever-to all the stupid comments that will spawn from this statement.

——————————–

yaka. kita sini tax sampai babi pun tak ada wang beli. u x pena tinggal kat US dan UK tentulah. kalau ada pun tak cakep macam bodoh ini. MALAYSIA IS A BAD PLACE TO BE.

• fadman1 on Jan 23, 2010 at 12:36 am

mazda 3,

i read your comment and i have to assume you're one of the guy that never leaves his little office cubicle. just punch in,punch out.if you can say jakarta=good place. i pity u.

• Nakal on Jan 23, 2010 at 1:28 am

cant wait for 'June school holiday' edition…beli 2 percuma 1

• amirad on Jan 23, 2010 at 1:32 am

If everything and everybody is special, then what's so special about being special. Beats me. As long as it's good quality, then its fine with me. And it has to stir some emotions too.

• for the price I rather buy IS250…. quality, realiable, durable and great after sale service. Pay premium price for real premium car and service….nothing less.

And thanks to BMW pre-register scheme… Lexus holds better resale value…

• mitlanevo on Jan 23, 2010 at 3:18 am

stock clearance, lol~

should have 'Tiger' edition too, haha

• Mazda 3 MPS on Jan 23, 2010 at 6:32 am

fadman1 said,

January 22, 2010 @ 4:36 pm

mazda 3,

i read your comment and i have to assume you’re one of the guy that never leaves his little office cubicle. just punch in,punch out.if you can say jakarta=good place. i pity u.

——————————-

i pity u because u can not afford to step out of malaysia. maybe u should try take one of those illegal ferries to indo someday.

• fadman1 on Jan 23, 2010 at 7:11 am

Mazda 3,

I don't think you are a well travelled person. From your thinking as reflected by your comments, I think you're an introverted person.

• haywire on Jan 23, 2010 at 7:49 am

income tax in the UK is in the range of 23-40% of your income, depending on your tax bracket. how much do you pay in malaysia?

• wochomi on Jan 23, 2010 at 8:17 am

Let's bash the bavarian automaker for buttlifting.

Coz we cannot afford one of these overplastered beauties.

BMW's is getting more Ah Beng by the day. Welcome to the club.

• Mazda 3 MPS on Jan 23, 2010 at 10:35 pm

fadman1 said,

January 22, 2010 @ 11:11 pm

Mazda 3,

I don’t think you are a well travelled person. From your thinking as reflected by your comments, I think you’re an introverted person.

——————————————

of course im not well travelled. im well travelling.

• tokmoh on Jan 24, 2010 at 4:06 am

Mazda 3 MPS : Practice what you preach. If u hate Malaysia so much, give up being a Malaysian.

• transformer (Member) on Jan 24, 2010 at 6:40 am

guess if oneday, a BMW 320i sold at 170K, will Camry2.4 sold at that price?

If Camry2.4 sell at 120K then Altis must be 80K, Vios 50K then what about our jaguh-kampung(both) ?

this is why in bolehland non-national makes are sold so expensive compare to overseas… they(local) can't even breakeven their part price, then how to make profit …??? Increase all(non-national) car price, so their own products can sell at higher price, so they can make $$$, so as their part supplier… so they all can survive(on rakyat pain)

• The Royal Academy of on Jan 25, 2010 at 7:46 pm

Why BMW so expensive??cause BMW already so expensive tambah this government super tax….become very expensive

• hahahahah…funny these ppl here..

Earlier bashing about the cars, then bashing among ppl…

• 4Lvin on Jan 28, 2010 at 4:25 am

tokmoh said,

January 23, 2010 @ 8:06 pm

Mazda 3 MPS : Practice what you preach. If u hate Malaysia so much, give up being a Malaysian.

Lol…comments like this isnt helping the country to be a better place. The way you put it makes it sound a tad bit better than "kalau x suka, u keluar Msia"

Have some heart will ya.

• jason_mufc on Feb 01, 2010 at 1:28 am

Haiya leave that poor sod alone…. this MPS fella… I dunno where he's from or who is he but he has done this kinda crap in many other paultan threads…. can't really tell him what to do yeah…. haih it's his life and he won't take ur comments sitting down wan ler….

• jason_mufc on Feb 01, 2010 at 1:29 am

Before u know it, this thread will either be all about ppl disagreeing with him/her or about Proton… mark my words….

• Tay Mong Ern on Feb 23, 2023 at 9:30 am

i was wondering how much is this car in malaysia 2010 (535i GT)