Long wheelbase Volkswagen Tiguan for Chinese market

To fulfill the Chinese market’s need for ample rear legroom, Volkswagen has released the Tiguan in a long wheel base (LWB) format. From the standard car’s 2,604 mm, the LWB variant’s wheelbase grows by 80 mm, bringing overall length to 4.54 metres, 113 mm longer than the standard Tiguan.

The LWB Tiguan features the new VW corporate front-end along with new headlights, bumpers and grille, as shown at the Guangzhou Motor Show late last year. The European facelifted Tiguan is expected to be showcased at the Geneva Motor Show next year, and could wear a different appearance from this Chinese version.

Jacob Alexander

Jacob Mathew Alexander has been a motoring nut for as far as he can remember and has recently turned his passion into writing. After spending some time in the same industry in the UK, Jacob's work is from a slightly different perspective.

• exora on Jun 18, 2010 at 1:06 pm

all vw and audi car has long wheelbase version for china market. this is very odd. China man so tall?

• theanswer on Jun 18, 2010 at 5:10 pm

how about ppl like yao ming? never knew basketball is one of the famous sports in china?

• Black Dog on Jun 18, 2010 at 5:19 pm

aiyoh! all chinese good in basketball lah, just like all malays know sepak takraw! are you ‘kwei loh’?

• all chinese good in basketball, lol, you guys are jokers.

so, european and american are short, thats why their car not in LWB? lol

• Overall it still looks great!

• mitlanevo on Jun 18, 2010 at 1:23 pm

might as well design all cars become LWB, then no more complaints from ridiculous Chinese or jumbo-sized Americans……

• iLOVEkimchi on Jun 19, 2010 at 3:40 pm

the Dragon has wake up~ they are rich~ they deserve it….
      they want status…they wan big car.. unique car~

but we malaysia boleh we have proton!!
      yes proton my ass!

• Why the China men need the long-wheelbase so much? They aren’t tall also!

• theanswer on Jun 18, 2010 at 5:09 pm

after few years in NBA i thot Yao Ming is already a well known sportsman around the world. but yet still got ppl who doesnt know how tall yao ming is. and he’s not the only tall chinese basketball player..there are lots of tall player like him in china.

• Cars are not designed for basketballers. So stop saying that they got LWB because they got Yao Ming bla bla bla. Maybe Elvis is correct.

• IchimaruGin on Jun 19, 2010 at 1:15 pm

Chinese in mainland are not tallest around the world but definited the tallest in East Asia, the northern Chinese are taller than the southern counterpart, the southern Han Chinese are taller than Cantonese, Cantonese are taller than Vietnamese, Vietnamese are taller than other south east asians.

• IchimaruGin on Jun 19, 2010 at 4:31 pm

a point to correct, Cantonese is of Han indentity as well, but different from other southern Han

• SO, VW is made by vietnamese, so the car is smaller?

do you have common sense?

so, CHINAMAN is taller than European and american? have u been to US?

you watch hollywood movie dont you?

tall my asz,they all work in sweatshop and sweatfactory and they need to suicide 13 in a row to get a pay raise. come on.

• nonon on Jun 18, 2010 at 3:01 pm

i just booked 2 for me and my father……

• Elvis on Jun 18, 2010 at 3:04 pm

Looks like China getting all the best looking cars in global market. Wish i was rich and living in China.

• if you’re rich you can stay anywhere.

if you’re poor, stay away from china. you’ll die harder.

• Zahar Zain on Jun 18, 2010 at 3:49 pm

This is the version needed by the Malaysian market.

• Elvis on Jun 18, 2010 at 5:08 pm

Maybe China is so big that long journey become very tiring with tight legroom. Even their express bus comes with sleeping decks. Try travelling 20 hours on short wheel base cars, sakit oh…

• Black Dog on Jun 18, 2010 at 5:22 pm

Chinaman (from China) need to feel like ‘taikor’ even when they ride Mini! Remember the stretched saga? So malu!

• mufasa on Jun 19, 2010 at 6:49 pm

maybe those china company try to give a reason to get some technology exposure to their engineer ?