Is the BMW logo based on an aircraft propeller?

I bet you think that the BMW logo has something to do with the company’s history in aircrafts and that the logo represented an airplane’s propellers. It’s not! BMW produced this video to explain the origins of the BMW logo. Watch the video above to find out the actual origin of the BMW logo.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• squall_shinoda on Aug 29, 2010 at 5:51 am

BMW = Bas Mini Wilayah… ;p

• qozh moreno on Aug 29, 2010 at 5:58 am

1st… hehehe… all this while thought it base on d propeller…

• droll on Aug 29, 2010 at 6:49 am

ouuuuuuuuuuuuu i pun tot it was based on propeller.

• blitzboy on Aug 29, 2010 at 9:21 am

Indeed a very impressive video of a very successful brand!! BMW the ultimate driving machine. Old or new, if you car has this logo, you should be proud, it’s a BMW!

• Korean on Aug 29, 2010 at 10:37 am

BMW = Best Man Win.

• JonLing on Aug 29, 2010 at 12:50 pm

BMW’s design could be controversial to some people (me not included, i personally like their designs all along), but one thing I think no one can deny is, they have some very brilliant branding and marketing teams. And this is just another one of many, many proves to what I have said. No wonder BMW still enjoys such a high popularity throughout the whole world. they are one of the hardest working car manufacturers when it comes to branding and marketing.

I have been following BMW news for quite some time in this blog, and I can say BMW is the most “generous” car manufacturer when it comes to new car photos release. Who could have thought of releasing 100 or more high resolution photos (average) on every model (X5 LCI anyone?) ?? And along with many many videos featured here, including this rather out-of-expectation BMW brand explanation video. Don’t look down on those seems rather pointless acts. They are really parts of the very carefully-crafted marketing strategies by BMW teams.

And the fact that they are just a rather small (as compared with their competitors) independent car manufacturer, just make what they have done and achieved so far nothing short of brilliant and amazing! They deserved all the rewards that they are enjoying now!

• autojohndoe on Aug 29, 2010 at 1:41 pm

The blue white logo already been explained in wiki before… just the round shape is not mentioned…

it is based on the bayern flag….

• jonling is boring us with yada yada about bmw craps. . .

• if u feel boring with yada yada facts , then why you still reading his comment? the real boring guy is you !!!!! dude ! The true bmw fans will not feel boring with any of the bmw facts !!

• rossi46 on Aug 29, 2010 at 4:16 pm

yawn….zzzzz

• Leonardo on Aug 29, 2010 at 11:28 pm

Good historical information about a very famous brand. Still making good handling performace cars today.

• Sorchai on Aug 30, 2010 at 12:23 am

Origins of Proton logo??? Go check out “Thundercats”

• razoraz on Aug 30, 2010 at 11:17 am

BMW is the brand of all time. even if you wear any such model E30, there is class! Quality and durability of the E30 is more manly even turn a new generation model! Although I have switched to E90, but still love the old BMW model. It should be noted that in terms of maintenance that the longer the life of a BMW that the higher the cost. Is not important. The important thing is the ultimate brand.

• i used to work for BMW uk and when i was at a training course they told the people there that it was the airplane’s propellers if front if clouds

• i used to work for BMW uk and when i was at a training course they told the people there that it was the airplane’s propellers if front of cloud

• Kelvin on Aug 31, 2010 at 2:45 am

BMW = ???

• Jerry on Sep 09, 2010 at 12:54 am

BMW=be my wife