Wearnes VW opens new showroom in Bangsar

Vollkswagen Bangsar

Expanding its presence, Wearnes VW has opened its latest Volkswagen retail outlet, and this one is located in Bangsar, or more specifically at 49, Jalan Maarof.

The Volkswagen Bangsar branch follows the approach mould taken by the company’s original showroom along Jalan Ampang, where customers are able to leisurely browse the range of Volkswagen cars on display over a cup of freshly-brewed premium cappuccino, and undisturbed at that. The knowledgeable and friendly team of sales advisors will only offer their services when required, leaving you to go about your viewing in peace.

“With the rapid rise in interest of Volkswagen cars in the country and the expansion of its impressive model line-up, we have outgrown our capability to effectively serve customers in the manner they deserve. Our new outlet is significantly more visible and accessible to customers who want to browse for their next Volkswagen car comfortably,” said Jack Zaal, general manager of Wearnes Automotive.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Anti Proton on Oct 11, 2010 at 6:44 pm

lol good can go see see only

• dodgeviper88 on Oct 11, 2010 at 6:53 pm

hmm and a few hundred meters aways there’s another vw showroom. I’m abit confused here, are there multiple dealerships or all dealerships are exclusively VW? Doesn’t make sense having 2 VW showrooms so close to each other

• Paul Tan on Oct 11, 2010 at 7:04 pm

Which is the other VW showroom you’re referring to?

• gangully on Oct 11, 2010 at 7:36 pm

believe he is referring to the VW showroom on Lorong Maarof Paul.

that the VW Malaysia showroom. Same make, different distributor…

• Paul Tan on Oct 11, 2010 at 7:42 pm

That’s the principal (VGM)’s HQ.

• MechPebbles on Oct 11, 2010 at 9:22 pm

Actually, the showroom located on the groundfloor of the VW building used to belong to Wearnes. I bought my GTI there. I suppose they just moved to their new, more visible site.

• bobdbilder on Oct 11, 2010 at 11:21 pm

More iconic German logic for you. Instead of having more outlets all over the country, they upgrade existing (expats) area. This goes the 60:40 rule. 60% of your business comes from 40% of your customer. I do think they are taking this Austerity Measures a bit too much though.

• You hav the full menu scanned? Only premium cappuccino in the menu? how bout english lipton tea? any kari pop? can bring my studio model there shoot up?

• Sarikei on Oct 11, 2010 at 7:33 pm

Cool, near my house. Too bad I only go for Merc :(

• to clean up their toilet? thats too bad for you =P

• KO k. on Oct 11, 2010 at 11:13 pm

Yeah right, why VW when you can have Lexus and Merc.

• datukmaraof on Oct 12, 2010 at 10:02 am

You are absolutely right.

• Deuter_backpack on Oct 12, 2010 at 2:19 pm

VW is the most affordable german marque in Malaysia, with driving pleasure equally good as Beemer, merc and other top notch brands. you only pay half the price of these top notch brands. my next car will be a VW car.

• campro on Oct 11, 2010 at 11:43 pm

i advice go for BMW 5 series…BMW is the world top no.1 luxury car maker…Mercedes is behind Bmw… BMW car safety score high mark than Mercedes even though both score 5 star in euro ncap…BMW car is above 90% mark…mercedes only between 80%-88%…Bmw car better build than mercedes…

• Alpha on Oct 12, 2010 at 12:39 am

Then,I’d advice u to go for Proton cars~Malaysia Boleh!!

• campro on Oct 12, 2010 at 6:17 am

Malaysia Boleh slogan outdated….now we as malaysia proud shout 1Malaysia…i will take Perodua coz i’m p2 supporter…P2 is alway top & stay ahead of Proton in local market…for Proton i thumb down !!! anyway i dislike p1 after all…perodua i thumb up….for BMW my both hand give u high 5 & claping

• BMW-More Problem on Oct 12, 2010 at 2:57 pm

you forgot one more point BMW less reliable than merc…

JOY is stranded on the highway….

• yourfatherinlaw on Oct 12, 2010 at 8:38 pm

Your statement is not accurate, I see more Merc stranded in the highway than BMW. May be in Malaysia we have a lot of old Merc driven by Ah Pak.

• campro on Oct 14, 2010 at 3:04 am

agree…i never see any bmw broke down at road side….Mercedes i hv come a cross too many times especially the big small eye E-class….Bmw more fuel efficient & feel more power

• alldisc on Oct 11, 2010 at 7:33 pm

owh, the one near dataran maybank, bangsar is actually Volkswagen Malaysia HQ. They dont sell cars there. they are the distributor company, owned by Volkswagen AG.

• armandd on Oct 11, 2010 at 7:53 pm

VW marketing is very aggressive nowadays, their polo advertisement is everywhere..

• pultat on Oct 11, 2010 at 8:05 pm

That used to be Audi’s Ideal Wheels showroom.

• Deuter_backpack on Oct 12, 2010 at 2:23 pm

ya, by the way, where is Ideal wheels now? The showroom is very strategic as opposite lane of the road along the showroom can easily form a line of “audience” when the traffic light in front of it turns red.

• who cares

• looking good.. veedub rocks! can we request for a test drive there?

• omaha on Oct 11, 2010 at 8:58 pm

Honestly, it looks cool! Simple, classic, and good ambience

• funny the new vw on jalan ipoh doesnt get any publicity

• Deuter_backpack on Oct 12, 2010 at 2:31 pm

Jln Maarof is more powerful in term of publicity. the piece of land where current VW is located, easily cost more than RM 4 Million. The sale of land next to it (currently Wardrobe) was closed at RM 3.8 million. some company setup showroom there merely wants to have better branding. “Please visit our showroom at Jln maarof bangsar” sounds better, or “please visit our showroom at Jln kuchai lama sounds better”?

• vw kuantan coming soon

• gimmeone on Oct 11, 2010 at 11:29 pm

oh yes test drive, book cars etc at 49 jln maarof……. the sirocco rocks………..coming soon….and no i m not part of VW sales team

• campro on Oct 12, 2010 at 1:09 am

i feel golf GTI better than sirocco…VW popular is the golf GTI version…Sirocco cannot tahan look…sometime i feel pretty sometime i feel ugly…GTI better after all in my opinion…

• Muddy on Oct 12, 2010 at 8:22 am

Went to that particular showroom yesterday.
        Tested the Rocco 1.4. ( wonder how they made it so powerful and fun at that cc).
        Confirmed booking.
        End of story.

• zaff1984 on Oct 12, 2010 at 9:35 am

agree with campro… but it just a personal preference. Scirocco also more expensive, I dont want to say GTi is better, but is value to buy compared to scirocco.

I saw one Scirocco with Caractere Bodykits white color… damn nice… look like link below:-

Side Profile pix:-
        http://media2.blackfalconmedia.com/2009/3/medium/vw-scirocco-by-caractere_9.jpg
        Rear Profile pix:-
        http://media2.blackfalconmedia.com/2009/3/medium/vw-scirocco-by-caractere_4.jpg

I like the tailpipe so much….

• MechPebbles on Oct 14, 2010 at 9:40 pm

In Europe, the Scirocco is cheaper than the Golf GTI. That initially made me want to buy the Scirocco. But in Malaysia, the Scirocco is RM44,000 more expensive. I asked Wearnes why this was so. They said that the Malaysian tax people saw a 2-door car and immediately branded it a sportscar, increasing its tax enormously.

To make a long story short, that’s the reason why I’m now driving a GTI and not a Scirocco. Don’t be stupid, people – coz buying a cheaper car for so much more just because of some pretentious looks is just plain stupid.

• Mata2 on Oct 12, 2010 at 8:42 am

Auto Bavaria has just moved to a new glass house 3S next to their old building in JB. VW located at a stone throw away with a tiny shop lot that can house for 2 cars at any time. Where is the golf tsi for JB fan?

• “Are you Polo enough?” sounds gay…….its more like are you really that desperate for a Polo

• Yussardi on Oct 12, 2010 at 11:09 am

Passat CC is superb but the rear seat is only,2 seater , can it be convert to a normal seat from 2 to 3 seater..can it be done…some one pls response

• dodgeviper88 on Oct 12, 2010 at 12:41 pm

it’s available as an add-on option. If not mistaken you pay a few hundred bucks to have some cushion in place of that hard plastic. easier to just buy a cheap cushion from IKEA and put over it. lol

• Rassan on Oct 12, 2010 at 1:48 pm

Can bro, pls check previous paultan review…

http://paultan.org/2010/01/22/vw-passat-cc-now-available-as-a-5-seater/

• artworkz on Oct 12, 2010 at 12:50 pm

i have notice SG polo tsi version is different to malaysia version. sg come with fr fog lamp, 301 audio with 6 speaker, 215/45/16 rubber and tyre pressure monitor(juz like mini/bmw).

• Hi Paul, I just visited VW showroom near Glenmarie. But seem that the accessories different from what display @ VW malaysia website. For example. Only 4 air bags instead of 6 air bags. No front fog lamp. Manual air cond instead of semi auto mentioned. No arm rest. No Heat-insulating green tinted glass. Price remain the same.

• Jane Ng on Oct 17, 2010 at 4:45 pm

hi, i saw from other website saying that 2011 new Passat modal will launch, will this come in to replace Passat CC or not. can somebody advice me on this?

• Is there a Perodua showroom in Kuchai Lama or Kuchai Entrepreneurs Park?

• alamak ! on Apr 06, 2011 at 12:06 am

VW @ BANGSAR WEARNES….VERY SNOBBISH !! DON;T BUY FROM THEM, they make you feel you own them a favor for ‘serving’ you !!