Nissan teases new Tiida/Versa – new Latio for us?

tiida sketch

Nissan has released a sketch of its new global sedan, likely to be the new Tiida/Versa. No other details as yet, but the car is set to be unveiled at the 8th China (Guangzhou) International Automobile Exhibition in December.

Currently, the Tiida is available in both four-door hatch and sedan form in Japan, the latter being called the Tiida Latio, and locally as the Latio in both guises.

The interesting question is of course when the new B-platform vehicle will make its way here to replace the current one.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• it looks nice.

• paultan fan on Oct 13, 2010 at 9:00 am

maybe have to wait at least a decade after the local distributors have cleared all the uncle & aunty old models 1st, by then this “new” model would become not-so-attractive vs. other competitive new models in the market.

• azrai on Oct 12, 2010 at 2:34 pm

The sketch look quite fierce but the end product will become another uncle and aunties car. So this new Tiida/Versa/Latio is a Dong feng nissan product right?

• Nahar ARS on Oct 12, 2010 at 2:48 pm

It could be the sedan version of March/Micra?

• i hope it looks good like the sketch. The currently model looks boring.

• anonymous on Oct 13, 2010 at 9:05 am

in fact the older B14 look a bit more lively than the current Latio sedan.

• Paul Tan on Oct 12, 2010 at 3:04 pm

The last question is a very valid one considering the Nissan distributors here and their new model timing.

• nighttrain on Oct 12, 2010 at 3:45 pm

Could there be a minute amount of sarcasm here..

• JonLing on Oct 12, 2010 at 4:23 pm

ya, judging by how “early” we get (or are yet to get) the new teana and pre-facelifted “new” X-Trail, i think it would be another 3 to 4 years, or even more, considering the latio’s we have here are not even the facelifted models. maybe after the facelifted model of the next generation Honda City or Toyota Vios, then we’ll be able to see the “coming soon” ad on Nissan webpage.

i think tan chong is the slowest car dealer, in terms of bringing in new cars. strange, coz they act totally different in spore……

• klguy on Oct 12, 2010 at 6:27 pm

they r still selling the sentra……have to wait until the stocks get cleared. hopefully when they launch this one the sentra would hav been sold out. otherwise we wont b able to c the new model here

• Quote: “Currently, the Tiida is available as a four-door hatch and a five-door sedan ..” surely the writer meant four-door sedan and five-door hatch?

• nighttrain on Oct 12, 2010 at 3:18 pm

Nissan has been making fine performance cars for a very long time. The time has come finally, for the small sedan designers to flex their muscles a small bit. Nonetheless, it’s a good thing.

• Zidane on Oct 12, 2010 at 3:22 pm

Looks nice….

Hope it is as good as it looks and handles well too…..

• trollbait on Oct 12, 2010 at 3:38 pm

With the local distributor’s track record, we’ll only see this model in 2030, when they finally decide to stop selling the latio after about 20+ years in Msia. Jokers.

• The current Nissan outlook so ugly.
    Hope the new Latio won’t disappoint us,if not i going to support the new Waja/Lancer coming out soon:)

• evoskylancer on Oct 12, 2010 at 3:51 pm

this sketch looks nice…but then again, the sketch of the new Nissan March looked nice also (http://paultan.org/2008/09/23/next-generation-nissan-march-sketch/)…however, the actual product doesn’t look as nice as its sketch (http://paultan.org/2010/03/15/nissan-starts-march-production-in-thailand/)

• squawk on Oct 12, 2010 at 3:58 pm

Finally, an interesting looking non-supercar from Nissan, at least on paper.

• untouchable on Oct 12, 2010 at 5:02 pm

Nissan have a very good engine with the current Latio..

• reader on Oct 12, 2010 at 10:26 pm

I love it’s rear passenger leg room, best in class, almost spacious as my 2002 sonata

• Dr. Kervokian on Oct 12, 2010 at 5:04 pm

2 door camry with a sportback and nissan badge

• campro on Oct 12, 2010 at 5:12 pm

tan chong haven’t bring facelift Latio yet even in singapore alr been facelifted…china also been long time facelift the sylphy…TC malaysia a bit slow in bring car to our local market…

• THE DRIVER on Oct 12, 2010 at 5:13 pm

Hopefully it would not be another dissapointing product. Latio was a failure. Went to the showroom when it was launch with anxiety but dissapointed at the end.

• wolfsburg on Oct 12, 2010 at 5:29 pm

TanChong always delay the new model and it eventually became an old one when it arrives… Latio/Slyphy/Teana all the same delaying story…

• 5 years till it reaches our shore

• Lim Kopi on Oct 12, 2010 at 7:56 pm

With soo many negative feedbacks as above ….

I sure hope Tan Chong is reading :)

• Ah Fook on Oct 12, 2010 at 8:10 pm

ETCM : Why introduce new model? Our 10 year old Sentra still can sell for another 5 years.

• mitlanevo on Oct 12, 2010 at 9:48 pm

hopefully this new Latio will attract more buyers…

• Jimmy on Oct 12, 2010 at 10:47 pm

Side curves are a bit like Kyron, if like this will be UGLY, not sporty.
    Telescopic steering to put in as standard ya Nissan if you hear me.

• awg1031 on Oct 13, 2010 at 10:12 am

if that’s the design for the up-coming latio, than cool!!

• It’s sedan version of March for Nissan to compete in the B segment. In Thailand it will be sold as another eco car along side with March in order to secure the eco car market leadership when Honda’s Brio arriving. Surprisingly, Nissan USA select it to be the next Versa eventhough Nissan’ve been developing the real next Tiida already. They’re also developing another C car as a sedan version but they will not relate it to the Tiida and tend to create a brand new name for it, wait and see until beginning of 2012.

L02B is only a B car. Many people might be confused because Tiida/Versa is officially known as C car all along.

• alldisc on Oct 13, 2010 at 12:50 pm

japan and singapore got the current latio in 2004. malaysia soldiered to sentra N16 before launching the latio in 2006. does this mean we get to see latio (not singaporean) on our roads in 2012?

• E-antz on Oct 13, 2010 at 3:39 pm

Old waja gave a lot of problems, the most common problem was the fuel pump failure & auto gear transmission problem.
    If Puki is considering new Waja, I wish him good luck. Hope Proton is seriously improve the quality. Nissan is good car in term of reliabity & quality although some Nissan models outlook are not that impressive. This is the fact!

• yschong on Oct 13, 2010 at 6:31 pm

basically i’m driving nissan latio n i feel nissan car is a good car because of its fuel saving, comfort and a spacious car. The only things i agree with above comments are nissan model update are very slow compare to other brand. if you guys see, sentra model 10 years still exist at malaysia. gosh…new latio??doubt it…

• The wira i was driving have been around for more than 10 years and still selling like hot cake few years back. So i guess malaysian can still accept it :)

• lawmasai on Feb 13, 2011 at 9:12 pm

TCM acted fast as they manage to in Grand Livina in end of 2007. It was launched in China in 2006.

I bought a NGL 1.6A in Jan 2011 after using wira for 12 years. Very nice engine -smooth and capable. Very low NV&H. Actually I like very much the fully kitted Latio Sedan Sport 1.6A. Yes, without the seat the back side its ugly. Driver seat felt very comfortable. NV&H even better that NGL.

But my daughter who tag along to the show room likes the NGL more. My wife says the NGL must come with Impul kit -otherwise also ugly. For me the 2nd row of seat that can be declined for better seating comfort help to swing the decision to the NGL. There will be no hesitance in choosing NGL if the front two seat of NGL is as comfy as the one in Latio.

I don’t know why Latio sales looses steam and now does’nt seems to exceed 300 unit monthly. May be the impul kits (as well as the pull over cover for back row of seat of NGL) as standard item from day one.

It does really makes Latio or NGL looks much better.

Some how the metallic shade of grey and metallic orange color for NGL looks jaded that those for Alza or Viva. TCM should looks into this.

What about the 1.4 turbojet engine that suppose to be good for 140 h.p & Livina X gear?. TCM should be fast on its feet -as fast as their responses in bring in NGL. Need to move a same speed if they want to break their cars and MPV sales above 30,000 unit a year. Just look at Avanza – is was doing very well before Alza but now selling less than 500 units a month.