Honda Malaysia to review Honda Civic Hybrid pricetag

Honda Malaysia Sdn Bhd has just issued a statement – they are quite pleased with the government’s decision to extend import duty and excise duty exemption for hybrid vehicles until 31st December 2011 with excise duty to be given full exemption. An internal review will be done and a new revised price structure for the Honda Civic Hybrid will be announced when the internal review has been completed.

Interestingly, Honda Malaysia also said that it is also looking to extending its hybrid vehicle line-up. Other than the Civic Hybrid, Honda also has the Honda Insight, Honda CR-Z, and the Honda Jazz Hybrid in its stables. Which would you rather see launched in Malaysia?

Honda Insight

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Honda Insight? No thanks. CR-Z For sure i want!!!!!

• mystvearn on Oct 15, 2010 at 7:54 pm

Yes, CRZ for me too.

No point bringing insight since civic hybrid has the same amount of doors anyway. Honda Jazz was not the strongest selling car in the lineup with its uber expansive price. I am not too sure people want to pay more for that fuel economy bit. Maybe town driving econ-centrics.

CRZ’s major flaw is its rear seats, or lack of proper seats. Sirocco has proper seats and Honda has this. Its a different car, and if I am not mistaken there are currently no 2-door lineup in Honda’s stables. It makes up for in the looks department. I have seen this in blue on the road with LED running lights and looks stunning. Can clearly tell its the CR-Z, also its very quiet. CRZ is in a different car category, not sure Honda want to risk that much bringing it here.

• Ash Menon on Oct 24, 2010 at 10:19 am

But Fifth Gear did a review on the CR-Z, and apparently the power was quite lacking for what Honda calls a “sporty hybrid coupe”.

• Jansen on Dec 12, 2010 at 1:30 pm

But Civic is not stylish la~ insight is better

• but if u want save environment…u should bring more people into ur car than just 2 rite

• DJmobile on Oct 15, 2010 at 7:40 pm

no doubts, CRZ of course, who wants to get an Insight?

• The Loner on Oct 15, 2010 at 7:46 pm

Please bring in the 6-speed manual transmission CR-Z.

• khaix19a on Oct 15, 2010 at 7:52 pm

wait until end 2011 to buy hybrid car

• chris on Oct 15, 2010 at 7:54 pm

cr-z…

• exlive3 on Oct 15, 2010 at 7:59 pm

be it the CR-Z..PLIZZZ

• Anti Proton on Oct 15, 2010 at 8:08 pm

oh yes CRZ

• Tiadaid on Oct 15, 2010 at 8:21 pm

With hybrids now tax free, will we see more hybrids in the country or will the status quo remains with boy racers getting their hands on non-hybrid Civics and the like? I’ll bet it’s the latter.

• hang solo on Oct 15, 2010 at 8:36 pm

i got a very “solid information from Honda Malaysia”
    the Honda Insight will be brought into Malaysia 2nd quarter of 2011,
    let wait for the new family member of Honda…..

• campro on Oct 15, 2010 at 8:54 pm

Good news for me…now i can hv more choices to select….Prius or Insight or Camry hybrid???

• woon meng san on Oct 20, 2010 at 11:50 am

I booked a City for my wife and should be able to get my new car next month with the hybrid car price going down i wait for the Honda Insight. My honda sales man going down to Melaka 1st week of Nov to see the Insight and tarining at the honda assembly plant at melaka. he saidd price will be around 120K….

• vincent on Oct 15, 2010 at 8:38 pm

CRZ! nuff said.

• campro on Oct 15, 2010 at 8:50 pm

Bring Insight here to challenge Prius…CR-Z urhh i no interested in 2 door coupe sedan….Jazz hybrid would be a good move to cater small car hybrid segment….this is the golden chance for Honda to stay ahead of their Japanese rivals in Hybrid world…
    i also wish Nissan will bring Nissan Leaf here…then sure Leaf is my 1st choice….

• low2215 on Oct 15, 2010 at 8:51 pm

Better grep civic hybrid now !! langkawi tax free price is only 97,887.80 .. price in peninsula should be around that now .. cheaper than normal civic !!

• campro on Oct 15, 2010 at 9:05 pm

by this way, ppl will switch to use cheaper hybrid car rather than conventional car…it good effort from govt to encourage rakyat to use green technology…example like u said, normal civic will more expensive than Hybrid civic…save the earth…

• hang solo on Oct 15, 2010 at 9:48 pm

honda civic 8th generation will soon be discontinued,so…..
      2011 ~ HONDA INSIGHT vs toyota prius…..
      lets see d battle between these TWO TAIKOR….

• they both look almost identical

• campro on Oct 16, 2010 at 8:57 pm

they just like playing game between Toyota & Honda….u copy me, i copy u back….then we get identical style car with slightly different between them….

• Tiadaid on Oct 16, 2010 at 10:23 pm

But you better learn how to drive a hybrid. No use driving a hybrid if you have a lead right foot!

• Carl Wong on Oct 20, 2010 at 8:30 pm

For me that is one of the best news in the decade, thanks man. Honda Civic Hybrid LELONG :)……!!!!!!!

• shawal on Oct 15, 2010 at 8:54 pm

CR-Z!!! CR-Z!!!CR-Z!!!
    CR-Z for me , and an Insight for the wifey…

• hang solo on Oct 15, 2010 at 9:51 pm

SORRY, NEXT YEAR HONDA will only have two “SUPRISED” :

1) HONDA ACCORD ~ FACELIFTED

2) HONDA INSIGHT

As for CRZ, Too bad…Tak adalah!!! Maybe through Grey importer loh!

• this is an indication that proton will not launch its hybrid next year..

• funkbanana on Oct 16, 2010 at 9:53 pm

exactly my thots.. Govt is not gonna protect the Hybrid market cos Proton does not have any models to compete in this area.

• Alpha on Oct 15, 2010 at 9:43 pm

Crossing my fingers for CRZ!!!

but somehow it’s kinda unreal though..2-doors coupe r not selling strong in Malaysia.n extra import tax to add.i’ve checked the price in yen n it’s actually jz a few thousands more expensive than Civic Hybrid.but with the tax n all,somehow it’ll be around Scirocco 1.4L’s price.Insight is a better bet for Honda in Msia~

• FAReast on Oct 15, 2010 at 9:52 pm

i would like the jazz hybrid..

• MengQ on Oct 15, 2010 at 9:56 pm

CR-Z, please! =)

• See how much the ‘rakyat’ can benefit just from a slight courtesy in 2011 budget. PM knows how to play the win-win situation game. I believe he can do better than this. ;)

• what all G done all -ve, what all proton done is -ve….do u give ur opinion base on ur political belief or pure ur neutral opinion…it look more opinion base on political belief to me

• Apollo Wong on Oct 15, 2010 at 9:59 pm

I want the Jazz Hybrid.. Hopefully less than RM100k

• hang solo on Oct 15, 2010 at 11:06 pm

sorry, 101% comfirm jazz “Hybrid” will be not ashore in BOLEHland.

Becoz the current jazz respond arent that good, so u know lah!

• Tiadaid on Oct 16, 2010 at 3:02 pm

How could they get good response. Jazz 100K, same class as Fiesta apa cite?!

• ikat perut on Oct 18, 2010 at 12:57 pm

of coz no good reponse! “overpriced” jazz ONLY in MALAYSIA “BOLEHland” tanah airku!

• ford driver on Nov 11, 2010 at 12:21 am

My indonesian friend said Jazz in Indo is far cheaper than City. In Malaysia terbalik..

• milo tin on Oct 15, 2010 at 10:12 pm

Good! Time for Honda to grab the market from Toyota, since Toyota is crazy to put the Prius so high price. They have no intention to make green in Msia to compete their own Camry, or Altis price, thats why so high Prius price. Go Honda Go!

• osh_kosh on Oct 15, 2010 at 10:26 pm

1st batch Hybrid buyers get screwed… now 2nd batch buyers also get screwed… Big G sure ‘like’ to screwed their own rakyat LOl

• Foong on Oct 15, 2010 at 10:35 pm

CRZ of coz….here I come.

• lucky on Oct 15, 2010 at 10:43 pm

CR-Z is ugly. Don’t think it will be popular here……saw it in US. sales was quite poor I guess.

• smart on Oct 15, 2010 at 10:55 pm

i think honda will bring jazz hybid for next year..

• Jimmy on Oct 15, 2010 at 11:13 pm

Yes, I want also Honda Cruze.

• Machi on Oct 15, 2010 at 11:29 pm

I will go for insight i swear ..I like CRZ too…but guess would be pretty tough to have permission from wife n kids…honestly I feel a bit guilty bcos only next yr couldhave hybrid..Imagine amount of CO2 I am releasing into atmosphere each day…gotta preserve a better environment for our kids…I will make a booking for Honda Insight now if Honda malaysia accepting with reasonable price..

• Holly F on Oct 16, 2010 at 3:12 pm

What a responsible daddy. *thumbs up*

• bangku on Oct 18, 2010 at 1:53 pm

If you want to preserve a better environment for your kids you must not drive any car. As many environment will be destroyed in order to produce battery for your hybrid car.

• Machi on Oct 18, 2010 at 5:35 pm

I cant agree much on that, bangku…that’s why i am avoiding unnecessary travelling if possible..and I have 4 bikes in my house for my wife n kids and including myself…But back to hybrid..i guess a diesel powered hybrid with solar panel on top would reduce much carbon footprint…at least to extend the battery life in some ways..well…i also believe there are lots of materials scientist are working on the new generation of battery without damaging the environment,something to related to fluorine and nickel-zinc, which the latter could be recycled..

• likehondanotsomuch on Oct 15, 2010 at 11:33 pm

by hook or by crook crz all the way,,,,

• sayapdewa on Oct 15, 2010 at 11:46 pm

i would love crz with mt transmission…

• osh_kosh on Oct 16, 2010 at 12:29 am

i want proton hybrid.. not honda..

• CRZzzz on Oct 16, 2010 at 7:56 am

Let’s hope the Honda ppl are reading this, and bring in what we want!

• insight below rm100k i won’t mind either

• Uncle Honda on Oct 16, 2010 at 9:17 am

I want CRZ with the high rev engine option.

• forfunonly on Oct 16, 2010 at 12:20 pm

While the CRZ is a sporty looking car it is a hybrid and not a sportscar so I dont see how the CRZ will sell well. I guess thats the reason it didnt do well in US.
    The insight would be a good choice if priced below rm110.

If you guys want power, then go for the polo tsi, which is economical at the same time…

• Steven on Oct 16, 2010 at 1:04 pm

2 door cars are not popular in Malaysia so Honda Malaysia should bring in the 4 door Honda Insight hybrid and price it below RM100K and give Toyota Prius a severe beating. If Insight can be priced below RM100K, Toyota Prius (RM175K) sales will be severely affected. After all, both Insight and Prius look a bit similiar in shape and size. Let’s say Insight is RM100K and Prius is RM175K, which car will you choose if you want to buy a hybrid? The answer is obvious. By the way, I have 2005 City i-DSI and 2009 City i-VTEC. I am a loyal Honda owner. If the Insight is priced right, I may trade in my 2005 City for this Honda hybrid. Honda cars have high resale value. Go Honda go!

• scottloeb on Oct 17, 2010 at 11:13 pm

Confirm I beli Insight at 100K! 4 dr, Kerja kat KL, boleh bawak balik kampung! perfect fit for family of 4 like me!
      Else have to settle for Civic FMC je lah

• CRZ and INSIGHT PLEASE, HONDA<<<<<

• CHEWDAN on Oct 16, 2010 at 3:59 pm

yes pls Honda Malaysia… get CR-Z in and i will change my car

• CR-Z and Insight, Fit hybrid just looks like the Fit Normal, doesn’t has any special..

Insight at least looks fresh in Malaysia’s Market~~

• Rovert on Oct 16, 2010 at 5:16 pm

Bring in any of those cars and price them below RM100k and you’ll have my booking waiting for you the next working day.

• crz!! that is all i want. honda pls listen. manual trans!!

• please bring in CR-Z!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! ! i will book it the next day! seriously!!!

• Insight please… it can be priced around RM80k to grab market share… FYI, Insight is equipped with the cheapo materials like the City and will definitely be priced at Vios/City level…
    forget the prius, its always priced way much higher than Insight worldwide, so they are at different affordability level and those who can afford the prius dont need to care too much abt FC…
    the CRZ is sporty but hybrid cars is not well known as sporty or performance cars… its main point is still to save FC… who wanna save FC and buy a 2 seater at the same time?

• the CR-Z might just be here next year, middle, or 3rd quarter. but as far as I can say it’s not 100% confirmed yet.

• subhero on Oct 17, 2010 at 12:51 am

hybrid honda or toyota? announce new prices? ok. now its time to wait hybrid gen-2. malaysian made maaa…. also price lagi rendah…

lets buy gen-2 hybrid.. yeaaahhhhhhhhhhhhhh…

• vtec200k on Oct 17, 2010 at 2:06 am

most probably honda insight . . might be replacing current civic hybrid, and the current civic generation its already 5 years old, the 9th will out soon in 2011

at where you can found prius, honda will also grabbing a part of the market, insight is smaller in size and engines as well, definitely a good competitors against prius, pricing will be a little lower or equal the civic hybrid, if insight build in thailand and assembled in malaysia

crz maybe coming in another 2 or 3 years, honda currently dont have sports car, miss the type-Rs …

• FuelEfficient on Oct 17, 2010 at 6:58 am

Honda (M), Bring in Insight please. Very modern & futuristic in design. Synonymous with future directions of green ECO cars.

• Carl Wong on Oct 17, 2010 at 5:48 pm

Hey so the new tax incentives mean the Civic Hybrid will be even cheaper? So the new price will be around only RM100,000 now?? I’ll wait for their announcement. That is GREAT news, I’m so desperate to try to get the Civic Hybrid in the next 2 years…:)!!!!!!!

• u need to wait for Gen9 civic already

• Carl Wong on Oct 18, 2010 at 8:56 pm

Ok is it coming next year? When the new civic comes there will be a new Hybrid version too? Will it be smaller bigger or around the same? I need to fit 5 adults and enough trunk space just like the current model. Thanks for the reply :).

• Hiroshi on Oct 18, 2010 at 12:30 am

Honda Malaysia please bring in Cr-z / insight and price below 100K and i think will increase the trend for owned a hybrid car in malaysia…

• rossi46 on Oct 18, 2010 at 12:07 pm

Honda Insight selling at pound sterling 16-18K, w/out tax price should around (16k x RM5 = RM80,000)…thats good

Review from uk saying ths:

Great in the city; a good turbo-diesel shades it out of town. Drawbacks include shallow boot and bad ride quality, but enthusiasts will like its refined engine and Tokyo-by-night instruments. Performance is adequate.

• I LIKE Honda Insight

• Honda Insight please!! Come on Honda Msia. Give us below 95K and surely 2011 will be your wonderful year..

Mugen Insight : http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DGEsRTVRFHk

• bring on the CRZ. saw 1 in Spore, damn chun…forget abt Insight, Civic Hybrid is good enough.

• Carl Wong on Oct 18, 2010 at 8:59 pm

I think just bring all 3 new hybrid models so our people have more choices for different needs and ultimately reduce our overall carbon footprint and REDUCE GLOBAL WARMING…!!!

• anakmelayu on Oct 19, 2010 at 12:32 pm

I’m agree with Carl Wong…just bring all the hybrids….different people have different taste…let them make their own choice on which to buy…..but Honda has to make sure it is priced under 100k range…then people would be interested to buy one including me…heheh

• Waltlai on Oct 23, 2010 at 12:12 am

Just got news from reliable source. Honda (M) will be bringing in the Insight hybrid in 2011. You can place deposit for booking now!

• aizat2209 on Oct 23, 2010 at 10:13 pm

CRZ please…. i need an awesome looking car with Minimum Roadtax and an Excellent Fuel Consumption.
    Save Save And Save the Enviroment.

• US price before tax for comparably-equiped 2010 model:
    Honda Insight: $22050 (RM68355)
    Honda civic hibrid: $24550 (RM76105)
    $2500 (RM 7750) difference.

Honda Insight is smaller than Honda Civic.

With Honda Civic priced around RM100,000, Honda Insight price could be around RM90,000.

I will buy Honda Insight.

Combined Fuel-Economy (City/Highway) for Honda insight / Honda civic hibrid / Honda Civic Petrol: 41 / 42 / 29 miles per gallon based on 2010 EPA mileage estimates.

• LonJon on Oct 28, 2010 at 9:30 pm

Pray for Tata nano Hybrid to materialize by next year..
    Should be cheaper than a cub chai !!!

• confirm insight will be here 2011 but very limited units.price is below 100K . made to booking already…got a feeling the civic hybrid will discountinued to focus on the insight.

• Booked today for Insight, delivery Feb/Mar2011.. No pricing yet but salesman said below 100k.

• mahend on Nov 09, 2010 at 6:52 pm

price of civic hybrid is confirmed to be rm108,980.00 and will be only availabe for delivery in jan’2011. and the insight is expected to be less than 100k and estimated delivery in feb/march 2011. any guys interested for the models, can ctc me at 016-215 1327.

• Do you have any news for CR-Z?

Will CR-Z be priced under 90k? Because, Insight is slightly expensive from CR-Z in US, should it be the same here in Malaysia?

As of 15 Feb 2011\
      US
      Insight = $23, 265
      CR-Z = $19,995

Malaysia
      Insight = RM94,950.80
      CR-Z = < RM90K?

• HONDA CR-Z pls !!!! It will definately has its market, no doubt is niche. For sure it will caters to those young ” Go Green” fans in Malaysia.
    Pricing – around RM 90k will be IDEAL.

Any updates or new from Honda Malaysia that they will be bringing in this model? If yes, when will it be …?

• Victor on Aug 27, 2011 at 1:07 pm

Even tax free, it’s still more expensive than ‘normal’ taxed countries like USA, Brunei, Australia/New Zealand, UK…

• Victor on Aug 27, 2011 at 1:09 pm

Even tax free, it’s still more expensive than ‘normal’ taxed countries like UK, USA, Brunei, Australia/New Zealand… bullshit

• CR-Z ADDICT on Dec 28, 2011 at 10:26 pm

Whats Insight ? Whats Civic ? Sorry to say but CR-Z is the best hybrid model ever. Say YES to CR-Z :D