Nissan Leaf production gets underway in Japan

leaf 1

Nissan has started production of its Leaf electric vehicle in Japan – the vehicle, which will go on sale domestically as well as the US in December, has begun rolling out from the company’s Oppama Plant, which also assembles models such as the Juke and Cube.

Part of the assembly line has been modified to mount battery modules at the stage of production where fuel tanks are traditionally installed, and motors and inverters are mounted at the point where engines are installed in gasoline-powered vehicles.

leaf 2

The Leaf’s lithium-ion battery modules are manufactured in Zama, Japan at Automotive Energy Supply Corporation, which is Nissan and NEC joint-venture company. The battery module, which contains four battery cells, is made in Zama and then shipped to Oppama, where 48 of them are assembled into the electric car’s battery pack.

Oppama, which will have an annual production capacity of 50,000 Leafs, will serve as the blueprint plant for subsequent production of the Leaf elsewhere. The car will also be built in the US at Smyrna, Tennessee, beginning late 2012 and in Nissan’s Sunderland facility in England in early 2013.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• malaysian need daun too !

• This car remind me of an animal called Platipus

• Hideous…full stop

• fully agree…and also i don’t want to be seen driving one as well

• Jimmy on Oct 22, 2010 at 5:34 pm

Leaf is not tax free in M’sia, sadly, because totally no petrol is used. Strange?

• karimngah on Oct 22, 2010 at 5:47 pm

Saw it at the Sydney motor show.
    Though it was only on display w/o much much specs mentioned
    but it looks very driveable and a good family sized sedan.
    Looking forward to more EV models from more manufacturers in the near future.

• Black Dog on Oct 22, 2010 at 6:03 pm

So with the recent Govt hybrid tax-free ruling, Tan Chong can bring it in, fast! But judging by Tan Chong’s history, maybe have to wait a decade!

• rahman hussein on Oct 22, 2010 at 6:30 pm

As a shareholder i am happy on how Tan Chong is managed.
      Look at its share price :)

• bluetravler on Oct 23, 2010 at 11:40 am

Haha, you said it, Black dog. Just as I was reading this, I was thinking how long before Tan Chong would bring it over, Or rather How Loooong after the rest of the world has it already before we even hear that Tan Chong MIGHT bring it. hahahahaha.
      Tan Chong old man business style. Totally unlike the “Zoom Zoom” image Nissan wants to project.

• well said dude! some may probably died waiting for this to happen.. my advice, forget NISSAN go for others make. HAHAHA..
      a little out of topic but what the Flick… eventually, we got her to buy other makes.. which is better than serena and grand livina IMHO.

• a sentence missing…. actually, My sis was looking for a MPV for her family… she wanted a NISSAN initially but we change her mind.. HAHAHA happiest day of my life.

• campro on Oct 23, 2010 at 1:04 am

when this Leaf come to our land, Jazz hybrid no market anymore…haha

• acerman on Oct 23, 2010 at 9:00 pm

A car with lips.

• You all will see a nissan JUKE on the road soon!!!

• Sean ZX10 on Oct 29, 2010 at 9:04 am

UGLIEST CAR..i like the EV concept but please la cant they make it look more like muscle car, skyline ka…dont they have eyes when designing the car?