Proton to provide official cars for Le Tour De Langkawi

Proton will be continuing its support of the annual Le Tour De Langkawi bike race by being the official car provider of the event, and for the LTDL 2011, which takes place this January 23 – February 1, it will be sponsoring 160 units of various Proton cars to be used during the event, along with a list of exclusive Proton merchandise.

The cars will be used by the race officers, team managers, organising committee members of the LTDL 2011 and the cavalcade convoy procession throughout the 16th edition of the race. Technical assistance for the sponsored cars will come in the form of 50 Proton personnel comprised of technical experts, drivers for the cavalcade convoy and other relevant representatives.

The company has also been given the honour to present the Blue Jersey to the winners of the ‘Sprint’ category at various designated stages throughout the race. The race is scheduled to run through 10 stages across the country in this year’s edition.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• apexg2 on Jan 17, 2011 at 11:40 am

then world will know….we got our own version of Lancer! But its good for Proton

• banko on Jan 17, 2011 at 12:44 pm

world also know about satria neo…. even if world know about inspira…. they also know about other company that did rebadge too…so they dont care,,as long as they can use that car….

• slekuzen on Jan 17, 2011 at 1:28 pm

The Exora looks really nice and slick in this picture!

If Proton can work on a more robust engine for the MPV, I honestly think will be a solid performer with good looks and a serious competitor within ASEAN.

• makoi on Jan 17, 2011 at 1:46 pm

rubbish. i tot they were using BMW?

• rempp on Jan 17, 2011 at 3:12 pm

is that exora turbo?

• Mentioned Proton and these kind of bashers will immediately rear their heads …

• JULIAN_LEE on Jan 17, 2011 at 5:03 pm

Bicycles are more reliable than the cars.

• Couldn’t agree more. Furthermore fuel consumption is like crazy. Maybe have to refuel many times to catch up with the cyclist.

• gangully on Jan 17, 2011 at 5:12 pm

oh yeah… Julian is so right… for one they don’t depend on fuel… so for as long as the rider is reliable the bicycle is reliable… what a tw@t

• akinablue on Jan 17, 2011 at 6:25 pm

good way to promote proton brand..like what kia n hyundai did in football!..good!

• yamseng on Jan 17, 2011 at 7:27 pm

you gonna see the bicycle that gonna tow the cars

• osh_kosh on Jan 17, 2011 at 8:59 pm

great.. free cars.. wait.. it’s a Proton?? *sigh*

• later in uphill,, the Exora cannot catch up with the bicycles,, then malu lor..

• later when moving along the uphill,,, the Exora cannot catch up with the bicycles, then malu lor..

• MoFaz on Jan 18, 2011 at 1:58 pm

get a life, bashers! whatever proton did is always wrong in your eyes. If you think it’s easy, try get 160 sponsor cars plus 50 personnel for this event la… can you do that?

• osh_kosh on Jan 18, 2011 at 8:36 pm

u sponsor or donate or give ‘gift’ to G can minus tax what? what’s so hard about that?

• I hv no problem with proton sponsoring the cars. It is expected of course. takkan nak tunggu Nissan atau Toyota. Malu la.

However I am grateful that LTDL won’t be coming near my hometown. I’ve had enough of those ‘support’ drivers. They are dangerous, rude and a menace on the roads. Probably they think they’re in the race too.