Volkswagen Jetta GLI is the Golf GTI with a boot

The Volkswagen Golf GTI has been the hot yuppie machine for quite some time now, combining class, performance and practicality in one handsome package. There could be some who want all that with a boot though, and for them VW has the Jetta GLI. This is the 2012 Jetta GLI, the hot version of the Mk6 Golf based sedan that was launched mid last year.

The Jetta has grown in size. Compared to its Mk5 Golf based predecessor, this car is 86 mm longer to make 4.64 metres and the familiar 2,578 mm wheelbase of the Golf has been extended to 2,650 mm to better match C-segment rivals.

Unlike the previous gen, this Jetta GLI doesn’t look 100% identical to the GTI from the front, just like how the standard Jetta differs from the Golf. One can spot a GLI from its more prominent grille and bigger air intake, plus vertical fog lamps. Of course there’s the ‘GLI’ badge.

The GLI is powered by a 200 hp/280 Nm turbocharged four-pot, the same engine that powers the GTI in the US. This is not the old EA113 of the Mk5 but the latest EA888 engine without valvelift, presumably detuned to meet strict emission standards. A six-speed manual gearbox is standard; DSG with steering paddles is an option.

One key difference under the skin between the US and European Jetta is that the former comes with torsion beam rear suspension while Europeans get multi links. This is not the case for the North American Jetta GLI, which comes with “track tuned four-way independent performance suspension”, which should revert to a multi-link setup. Other GLI specific kit include an XDS e-diff and red brake calipers.

The cabin has sport bucket seats and a flat-bottom steering wheel, all with red stitching. There’s also the GLI logo and aluminum accents for the full effect. Customers can choose cloth or V-Tex Leatherette for the interior. Jetta GLI ‘Autobahn’ variants also come with a Fender Premium Audio System featuring proprietary Panasonic speaker technology. Read more about the sound system here.

Have you noticed that that although it looks familiar, the Jetta’s dash differs slightly from the Golf’s. The sedan’s centre console is grouped for a more driver focused “cockpit” feel and the angle of the centre stack is tilted slightly towards the driver.

Look after the jump for a video and gallery of the GLI.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1969]

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• VW_fans on Feb 18, 2011 at 2:54 am

Now I see every VW models also almost look alike……… either front part or back part. Volkswagen Volkswagen why didn’t u put little effort design differently.

• It’s called IDENTITY.

• VW_fans on Feb 18, 2011 at 2:05 pm

Well identity should be 1 small part like Merz got the front grill while BMW kidney grill but not front & back look alike. I mean VW customers want their car to be able to differentiate. I love VW cars & I seriously want them to be a premium & well accept brand. But I don’t wish to see ppl start to feel boring towards this brand.

• Edmond on Feb 18, 2011 at 6:26 pm

What do you expect? VW will always with the boring look.

• very very well said =.=

• will it be available in MY? i want it!

• Damn…I so want this car…although I currently drive an E90 320D..this car beats it hands down for space (family needs it) and am sure the suspension will be kinder to my ailing back (M-sport suspension kills!)

• whitefox on Feb 18, 2011 at 3:21 am

This 1 definitely a cool sport sedan out there. I am sure a lot will love this which pack size + performance.

• shawal on Feb 18, 2011 at 3:22 am

Want one!

• clone on Feb 18, 2011 at 4:38 am

looks appealing and simple.

• clutch basah on Feb 18, 2011 at 7:16 am

Sorry VW.. your new GTI, GLI (whatever..) are not my piece of cake this time. Appearance wise is too boring and uninspiring no matter how good the performance is.
    The Megane RS is my hottie at the moment.. it is hawt!

• Nice looking car.When will das auto bring this to our shore?

• Dak's Quacks on Feb 18, 2011 at 8:02 am

Very boring design… Like 20 years ago design, especially the interior, just look at the aircon outlet… (>_<)

• YeapyEvo on Feb 19, 2011 at 10:53 pm

The design looks fine to me, what I only want is the 200 hp/280 Nm engine with DSG at RM100k price. Hope DRB Hicom will assemble it in Malaysia

• Paul,
    Any idea if our local distributors plan to bring this in?

• Jaybond on Feb 18, 2011 at 8:35 am

I think at this moment, VW still want to maintain its design feature of ‘simplistic elegance’ – looks neat & simple yet elegant. If you want something that looks radical & a bit fussy, get the latest Hyundais..

• watever on Feb 18, 2011 at 8:39 am

it looks almost identical to an Audi A4. No surprise there really, as they own Audi

• Previous Jetta GLI is available is Singapore..Hope VW Malaysia will bring this to Malaysia this time..

• vw beetle on Feb 19, 2011 at 9:35 pm

Bring this car from Garuda Matraman Motor in Jakarta, because it will launched in Indonesia later.

• Cool!!!

• thank god proportionately it look alrite unlike peugeot 207 sedan which looks weird from side ^^

• busybody on Feb 18, 2011 at 9:20 am

the design is clean. that’s all.

• angrybirds on Feb 18, 2011 at 9:38 am

looklike saga FL pfft..

• Unforgiven on Feb 18, 2011 at 9:41 am

DRB, please make this into C segment price…

• vw_fan on Feb 18, 2011 at 9:42 am

admittedly i was never quite the VW fan until i tested and bought one. i noticed that photos really never do much justice to their design philosphy. the feeling of sitting in the car and holding the voluptuous steering wheel gives an unexplainable feeling of sportiness, quality and class. the designs while might look boring to some are actually very appealing to its target market seeking an understated, practical car that delivers a lot of driving pleasure. and their designs seem to grow on people over time based on coffeeshop/workshop chatter with people. which sometimes explain why my car still has so much residual value, and it boggles me when i compare it my other japanese suv. but like any car its not perfect, and i have had my share of problems with it too.

my only grouse with the brand is its lousy aftersales service and the lack of knowledge of their service center staff in MY. seems like our SG cousins are getting better support with even German technicians station there. and we probably sell more units here than in SG.

• Ha Gnih on Feb 18, 2011 at 9:47 am

Nice. The lines and curves are simple, yet prominent and clean. I wonder how much will this cost if it reaches our shores. Hmmmm…..

• azrai on Feb 18, 2011 at 10:04 am

I can see this model will be coming from pekan in near future.

• shoon on Feb 18, 2011 at 10:10 am

Nice. Hopefully this is one of the models that will be CKDed and roll out from the local plant end of this year.
    It’s a good alternative for ppl who wants performance and practicality in a package.

• the back view sure got some resemblance to the current model Audi A4.

• ezracopters on Feb 18, 2011 at 11:06 am

Price in Europe & N.America???

p/s : depan cam saga jer, hmm

• guanerrr on Feb 18, 2011 at 11:09 am

Malaysia doesn’t need L version, I think Passat CC is more cool..!

• Are we getting this in Malaysia soon??

• wageniese on Feb 18, 2011 at 12:40 pm

The head looks like Polo. Overall, like a Polo Sedan instaed …it’s handsome anyway!

• Mohammad Suhaimi on Feb 18, 2011 at 5:45 pm

ermm, front light looks like persona.. errr, lancer gt? or err.. evo x?

• sport rims sgt cantik!!

• Looks like audi A4 from the rear. :D

• adrian yap on Feb 18, 2011 at 9:18 pm

darth vader passat cost around $20k.hopefully the price for ckd jetta will not dissapoint .

• fikiboy on Feb 18, 2011 at 10:00 pm

look alike saga BLM headlight…in smaller version

• K K Chen on Feb 20, 2011 at 1:15 pm

or rather u should u comment the Saga BLM took its que from VW.. =)

• like the latest tech by VW..but design is old..

• viclee on Jul 06, 2012 at 3:41 pm

I want this car..VW Malaysia should bring in this model