Nissan March gets new supercharged three-pot engine

A supercharger to boost efficiency and emissions in a small car isn’t a very common solution, but Nissan has chosen this path for its March (Micra in some markets) supermini. The word ‘supercharger’ itself hints at performance, but the headline figure here is emissions of just 95 g/km, among the lowest in the world. Cars producing less tan 100 g/km incur no road tax and are exempt from London’s daily congestion charge.

Known as the DIG-S (Direct Injection Gasoline-Supercharger), this 1,198 cc three-cylinder engine is said to provide power expected from a conventional 1.5-litre four-cylinder engine plus diesel beating economy and exceptionally low cost of ownership. DIG-S uses the Miller cycle and direct petrol injection to raise the compression ratio to 13 to 1 for greater combustion efficiency. Start/Stop and energy regeneration are also recruited.

The results are great for such a small engine: 98 PS and 142 Nm, CO2 emissions of 95 g/km for the manual and 115 g/km for the CVT. Maximum speed is 180 km/h for the stick shift while combined cycle fuel economy is 24.4 km/l. Very impressive!

“Ultra low emissions with no compromise when it comes to drivability means the Micra DIG-S sets new standards for the current generation of city cars. No other petrol-powered compact hatchback can beat its overall efficiency and it is more than a match for an equivalent diesel,” said Pierre Loing, VP of Product Strategy and Planning, Nissan International SA.

“We have been able to achieve this ultra low CO2 figure in a cost effective package and without the complication of particulate filters needed to clean up diesel engine emissions and which are not entirely compatible with a car that spends much of its life in the city,” Loing added.

The March/Micra DIG-S will be shown at the Geneva show with sales starting over the summer. We hear that this cute car will be arriving on our shores from Thailand this year; stay tuned. Gallery after the jump.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1973]

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• shawal on Feb 22, 2011 at 4:22 am

all sounds good, but…. whuts d catch…?
    can this engine use the petrol offered in malaysia..?

• Muthusamy on Feb 22, 2011 at 10:35 am

Why even bother to ask? Tan Chong, bunch of slow idiots. It will probably be launched in 2020.

• PakAbu on Feb 22, 2011 at 11:58 am

They don’t want it to eat into their C22 vanette market. Duh…

;-)

• Agree!
        Malaysia the most backward of introduction of new cars. Even, Indonesia now sell new March. Such a lame malaysian! Yesterday technology, tomorrow price.

• SoMeOnE on Feb 22, 2011 at 5:28 am

just what it needs to make it more interesting to buyers…the looks are so bland that it is one of the cars look like a generation behind the car it replaced…..other latest examples….Honda Civic…

• naqib on Feb 22, 2011 at 7:36 am

any hint for malaysian market march pricing?

• HafizJoe on Feb 22, 2011 at 7:51 am

The real look so SAD…look like Mitsuoka… :-(

• m4xspeed on Feb 22, 2011 at 7:53 am

1.1L that goes up to 180km/h and yet fuel saving! Nice move Nissan. Another super mini on the road, but this one is a bang for buck.

• alldisc on Feb 22, 2011 at 8:27 am

brilliant effort from Nissan. something we in malaysia must set in our mind.

1. Reduce emission and pollution.

2. Reduce waste of energy source like driving alone to work using a 2.4 engine car.

• Notakosong.com on Feb 22, 2011 at 8:52 am

Its the technology that matter, design-wise really is fugly.
    But it may catch the eyes of the non- ordinary people.

Hi-spec for lower than 60k im guessing? Even the now-getting-outdated swift still selling at 60k point

• angrybirds on Feb 22, 2011 at 9:18 am

its ur call now “edaran tan chong”…

dont ignore a good car

• I’m sorry, but I’d take the VW Polo TSI over this anyday. Spec wise and price wise the Polo will destroy the March in Malaysian market.

• ThePolygon on Feb 22, 2011 at 10:08 am

Granted…. VW Polo does have a better spec but the price is RM108,000. I they can price this Nissan around the RM 50-60 (for a 1.2 litre with supercharger), it should attract a crowd.

• armang on Feb 22, 2011 at 11:02 am

the price is still subject to goverment approval, plus taxes an plus how much the distributor’s greedy’s level. at the end, don’t expect this typr of car below 80K..

• March is the superb cheap car in UK, like the malaysian Kancil. i think is cheaper haha.

• Pretty sure they’re in different classes altogether. The March/Micra’s a city car. The Polo’s a supermini. And yeah, price.

• It seems Nissan thinks the March is a supermini too.

“A supercharger to boost efficiency and emissions in a small car isn’t a very common solution, but Nissan has chosen this path for its March (Micra in some markets) supermini.”

• ong chin aun on Feb 22, 2011 at 10:07 am

HA.. Small car big price ! 1.2 L very economic v. good milage and top speed 180km
    Wah , stable ? Sound too good to be true.

• Proton should REBADGE this and KILL that MYVI and VAVI once and for ALL!

Proton is with Renault-Nissan Alliance right? Should be of little hassle to do technical collaboration then.

• rookie on Feb 22, 2011 at 10:13 am

24.4km/l..?

pls bring this in!
    n pls price it right..pls..

this kind of car is most suitable for just a daily commute..
    anyway, it also does 180kmh..so, for balik kampung also can be great..
    but guys, pls obey the national speed limit.. :)

dont care how it looked..its the economy n practicality!

• The supercharger must make it pretty fun to drive. I wonder what it does to century sprint times.

I get the feeling that if the Malaysian market ever gets the March/Micra, it won’t be the supercharged version.

• Driver on Feb 22, 2011 at 10:38 am

The required fuel quality is a question to Malaysia, I remember premium quality is required for engine with compression ratio of 11.

Anyway, the compression ratio 13 has been great challenge to heat and material durability for engine, great job from Nissan. Mazda made a similar announcement of raising the engine compression ratio to 13 earlier, but Nissan is well ahead.

• alexpoh85 on Feb 22, 2011 at 10:39 am

This car is crazily fuel efficient! Really hope it will be available here, but i’m kinda skeptical of that happening, cos we are living in a country where good things never come to us.

IF it does reach here, it’s going to kill the sales of national cars with price hovering around RM50k to RM60k (Assuming that’s the rough estimate price of Micra). I would trade vehicle size for a super efficiency engine anyday!

Another possible reason it won’t come to Malaysia is due to our shitty stone age fuel grade, still at Euro 2M standard. This car probably needs Euro 4M or later to achieve such efficiency.

• Diesel? Do you read the article properly?
      “Known as the DIG-S (Direct Injection Gasoline-Supercharger)…………. plus diesel beating economy and exceptionally low cost of ownership.”

• alexpoh85 on Feb 22, 2011 at 12:36 pm

Did i mention any ‘diesel’ word in my previous post? Euro M is an emission standard, why is everyone relating Euro M to diesel?

As far as I’m concerned, we only have 2M standard of diesel here, petrol wise I’m not sure which emission standard currently.

But there are words Malaysia will have Euro 4M emission standard for both petrol and diesel implemented in this year end, but the real concern is when will the 4M fuel really make it to the Malaysian market.

• whitefox on Feb 22, 2011 at 10:39 am

this definitely a good engine but i i bit confuse here. It is diesel or petrol? If diesel than i hope our euro 2 is working on this engine ><

• scoobylution on Feb 22, 2011 at 1:01 pm

good engine, poor look..upcoming kia picanto looks better but march win on the engine.

• sir zoula on Feb 22, 2011 at 1:26 pm

im f**king sure the P2 lobbyist will ensure this car will not sold in this boleh land.. hahhaha

• gtmaniac on Feb 22, 2011 at 3:44 pm

This is not the first time nissan supercharged its march/micra. The 1st gen march (K10) was super-turboed (superchargered & turbocharged), but was offered locally.

• BestGuy on Feb 22, 2011 at 6:11 pm

I heard that this car share same under carriage with Suzuki Alto. No wonder it has a similar look. That means this car is a cheap car but will be very expensive piece of crap when it reaches our Malaysian shore. Better buy Viva everybody…. ha ha ha

• Ganyang Malon on Feb 22, 2011 at 8:15 pm

In Indonesia this car is direct competitor for Daihatsu Sirion a.k.a Myvi

• fuel cell phone on Feb 22, 2011 at 8:21 pm

imho, p1 and p2 should should adopt this method for saga and myvi, but safety features must be adequate too ;-D

• peYno on Feb 23, 2011 at 4:20 am

don’t worry.. proton will make ur dream comes true..
    proton will be using this engine for EMAS (proton compact car).
    sure will kill myvi and vavi …
    superb engine from nissan + superb design

• ^pomen_GTR^ on Feb 24, 2011 at 11:21 am

the engine reminds me subie-rex supercharged 3potter engine…

• Dear Paul on Feb 25, 2011 at 1:16 am

Paul,Please help me.
    I would like to know roughly about which month that this car will be arrive Malaysia? Cause I am eager to get this car.

Please help me solve my confusing.