MINI Rocketman Concept – now this one is really mini!

The new MINI isn’t very mini, and newer products like the MINI Countryman have pushed the boundaries in terms of size, but here’s an interesting concept bound for Geneva – one that’s actually mini. Curiously named Rocketman, MINI’s latest idea harks back to the classic Mini in terms of its exterior dimensions.

At 3.419 metres long, the Rocketman Concept not much longer than the much loved 3.05 m 1959 original (11ft 3in next to the original’s 10ft). It’s much wider however at 1,907 mm including the exterior mirrors, and stands 1,398 mm tall. That’s a larger footprint than the Toyota iQ. Like the baby Toyota, it’s a three-door hatchback that’s a 3+1-seater – the sole “real” rear seat is behind the front passenger, the other “+1” seat is better used as extra storage room for all but the shortest journeys.

Wide-opening doors with double-hinge joints that pivot outwards and integrated sills facilitate entry. The split two-part tailgate consists of one section which is attached to the roof and opens very high and a lower section which extends out 350 mm from the body in the form of a drawer.

Design wise, the Rocketman’s profile and shape is entirely familiar; even the round headlamps are the same size as the MINI hatch, making them stand out even more on a smaller body. A new feature is the light ring inside the headlamp, which adds to the cute factor as well. From the side, one can see three layers – body, wraparound greenhouse and the capping roof. The windows taper slightly as they extend back towards the rear.

The rear lights have a trapezoidal stirrup design where all light functions are integrated. Using projector technology, the lamp assembly projects the lights onto the car body. The high-output LED units ensure that even this indirect illumination concept produces enough intensity. The roof is also a light show. The full-surface glass unit is segmented by illuminated braces to recreate the Union Jack flag.

In addition to multifunction buttons on the steering wheel, the current MINI has a joystick on the center console. By contrast, the Rocketman Concept concentrates all controls on the steering wheel, which has buttons on the left spoke for frequently used functions and a trackball on the right spoke. The latter can be rolled to scroll and pressed to select.

Large gallery after the jump.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1981]

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• faizal on Feb 23, 2011 at 5:20 pm

nice..but i still love the old Mini. which is far far far cheaper than the current one. BMW has change the original purpose of Mini; which is built as people’s car, not for deep pocket people’s car.

• ^pomen_GTR^ on Feb 23, 2011 at 5:45 pm

and as well as the philosophy…..

lightweight….i bet…new mini weight about 3times heavier than original mini…

• Black Dog on Feb 23, 2011 at 5:59 pm

Even if they built the original one, it won’t be cheap. There’s no way they can compete with Koreans & Japanese on that price segment now, that’s why they have to go upmarket.

Can you name me one European car which is cheap?

• yaya.. =D
      u remind me that 30 years ago the mini and the VW beetle is the most popular entry level cars..
      nowadays, only rich ppl can own one, what a irony for us..

• Ash Menon on Feb 23, 2011 at 5:42 pm

In other words, this is the car you buy when you really, REALLY, want to get noticed. Thank god it’s only a concept.

• vincent on Feb 23, 2011 at 5:44 pm

fugly, that is all i can say

• meet_the_zonan on Feb 23, 2011 at 6:54 pm

My dream come true!!!!!

• T4VR-Ralph on Feb 23, 2011 at 7:02 pm

Finally a proper sized mini…

Sadly all models that is used to be cheap and practical that have become a pop icon ended up just like the mini… A new model with expensive price tag. Same goes to the VW beetle, AE86 -> FT86, VW Golf, etc…

• seriusSAM on Feb 23, 2011 at 7:10 pm

wow a union jack on the roof…

• wow… brake lights…. dont like that brake design… once motorcycle crash onto it, for sure patah!!!….

• minilover on Feb 23, 2011 at 11:07 pm

inspired by transformer …. nice design!

• mutings on Feb 23, 2011 at 11:27 pm

something about the lighting in the first (and fourth) picture, i guess, that makes it look like a toy…

• rocketman? sounds like azizulhasni ‘the pocket rocketman’ awang…

• budleee on Feb 24, 2011 at 12:29 am

wow.. i hope this makes into production.. a real mini MINI

• pehhh... on Feb 24, 2011 at 12:02 pm

today’s mini is no fun anymore, because expensive and just for the mom & dad rich boy

• NiceJob on Feb 26, 2011 at 6:05 am

P2 pls design n build such car for us..name it as viva tiny…price it like gud old kancil…please?..this is your segment

• Interesting!!! Rear end parking back to back can have one mobile pommel horse. LOL

• i love mini but this,hurm,the tail lights look somewhat odd.
    neither it is useful enough to hang like you hang your jacket at the parlour

• Not as exciting as the new FT-86….
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5JX9UNQt2gA