Next generation Nissan Tiida (Latio) hatchback spotted in China, and it looks good!

It looks like China is the country to look at when it comes to checking out the latest and greatest stuff from Nissan for the average layman (not the expensive stuff like the 370Z, GT-R, etc). The new Nissan Sunny made its world debut in China, and we also saw a revised design for the Nissan Teana. And now we have this, an all-new Nissan Tiida, known as the Nissan Latio in Malaysia.

These images from Chinese website Auto Sohu show a very attractive looking new Nissan Tiida hatchback, whichh has now become a full fledged C-segment vehicle rather the B/C segment car that was the current generation Tiida. Nissan’s B-segment sedan and hatch offerings are now officially the March and the Sunny.

According to Auto Sohu, wheelbase for the new Tiida is now a Sylphy-matching 2,700mm, one of the longest in the C segment, which should translate into decent interior space. I wonder if this look will translate well onto a sedan body. A sedan based on this platform and wheelbase length can be used to replace the Bluebird Sylphy.

Apparently the Latio will also get a hot hatch version powered by the 1.6 litre turbo engine that you can currently find in the Nissan Juke. The MR16DDT makes 188 horsepower and 240Nm of torque, which will transform the new Tiida into an interesting competitor for the likes of the Golf GTI and the Mazda 3 MPS.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=2109]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Vincent on Mar 28, 2011 at 4:00 pm

Har, this one got potential to shake the market here!

• In local market, it might direct compete with Mazda 3 hatchback and pug 308..
      hope the price will slight lower than the rivals then we can get the benefit from it.. =)

• look a bit like 4-door megane hatch :-P

• Vincent on Mar 28, 2011 at 4:01 pm

1.6 liter turbo engine, 188 HP, can blow off 308T or not?

hhehe

• ForteLover on Mar 28, 2011 at 4:41 pm

come on la 188bhp only even Kia forte can smoke this easily….
      this type of design….even a simple old kia sephia looks stunning parking beside this shit….

• bongok on Mar 28, 2011 at 5:01 pm

u are really good in comment, please comment more in future

• khylie on Mar 28, 2011 at 5:55 pm

Jeezzzz…i wonder how many hp does a 1.6 kia forte have???2000??or 126 which is 60 hp less than the new tiida.

• khylie on Mar 28, 2011 at 5:56 pm

i can smell some jealousy from a 1.6 with 126hp forte owner.

• ForteLover on Mar 28, 2011 at 8:51 pm

go google la….there’s a special concept edition of the forte….best in class…

• Vincent on Mar 29, 2011 at 9:07 am

Bro… Concept and special edition ah?

You take this to compare with production car ah? Why don’t take F1 to compare with F430?

Proton campro 1.6 turo charge also hit 200+ hp lar, but the question is, std engine boleh tahan ah? will it break to pieces after 10,000 KM? or it build to last for atleast 300,000 KM?

• lan ciao….my CPS smoke forte in east-west road…

• Vincent on Mar 28, 2011 at 6:06 pm

2.0 also 156hp, 1.6 NA = less than 130 hp…how to taupau?

• You are right! The Forte engine wil come out all smoke if try to match with 188hp Turbo engine, really smoke away~~ haha

• libralcl on Mar 28, 2011 at 7:23 pm

Smelling fishy over here. I doubt the comment is really from Forte lover or Forte hater.

• maybe the forte owner jealous because his car is older 4-speeder while those new owners get 6-speeder…lolz :D

• Alfa male on Apr 10, 2011 at 1:22 pm

Really? In what world? 1.6L with less than 130hp (vs 188hp). The only thing smoking would be your Forte engine trying to keep up

• Looks Good.
    Knowing TC, this time sure hit 100k or cut down some spec…

• ezracopters on Mar 28, 2011 at 4:09 pm

really not bad.. so how much is it in China???

• scoobylution on Mar 28, 2011 at 4:16 pm

the headlamp looks like taken from proton exora

• littlefire on Mar 28, 2011 at 4:39 pm

Are u sure? I tot P1 exora taken from Toyota Wish headlamp design..

• rapidshifter on Mar 28, 2011 at 4:52 pm

whilst I thought like caldina… or mini caldina

• Exora? What the hell is Exora… Nissan Tiida selling all around the world, from North America to Latin America… from Europe to Middle East… from China to Australia… where the hell are you Exora?

• Nissan fans on Mar 29, 2011 at 12:41 pm

Haha…u r really P1 fans.

• accordmania on Mar 28, 2011 at 4:19 pm

frony grill looks very much like lexus is250 while back looks like murano.

• scoobylution on Mar 28, 2011 at 4:19 pm

if this car is in c-segment then where Nissan want to position Sylphy?

• azrai on Mar 28, 2011 at 5:13 pm

Can modified into Renault Megan.

• BN=barang naik on Mar 28, 2011 at 5:19 pm

2.7m wheelbase hatchback??..wowwweeee..its gonna be spacious i tell ya!

• Shaekey on Mar 29, 2011 at 9:42 am

Even the current Latio hatch back is quite spacious at the back… especially when you can slide and tilt the back seat.

• endre on Mar 28, 2011 at 5:23 pm

nice

• tikus on Mar 28, 2011 at 5:41 pm

Tan Chong pls bring this beauty in Bolehland.Sure will sell like hot cake with 1.6 Turbo 188hp.

• they can bring.. but with price 140k..hahaha

• DiscoStick on Mar 28, 2011 at 11:31 pm

most probably they will seize the chance to sell at higher price. the X-grill is the trend, but from side view it does remind me a bit of 308.

• Samurai Malaya on Mar 29, 2011 at 12:19 pm

Sure Tan Chong will bring….until next generation launch.

• ibex7 on Mar 28, 2011 at 5:47 pm

the front tilda’s grille has small resemblance with volvo c30..

• Julian Lee on Mar 28, 2011 at 5:57 pm

ugly, 7-series better

• more toyota than nissan…

• Sparc on Mar 28, 2011 at 6:11 pm

Look a like to Nissan safari partrol

• the headlamps are very big i think. it does not compensate with the front grill and overall design. mcm mata yang terbeliak.

• MonfereBlogspot on Mar 28, 2011 at 6:15 pm

The front is nice, but the back is… Hopefully the sedan will looks better. Btw, why everytime spyshot no interior?

• adrian on Mar 28, 2011 at 6:16 pm

This looks great. It makes it more great with the 1.6 Turbo engine…. Wait for more picture especially interior.

• The front looks like Lexus. Overall, it’s a nice car.

• Come on lah u think ur Kia Engine boleh tahan lama like Nissan ke???

• redboy on Mar 28, 2011 at 6:56 pm

Like Kia the front! its pretty not bad…but..wait, we got so much similar car in here at Proton! Gen2, Neo!! no! PROTONG is the best! dont come here nissan!……

• harry on Mar 28, 2011 at 7:19 pm

nice! luv the design at the back like Nissan Murano style…the front side has a pinch of Volvo and Lexus looks…but Cool!

• shawal on Mar 28, 2011 at 7:20 pm

Looks good, inoffensive , more evolutionary than revolutionary…

• Mr ok on Mar 28, 2011 at 7:43 pm

1.6turbo 188hp woow!!!! If additional a choice of manual trans stick,it would be mre perfect~!! and nissan is always low intrest of loan~!!!!!!!! Nissan,pls bring us manual trans also to malaysia plss~!!!

• need some bodykits on…. I still prefer cheaper Sunny (Most ppl said for Old Man), but for me is Convenient & affortable car Better……..

• tikus on Mar 29, 2011 at 9:49 am

Will make Pug Prince engine looks like pussy..1.6 156hp and Nissan 1.6 188hp.

• sekai no owari on Mar 28, 2011 at 7:51 pm

half sister of renault megane

• mazda fan on Mar 28, 2011 at 8:18 pm

looks like they copied hyundai’s design language

• Car Driver on Mar 28, 2011 at 9:02 pm

Wow! this looks good 1,6Turbo with 188 Hp and 240Nm ( wonder at what Rpm?)..
    will there be a Sedan version just like the Latio in Malaysia? FC should be good with 1.6L.? If this is inexpensive may be serious contender for 2011 Jetta 1,4TSI(122Hp and 200NM) recently launch in Spore..

• yhink on Mar 28, 2011 at 9:42 pm

faster bring in to malaysia to replace the boxy and unattractive latio
    …think

• montana on Mar 28, 2011 at 9:44 pm

errr..look good?????are u serious dude???

• Lim Kopi on Mar 28, 2011 at 10:51 pm

Ok lah, looks wise …. better than the current animal farm design anyway :)

Almost fell off my chair when I read the high horsepower output …. don’t expect that from a Sunny do you ? :)

• DiscoStick on Mar 28, 2011 at 11:36 pm

agreed. 188??? tweak here and there to squeeze that much out ah? 1.6 turbo produces 188horses. reasonable or not?

• happyone on Mar 28, 2011 at 11:10 pm

looks great!!
    the front got a bit looks similar to Volvo S60 for me( just my opinion anyway )
    overall superior enjine n a well designed car
    great job Nissan!

• BeemerFreak on Mar 28, 2011 at 11:36 pm

Dont expect the 188bhp car to arrive on our shores. Tan Chong always think that our nissan buyers are uncles thats why bring in slow and uninteresting cars from nissan.
    Come on TC they have much more nicer race inspired cars like the R35 GTR. Bring it in and let the people decide whether they want to pay for it and can afford the maintenance or not.

Worse still tanchong is always slow in bringing in cars to malaysia and always too pricey(except for th teana and sylphy).

• learner on Mar 29, 2011 at 8:01 am

rear look a bit like scalled down nissan murano.

• Unforgiven on Mar 29, 2011 at 8:08 am

If the price is right, then I believe this is a good buy, for a 2nd car.
    In order for the price is right, maybe we should first remove P1?
    Hopefully they won’t ever rebadge it.

• Sirocco on Mar 29, 2011 at 8:40 am

is it me only or anyone think it looks like sirocco wif the wide base and a narrow bit top?

• tycoon88 on Mar 29, 2011 at 8:51 am

belakang view got vw scirocco DNA lar!

• Nissan fans on Mar 29, 2011 at 9:06 am

Nice design. Hope the sedan and interior will looked better. For 1.6 car with nice design, and the pricing maintain at RM85K – RM95K, it can sell well in here.

• LatiOoO on Mar 29, 2011 at 9:56 am

No sedan version. New Sunny will replace it.

• Nissan fans on Mar 29, 2011 at 11:54 am

Icic, no wonder the new sunny front view looked like this new Tiida front view.

• looks way better than the current latio

• LatiOoO on Mar 29, 2011 at 9:35 am

Interior spyshot
    http://www.autoincar.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/12/nissan-tiida-2012-china-4.jpg

• waterman on Mar 29, 2011 at 10:29 am

instead of turbo, i wish they come out with they Hybrid version.

• Hafidz on Mar 29, 2011 at 11:16 am

why when i look at this car..reminds me of some design cue lines from Lexus ct200h? maybe my eyes..

• Nissan fans on Mar 29, 2011 at 11:59 am

This car looked like VW scirocco + Peugeot 308 + Lexus ct200h.

• hexagon on Mar 29, 2011 at 12:13 pm

akhirnya… nissan pandai juga design bagus2..haha

• kambing on Mar 29, 2011 at 12:30 pm

wah better than current latio.. please bring it in malaysia, sure selling like hot cakes.. latio gile buruk… (sorry latio owners, its real truth what)

• WIRA VR4 on Mar 29, 2011 at 12:49 pm

Yay a Myvi killer!

Proton must rebadge it and just sell it below 60k

• Unforgiven on Mar 29, 2011 at 4:59 pm

Remove the protection and sell it for 55k, no need to rebadge, anytime give you the original badge…

• c14man on Mar 29, 2011 at 1:47 pm

is it my eyes or the colour or the headlamps, that this Latio looks somewhat like Volvo S60?
    Anyway, nice design.. guess it will sell well here given the right price and specs… =)

• bunnybiru on Mar 29, 2011 at 2:06 pm

front looks like Lexus CT200h

• gotoDMC on Mar 29, 2011 at 3:10 pm

Nice! When is the this and the sedan model coming out?
    TAN CHONG please act quickly and make these models available in the Malaysian market! Pretty please?

• Autopinoy on Mar 29, 2011 at 9:52 pm

Cant wait to see this launched this April. Has similarities with the Mazda3 which is good. Id buy one if properly priced. Nissan needs to bring out something to excite the market. This car’s clean design will attract a lot of buyers.

• Jimmy on Mar 29, 2011 at 10:24 pm

As usual, never want to improve, C-segment haha, mmm, lacks something, I think it is telescopic steering.
    Still 1695mm in width?
    BTW do you know which Jap D-segment is paling KURUS in Malaysia? It is…… you know le.

• Mr ok on Apr 05, 2011 at 2:04 am

Manual trans stick pls pls pls

• L@n@ng on Apr 19, 2011 at 4:34 pm

this is nice looking car, inside & outside…in term of power, i like!!!
    bring it here ETCM!!