Honda Msia: Insight waiting period now less than 1 month

The Honda Insight hybrid has made quite an impact in the market, and is now a regular sight on Klang Valley streets. In the six months since its launch, Honda Malaysia sold over 3,000 units of the RM99,800 hybrid, a figure that exceeds 75% of the company’s annual target for the model.

This overwhelming response, plus the earthquake and tsunami disaster that hit Japan, meant that the CBU Japan Insight had a waiting period of two to three months long. The shortage of supply and delay in delivery even caused dealers to stop taking orders from April till May. However, production in Japan has recovered since June, and Honda Malaysia says that the waiting period has been trimmed to less than one month.

“Insight emerged as a popular choice among the Green customers as it arrived in Malaysia at the right time at the right price. Thanks to the Government, both import and excise duty are exempted, thus making Insight more affordable,” said Yoichiro Ueno, MD and CEO of Honda Malaysia.

The company also revealed that it has plans to “expand its hybrid variety by end of the year”. Could we take this to mean that the Honda CR-Z is coming soon? Stay tuned!

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• squall_shinoda on Aug 11, 2011 at 4:01 pm

Looks like it’s a good news for those who have waited long enough for the Insight. Better grab one before the AP for the Insight runs out.

• sadasd on Aug 11, 2011 at 4:35 pm

nobody wants it

• …..a figure that exceeds 75% of the company’s annual target for the model….
        …..Insight emerged as a popular choice among the Green customers as it arrived in Malaysia…..
        Can you please read what Danny writes before comment? Lazy imbesile.

• wow, u can read, but cannot comprehend the idea behind it, pity, u failed spm right?

from where paultan get the figure of 1000unit left? from honda? why paultan run this ? this is clearly an advertisement!!!!

hey, there is still 1000 unit left, grab while you can, before we give it a huge discount at the end of the year!!! this is the worst selling honda product!!! hey hey, buy la paultan reader and cyber trooper.

Quote insight bla bla bla green bla bla bla, yea, good good, you can read the brouchure, wow, you pick your gf from a catalogue?

your last word shows you are an frustruated honda salesman(most prob you paid for this ad) and you truely kiss arse, loyal supporter then?

hey, has prius hit annual target? civic? city? accord? why only 4000?

( i know gomen only give 4000ap, good, spare you the shame of giving huge discount then) and still cannot sell it all? why city/accord have 3 months waiting but prius CBU no need 2 months? cos malaysian arent stupid after all, maybe except you.

hardworking imbesile, lol. try to learn Comprehension will you?

oh, spm no good, then cannot hit target this month, kena screwed by boss…good good, remember to use the lube ok?

• hunterhead on Aug 12, 2011 at 4:24 am

you need a doctor?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 0
          • Hahaha the reality make you butt hurt. Start to accuse others like a crying baby, look at your comment:
            -u failed spm right?
            – why paultan run this ? this is clearly an advertisement!!!!
            – you are an frustruated honda salesman
            -you pick your gf from a catalogue?

Your talk is so emotion and baseless, what a nincompooq.

Your comment really show that your are like a crying kid when they lost their toys.
            Cry baby cry….

• sadasd on Oct 02, 2011 at 3:12 pm

give me back my toy!!! stop sticking it into your arse!!

• no body wants it? i wonder if no body want it, then why almost everyday i saw this car?

• Farid on Aug 12, 2011 at 11:38 am

Troll is trolling guys… just ignore it…

• maliq on Aug 12, 2011 at 6:06 am

lets not talk about how cool or cheap or fuel economy this car. lets talk about the reliability.. i owned a civic hybrid.. after 1 year over using it, suddenly the IMA light appear. battery of my IMA needed to be changed.. it will cost me RM15,000 to do so, the car is not cheap, it does save me on petrol, but if i have to spend that much, it better off if i go with the normal honda no need “hybrid”. the battery seems to have problem with the weather and temperature here in malaysia. I heard some other people have the same problem, especially the once that use their car regularly, (thats the point of buying car). Look, im not the people that come and simply tell bad things about other things, im just telling a true story what i experience.

• You have bad luck, go and see a fortune teller. If you are bad luck any car brand will be the same, even if you buy the most reliable car like Toyota.

• its still on warranty rite….no need pening head

• maliq on Aug 14, 2011 at 12:03 am

it is still on warranty, but when i send it over, they say that it has no problem.. what the hell? the thing already show that there’s something wrong with the ima.. they keep on saying theres software update problem thingy.. now the car lost power and i used to get 23 km/l.. now, the best i could get is about 15.3km/l.. whats the point then? better if i just drive a normal car.. normal non-hybrid car can do that kind of fuel consumption.

• nationalist on Aug 14, 2011 at 10:46 pm

some notes:
      – the insight is an international model, unlike the city which is an asean make, so it shows in refinement and attention to detail.
      – the front grille you see in the picture and s not available in malaysia.
      – the sales people tell you the car can do 700 km on a full tank, maybe on a highway, city driving you get 500km only, which is still not bad, but the sales people should not tell half truths like this.
      – the back can seat 2 only – THERE IS A HUGE BUMP IN THE MIDDLE, the sales people should tell you this but they keep quiet.
      – honda service intervals is 5,000km, not 10,000km like most modern cars, this can add up in costs and time spent sending the car for servicing
      – in econ mode, the aircon shuts down on idle, this is ok at night, but not practical under the hot afternoon sun (you can override this)
      – spare parts costs are astronomical
      – the prius costs some rm 40k more, but is more advanced in that the electric motor is an equal to the petrol engine, while with insight, the electric motor is an assistant (too technical to go into detail here).
      – overall: ok if you want to be trendy, not ok if you looking to save money.

• San Peng Rock on Aug 11, 2011 at 4:06 pm

From KL to Port Dickson only just RM5.00 of fuel for Hybrid model? WOW!!! Jimat jimat

• vw_fan on Aug 11, 2011 at 4:46 pm

I doubt you can get there with RM5 even with a hybrid. Cycle better, no need petrol and good exercise.

• So, are you cycle all the time to get good exercise for a trip distance like from KL to Port Dickson?
        Talk is cheap, if you can not do that, that don’t ask others to do.

• iamisiamwhatiam on Aug 11, 2011 at 6:43 pm

And don’t ask to go to PD on RM5 using Honda Hybrid.

• ko malu saje... on Aug 15, 2011 at 12:54 am

It is possible to travel from KL to Port Dickson with only RM 5 on a Honda…. Honda EX-5!

• insightfully_me on Aug 11, 2011 at 5:28 pm

Kl – PD – About 90 km
      RM5.00 fuel – About 2.63 liter of RON97 (RM1.90/liter)
      Thus, the fuel consumption = 34.2km/liter or 2.9 L/100km)

From website:
      “The Insight earned an EPA fuel economy estimate of 70 miles per US gallon (3.4 L/100 km; 84 mpg-imp) in highway driving”.

I believe more than RM5.00 worth of fuel is required to drive from KL to PD =P
      About RM6.00 la =P

• did you know about hypermiling techniques

• squall_shinoda on Aug 11, 2011 at 8:56 pm

That figure is for the 1st-gen Insight which is the 2-door car that can only carry 2 adults. Even the current Prius still cannot tapau the old Insight. Anyhow, the old Insight took extreme measures to achieve that figure such as the all-aluminium body which is normally associated with Honda / Acura NSX.

• Carl Wong on Aug 12, 2011 at 10:44 pm

The first every Insight which came out more than 10 years ago will remain as a running legend for the absolute highest fuel efficiency…!!!

• 4G63T DSM on Aug 11, 2011 at 4:07 pm

I would really be interested to see real world fuel consumption numbers compared with Honda’s own City 1.5.

Test drove both and while the Insight has a better interior (the City just looks criminally cheap) and quieter, the City affords much better interior space and boot space….not to mention cheaper and without future hybrid system worries.

Unless fuel hits $3+/L I can’t really justify the Insight over the City. Or is it just me?

Also, you wont realise the Insights best fuel economy without engaging its “ECO” mode, which unfortunately shuts off the engine and the corresponding A/C compressor on stops. Not a problem for temperate climates, but here, sitting at a long light or jam with only the fan is blooody uncomfortable. This car really needs very good tint given the sizeable glass area and start/stop.

• Imran on Aug 11, 2011 at 4:32 pm

i think the A/C compressor still on even though the engine shuts off unlike the previous civic hybrid

• squall_shinoda on Aug 11, 2011 at 8:59 pm

Nope, the hybrid aircond compressor is only for the 2nd-gen Civic Hybrid which is based on the 8th-gen Civic. The current Insight only uses the normal compressor.

• Wisdom on Aug 11, 2011 at 4:57 pm

City average combined mileage is slightly above 4xxkm while Insight can easily touch 6xxkm per 30 liters.

U can choose whether to worry about fuel cost tomorrow, or Insight battery that cost merely 6K and proven can last 10 years (even in egypt=hot). The key is to consistently drive it so it will charge/discharge and the battery will last longer.

Work out the cost per km, Insight cost 13cents/km (including battery cost) while City 1round 16cents/km.

AC operation is depend on you whether its still comfortable enough to hold auto-stop, or just pull handbrake and release the brake pedal.

On top of that, its quieter, the aircond knob is not like City’s rice cooker inspired, and all the gadget (auto cruise, auto wiper, auto lights, USB etc u name it) at slightly below 10K premium over City.

I think its worth it….

Forgot. Its CBU Japan.

• city_conscious on Aug 11, 2011 at 5:20 pm

I was considering Insight for my new car purchase as for me, it is really a value-for-money car since the Government abolished the duties on hybrid cars. Just compare the prices of Insight and City in Langkawi. Insight costs RM91,800 while City costs RM62,480 (Grade E) only! But I was disappointed with the rear interior space and headroom in Insight. As I was looking for a family car, I ended up buying City. If not for the small interior space, I would have bought Insight for sure.

• taboogen on Aug 11, 2011 at 4:12 pm

i wonder when they will start recall insight… ps: why all hybrid must be weird looking… pruis.. weird.. nissan leaf.. even weider…

• hunterhead on Aug 11, 2011 at 5:39 pm

weird looking then need to recall?your thinking kinda weird….guess you’ll have to…?

• Carl Wong on Aug 11, 2011 at 5:49 pm

Their shape must be aerodynamic with a low drag coefficient to maximize fuel efficiency.

• squall_shinoda on Aug 11, 2011 at 9:00 pm

Weird you say…? Most hybrid cars aim to get the best aerodynamics as possible to aid fuel efficiency.

• fkbeng on Aug 13, 2011 at 10:21 pm

anyone seen before an AH BENG putting some high spoiler at the back of an insight..the car looks damm beng…

saw one before white color ..number plate 90++ something the AH BENG driver wearing aviator glasses and a blond hair LALA LIAN sitting beside him..

• Anybody watched a movie called dillemma? The guy design a muscle car complete with fierce sound but using a hybrid engine. I knowit just a movie but kinda like the idea. Normal design car but with a hybrid engine

• VW_fans on Aug 11, 2011 at 4:16 pm

Does this mean our Government gonna extend the the tax incentives? Coz if not I don’t think Honda going to launch few hybrid models!

• Expatriate VN on Aug 11, 2011 at 4:19 pm

CR-Z, can consider to buy if price less than RM 120K

• VoidDance on Aug 11, 2011 at 4:36 pm

I see this car almost everyday now. One thing that irritate me is that almost all Insight drivers tend to drive their car quite fast, more than 110km/h. How is that going to help with your fuel consumption?

• treblecase on Aug 11, 2011 at 5:37 pm

It’s the same with most motorist in Malaysia. One of the first thing they ask before purchasing a vehicle would be the fuel consumption. Satisfied with the answer, they buy the vehicle and then the next thing you know, they are revving it at the traffic light stop wishing there’s launch control in the vehicle before spinning their tyres and defying the manufacturer’s 0-100kph rating just to be the first to reach the next traffic light.

And of course, exceeding the highway speed limit each time they hit it. Fuel economy? Pahh..that’s for sissies!

• hunterhead on Aug 11, 2011 at 5:41 pm

so true…they are driving them fast…..

• Hybrid petrol? Waste of money!

Can’t wait for hybrid diesel… then only save fuel (diesel is cheaper) and money (less electronics).

• squall_shinoda on Aug 12, 2011 at 4:01 pm

Who says hybrid diesel has less electronics…? All new vehicles, petrol and diesel, have plenty of electronics to ensure optimum power output but at the same time saves fuel and produces less pollutants.

• LatukBandar on Aug 12, 2011 at 12:05 pm

U can bring a boy out of the village, but u can’t bring the village out of the boy. Malaysian mentality… need many more years to change, perhaps a few more generation.

• Wisdom on Aug 16, 2011 at 10:46 am

I think its okay for them coz they are doing 120km/h@18km per liter…..

• I_Want_Your_Nookie on Aug 11, 2011 at 6:11 pm

only 100 CR-Z will b brought in from the land of the rising sun.110k-115k.so start savin ya’ll!!!

• Tlc811 on Aug 11, 2011 at 11:54 pm

In most countries where the crz is available it’s pricing is marginally more than the insight so should translate to about rm105k? In US top spec model about USD20k so about rm60k which Honda Malaysia should theoretically be able to match since it’s exempt from import duties?Even in UK about GBP19k but their sales tax is 20% so about rm80k?

• This is a super “Hot Cake” car, can easily beat Forte if not becoz of the Tsunami in Japan.

Hope the Govt would allow hybrid car to continue be tax free permanently

• can u give me a reason how can this beat forte?

because it is smaller? and less space? and ugly?

oh wait, must be the blue LED then?

come on, its for girls, and its for bean counter(who is cheap and cant count) or a fake environmentalist. .

at this price, buy a city, and keep the rm7500 for extra petrol needed on a city.

• van hohenheim on Aug 11, 2011 at 7:23 pm

wow, crz coming!! cant wait counting day

• cheng on Aug 11, 2011 at 8:17 pm

good car but it is the most expensive car to maintain at Honda Malaysia. You can refer to Honda malaysia web site.

I think the parts are also not cheap because they are all import from jap… Some waited for weeks to change the windscreen.

And one owner had to pay 2k to change the aircond compressor because some rocks hit the compressor.

it looks nice but a bit risky for high maintenance, parts availability and future second hand value.

• Joker The Great on Aug 13, 2011 at 8:18 pm

Rear lamp, one side only cost you RM950 in June 2011

• bongek on Aug 14, 2011 at 11:25 pm

anybody who had bought rear lamp or any lamp for honda city or other latest honda model recently? we need comparison…

• E FULL on Aug 11, 2011 at 9:16 pm

Feewwiitttt!!! Soo nice.

• khaix19a on Aug 12, 2011 at 12:27 am

.wonder will fisker karma available in malaysia.

• squall_shinoda on Aug 12, 2011 at 9:16 am

The major problem is of course the infrastructure – the charging stations. Charging by our normal 13A plugs will take an overnight to fully charge an electric car. Fast charging requires a different industry-standard plug that is capable to withstand such a huge current, perhaps 3-phase electricity is needed. But still, the time required to fully charge the car is still much longer than filling a full tank of petrol.

When the demand for electricity is higher due to more demand of electric cars, of course more power plants are needed to be built. But then, it will only benefit those IPPs because they can simply sell the electricity to TNB at a ridiculously high price, which can be translated to higher electricity tariff hike.

• sfssd on Aug 15, 2011 at 6:50 pm

We are using 3-phase electricity, that’s why we get AC electricity to our home, because it’s alternating phase of electric from the generator.

I think what you mean is the infrastructure must be able to handle rapid increase in electrical LOAD.

• Carl Wong on Aug 12, 2011 at 2:10 am

That is quite amazing, much shorter time compared to the CKD models for a better quality CBU from Japan…!!! No import tax means you’re paying the minimum to the G. As someone mentioned the only compromise is the slightly smaller space in the rear seats and trunk. The new Civic Hybrid don’t have this problem, with smaller and lighter Lithium Ion batteries.

• BN=barang naik on Aug 12, 2011 at 7:34 am

so in real world is it really fuel saving??..full tank with constant 90km/h drive with aircond on can give how much mileage??..any owners want to comment?

• Kaka k, read between the line “Sales Figure” breathing on Forte neck.
    U must be jocking, Insight quality is light year ahead of City.

• vincent on Aug 12, 2011 at 10:41 am

Funny to see how Malaysians priotize things.
    Better FC like this one = Ultra light chassis and Hybrid small engine. Think about it, your safety is more important or FC?

• Carl Wong on Aug 12, 2011 at 10:39 pm

This car is one of the safest on the road in the class. Full 5 stars for the Euro NCAP crash test.

• Please find out properly, is it Euro NCAP or Japan NCAP?? Nowadays, most Japs car were not sent for Euro test bcoz they know they will fail certainly, so they set a new standard Japan NCAP(lower grade)

• Carl Wong on Aug 19, 2011 at 12:24 am

It is indeed the Euro NCAP, it’s on their website, and some videos on youtube too, check them out :].

• inspirasi on Oct 02, 2011 at 3:14 pm

bull, this car has less airbags, so ncap rating is different

• Carl Wong on Dec 01, 2011 at 8:26 pm

Yes for side impact maybe but it’s still one of the safest car in the segment, much better than national cars and most people drive national cars.

• Khairul on Aug 12, 2011 at 10:59 am

I am the user of Insight, got it back at the end of March. I am using it for travelling to work. It around 90km/day. 70% of the time, I will in ECON mode because no need to rush. I’ve been tracking the fuel consumption since then. The cost is between 10 to 11 cents per kilometer depends on whether there is heavy traffic jam or not. If everyday is smooth, I can get 10 cents per kilometer of 19km/liter. Usually, I can get 550km for 32 liters of RON95. Means around 10.6 cent/kilometer. For me, the ride is good in city and highway. The shape is like that because to get lower drag coeficient which improve fuel consumption. RPM at 120km/h at highway is 2500. It is a little bit over than my Sylphy which is 2350. The cost from KL to Alor Star is RM40 for RON95. Overall, for me It is worth buying car.

• Whatever it is, NOTHINGS BEATS Honda eX5!

With RM5.00 only you can travel across Klang Valley in its heaviest traffic jam and still have some reserve in the tank!

• Parasolx on Aug 13, 2011 at 6:13 am

Hahaha… This omment really the best comment i ever heard.. Keep comment bro!

• Why dont u say “Whatever it is, NOTHINGS BEATS walking!” Or “Whatever it is, NOTHINGS BEATS staying at home!”

Cost nothing.

Adoyai….

• Wisdom on Aug 16, 2011 at 11:06 am

Yamaha FZ150i (injection) have better FC than EX5.

• Joker The Great on Aug 13, 2011 at 8:14 pm

Break our previous record again..
    Travelled from North to Klang Valley last week
    1 tank RM69 @ 36.3L petrol = 680km…
    Amazing… Its awesome mileage i never get from others car…

Petrol spent is less than Highway Toll…….

• sleevesshop on Aug 14, 2011 at 9:31 am

design is ok but it looks like the IMA still got problems. for me, honda is not as good as before n it is over price.

• Joker The Great on Aug 14, 2011 at 7:23 pm

When can i get the Mugen skirting?…..

• continental on Aug 14, 2011 at 10:24 pm

I feel that the design of the car is ok considering it’s a hybrid and the not-so-nice curves are part of the aerodynamics towards better efficiency…

Anyone seen before a white colour insight with some high spoiler at the back…looks like a “beng-up” version of insight…

I think the ahbeng don’t know what hybrid cars and aerodynamics are all about..

• oleoresin on Aug 15, 2011 at 7:18 pm

Pelik tul….. Bila ada tax, komplen. Bila tax dah exampted, komplen benda lain pulak. Dah datang CBU Japan pun tak puas hati. Cuba if CKD Malaysia or Thailand. Komplen plak kenapa tak CBU Japan. Hilang akal?

Toyota fanboys, beli je prius. Tak yah jerit2, ngaku konon dah beli dan bagi fakta nampak betul. Bentuk keta pelik? Haa…. tu tanda ko tu kurang ilmu.

Those sapa2 yg tak mampu beli hybrid, usah komplen2. Pakai je Honda EX5 tuh. Tak mampu jgn ckp mcm expert sgt.

• Wisdom on Aug 16, 2011 at 11:16 am

Toyota fanboy might be getting disappointed coz their ‘father’ give them a bloody expensive hybrid even after tax reduction. Greedy UMW and the fanboy still hails them. Even funnier, with that RM140K hybrid, u get 15 inch ugly, plastic cover alloy wheels…..

Honda fanboy seems luckier this time around……