Volkswagen Polo GTI brochure uploaded on microsite

UPDATE: Volkswagen Polo GTI launched in Sepang – read our full launch story.

Check it out (there’s a full screen view) – Volkswagen has uploaded the brochure for the upcoming Volkswagen Polo GTI on its Volkswagen Das Auto Show Bukit Jalil event microsite. We’re not sure if this is the finalized specs but from what we can see, the are both 3-door and 5-door bodies listed – does this mean you’ll be able to get the Polo GTI in both 3 door and 5 door versions?

Other specs listed include an 180 PS 1.4 litre TSI engine, a 7-speed DSG gearbox, cruise control, RCD 310 audio with MP3 and USB support, sports seats, bi-xenon headlamps with LED daytime running lights, 17 inch Detroit style wheels with 215/40R17 tyres, a sunroof, 6 airbags, ESP stability control, XDS electronic differential, and rain sensor wipers.

The Volkswagen Das Auto Show is a big event in Bukit Jalil where the public will be able to learn more about the brand as well as its car offerings and the technologies employed such as TSI engine downsizing and DSG dual clutch transmissions.

Volkswagen sells cars with premium price tags so far – cars like the popular Golf GTI and Passat CC. When the CKD cars are launched, entry into the brand is going to become more affordable so this a good move for Volkswagen to get the general public familiarized.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• The VW SA told me the first batch of Polo GTI is sold out! Such a hot cake. And the next shipment is Feb 2012, OMG!

And yes, VW SA said both 3 & 5 drs will be offerred.

• Milton on Aug 24, 2011 at 6:32 pm

SOO loving it!!!

• Anyone know the price of 4doors?

• price?

• I love VW ! below 138k can get a powerful with high performance car is so amazing!no one can beat VW i mean hot hatch cars!

• Driving Hell on Aug 24, 2011 at 9:15 pm

People who “love” VWs are usually those who have yet to buy one. Those who already own a VW for some time and have had their car develop a problem will no longer adore VWs. After you’ve had to deal with VWM, you’ll hate the marque. And if you’re “blessed” enough to have bought the car from Wearnes, oh my! Hell will seem like a pretty nice place to be.

• Alamak on Aug 25, 2011 at 8:17 pm

I m a VW owner driving mk5 GTI since 2008. In 3 years I clocked 98356km, drives my GTI so hard that I have to change my tyres every 9 months and I had problem twice. Pcv valve and some turbo valve. Both took half day to fix. No issue.

My cousin had it worse with his BMW that half it’s lifespan in workshop due to parts!!

• I seriously doubt Driving Hell is an owner.

• maserati on Aug 24, 2011 at 8:10 pm

Rm 138,888 price comfirmed

• 138k? The SA told me 132k for 3 dr, 135k for 5 dr, excl. insurance

• jtiongwl78 on Aug 26, 2011 at 12:32 am

NAP is the one who make it expansive. Otherwise it shall be around half of the price mentioned above.

• drMpower on Aug 24, 2011 at 8:12 pm

this is great news
    now we can stop a bit about complaining how poor choices we got in this part of the world and how screwed our life are that we cant get decent vehicles at all

• VGM too lazy if not stingy. Even Hyundai/Inokom, Kia never hesitate to offer proper brochures of their lineups when our VW merely have few pages leaflet!

• Why do you need more when a few pages is enough to convince people to buy….while the other marque needs more pages to impress what is not so impressive to some. Unless you’re more into collecting car catalogues…..

• Lovely more affordable hot hatch from VW …..

What about the after sales service ? Alot of VW owners complaining ….. care to elaborate. Some say worse than Naza …

• Roffle on Aug 24, 2011 at 8:28 pm

The new VW Polo GTI has bad review in UK. Especially for handling where Skoda Fabia better than VW Polo GTI.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mkqPqScj3EM

• M0Faz on Aug 24, 2011 at 11:21 pm

If handling is all, Proton would sell like hot cakes anywhere…

But still, this Polo is way overpriced here.

• jtiongwl78 on Aug 26, 2011 at 12:34 am

The overpriced issue is due to the silly NAP implement by our government in order to protect stupid and mouse ( Proton and Perodua )

• Who cares?i still in love with Polo GTI for that price range!in Malaysia Polo sales is still better than the Skoda!

• trustme on Aug 25, 2011 at 12:19 am

Roffle: I wonder if you can even properly comprehend the English language. In which part of the video that you’ve linked actually say that the Polo GTI is “bad”?

The summary was: The Polo GTI is the most desirable, The Ibiza was the most extroverted, and Fabia has best value for money.

• Roffle on Aug 25, 2011 at 5:16 pm

Trustme: Get the facts straight I’m mention about handling, the reviewer said that Skoda more better handling than VW Polo GTI and he choose to buy Skoda over Polo.

• TurboMan on Aug 25, 2011 at 12:28 am

UK car market is not protected.

So for the price of an Audi A4 in Malaysia, they can afford an S5 with superb acceleration and handling. For the price of an Inspira, they can get a golf GTI.

They are a spoilt for choices. Hence, they are used to certain qualities in their cars. Wonder how Jeremy Clarkson would be if he was born in Malaysia.

On the other hand, for us Malaysians, a car that can do 6.9 sec sprint to 100 at RM140k is considered a bargain and it should outhandle and outpower most if not all stock cars below RM140k in Malaysia. ( I mean stock cars, so don come and tell us their modded satria can tapao Polo gti or even ferraris )

Not to mention the income level in Malaysia, that Rm140k polo GTI is the performance dream car many will be able to finally afford.

• Landen on Aug 24, 2011 at 8:44 pm

Hope the VW Malaysia don’t have such problem with DSG
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9oKRLNjsoXg

• In M’sia Polo sales is still better than the Skoda any day!we trust the brand over handling!and VW own Skoda!

• thomlee on Aug 25, 2011 at 12:03 am

Official Price List from Volkswagen Malaysia.

For 3 doors:

Nett Selling Price: RM 132,888.00
    On-The-Road Price (including insurance): RM 133,608.00

For 5 doors:

Nett Selling Price: RM135,888.00
    On-The-Road Price (including insurance): RM 136,608.00

All units are CBU.

• lonelyobserve on Aug 25, 2011 at 12:59 am

So what if there is no import and excise duties on cars? The price of Polo GTI is about:

3-door:

Nett selling price: RM64823.41

5-door:

Nett selling price: RM66286.83

This just estimated figures directly divided by the percentage of import and excise duties imposed.

• TurboMan on Aug 25, 2011 at 2:02 am

Im curious how did you get those figures?

In UK, a polo GTI goes for around 18k GBP. That translates to roughly RM90k.

• dodgeviper88 on Aug 25, 2011 at 2:51 am

If i’m not mistaken UK has 20% VAT on it.

• lonelyobserve on Aug 25, 2011 at 6:50 am

That’s included with taxes. The basic recommended retail price (no VAT) in UK is around 15100 GBP to 15600 GBP. Pricelist can be obtained from VM UK.

• MCdog on Aug 25, 2011 at 9:23 am

Welcome to bolehland, we need to hire more people to fix a bulb in Putrajaya ma haha.

• Realist on Aug 25, 2011 at 2:06 am

Why are people still crying over tax dumped on foreign cars? It’s the way it has been and is the way it will be for a long time.

Deal with it.

• lonelyobserve on Aug 25, 2011 at 8:29 am

So you want to increase your household so much until your children continue to pay for you? Moreover, those extra tax collected is it really fully utilised for the benefits of the rakyat?

• jtiongwl78 on Aug 26, 2011 at 12:46 am

Debts are too many currently. Or else, you can do some investment to make your next generation live better.

• BeemerFreak on Aug 25, 2011 at 8:35 am

You must be from the government. Hey the taxes are supposed to be used for improving the country and not just endlessly going into our ministers and macc pocket.

It is the right of the people to get rid of tax abusers. So you go and deal with it while the rest of us makes sure that the tax is either reduced or fall into a government that can spend it well to improve the economy, infrastructure and safety of the country

• lonelyobserve on Aug 25, 2011 at 10:48 am

Please think carefully what you are saying. You think people bashing car taxes are pro-G?

• jtiongwl78 on Aug 26, 2011 at 12:43 am

I think people who bashing car tax are not pro-G, as they are hoping that G can review or even void NAP, which imposed taxes on imported cars, as well as certain percentage on national car. He is chasing and urging the G to make cars to be more affordable. Think about it, if the car have no tax, you will get a better car at cheaper price. Don’t you?

Or you have too many cash, or very resources full money, that can allow you to spend it just like spending the toilet paper? If it is like this, I would be grateful if you could share some with me.

Thank you.

• MCdog on Aug 25, 2011 at 9:19 am

Poor Malaysians ;-)

• TurboMan on Aug 25, 2011 at 9:42 am

Good for you.

You can deal with it.

• seancorr on Aug 25, 2011 at 4:34 am

The brochure is crap. Any idea if this comes with electronic seats, front parking sensors and side mirror with curb view or ambience lightning in the interior?

How about option to add leather seats or a GPS system in it since its a premium car.

Also I’ve been hearing horror stories from VW owners who bought from VWM. From sales people attitude to after sales service. Any owners care to elaborate on that? Honestly this is the only reason why I dare not touch VW cars. The ownership experience doesn’t stop after u purchase the car.

• Dabad on Aug 25, 2011 at 8:10 am

Everyone is bz bs’ing about tax and they didn’t see that the Polo GTI comes with a panaromic sunglass roof!

• labuyot on Aug 25, 2011 at 8:15 am

kalu la partnership proton-VW jadi…dpt la aku merasa TSI turbo+supercharge…tp diorang xde jodoh nampaknye huhuhu….

• cheng on Aug 25, 2011 at 8:40 am

such a small car…

• fariz on Aug 25, 2011 at 9:14 am

I read in Top Gear, they said this car handling is nowhere near that of a Golf GTi, which is a bit of a let down, really…

• matsatay on Aug 25, 2011 at 12:44 pm

maybe because the price is nowhere near that of a Golf GTI! it is already as fast as golf gti at LESS than 2/3 the price. what more do you expect?

• Pologise on Aug 25, 2011 at 9:52 am

I have bought my Polo TSi back in 2010. The car is good. If it launches GTi at the same time, i would have considered GTi. TSi spec is just insufficient to experience VW technologies.

But in term of service and petrol consumtion, I would recon togo with TSi, it is undoubtly a great urban car.

Just my little POV if you would consider a Polo. :)

• seamaster on Aug 25, 2011 at 11:44 am

Can you roughly share what is the petrol consumption of your polo tsi? e.g: xx km per litre

• me..average around 7.2L/100km..and thats going KL- shah alam everyday with all the jams.. much better than my previous saga blm which averaged 8.7L/100km..

• kronfeld7 on Sep 20, 2011 at 9:06 pm

im getting roughly 6.5L/100km, daily commute Kota Kemuning to MidValley. Tuh pon dah masuk merempit once in a while :P

• idaho on Aug 25, 2011 at 10:20 am

Have seen it in one of the showroom and the price is quite interesting. The price also indicates one thing if you compare it against the Golf GTI. Normally, if the car is quite good and reputable then the price will sit closer the famous Golf GTI.

Do some further research then you will find a lot of publication will tell you that the only thing you are buying the ability to go fast. Still cannot beat the class leader like the Fiesta zetec S and Renaultsport clio.

Then again, Malaysian will be Malaysian. The ability to go fast will eclipse the rest….

• Cannot “beat class leader” in what context?

• matsatay on Aug 25, 2011 at 12:57 pm

If the ability to go fast will eclipse the rest… all Malaysians will buy proton and put turbocharger, supercharger, rechip.. etc .. cheaper options to go fast!
      When you buy a polo gti, not only you buy the ability to go fast but also the the ability to have low fuel cost. There is no sub 7 sec car with better fuel consumption than polo gti at ANY GIVEN PRICE in Malaysia!

• jackson on Aug 25, 2011 at 10:21 am

wonder if the specs list for the 3 door is the same as the 5 door. hope the only difference is the number of doors.

• Wait till the DSG breaks down la…lol

• I also noticed that the brochure for Polo (non GTI) is not the same as the one published in the VWM official site. This one comes with RCD310, 17″ rim, fog lights, etc..any idea if the Polo price will be revised?

• Khoikoi on Aug 26, 2011 at 10:40 am

Booked my polo GTI yehaa

• Kevin Kaze on Aug 29, 2011 at 2:59 am

Do they have option to spec up to a electronic aircon? Whats their optimistic delivery date they given you? Should be 9-12months now.

• Lovely cute car. I like it although it’s expensive.

• Renault Cliosport = RM200k ?
    Polo GTI = 135k ?

In UK Renault is cheaper or similar price (+ – options).

Just to ponder