Honda City facelift brochure leaked ahead of Thai launch

It seems like Honda is ready to roll out a facelifted City soon! These brochure scans recently appeared on Indian Autos Blog, and were said to have been sent to them from Thailand. The scans show a Thai brochure featuring a red hero car with the tagline “Always Ahead”.

Up front, there are slight changes to the grille design (bigger gaps in the side sections), which remains instantly recognisable as a City. The whole bumper is new, changing from the current U shape to an X shape. This trick was also used in the current facelifted Camry.

The seven double spoke design wheels seen here are also new. However, it is for the Thai SV spec (highest), although both V and S grades also get freshly designed rims.

At the back, the City’s unique tail lamps come in a new design featuring two clear stripes, and there’s a new lower bumper incorporating a diffuser style insert painted in black, with reflectors on each side. Inside, everything looks the same, except for the dials, which looks to be accented in blue. The current dials are lit in orange.

The current gen Honda City was launched here back in early 2009, so it’ll be three years old soon. Time for a refresher, so perhaps we could be looking at a Malaysian launch of this facelifted version late this year or early 2012.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• sekali pandang, the back part looks like Proton Saga. maybe because of the tail lamps.

• Feast on Sep 21, 2011 at 11:33 am

Exactly…Honda is going retro now…back to the 80’s. Remind me of all the 80’s cars…

• inspirasi on Sep 21, 2011 at 11:36 am

wow!!! cool, new rims….

and…..and….thats all.

• kington on Sep 21, 2011 at 2:11 pm

Yes, in terms of facelifts these days, there isn;t much to expect from Honda & Toyota these days, except for the recent one they did for the Altis which saw the new engine and gearbox aside from cosmetical changes.

Still i guess Toyota realized that the old trusty VVT-i mated with the Super ECT gearbox had to make way since everyone is offering no less than 5 gears, be it a CVT or regular box.

• LittleFire on Sep 21, 2011 at 3:05 pm

new rims like INSPIRA rims..

• pokyah on Sep 21, 2011 at 4:39 am

mcm sama jer

• Leseid Obrut on Sep 21, 2011 at 6:24 am

meh…

• it still looks the same too me~

• jaa_dat on Sep 21, 2011 at 9:10 am

cheap car…look like a taxi in Thailand. Crap car with truncated design

• nazri on Sep 21, 2011 at 6:32 am

i nmpk tail light mcm waja cps

• waja cps rear light design is a “classic”.. no1 can on par with it..
      it combine the design of the thermometer & star trek’s space ship

• hope the security feature has been improved…. else another 25 cars could be stolen.
    http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2011/8/11/nation/9276880&sec=nation

• squall_shinoda on Sep 21, 2011 at 11:10 am

Honda should remedy the security ‘hole’ in their City. The current City has boot locks that bypasses the alarm, making it easier to steal the Grade E Cities by opening the boot and then folding the rear seats. According to City owners, the loophole can be defeated by removing the wire connector at the boot lock cylinder.

• swoosh3553 on Sep 21, 2011 at 6:57 am

Hope they have sorted out the power window shortcircuit issue….duhh..

• Matchy on Sep 21, 2011 at 7:28 am

Something wrong with the back…

• prefer the front design than the rear one..
    however, the price at here is too high, but the supporter still will go for it..

• honda memang lawa, tapi saya still suka toyota lagi, hehe

• honda memang lawa, tapi saya lebih suka toyota, hehe

• theanswer on Sep 21, 2011 at 10:45 am

sy lebih suke kia forte ;)

• mohsin on Sep 21, 2011 at 12:56 pm

saya suka perodua: Lagi Power, Lagi Best!

• saya suka kapcai..,faster than lagi best

• Tubik Racer on Sep 21, 2011 at 5:55 pm

hahaha!
          bagus2…this is we call diversity…ada pminat toyota,kia,perodua..err
          mane mofaz? dia x join ke? proton mesti wajib ada!

okok…mane plg jimat minyak antara saga flx,vios,city,myvi baru?

• pelams on Sep 22, 2011 at 2:10 pm

saga, vios n myvi fuel efficient.bt i dunno which 1 the most efficient

• sukasuki on Sep 22, 2011 at 7:56 pm

kaki driver yg menentukn which one is more efficient. kuat tekan pedal, kuat la makan minyak.

• taboogen on Sep 21, 2011 at 7:46 am

WAAAAAAAAAAHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH nice lor the background picture…….

• mr.proton on Sep 21, 2011 at 8:10 am

see.. even honda do facelift job..if proton do for sure kene bashing.. nevermind.. just hope the price remains… maybe in dream..hahaha..

• OMG…Nice…especially the rear lamp…like Merc E-class…

• NeOR3 on Sep 21, 2011 at 8:27 am

biase2 aje,not to surprise…The rim like similar to persona R rim design in spyshot…hmm..

• Abraham on Sep 21, 2011 at 8:29 am

Wow! The Tail ights are ugly.

• michael on Sep 21, 2011 at 8:29 am

is that a new colour?

• No surprise……..

• kenso on Sep 21, 2011 at 9:06 am

I would prefer Honda spend more on increasing the security of this car …. recent news shows so many City being stolen and shipped to other countries. If there is a statistic on the highest number of cars being reported lost, I won’t be surprised the City comes up top

• ANTI-KRONI COMPANY on Sep 21, 2011 at 12:17 pm

sapa untung? city hilang,claim insuran,beli city lg. honda+gov untung.haha..

• i for 1 lost this stupid city and surely not buying this carp car again. must be inside job feeding info on how to steal this expensive junk where the alarm doesnt even activate if you open the boot!..

i wonder who buy this for 90k when its going to get stolen soon..
        look else where guys…. take my advise.

• nurussalam on Sep 21, 2011 at 9:14 am

only facelift..boring…

• squall_shinoda on Sep 21, 2011 at 11:01 am

All major carmakers do that what… even Merc also facelifted their C-class and yet nobody bashes them… but if they only facelift so many time and take ages to provide the all-new generation or successor then that means there’s something wrong.

• Shinoda: You must have never seen the interior of facelifted C-Class before. Its totally/completely different. All car manufacturer should learn from them

• squall_shinoda on Sep 22, 2011 at 7:08 am

I knew it, I’ve already seen it, it’s completely different from the pre-facelifted C-Class. The degree of difference differs to what feature to be included. It’s just like the old 2003 Kancil facelife with totally different interior and lamps compared to the pre-2003 facelift Kancil, but it still counted as the same generation.

• more likely to be a butt-lift, not a face-lift… very da ugly tail-lamp..national car’s tail-lamp is more ‘I LIKE’ than this one..

• squall_shinoda on Sep 21, 2011 at 9:15 am

The rear lamp looks like either Merc E class or Proton Saga (pre-facelift). Plus, the rims look like Waja CPS. Interior wise, the blue dials don’t match with the radio LCD backlight which remains orange.

• Dear Honda,

Garbage in garbage out.

Sincerely,

Long suffering City owner.

• Kevin on Sep 21, 2011 at 9:22 am

hate to admit, but i think honda was never good at facelifting…
    all generations of facelift seems to look worse, perhaps maybe only for the previous gen City..

• facelift?what facelift?look same lorr…guest facelift on pricetag maa~hahaa

• Honda fanboys will be all praise for the face lift.

After all, buying an entry level B segment Honda (or Toyota) would have uplifted Ah Beng’s social status up one notch.

Only in M’sia is an entry level B segment ASEAN car perceived as a premium C segment.

• kington on Sep 21, 2011 at 2:17 pm

Yup, which makes it so enticing for Honda, Toyota and Nissan to just add some chrome trimmings here and there, wood-like plastic covers to elevate the status of the car and charge you a bomb for it.

Sad. I personally feel that the current Civic, Corolla, Lancer, Sylphy range of cars are totally outrageous.

• Sentra still the best… reliable, durable, simple (no nonsense) car and is C segment car in B segment price range :)

• Samurai Malaya on Sep 21, 2011 at 9:44 am

Haddooiii….eh…WOOOOOOOWW!!..nice rear lamp….Welcome back 7th Gen Accord butt-lift syndrome. But at least they get LED…

• P-man on Sep 21, 2011 at 9:55 am

The rear looks like a Merc E-Class? Only if you stretch your imagination then yeah, it does look like a really bloated version of it. Sorry to say this facelift only made it look worse, the pre-facelift version still looks better.

• skiborne on Sep 21, 2011 at 10:02 am

biasa je

• absolutely nothing special, unlike the new MYVI.

• kenny teh on Sep 21, 2011 at 10:26 am

new Myvi is not a new facelifted…facelift normally refer to some minor change, Myvi seems more like a new design(include whole interior) with an old car frame….just my 2cents…

• BD'sMaster on Sep 21, 2011 at 11:39 am

sour grape….poor and uneducated guy don’t even know the meaning of facelift….sad for you…

• no wonder your name is dog!!! it shows your IQ level

• does the HU looks like it’s from the Brio?

• Pricelift on Sep 21, 2011 at 10:24 am

It will be great if they do not bring in the facelift and drop the price of the current City as I found that this pre-facelift looks so much better. Since Honda is a “premium jap” can’t they just get some great designers to properly design the cars? Look at KIA~ So nice!

• BD'sMaster on Sep 21, 2011 at 11:31 am

so….City comparing to Kia which model eh?

• Pricelift on Sep 21, 2011 at 2:36 pm

Latest Rio that will be releasing? or Forte? since Forte and City’s price is quite close? Forte wins hands down in design. But City’s drivability is there nonetheless both are reliable… So which will you choose?

Forte gotta bigger cabin and has better build quality and I will compare this with Civic not City.

• BD'sMaster on Sep 22, 2011 at 1:38 am

so follow your theory i should buy 10+ forte than buying 1 ferrari coz the price is quite close?
          get a life….first say design then move on to bigger cabin and build quality….so random….
          anyway should just compare city to some vans…bigger cabin for you and don’t think they have such bad build quality….most important is that the price suits you…=)

• akule_sapelagi on Sep 21, 2011 at 10:35 am

Dear Honda Malaysia, please solve steering issue of NHC, i has sent my car 2 times at ur service centre to solve it…. first time they changed coloumn assy and second time changed cable rail, but im still hear noise from steering. Now right front door panel give and extra sound. what a lousy expensive car

• wats new….mine was having all sorts pf issue since new…give up wt ths brand already

• Honestly i am waiting for :
    1) P1 Persona R
    2) P1 Exora Turbo
    3) City Facelift

Huhu P1 please dont let me down..

• SP_Persona on Sep 21, 2011 at 1:20 pm

for persona R u need to wait until march 2012 n exora turbo will make it debut in 2 months away… exora prime also included.. peace =D

• I bet someone stupid will continue bashing Proton if they do a facelift, but yet the just keep quiet when honda/toyota do a facelift..hehe

• Georgie on Sep 21, 2011 at 10:41 am

The rims, rear lights and rear diffuser looks so… how to put this… Proton-ish. (Not to offend) Honda’s new design direction is really falling back behind and they say this is “Always Ahead”. Even Saga’s facelift had better change.

I liked the previous gen City with the Modulo bodykit but this… this… I’m gonna walk away and head to a Kia showroom. Let’s hope Persona R can trump this.

• theanswer on Sep 21, 2011 at 10:47 am

a good brand (alongside T), but the spec offered is sad considering the price. ;)

• vincent on Sep 21, 2011 at 10:57 am

Looks ugly from the catelogue.

• Another recycling campaign?

• C~two on Sep 21, 2011 at 11:50 am

Come on la honda.

The city already have a beautiful sporty body. Can you just make it more ganas? like mugen like grill or euro civic like grill, Euro civic like exhaust, more fierce type of bumper.

and please put in tonnes of gadget inside to shut up those kimchi-lover

• Looks like a honda fan jealous of what kimchi has…

• My friend, if Honda make bumper/skirts/etc more fierce…. How they make $ from with the Modullo kits?

• tattoo sleeves shop on Sep 21, 2011 at 11:58 am

this is honda facelift??? i’m really really dissapointed with honda nowadays. honda is going down.

• calvint78 on Sep 21, 2011 at 12:00 pm

booringgggg….look same, where got facelift? or my eye gt problem.

• Sien….tilll now still dun have Touch screen audio set with GPS………sad sad sad…

• Expatriate VN on Sep 21, 2011 at 12:08 pm

That another boring facelift!!!!!

• BMW POWER FOREVER on Sep 21, 2011 at 12:21 pm

prefer pre-facelift. and orange dials look better than the blue.

• jay8393 on Sep 21, 2011 at 12:36 pm

Back lights looks odd. Other than that, it looks much better than the current car. :)

• Mat Mitsu on Sep 21, 2011 at 1:14 pm

Facelift that doesn’t lift the image of City.

• Car Driver on Sep 21, 2011 at 1:28 pm

Looks Nice. But expensive. Problems cannot dodge this City. Previous gear problems and now security issue..Yet still at premium price..

• BalanceD on Sep 21, 2011 at 1:42 pm

Just cant understand. The cars that is launched or would be launched would always have people condemning it. Wake up people.
    Ask yourself some basic question.
    1. Why is all cars (including Proton and Perodua) in Malaysia considered expensive?
    2. Is someone twisting your arm or pointing a gun to your head to buy the car that the manufacturer has launch? So why the condemnation?

So chill out man …

• lazyf on Sep 21, 2011 at 2:09 pm

hmm…biasa jer uols…

• Cheah Tat Cheong on Sep 21, 2011 at 3:03 pm

Please also check out the grille on the Hilux facelift, did Honda and Toyota just form a joint venture on front grille design???

• new persona r got similar front end to honda city

• OMG 1ST the new civic now this??!! DISSAPOINTED AGAIN

• treblecase on Sep 21, 2011 at 3:40 pm

With this facelift, the new City is as ugly if not worst than the previous generation City. Bravo Honda!

• Calvin Foo on Jan 12, 2012 at 11:28 am

You mean Flowerhorn actually looks nicer than Optimus Prime. You gotta be kidding me

• Honda = power of nightmare …. go and buy the city, u have been warned

• William on Sep 21, 2011 at 4:31 pm

The first thing that come through my mind when i look at the back is proton waja cps rear light XD

• twinklestar on Sep 21, 2011 at 4:58 pm

Looks good.

• twinklestar on Sep 21, 2011 at 5:02 pm

Looks nice!

• teelim on Sep 21, 2011 at 5:09 pm

hmm… the rear of the current model looks better.

the dials however look pretty good, but the colour of the radio does not match now. they should at least change the colour of the radio back light too.

• happyone on Sep 21, 2011 at 5:28 pm

YAWN~

• RedBeanBun on Sep 21, 2011 at 5:55 pm

its a fact that in terms of design, the Korean car company utilize help from Euro designer win over the game from the Japanese…

• E-View on Sep 21, 2011 at 6:32 pm

HONDA, CHEAT my Money :

(1) FACELIFT rubbish old design cars.

(2) RECALL to fix the technical issues with pretending as being responsible.

(3) GOTO (1)

• Toyota and Honda should hug together and drop into the sea!

• exJAVANESE on Sep 21, 2011 at 7:33 pm

bosang….

• Hunter on Sep 21, 2011 at 7:33 pm

No play-play!!! Honda has facelifted the safety features (includes TWO REFLECTOR at the rear bumber). Walio!!!!

• buskerhatesTnH on Sep 21, 2011 at 7:37 pm

still fugly

• lagi facelift ,lagi tak bagus…

• Jack Leong on Sep 21, 2011 at 9:41 pm

facelift? only the tail lamps and rims? omg…

• Jimmy on Sep 21, 2011 at 9:57 pm

Prefacelift rear lamps look better.

• at last..lampu belakang xmacam logo MOTO GP..

• Rosmah on Sep 22, 2011 at 12:17 am

Really looks like me on high heels :(

• Honda Power on Sep 22, 2011 at 11:44 am

Typical of P1, P2 and T supporters. Always bashing Honda. Bash all you want. Juz wait n c. When this facelifted City is launched here, it will be a best seller. Tunggu dan lihat!

• Who cares?!best seller but Honda got give you some tips da?

• DArkerMarker on Sep 22, 2011 at 8:45 pm

Honda – The Power of Facelift

• Holly F on Sep 24, 2011 at 2:57 pm

Toyota also same what, 1.5G Limited(you get leather seats, etc), 1.5 TRD Sportivo(you get car mat with TRD emblems, etc).

I don’t want to talk about Perodua here, 1 car, get facelifted every year.

• tyrespare on Mar 19, 2012 at 11:34 am

nice and luxurious for its class..

• tyrespare on Mar 20, 2012 at 11:54 am

use 10 years old honda car is similar to 1 year proton car…that’s the fact..

• Kevin on Apr 17, 2012 at 9:58 pm

The new does look a little out of shape at the back……..its because the picture is taken from a book….desighn changes include new chromme grille, new bumper, new tailight, a darker centre console and a new colour for the optitron meter………Id GO FOR THE KIA FORTE…….better value

• My sister car stolen! honda city grey colour WTW 7801 this morning in ampang, if anyone saw it pls contact me asap 0166011315. Pls share this out. Tq

• dugong on Jun 12, 2012 at 11:55 pm

That’s 2009 honda city is now consider as valuable species. It’s difficult to find 2nd hand 2009 city for sale compare to hundreds dugong brand.That’s why the brand are much sought after either for new order or in oversea ‘black market’. Owner of the 09′ city definitely didn’t want to sell their car until year 4th and above that consider as normal. Or they want to upgrade to high performance brand such as CIVIC or 320i BMW.

• akupeduliapa on Jun 21, 2012 at 9:06 pm

I sold my city n go for civic..that all u guys have to do the seal all the matters..civic roars..

• Man and Van Kingston on Nov 29, 2012 at 2:06 am

You guys are lucky to have latest updated models and facelift, where as in Pakistan we still have same shape without any facelift. Old Alpine stero system, red illuminated speed dial. :(