VIDEO: Honda City facelift launched in Thailand

We carried some leaked brochure scans of the Honda City facelift last week. The brochure, from Thailand, gave us pretty good looks at the changes made, both in and out. Now, the City has been officially launched in the Land of Smiles, and this TVC (featuring very good looking talent) confirms what we’ve seen.

As a recap, up front, there are slight changes to the grille design (bigger gaps in the side sections), which remains instantly recognisable as a City. The whole bumper is new, changing from the current U shape to an X shape. The seven double-spoke design wheels seen on this Thai SV spec are also new.

VIDEO: Honda City facelift launched in Thailand

At the back, the City’s unique tail lamps come in a new design featuring two clear stripes, and there’s a new lower bumper incorporating a diffuser style insert painted in black, with reflectors on each side. Inside, everything looks the same, except for the dials, which are now accented in blue instead of orange. There’s also an ECO indicator that lights up when you’re being light footed.

Available in three trim levels – S, V and SV – the facelifted City is priced between 559,000 baht to 704,000 baht in Thailand.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• what is “facefift”?

• vincent on Sep 29, 2011 at 2:11 pm

This kind of car is safe only if you drive it in city, not meant for highway driving.

• Only bodohman will buy a Honda City. Size is too big for a B-segment, and the City is roughly the size of a C-segment car.

• city leg room for rear passenger is nice.bcoz the fuel tank is located below the driver seat if im not mistaken

• Only a bodohman would gave such commment

• critic_A on Sep 29, 2011 at 9:58 pm

nvr see any comment more bodoh than this man!!! LOSER!!!

• rapidshifter on Sep 29, 2011 at 2:23 pm

drive a city to pick up girls? hmmm

• Wow same old same old….

• silverarrow on Sep 29, 2011 at 2:33 pm

Love the red color, not sure will be the new color for Malaysia version?

• don^don on Sep 29, 2011 at 2:35 pm

RM57k – RM71k? apppppppuuuuuuuuuuuuu!!!!!

any mention of drivetrain improvement or new accessories? :3

• Unforgiven on Sep 29, 2011 at 2:39 pm

Very nice lady!

• fahmiyafeii on Sep 29, 2011 at 2:57 pm

azaming..

• pokyah on Sep 29, 2011 at 3:08 pm

same ja

• rosdi on Sep 29, 2011 at 3:25 pm

Persona SE lagi-lagi best than this.

• LatukBandar on Sep 29, 2011 at 6:49 pm

If that is the case, then Persona should be outselling city in thailand. when people vote with their money, they vote wisely.

• This model got paddle shift, how about the current one?

• the only thing i fancy is the eco indicator

other than that i prefer the pre facelift

• squall_shinoda on Sep 30, 2011 at 11:14 pm

Not sure whether Honda is adding the Econ button as well there.

• taboogen on Sep 29, 2011 at 4:24 pm

if i were told that this is the old model.. i just believe it.. not much different and the rear lamp.. adoi.. for me.. (remember i said “for me”) doesn’t the overall design….other then this honda.. malaysian sure buy one… nee MODEL they said instead of facelift

• Wow! Such a beautiful………lady.

• wallstreet on Sep 29, 2011 at 4:30 pm

No wonder the lady didn’t even want to look at him…only a City what…

• labuyot on Sep 29, 2011 at 4:38 pm

kalu ‘facelift’ di thai 71k utk high spec…kat msia brapa agak2?

• J@CK LIm on Sep 29, 2011 at 4:44 pm

Is the paddle shift reliable? durable?
    Anyway, How many changes on this facelift? Look only Slightly …LOLz

• 559,000.00 THB = 57,073.93 MYR
    704,000.00 THB = 71,841.39 MYR

Grade S Malaysia (current) = RM58,480.00 in Langkawi
    Grade E Malaysia (current) = RM62,480.00 in Langkawi

Grade S Malaysia (current) = RM85,480.00 in Tanah Melayu
    Grade E Malaysia (current) = RM90,480.00 in Tanah Melayu

damn government

• Carl Wong on Sep 29, 2011 at 5:50 pm

Conservative drivers including myself would love to have the ECO indicator, not as good as Insight but it’s nice :].

• OMG…face lift already launched. Good….very soon,I hope the next generation Honda City will be available after a year.

• Maserati on Sep 29, 2011 at 6:27 pm

wow..looks fabolous! Going to be another hot seller once this facelift comes into Malaysia! Can forget about all those Forte crap

• F.O.C on Sep 29, 2011 at 7:06 pm

Malaysia not need Eco mode but Race mode hahaha…..

• F.O.C on Sep 29, 2011 at 10:39 pm

Add 1 More sentence ECO mode stand for = Every Car Overtake ha!ha!

• M1ntBerryCrunch on Sep 29, 2011 at 8:23 pm

Thumbs up if you clicked on the girls first.

• phahmeen on Sep 29, 2011 at 8:55 pm

don’t call other people bodoh…….each car got ppl will admire…starting from smallest like viva to biggest like Vellfire…different people, people choices…..dont be such a jerk….if u don’t like the car, give ur damn comment to the CAR. not calling people bodoh…..i owned a city for my wife to use, a 5 Series for me and Alphard for the whole family. Does it mean u are smarter than me? no rite? ….. think before u type/speak…..typical basher who don’t know anything but keep spamming the blog…

• niuhje on Sep 30, 2011 at 12:02 am

why do a lot of thai ads feature non-thai looking talents?? do they have a complex or something?

• mr.proton on Sep 30, 2011 at 8:07 am

this morning i saw honda city was hit by iswara at the back.. u know wat.. that city completely total loss at the back.. thats really scared me..

• beatnik on Sep 30, 2011 at 9:17 am

with the too subtle changes on the city, the advertisement is more focused on the pretty chick. Ha!

• Serious Fast Donkey on Sep 30, 2011 at 1:29 pm

The City is very nice. But I will take the girl.

• I think Honda Malaysia should offer Honda City in Manual same as Thailand version.

• squall_shinoda on Sep 30, 2011 at 11:21 pm

Agreed. That’s the reason why Toyota Vios dugong can easily tapau Honda City sales even though the Vios is as ugly as a dugong. There are still plenty of people out there who at least want to own one but cannot afford for expensive price… and they never mind about getting the most cikai version with normal cap ayam radios instead of integrated radios, plastic covered non-sport rims, and manual transmission.